Image of Cambrils Playa Hotel

Cambrils Playa Hotel

69 of 76 hotels in Salou

2 out of 5 from 15 reviews
3 stars
Av de la DiputaciĆ³n, 77, 43850 タラゴナ Spain

15 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    4

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
10 years 4 months ago
First of all the good things - the staff are friendly and the rooms are dated but kept very clean. However, even though we went when it was quiet, once there was about 50 people in the hotel (bearing in mind this hotel takes over 800)there were no sunbeds (unless they have them stored somewhere). The food is always cold, but there is a microwave in the restaurant and we used this quite a lot. Even when food was bought out fresh it was cold. The menu is very limited (chips, pasta, chips, chicken, chips). However, the salad was excellent. Be prepared to get very little sleep the walls are so thin I could actually here the neighbours mobile phone (it was not ringing but had been set on vibrate and I could actually hear the phone vibrating on the bedside table). You can hear people snoring and every sound in the corridors can be heard, it doesn't matter how quiet people are. Drinks are always served in plastic cups even when you sit inside (coffee is occasionally served in cups. There is a tennis court and crazy golf at the back of the hotel, but this is separate and it is in very poor condition. The only entertainment during the week we were there was a magic act on Friday night and a 'live' band on Saturday night (the singer was actually the maintenance man). I could imagine in the height of summer this place would be an absolute nightmare. We always go all inclusive and have several holidays a year and this is one of the worst we have had.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: independently

10 years 4 months ago
We had read various reports on this hotel and decided to go with open minds. The location is very good, across the road from the beach. The Hotel is not in the middle of Cambrils, it is in a quiet area, however Cambrils Port and the lovely town is only ten minutes by bus. The hotel was only quarter full and we did have a day where there were no sunbeds left, somebody spoke to reception and another 15 loungers were brought out. Food was ok,it wasnt brilliant but there was something good each day, our last night there was poached salmon and steak on the buffet. Try the bread and butter puding its lovely. The selection of alcohol was very good although its not name brands they have versions of baileys, tia maria, schnapps along with all the usuals, gin, vodka, whiskey, light and dark rum.
There was a variety of nationalities at the hotel and the atmosphere was great. The friday and saturday night entertainment wasnt very good, but people tend to sit and talk to each other.
We got a very good deal with the price and we would definately go again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travel republic

Recommended
10 years 5 months ago
This is without doubt the worse hotel that I have ever stayed in and I go abroad 5times a year there was no choice of food no entertainment no pools open no sattelite tv only Spanish tv no tennis courts no putting and even no sun beds, the same person who served at the bar served your dinner I was booked to stay for a week and only stayed 3 days and had to move myself as my room company was of no help they offered me the same substandard hotel in another resort, it was not the fault of the staff as the hotel was not due open till May so the travel company should not have taken bookings for it
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Alpharooms.com

10 years 5 months ago
I have been going to Spain for the last 12 years on average 5 times a year and this is without doubt the worse hotel I have ever stayed in with NONE of the facilities listed was available there was no choice of food,no sunbeds,no entertainment,no satelite tv,no mini golf,no tennis courts,no swimming pool,the person who served the dinner also did the bar it resembled a carry on film, this was not the fault of the hotel as it was not due to be oppened till May but was pressured into oppening by booking agencies. I do not know what it would be like in season but I would advise anybody not to use it out of season, I was booked for 7 days but only stayed for 3
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: alpharooms.com

Nield Family
14 years 1 month ago
Arrived in the early hours of the morning and were dealt with efficiently and politely.

The hotel room was cramped as there were 4 beds in it and looked shabby, but it was clean. In fact the whole hotel looked in need of a bit of updating.

The main pool area tended to get dirty as the day progressed and there were no cleaners to be seen around this area during the day. The area around the second pool was again in need of a good clean. The crazy golf and table tennis areas were very neglected. In general the hotel had potentially very good facilities but needs a total overhaul to bring it up to scratch.

