Image of Venus Servigroup Hotel

Venus Servigroup Hotel

34 of 133 hotels in Benidorm

4 out of 5 from 31 reviews
3 stars
Avenida de Filipinas, 13, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
The Venus Hotel is located just a 300m from the ever popular beach of Levante, in the lively Rincon-de-loix area of Benidorm. Made up of two buildings, the hotel features bars, a restaurant and lounges. The Venus hotel is suited to couples and families looking for an affordable holiday base.

31 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    19
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Glynis HT Admin
New year
4 years 11 months ago
Stayed at the Venus for New Year for 9 nights Half Board.

We were allocated a pool view room on the 3rd floor. During the winter months our side didn't get any sun on the balcony until very late afternoon. If I returned at the same time of year then I'd opt for a beach facing room.

Our room was fine, no problems whatsoever, very clean and plenty of room. We had twin beds, flat screen TV with BBC, ITV, 3 film channels, plus news etc. Plenty of wardrobe space, a safe, mini fridge & hair dryer in the bathroom. Bathroom had a lovely walk in shower & there was plenty of hot water.

Food was reasonable. Typical hotel food. Always something to choose. At breakfast you could get freshly fried or poached eggs or made to your requirements omelettes. Usual queue for the slow toaster & coffee machine. Evening meals again there was always a fish dish or meat dish from the show cooking section along with the usual salads etc. No- one shows you to your seat for evening meal so it's a case of find a table yourself.

The New Years Gala dinner was very nice. Canapés first of all in the downstairs bar. We were greeted with glasses of Cava & helped ourselves to prawns, mussels, etc before going into the restaurant to our allocated table. First course was soup and a roll, followed by sea bass, then a lemon sorbet to cleanse your palate before sirloin steak. Bottles of wine and, or, water were provide for each couple. Lastly there was a plate of Spanish biscuits and sweets. As we left the restaurant we were all issued with a goblet containing 12 grapes and a party bag.

A free bar was available from 9pm until both the Spanish and British New Years had been celebrated.

Location of the hotel is fine. Near to the outdoor weekly market and a couple of blocks from the beach and bus stops. Nearby is also Bar Street which is full of British type bars and clubs.

The hotel is very popular with mature clients & there's a area for charging mobility scooters at the entrance to the hotel.

I would return to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: DIY

Hotel tip: Try for a pool view.

Recommended
9 years 6 months ago
Just returned from the Venus hotel after a lovely 10 night holiday. The good points: 1) The food was really nice with plenty of variety and something for everyone. We usually had a Full English every morning which mostly kept us going until the evening - if we did feel peckish in the afternoon we had a sandwich or bagette from the pool bar. The evening meal gave you a good choice, of meat, fish pasta, salad, pizza and chips etc. and it was all good - in fact we usually went back for seconds. Sometimes certain choices weren't very hot, but thats buffet food for you. there's a microwave if you do like your food piping hot. 2) The drinks were all 2 for 1 all day and night! not sure how long this will be on for, as it's the hotel chain's offer during the credit crunch.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
10 years 1 month ago
We booked this hotel through thomsons, and booked flights with Jet2. The hotel was great, infact it was the best hotel we have been to in benidorm (and we have stayed in quite a few). We emailed the hotel before hand and asked for a room on the 4th floor overlooking the pool- which we got! The rooms were very nice and clean- and there was enough room for the 3 of us. We had a nice flat screened tv, with a few english channels, air con, rooms were cleaned every day, and bedding changed every other day.

The location was great too - it was in a quiet location, we heard no noise at all.

The food was great too, chinese, seafood, and a lovely sunday roast with yorkshire puds too. This was the only hotel my son enjoyed his food (and went back for seconds)- other hotels we have been to he has just nibbled at bread rolls and salad.

Staff nice enough too.

Entertainment- erm - sorry but not for us! Even my 68 yr old mum found the entertainment dire - although there is so much choice in benidorm - there really is no need to stay in the hotel(Hence the low score)- Was geared towards the 70/80+ . But bear in mind we went in October, - we I was the youngest adult there! (40), and my son (15) was the only child/young lad in the hotel - I couldn't believe it - No other kids! Having said that- this was fine by me! I have never satyed at such a quiet hotel, you could hear a pin drop around the pool area (Which was very cold) - and most days there would only be me and my son in the pool - which was great!

Would I go back again ? - Too right - we loved it- quiet peaceful, and relaxing. Although we had a right laugh in the morning watching them all reserving their sunbeds, and nearly giving themselves a hernia trying to move the brollies towards their sunbeds - we couldnt be bothered with all that- we went round the pool at about 2 - (For a hour at the most), and had no trouble getting a sunbed.

Will be booking for next october -

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: flights jet 2 acc om thomsons

Recommended
10 years 7 months ago
We normally stay in 4 star hotels, I have to say that the food at the Venus is the best we have had anywhere.

The staff were very cheerful and eager to please.

Ony downside is the stag and hen parties at the weekends.

Rooms were spotless. We were in the newer building. The rooms in the old side are very, very small. We asked to be moved and we were with no problem.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
10 years 9 months ago
Stayed in the Venus for a week
The hotel is fab really clean and well looked after
The staff were fab.

The only fault was the food it was a help yourself buffet but I thought the choice was very limited only 1 meat or fish choice one night it was pigs trotters!!!!

The only 2 nights we had a better choice was Friday and Saturday and I think that was only because there were loads of Spaniards staying there.

All in all a great hotel but the food let it down.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: travel republic

Recommended
Weaver
11 years 3 months ago
Second year in a row at this hotel. We liked it last year, we loved it this year. Our rooms and shared areas of the hotel were kept spotless but round the sunbeds could be kept cleaner of old cigarette ends hence the 4 rating. The new air con units in the Residential building are excellent, so much quieter and efficient than the old units that were there last year. The food was better than last year as well. Less Veal on the menu, more choice and the new show cooking grill provided many good dishes to try. The lunchtime rice pudding is to die for! If only the breakfast food was a little hotter I would have given the hotel a 5 rating for food. The location couldn't be better, 5 minutes to the 'square', 5 minutes to the 'entertainment strip' and 10 minutes to Levante beach. We were never troubled by noise given how close to the bars the hotel is. Most of the hotel staff are excellent, the maid service was brilliant. My only complaint would be the eagerness for some of the restaurant staff to remove your plate as soon as they believed you were finished. As with other reports on this hotel it has to be marked down for the entertainment but I personally don't see this as a problem. I didn't go to Benidorm to be entertained in my hotel, that is what all the bars in the streets around the hotel provide. The hotel entertainment is geared for the Spanish residents because the area round about has very little for them. The new childrens host could do more though to round up kids to take part in the daytime activities. The chap who was there last year, Fernando, always went round to encourage them to take part. The number of people at the hotel that we recognised from last year must mean it is doing something right and I wouldn't hesitate to go there again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Danielle + Ben
11 years 3 months ago
We went to the Venus after hearing good reviews. It was our first holiday and the location of the hotel was great. 5 minute walk to all the bars and clubs and 10 minute walk to the beach front. Hotel rooms very small but ample storage space.

Bathroom to small. Getting out the shower was even a struggle. And everytime the shower was in use it would flood must of the floor.

Cleaning service brilliant!! Room cleaned everyday and towels replaced aswell.

Great pool view and we could even see all the main clubs from our balcony

Entertainment was petiful.... basically none existing. Need better entertainment!

Pool area lovly and clean. Plenty of sunbeds- even though we wernt going down til about 2 in the afternoon. Never had a problem finding some.

All in all, a brilliant hotel, with a great location. We found staff were very arogant in the restaurant but the reception staff were brilliant. Very worthy of its 3stars but needs some level of entertainment.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Carey
11 years 3 months ago
We stayed here last year (you can find my review further down) Hotel is still one of the better 3 stars on the island. The restaurant has been fully overhauled making it much more bright and airey and the area outside of the restaurant has been much improved. New bar area(not the hut on the terrace) which has a lovely seating area. The food still doesnt cater much for children and I feel it was not as huge a selection as last year. The salad area has halfed (last year they had fresh salmon on - not this year). The rooms in the Residencia Side are much larger than the other. The new air con in this side is excellent. The cleaning staff were brilliant. Always said Good Morning and made the beds up every day and left clean towels too. I agree with the comments regarding the Childrens Entertainer I felt that he only rounded up the Spanish with 1 or 2 English joining in. The entertainer last summer was fantastic and its a shame he`s moved on. I would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of going to Benidorm. Excellent value for money
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Garry Ward
11 years 4 months ago
Went to Benidorm as a teenager and now wanted to show my teenagers what is was like.

Travelling party was mum and dad(me)and 4 kids aged 20, 19, 17, 15.

Before booking we checked with several travel agents and stressed aboved all else (though there was a limit on budget)that the entertainment must be good, we stressed this on each occasion was originally offered the hotel rio park and then advised that this was better.

The location was ok, a bit noisy and 'in your face' but this is benidorm.

The hotel was again ok. looking a bit tired but certainly value for money.

The staff, including reception, restaurant and cleaners were superb.

The pool area was very good and cleaned daily to a reasonable standard.

The hotel and all the parts would have got 9/10 from me but for the entertainment and the guy that delivered it. Absolutely dire! I could not understand how the hotel ignored this fact that must have been highlited by its poor poolside evening takings. i spent 10 of the 14 days partially poolside during the day and never once saw him gather a group and do something...at night he advertised outside the hotel with 'spiderman show' the only one in benidorm - too right it was! and lucky for the rest.
He was billed as multi linguistic, maybe he was but his english was'nt good enough, dont get me wrong it was better than my spanish but because he thought he was in command of the language he thought he understood what makes us laugh....so 1.00pm in the afternoon, pool area full of kids he plays songs with 4 letter words in the lyrics...not my idea of good entertainment.

When I complained to the rep, who in fairness was new to the job, she had not seen the act said she would investigate and 'sort it' out..ill be interested to see reviews on this subject after mine.

Hotel = good
Entertainment (very important) - very very very poor
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Sharp
11 years 4 months ago
Went to Benidorm in July 1st time. Stayed at the Venus and have to say that I had no complaints about this hotel. Maids were in every day changing towels etc. Food was excellent, plenty of choice and plenty of it. Staff very nice. Location was great for the beach.I would certainly go back and stay here again. The one thing I would say is don't stay here if you like to stay in hotel at night for entertainment as that was kind of non existent, unless you want a wee game of bingo. Another good thing was that there was never any hanging about in a queue waiting to get in to restaurant. Excellent value for money
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum