Image of Castle House Hotel

Castle House Hotel

18 of 53 hotels in Calangute

4 out of 5 from 7 reviews
LAVINA STREET OPP CALANGUTE PANCHAYAT, NAIKKO VADDO CALANGUTE, Bardez, Goa 403516, India

7 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Eddie & Shirley
8 years 8 months ago
Stayed at the hotel on b&b basis for 28 days,different deals for different companies. With Monarch/Cosmos, breakfast was tea/coffee, juice, toast/cornflakes,boiled/scrambled eggs
Rooms cleaned daily with fresh bedding and towels. hotel area also kept very clean.
Hotel food was excellent,well done chef.We ate there on many occassions during our 28 day stay. Food always excellent and cooked to your spec,mild /medium/hot and spicy. prawns in garlic butter among my favourites at R/-150, BARGAIN.
The location was excellent, short walk to the centre of Calangute( even shorter after the staff showed us a short cut) and a 10 minute stroll to the beach.
From the moment of our arrival till the day of departure, the staff were fantastic. they were always prepared to help.Always smiling and agreeable. Word of warning if you decide to play them at pool, they are good.Also the staff are not there to help you spend your money by offering to sell you gold/silver etc as is the case in some hotels, just there to help with your holiday.
There is no entertainment at the hotel which is a blessing as you can enjoy a quiet drink aound the bar.
Would I visit this hotel again, ABSOLUTELY
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Monarch/Cosmos

Recommended
Katherine And Michael
8 years 9 months ago
we spent 28 nights at castle house we really enjoyed our stay the staff could not do enough for you. breakfast and all other dishes we ate there were lovely they even let me order a dominos pizza when a didnt fancy anything on the menu and eat it in the restaraunt. the rooms were very clean with air con tv fridge clean beding and towels.the hotel is close to the beach shops bars and restaraunts of calengute.the boss of the hotel dev was always there no matter wot time of the day or nite making sure every one was ok. we have already booked to go back same time next year my family av also booked to stay here to.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: cozmos

Recommended
8 years 10 months ago
On arrival we were picked up by a cab arranged by the hotel. When approaching the hotel from the Candolim Road, I thought we had made a big mistake as the lanes we drove through looked a bit grim, with large puddles. The Hotel entrance was small as was reception. We were shown to our room which looked nice enough, then were asked if we would prefer a larger room. We had a look at the other one and decided to take it as it was indeed bigger with an extra bed.
All rooms have air-conditioning, TV, fridge, a wardrobe, and shelf space under the TV. Beds were comfy. Bedding and towels were changed daily. There was a small balcony at the rear of the room, and you could also sit out at the front overlooking the bar/pool.
Breakfast was the usual toast(OR cornflakes)and tea/coffee. You could order more from the menu for a small charge. The breakfast area was very small and not particularly inviting, therefore you wouldn't want to stay at your table for long. We never ate there at all, but other guests did sometimes.
The staff were all lovely and helpful, but very few spoke much English.They made a fuss of a family there with a toddler.
The location turned out to be fantastic, (as the taxi had come in from another direction), walking for 5 minutes around the other way, you came out by the Red Lion, half way down Calangute beach road.
The hotel receptionist made a call and arranged scooter hire for us at Rs/- 125 per day.
This hotel turned out to be just what we wanted, as we have often paid more and gone to larger hotels with more on offer, but we rarely use the hotels other than as a base, so the extra's are a waste of money.
We took our own travel kettle for tea/coffee in the room and used hotel cups (and milk from breakfast).We used the free safety deposit boxes in the reception, with our own padlock.There is a small 'library' in the reception too. This area also doubled up as a sleeping place for the night staff!
The hotel has a dog (ET) who is very friendly.

Overall this is a little gem of a place. However, I'm sure it wouldn't suit everyone.Some would think it too basic.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Monarch

Recommended
Feelthevibe
9 years 6 months ago
Breakfast was basic but a cup of coffee in the morning and a couple of toast does the job untill you get out and about. The milk jugs could have done with a good clean around the spouts.
The rooms were immaculate and comfortable, plenty of hot water, fridge, tv and remote A/C. Clean towels and sheets every day.
Apart from breakfast I didn`t eat here as I prefer a busy restaurant when in Goa for obvious reasons. As mentioned above the coffee pots and milk jugs could do with a good scrub.
Nice location, few minutes walk to Calangute high st and a few eating places and shops. Dogs across the road were a bit of a nuisance barking early morning but not too bad.
Front of house staff were pleasent and friendly as were the room boys and other staff, however it was a bit chaotic around the bar area as everyone seems to muck in and help out causing confusion with the bar bills. As nice as they all are English is a bit of a problem when trying to order a drink, maybe they should designate one person who speaks good English to run things ? again not a major gripe.
I wouldn`t hesitate to stay here again, I enjoyed the place and it`s location, everybody got on really well guests and staff alike
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Vic+moira
9 years 7 months ago
what a good choice,hotel clean,with clean sheets and towels every day.staff couldnt have been more helpful.close to restaurants and bars and away from traffic noise.beach about ten minutes away.could have brought e t home with us what a nice dog.will go back again,missing the place already only been back two days,just got a pool table but didnt get a chance to get a game.returned on 15/02/09
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: cosmos

Recommended
Jacquie
9 years 8 months ago
The location of this hotel is great its just along side the road by the red lion pub behind the sunkissed hotel the rooms are nice with a/c, fan , and satellite tv it is only a small hotel with about 24 rooms

There is a pool but the downside is you don't get any sun on it at any time of the day

We had a few snacks there and they were fine

The staff however were all friendly but could not speak or really understand much english

If you just want a base to stay in it is ideal if you like to just stay at the hotel I wouldn't really recommend it I would stay at this hotel again as I found the location ideal and the cleanliness was very good
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: hays travel

Recommended
9 years 8 months ago
hi , we stayed in this hotel/ guesthouse and found it to be very friendly .We had clean sheets and towels everyday, the rooms were kept very clean . Air conditioning , fridge and satellite tv all free of charge.It has a small bar and swimming pool . Situated down a lane by the red lion not to far from the beach and plenty of eating and drinking places near by. Breakfast is tea / coffee ,toast and jam but you can order eggs cooked to your liking for a very small charge.Because this is a small very friendly hotel, everyone sits and chats at breakfast about where they have been or going and gives you good advice about what or what not to do ,i would definitely stay at this very pleasant hotel/guesthouse.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: airtours

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum