Image of Orpheus Hotel

Orpheus Hotel

26 of 104 hotels in Sunny Beach

4 out of 5 from 11 reviews
Slanchev Bryag, Bulgaria
Charming, luxurious and modern are only few of the words that can describe this beautiful small hotel. Recently built and only 50 metres from the beach, the Orpheus is definitely in an attractive and convenient setting for a holiday in Sunny Beach.

11 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
The Tourists
8 years 5 months ago
All areas of this hotel were always clean and tidy. We had clean towels every day and when we asked for an extra pillow it was delivered within two minutes of our return to our room. Get this, the only hotel we know of that will cook you anything you want at breakfast! Staff very friendly and helpful. The toaster is a bit on the slow side, but who really cares? Happy hour at the bar every night for two hours. Hotel food id hotel food but they do try with the evening meals. Pool area very safe for children. Location is ideal for the beach and buses to other nearby towns. We will definitely be returning.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan

Recommended
The Tourists
Great service
8 years 6 months ago
All areas of this hotel were always clean and tidy. We had clean towels every day and when we asked for an extra pillow it was delivered within two minutes of our return to our room.

Get this, the only hotel we know of that will cook you anything you want at breakfast! Staff very friendly and helpful. The toaster is a bit on the slow side, but who really cares? Happy hour at the bar every night for two hours. Hotel food is hotel food but they do try with the evening meals.

Pool area very safe for children. Location is ideal for the beach and buses to other nearby towns. We will definitely be returning.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Skeggymoaner
9 years 5 months ago
very quiet very clean most expensive bar with very small measures pool req reg cleaning very few sunbeds dodging decking round pool the only time music was allowed was when a very small man was awake and gave his permission. Also at the weekends the hotel filled up with some very intimidating people visiting the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: balkan

Recommended
Steve Ward
10 years 4 months ago
We stayed at this hotel in 2007 on a recommendation and it was very good with the exception of the food which could have been more to the residents tastes,i.e. mostly English. However at the time it was very clean and the staff were brilliant. However this year is an entirely different story and its sad to say that we will not be going back. There has been a change of ownership and staff that appeared to show little consideration for its patrons. The food this year was to out it lightly diabolical with little choice and always cold. The pool area was dirty and the pool itself for the first week was dirty. The hotel room was not cleaned and we had to clean the bathourselves. The bedding was only changed once. I am sorry to say that the hotel is a mere shadow of its former self and we shall not be recommending this to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Balkan Holdays

10 years 6 months ago
Myself and my boyfriend recently stayed in Hotel Orpheus as we had heard it was a nice hotel in a good location.
We were very happy with the location, we were off the main strip, yet in a good enough location that everything was within walking distance and loads of bars and restaurants nearby. The beach was a 5 minute walk away.
There was no entertainment at the hotel but it isn't needed given the location. There is a nice bar by the pool.
We were slightly disappointed with our room, as we were on the ground floor and would have liked to have been higher up with a balcony. However, we had a small patio area with table and 2 chairs which was okay. The room was of a decent size and we had a big wardrobe and lots of drawers for our clothes. We found things under the bed from the last people who had stayed there and the shower wasn't designed very well so water kept splashing all over the floor which was irritating. The room had a minibar but only contained a small selection of drinks and weren't replaced quickly after we had drunk them.
Maids cleaned our room everyday and we got clean sheets several times and new towels everyday, was always tidy when we came back after a day out and the air conditioning was always put on so was lovely and cool when we had been out.
The staff in the hotel were mixed, some of them seemed a bit abrupt but others were really friendly and chatty. One thing my boyfriend and I thought was lovely was that as we were checking out we were both given a bag of food and water to take on the coach which was a nice personal touch.
The pool area was nice, loads of inflatables that you could use for free and because the hotel is small there was always plenty of choice of sunloungers. Pool was slightly cold but for the size of hotel was a decent size and seemed clean and safe.
The food was quite nice, we had heard some dodgy things about the standard of food in Bulgaria but the food we got was always hot and cooked properly. If we were staying for two weeks or were full board I think I would have got a bit sick of the food, but as we were just there for a week it was decent food.
There was usually a lot of choice. For breakfast there were 2 types of cereal, toast, croissants and rolls, fruit (which never looked too thrilling), fruit juice etc and you could order a cooked breakfast in addition, with anything you wanted and they bought it straight to you when it was ready.
At tea there was a choice of two soups (1 vegetarian), salad (not always very thrilling) 2 vegetarian dishes, 3 or 4 main dishes and a few types of deserts. I once had a vegetarian dish and it was more like a starter, not a very big portion. Most of the dishes do come with chips and a bit of salad. I wouldn't say the chips are swimming in grease but you can definitely tell they aren't oven chips!
Overall we were happy enough with this hotel. If we came to Sunny Beach again we wouldn't stay here as we would want to try somewhere else, not because it was really bad or anything.
I would recommend this hotel to someone who was looking for good value for money and a hotel in a good location which wouldn't be too noisy.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Recommended
Leanne
10 years 6 months ago
i would definitely recommend this lovely little hotel, we stayed for 1 week june 08 a family of 8 and had a great time. the only let down 2 this hotel was the food .. breakfast not bad and always freshly cooked , evening meal was ok, could fill up on something! rooms were kept spotless, maidservice every day , towels and bedding changed frequently. staff were very friendly and very helpfull. other guests were very fiendly too , as just a small hotel every one became friends. i would recommened this hotel to any one wishing 2 stay in a good value for money hotel .
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: balkan

