Image of Sun Village Apartments

Sun Village Apartments

76 of 104 hotels in Sunny Beach

3 out of 5 from 52 reviews
3 stars
Slanchev Bryag, Slanchev Bryag, ul. Chayka 37, Bulgaria

52 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    16
  • Good
    19
  • Average
    15
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Robert Gatt
Quiet location
5 years 7 months ago
Sun village comprises of 3 blocks all of which look down on the pool, rooms at the back are quiet no noise at all. We had a one bed apartment on the ground floor at the back which was quite spacious, so peaceful at night, there is no entertainment at sun village, however there is a pool bar which is open all day serving food and drink, some of the apartments are privately owned. A ten min walk will take you to the centre of sunnybeach, where all the action is.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Balkan holidays

Recommended
Gordon Grant
Good location and value for money
8 years 4 months ago
We booked a private apartment situated on a corner plot at pool level, this meant we got the sun all day long. The apartment was well equipped with TV, radio, microwave, coffee maker, DVD player ( and films ) books and magazines.

Staff were always going round tendering gardens. Can't comment on the food though as we tended to eat at the hotel opposite the L&B which served lovely food.

The complex is only a 5 minute walk to the market area where lots of decent restaurants and only another 5 minutes to the resort centre. This means you are handy for everything but get no noise at night.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Kirsty Clark
8 years 6 months ago
Rooms were clean enough , entertainment no-excistent staff so so tried hotel food not very nice location close to water park which was handy.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

9 years 6 months ago
We stayed self catering at the Sun Village Apartments and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the whole complex, it was immaculate.
We did not eat at the complex but instead chose to go outwith. Ate most night at Djanny's Restaurant as food very good and so cheap, although don't know how the introduction of the Euro in 2010 will effect this. In fact, we spoke to numerous people who had went 'all inclusive' and they found that they chose to eat out every night because the hotels had not quite got their menu choices up to standard yet. Self Catering was definately the right choice.
The location suited us perfectly as we have 5 year old twins and it was far enough from the resort centre to avoid the noise, but close enough to walk into every day.
The staff were helpful enough when required. The only reason I don't give 5 is because we had to wait a few days for the maintainence man to fix one of the two hot water tanks in our apartment which effected the water for the kitchen sink.
The entertainment was pretty poor - singer and keyboard player who did same songs practically every night. However, to be fair, that suited us because with young family we weren't up that late anyway. They did spice it up with Karaoke on the second week, but that doesn't really appeal to me. I would definately go back. Great place and really relaxing.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
9 years 6 months ago
I have previously reviewed this, but wanted to add the following having re-read other reviews:

Don't rely on a one bedroom to sleep 4. The second bed is a fold down couch and it would be comfier sleeping on the tiled floor. Thankfully our 2 children were small enough that all 4 of us got away with sharing the bed in the bedroom.

Definately keep tabs on what is already broken when you get there so they don't charge you at the end of the holiday. Also make sure that the cleaners leave the correct towels and linen each day or you'll get charged for a loss. There is a cleaners check list kept on kitchen wall so look out for anything in the 'comments' section. They only left us three hand towels one day, continued to leave us 3 after that, and 2 days later tried to suggest we had lost one !!!

I still maintain it is a good place.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thommson's

Recommended
Sharon & Andrew
9 years 6 months ago
When we arrived we were really pleased with the cleanliness and the spacious apartment. We had a ground floor 2 bedroom apartment that over looked the pool. There was more than enough storage space, the appliances could have been better as there was no tin openers or baking trays, small saucepans etc, but that was ok we managed.

On the 4th day me 9 year old was trying to get to the pool, the patio door had no warning stickers and with the sun shining on the clear glass she thought the door was open and when in fact it was closed. he went staright through the glass. There was blood everywhere and I had to run 2 reception where they phoned an ambulance.

When the ambulance arrived it was just one man in ordinary clothes that spoke not a word of English, which scared her. He brought no stretcher or wheel chair. They tried to make her walk thelengthy of the complex whilst she was bleeding heavily. In the end my husband picked her up and carried her to the ambulance, she was hysterical my that point.

Her knee and elbow was glued and stitched at the hospital and the ambulance brought her back after this. When we arrived at reception no-one asked how she was they just demanded 310 levs from us. There was no sympathy, when in fact the hotel is to blame as there were no stickers to warn of the glass. We then had to pay another 180 levs to hire a wheel chair from the hotel.

My daughter spent the remaining 9-10 days in a wheel chair unable to go on the beach or in the pool. We couldn't even go on any excursions due to the facts that we had to go to the hospital daily to have her wounds dressed and also couldn't afford it because we had to pay so much money back to the hotel.

The charges tht this hotel charge should be criminal, they charge you 45 euro if you lose a towel.

Over-all sunny beach is beautiful, the locals are extremely friendly and go out of the way to make you feel special and make a fuss of your children. The Neptuna ar even made my daughter a get well card and they all signed it from Waitesses, cooks , bar staff and managers, th really touched me, they also bought her a present and thier wages are so low.

I would definately go back to sunny beach, have already started to save but I will stay clear of Sun Village.

If you are going to un village, please, please, please, check that your glass doors and windows havewarning stickers. If they haven't report it to your Rep because it is illegal not to have them and someone could be very badly injured or even killed.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Paul Rodgers
9 years 6 months ago
the rooms were spacious n spotless couldnt fault them, really strict on breakages and expensive, food nice but expensive compared to other places, its a 20 minute walk to the beach through the main strip. hotel staff were really frindly always smiling and great with the kids,entertainment wasnt too clever but if you like karaoke you,l be fine. pool cleaned everynight for what seems like hours. really really impressed with sun village but just a little to far from beach for me...
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Natalie & Karl
9 years 6 months ago
Rooms were ok, very basic though. We could not cook a single thing as the toastie maker or mini oven didnt work. We had a fridge but the door would never shut, we eventualy had to wedge the coffee table against it. Our bed was the most unconfortable i have ever slept in, you only had to move your toe and it squeeked!!!
Do not rely on the hotel maintainace staff as we had to wait 3 days for them to fix the hot water. Other than that was an OK room.

Cleanliness of the whole complex was very good, The pool was cleaned every night without fail, and the cleaning staff were forever sweeping and mopping in and around the resturant.

The Appartments are not to far from all the entertainment and resturants, it is around a 10-15mis walk. If you like dueo's and karaoke you will enjoy staying in the hotel (its on every night)

I would never visit again.



Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thompsons

Roxanne
9 years 6 months ago
me and 19 other girls went to bulgaria june09,
we arrived at sun village early hours of the morning approximately 3am, as soon as we got there we were told to 'SSHHHH' numerous amounts of times, i appreciate people are asleep but no one was making alot of noise merely just discussion of what rooms we were in etc.
we found the rooms to be well presented and clean,
we had a 2 bedroom apartment for 6. a double to singles and a settee bed whilst the beds were fine the setee beds were quite unconfortable, didnt pose much of a problem as you dont feel much pain when highly intoxicated!
the staff were abit unfriendly and you could tell they didnt like young groups of people.
at the end of our stay we got fined 100 lev due to a missing glass and a missing towel..ridiculous seen as they were all there! however it was not just young groups that were frowned upon, whilst chatting to another guest she told me that she got fined for her baby crying in the night..
the location was OK more for families as it was a dark walk back at 4am!
the beggars meant no harm and by the end of the two week holiday we were friends with them!
overall nice holiday, nice pool
would return again if the man learnt another word other than SHHHHH!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
Mary
9 years 6 months ago
Okay so overall our stay in Bulgaria was boss!
There was a big group of us that went up on an all girls holiday. We got there in the early hours of the morning and were put off by being told off straight away as apparently no noise is meant to be made after a certain time. The surrounding area of the hotel i would say is poor and when we first arrived we all thought 'what have we got ourselves into.' The hotel rooms were clean and spacious..enough space for 6 of us to stay in. there was two bedrooms, including a double bed in 1 and 2 singles in the other. In the main room was a pull out sofa bed which actually proved to be quite comfortable.
The maids came in and cleaned nearly everyday, however most were really miserable. The walk to the main strip was around 20 mins long, personally i think this is too long and dangerous to walk back after a night out, especially if there is beggers around. There was kid beggers by our hotel who used to chase us for some money, however it became clear as time went on that the little boy chasing us just found it funny and really meant no harm haa.
Across the road from the hotel there was a shop where we used to get our prelash alcohol.. the apple vodka i drank was class and cheap!
the hotel entertainment (if you can call it that)was awful and cringworthy! when we were leaving for a night out, the hotel seemed dead and this was about 10 0 clock, although to be fair it did seem to be more of a family hotel. We went on holiday with Thompsons and when approached in the street with a great cheap offer of a bar crawl by party crew (who are amazzinng btW) we decided to take up the offer. However thompson did not like this and told us lies about how we are not aloud to go! well they didnt exactlty offer us anything to do! after this experience the reps ignored us for the rest of our stay which we all found pretty immature but hey we had more fun with party crew!
The water park is not far from the hotel and for Bulgaria i suppose it was a good day out!
when leaving the hotel i would advise to go right as to the left it can be quite dangerous! everything in bulgaria is relatively cheap and i would recommend Djannys to eat, which is a 5 min walk from the hotel.. great food and cheap as chips.
Staying at sun village i would say was a good experience and would reccomend however i must say that make sure you dont lose anything or atleast count how much the maids give you as they have a very good way of charging so much money for broken or lost things.. sometimes they lie also then threaten to phone police when you refuse to pay.. scam!!
Bulgaria was amazing.. but it is what you make it!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum