Image of Coral Sea Resort

Coral Sea Resort

25 of 104 hotels in Sharm El Sheikh

4 out of 5 from 280 reviews
4 stars
Guests can enjoy a wealth of fitness facilities, assorted cuisine and a high standard of service, with superb diving experiences just moments away.

280 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    91
  • Very Good
    127
  • Good
    45
  • Average
    14
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Ann & Jim
10 years 5 months ago
Hotel is small compared to surrounding hotels, it is clean but in need of some TLC. Parts looked very dated. Room was spacious and cleaned everyday with new towells and bed linen most days. Well laid out hotel leading onto beach which was clean and well organised.

Food very typically all inclusive, but good variety and plenty of it. Not always as hot as would have liked but pasta and pizzas were made fresh constantly. You can collect free bottles of water from the restaurant lunch or evening time. Mermaid restaurant down by the beach has a limited menu but food cooked freshly and served quickly to you. Drinks bit on the weak side generally and wine an acquired taste. If you like hot tea or coffee, suggest you take a travel kettle with you.

Hotel is popular with English people although some Russians there. Lot of people return here more than once. Everyone is very friendly and although didn't tip much, an american dollar was always welcomed. Egyptian money seems quite dirty and felt had to wash hands regularly as everything seemed sticky. There are cleansers outside the restaurants but also took a sanitizer with us.

Took a trip in the submarine to see the coral and fishes which was interesting although generally we just went to relax and enjoy the weather. Temperatures around 30 degrees during day although gets dark early. Only needed a cardigan one evening. Sprayed well with Avon Skin So Soft and also took anti-histamine and odourless garlic tablets and didn't get bitten which is a first for me.

Would we go back? Probably not. Hotel is in need of refurbishment to bring it up to a 4 star rating.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Danks
10 years 5 months ago
the coral sea resort hotel was brilliant would recomend it to family and friends and will be going back as soon as we can. staff are very freindly and polite/the rooms are very spacious and are cleaned every day/hotel grounds are very well looked after right on the beach which was fantastic.the food was very good with a wide choice to choose from.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
10 years 5 months ago
Stayed once again at this hotel for my 50th Birthday from you moment we arrived we got treat like royalty on arrival we we greated with a ice cold glass off orange i requested which room we would like before we flew out by emailing Mohammed directly so that was a nice surprise to get it. In our room we got a basket off fruit has it was my hubbys birthday on the arrival day bathrobe and slippers provide again.
Second day was my 50th after been to beach we went back to the room to find a huge chocolate birthday cake waiting for me the maid boys had decorated my bed with my cards and flowers from the grounds it brought tears to my eyes.
We had a free safe in our room and two huge queen size beds and a huge balcony only thing this time was i got bite alive by mosquitos so much you couldnt see my legs arms or neck i had over 100 bites and thats on my 2nd day we went in Aug time the yr b4 and neva got bite once.
Our first week was fantastic weather really hot but second week i was really ill nothing to do with hotel the hotel is spotlesly clean food is fantastic and the waiters in restuarnts can not do enough for you

Adel our specail waiter was there with freshly maid coffee each time our cup was empty can not wait to return when we return next time we get a free wooden plaque with our name on it and it gets bolted to a palm tree around the pool think this is a really nice gesture for returning customers

We went into Narma bay only to go to hard rock cafe i actually hate Narma Bay itself really scares me seen so many ppl get locked in shops just because they wont buy off the Egyptians so we get the bus into resort go to Hard Rock Cafe then straight back to hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Jenny
10 years 6 months ago
We booked this holiday ealier this year and were really looking foward to going back (our 5th visit) and having a fantastic time as in previous years. Unfortunately it was not to be this time, in the last 14 months the standards in the hotel have dropped and we really came home feeling very disappointed. We found that the previous happy and fun atmosphere in the hotel had evaporated leaving behind miserable and tired staff, those we know from previous years told us they were unhappy and felt very much under pressure due to their dwindling numbers. The entertainment team numbers reduced from 8 staff to just 4 in the two weeks we were there and they tried their best but with no budget and no props they really struggled. The food quality and variety has taken a severe beating and we really struggled to make ourselves go to dinner each night - suggestion fill yourselves up with breakfast and lunch and then maybe soup and bread for dinner!! All of the life seems to have been sucked out of this hotel and transported to the Holiday Village, such a shame as it holds many happy memories for us - just not this time. The weather although by British standards was lovely but the pools were freezing and I was told that the smaller pool will not be heated until December (more budget cuts). Not sure that I would put this hotel as a 4* any more, expect a 3* and you won't be so disappointed.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

10 years 9 months ago
We had a nice week at the Coral sea,room was great as it was a suite 2038 with sea view.
Food was good but Italian food and service average.
Pool was falling apart with sun tan lotion greased round the side.Dirty plastic glasses at the swim up bar and extremly loud music thumping out all day everyday.
Beach was disapointing,you have to walk out a VERY long way to get water above your ankles and then you hit a sand bank.Snorkling off the jetty there is hardly any coral or fish and its windy and choppy.The hotel next door thumps out loud base music all day coupled with the music from the coral sea pool its vey manic.I like music but dont wish to listen to heavy clubbing music thumping in my heart whilst relaxing on the sun bed.
We went to ras mohamid and stars and dinner,both great.Also down to Old market in Nama and had a great fillet steak in Melodies.
Went to Shark bay beach 3 for the day which was great snorkling and lovely lunch at the fish bar.
wouldnt go back due to the very disapointing beach and loud music.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Sabrina And Lloyd
10 years 9 months ago
we stayed at the resort for two weeks, when i first arrived i was thinking oh my god, have we made the right choice, it took us ages to find our room!
in the morning we went for breakfast, lovely eating area in the dine around!, after a couple of days we got use to where we were going!
the food was ok, but i dont eat breakfast on holiday as im fussy!

the hotel i thought it was really clean! our room was clean every day, clean sheets everyday, along with clean towels! the cleaners work very hard, they clean 20 rooms each a day!

the location of the hotel was perfect just on the beach!, was hoping for fine sand but it wasnt, however we managed to make sand castles! and my 4 year old never moaned about it!

hotel staff were very friendly!

entertainment work hard, my 9 year old daughter loved the mini discos!
there is also a kids club, which my children only went a few times! thats ok, they are looked after, plenty of drinks for them and ice cream!
also on a tuesday they have an egyptian night, which is
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Carol
10 years 9 months ago
This is our second visit to this hotel, we were recognised from the minute we went in, all the staff were still there from our last visit. We were shown to our room in an excellent location. The rooms themselves are good with plenty of space. The pools are good could do with replacing the linnings on the bottoms of the pool, there are towels supplied everyday, if you are not by your sunbeds by 10am the towel man takes back up your towels, which is only fair so there is plenty of sunbeds available. The dine around is good with plenty of choice though by the second week you do get bored, and will find yourselves eating out a couple of times, the mermaid is great for lunches but the itallian you could give a miss to you have to pay for your drinks here and a bottle of wine is around 24 euros which is expensive and not even great. The bars are good though finleys bar could do with a bit of a face lift and good cleaning the tables are always sticky. All the staff are really nice and couldn't do enough for you, though the spa staff go around looking for business at the pool you just have to be strict when you are saying no and they eventually don't go near you. The entertainment isn't great and the only time they really bothered with us was when we were leaving and they told us to give them a good review when filling up the review forms on the plane. The main advice I can give is use the hotel taxis they might be that little more expensive but you will get no hassel at all and when they say pick up at a certain time they are there and won't let you down. The staff are brillant to the kids the best of all was Mohammed he is one of the bar managers he goes out of his way for all the kids. We will probably go back after a couple of years. This is a nice family hotel there isn't much for the teenagers but it is a good spot for a relaxing break.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Falcon

Recommended
Sheather
10 years 10 months ago
After reading lots of very good reviews from people who have visited this hotel, we were very much looking forward to our holiday, sadly this was not the case. The hotel itself has the potential to be fantastic, but it is heavily under maintained in all areas, the 2 main pools are big and the pool bars could be good. Both pools are not the cleanist and the pool linings are falling apart, the bars seem to run out of glasses within an hour of opening. The restraunt food for an all inclusive hotel is very good qauilty but the service is shocking, you can actually eat a 3 course meal without a single waiter coming anywhere near the table to offer any drinks - and there were 9 of us!!. We had 2 seperate problems with our rooms, one was infested with ants, the other had raw sawage coming up from the bath!! If you are thinking of coming to the hotel with kids and wanting to use the kide club, you can forget it, it is terrible, the rep does not seem interested in the kids and they come back bored to tears. The animation team work there soaks off and work very long hours but only 2 or 3 of them weem to have any raport eith the geusts. The beach is fantastic and the corals just off the end of the pier are impressive. As I said earlier, with a bit of work this hotel could really make the grade, but for us, we certainly wont be getting our names on any trees!! (for those who come back to the hotel 5 times)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Salisbury
11 years ago
Stayed for 1 week, flew in from Luton, hotel very big, tired and in need of some refurbishment, but grounds very well kept. Room cleaned every day, large balcony and a bath. You also got towels.
Food very good - suggest going in for the 8.30 sitting, as much less busy. Beers and wine selection good.
Staff nice, but pester you every day around pool. Resort big on entertainment and children - good for families.
Would visit again but BECAREFUL of the mini bar they will probably charge you for it, even if you have not used it - First Choice reps did not want to know - so make sure you either don't use it or you ask for an itemised bill when you check out. Do try the Indian restaurant, as very good but not on a breezy evening! We would visit again, bit saddened by the mini bar issue, but everything else ok.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
11 years ago
We returned to the CSR again and have to say that it was again a lovely and relaxing holiday.

The hotel staff from the Management to the gardeners are all very friendly and no-one passes without saying hello, the hotel rooms are cleaned every day and the food/drink is of a good standard. Hotel grounds and Pool are kept really clean as is the beach.

Our family has made some great new friends and we would recommend this hotel as we have now been on three seperate occassions.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
We are the West Country's leading Independent Travel Agent based in Plymouth. Specialists for Honeymoons and special occasion holidays.
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.