The food at the hotel was disgusting! Everything was cold and there was no variety at all - after day 2 you knew before you went into the dining room what would be there - cold chips and cold chicken. The childrens menu comprised of cold chips, cold chicken nuggets and cold beans with the ocassional cold sausage! We ate out much of the time after my daughter had spent 5 days in bed with a "tummy bug"

On the plus side the hotel staff were on the main very pleasant and went out of their way to be helpful - especially the barmen who went out of their way to be friendly and were especially liked by the children and young girls staying in the hotel because they were lovely and always smiling and joking. They were the one good thing that stood out about the whole holiday as they were such a good laugh!

The hotel is located between Cambils and Salou and is a bus trip to either resort. It is on quite a busy road which means that the bus stops are within a minutes walk.

The beach is just across the road and is a lovely clean, wide beach with plenty of sunbeds.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: archers

Mrs Doyle
15 years ago
Arrived early hours of morning, looked after very well and quickly. Room was reasonably clean. size was adequate with nice balcony. The decor could do with an overhaul. Started off with room over pool but asked to be moved after two days, too much noise. The rep arranged the room change. The staff were very helpful, my glasses came apart during the holiday and the handyman fixed them for me. Entertainment left a
lot to be desired. We did a lot of walking into Salou or a 15 minute walk down the road to a few bars. We found the food to be very good. Plenty of it and good variety something for everyone. We had quite a few things from the childrens section especially the pasta.Salads were excellent. Did ask about air conditioning in the room because we had a really hot week but were told it is switched of Sept 15th. But the staff on reception did get me a fan free of charge.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Ben Willard
15 years 1 month ago
When we first got there at 4:30am we had to have are all inculsive cards made for us (which we got the next day) so we went up to the room the rooms were too small for four people but the view was nice

the food was horrible and was not labeled so we mainly ate out.

the location was great about 50 meters away from the beach and in the middle of cambrils and salou

the staff spoke exellent english and were all very kind and helpful

entertainment was ok i geuss we sat down and watched it for the first week but after that we didnt bother.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: cosmos

Recommended
Ephgrave
15 years 1 month ago
Just got back from holiday from Cambrils Playa.
The food was not very good and it was much more the same every day and not hot.
If you like chicken ,pork, and chips every day you will be ok.
The snack bar food was not cooked.

Entertainment what entertainment it was rubbish (pants)
Hotel staff not bad but needed more bar staff.
Hotel cleanliness ok but hotel rooms were to small and very basic.

Swimming pool was ok but the second pool was very run down and no facilaties to get a drink.
Holiday reps not very good.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: cosmos

Joy
15 years 2 months ago
The rooms were cleaned daily and new towels provided if required. All public areas were clean and tidy. Some of the decor is shabby and could do with a refurb so it looks a bit dowdy. Garden near the kid's pool would benefit from more frequent litter collection and the showers and loos there need fixing.

The rooms are very small and not suitable for four people. My husband slept on the camp bed the first night as our little boy refused, so we had this replaced with a single bed the next day.

Food compared favourably to a four star all inclusive holiday in Mexico in 2000. It's not exactly 'haut cuisine' and the restaurant does have a bit of a school canteen feel. There were lots of healthy salads and always tasty fish and meat dishes. Excellent pastries and puddings for those with a sweet tooth. There is also a kids' height servery for the little ones.

The hotel is a stone's throw from the beach in predominantly residential area. The beach is delightful and was remarkably quiet even in July. Cambrils is a short walk away.

Reception staff were excellent. We arrived at 4am and were swiftly dealt with. ID cards were organised immediately and were avaiable at 9 am the next day. Bar staff were all very pleasant and accommodating. Restaurant staff are under too much pressure and it shows.

The entertainment kicks off with the kids disco which my kids and their friends thoroughly enjoyed as did all the parents watching. After this there is something that all the family can enjoy which was good on 3 of the 7 nights we were there.

We went on the Cosmos organised boat trip which was a great day out for all ages.

What the reps won't tell you: you can buy an evening pass for the Universal theme park thus avoiding the intense heat during the day - this is much less expensive than a day pass and a great way to avoid the karaoke night.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Steve Barham
15 years 3 months ago
When we got to the hotel it looked really nice and it was nice inside. The swimming pools were ok but cold. The entertainment ...oh what entertainment...was rubbish.

As for the food it was disgusting. we had to eat out most of the time. The staff were ok but the cosmos reps were not , when you told them any problems they didnt want to know.....never again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: cosmos

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.