Recommended
ANDREW SMITH
10 years 6 months ago
Hotel Orpheus what a great little hotel, clean towels every day, clean modern rooms sat TV for free, big bath and shower room, food is served on small plates but if you ask for another potion there
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: BALKAN HOLIDAYS

Recommended
Tony
11 years 6 months ago
The hotel is situated appx 50 metres from the beach.
The view from the hotel is either a main road or a sea blink - a view of the sea from between two hotels!

There are supermarkets, bus stops, road train and a Pharmacy close by.

The hotel has no baby changing facilities.

The hotels Disabled access is poor, no ramps only large steps (although once inside there is one lift).

The food is of limited choice, all meals come in lots of oil and always with chips and tomatos. All the meals do not have any fresh vegetables only tinned sweetcorn carrots and peas. Additionally the portions of food are small. However the food comes straight from the kitchen onto your plate - no food sitting uder heat lamps here.

Breakfast time is fun - there is one kettle and one electric toaster. Consequently a queue of plates and bread appear as people queue to put their toast on.

Most of the staff are friendly and accomodating.

No entertainment is provided at the hotel.

The Pool was dirty and very occassionally netted and was always cold. The decking area around the pool needed some repairs - some of the decking had split and there were screws and splintered wood exposed. A sundbed had been placed over these, but other areas of decking were also showing need for repair. The tiled bottom of the pool had some cracks and damage and there appeared to be a lump of concrete stuck on the bottom in one corner about the size of a cricket ball.

Our family room was good, two seperate rooms and a bathroom and balcony. Both rooms had working air conditioning which was very good. One room also had a fridge. The electric here is a two pin plug.

The bed linen was not replaced during our two week stay.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Jean
11 years 6 months ago
We stayed in Orpheus Hotel, we had been last year what a disappointment. One lady at reception was really arrogant rest of the staff were really nice especially Anni.

Food was OK full breakfasts available. Limited choice at night, didn't really cater for kids.

The decking round the pool was a disgrace, floor boards were up with nails sticking out. Had to ask for the pool to be cleaned. Husband ended up doing it himself.

The family rooms were great fully air conditioned. Beds were changed often but toilet was never cleaned.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: balkans

Michelle
12 years 5 months ago
The hotel was exactly as described in the brochure.

The staff were excellent, very friendly.

The rooms were fantastic, we stayed in a corner room which had a corner balcony.

The bathroom was the best, it was large and had a corner bath.

The pool area was very clean, and the pool was not too busy to swim or get sunbeds.

The location was ideal for us - 50 metres from beach, and 50 metres from the main promenade with nightlife, although 15-20 min brisk walk to main "younger nightlife".

We preferred to be further away from younger clubs, as there were plenty of restaurants and bars near us.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum