Image of Pins Playa Apartments

Pins Playa Apartments

31 of 76 hotels in Salou

4 out of 5 from 31 reviews
Av de la DiputaciĆ³n, 147, 43850 Cambrils, Spain

31 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    7
  • Very Good
    11
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Lisa Carroll
8 years 7 months ago
went we arrive there we had to wait half hour to gt our room cause it wasn't ready only got 1 bog roll for the week we know it self catering but they could have gave us bog rolls also have to put 120 deposit pool very slippery seen kids falling .seen caretaker buffering the tiles. train very noisey comes every 15 mins. no kids club end may never mention on broacher very disappoint with that 2 non english girls and colouring book for young kids left door wide open we could not leave wasn safe.bins outside was filty wasnt empty since we arrived there no cleaners at all got clean towels.pool open 11 am close 7 pm we felt disappointed with that.only good thing came out was our aprtment was massive air condition was working and the rugby travern and mucky duck resturant was great to eat very friendly staff.salou very run down place we would not go back there we being in nicer places in spain .were not old people moaning were all under 40.sorry had to complain
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: budget travels

Karen And Sinead And Ed
9 years 4 months ago
Apartments were adequate. Air conditioned, thank god as it was very warm in august. Apartments were clean on arrival and towels were provided. Clean towels were given once during the week. Overall we were happy with the apartments. Receptionists very helpful and spoke good english. Entertainment in the metropolis bar wasn't great but kids would enjoy it. We would visit these apartments again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: budget

Recommended
Little
9 years 4 months ago
Just back from our stay in Pins Playa II (3 bed apt)

Had a great time. Weather very warm.

Apartments are clean and basic but more importantly air-conditioned in every room (you need it!) The TV had BBC1/2/3/4 channels but no Irish! You can watch and laugh at the miserable weather back home.
Recommend setting air-con to 22 degrees on Auto otherwise you will wake up in a fridge!
Location is fine. Great for beach/food.
Entertainment was good but not to everyone's taste.
You have to queue for sun loungers by the Metropolis bar in the morning. Pool opens at 11am so best be in queue around 10'ish. Sun loungers are free. Just drag them into position and place a towel on each. Pool closes at 7pm. There is a lifeguard by the pool who sometimes was more ingratiated in her mobile conversation than watching the pool. As for any pool, watch out for slippy tiles, don't run, wear flip flops.
Food at the Metropolis (complex bar/cafe) was very good. They do cooked breakfasts (sausage/bacon/egg/toast/tea etc) which is handy as a "cure". Staff were friendly and efficient. They also show English premiership footie. Pity having to rent a kettle but if you love a cuppa, 10 Euro is a bargain. Besides its not like you won't spend money on holiday?
If your return flight is in the afternoon, you can pay a small fee to checkout later at 1pm. There is a baggage holding room at reception where you can store your bags prior to your bus arriving. The return bus incidentally stopped outside Molly Malones (facing Salou) The Budget Travel notice in reception states it would be at reception(?)
The only annoying thing about the pool area was the constant harassment by sunglasses/hat/watch sellers. They wander in and around sunbathers. Even after saying no thanks, they still come back and ask you again and again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Budget Travel

Recommended
Mick And Janet
9 years 4 months ago
The apartments are in an excellent area, with salou and cambrils just a short bus journey away (10 mins)
clean enough but the maid service is non existant with bed sheets only changed once and towels only twice, eveything you need can be bought over the road from supermarket. receptionist very helpfull but if you need anything at night( like a spare key) get help from one of the bars as the night time security man doesnt speak english. The pool as others have mentioned is really slippy with people slipping over all the time, wher flip flops! if everyone complains about it im sure it will have to be fixed eventually.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: budget

Recommended
Josephine Kells
9 years 4 months ago
because the resort was self catering the apartments were cleaned once a week. clean sheets and linen were left twice weekly. the staff were spanish but could speak english, and were friendly and helpful.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: budget

Recommended
Daniel Holmes
9 years 5 months ago
my partner and i stayed in the pins playa apartments for two weeks 19 july-2nd august,we would not recommend these apartments to anyone, on arrival we found cockroache on the two cooking rings, no air conditioning in the small box bedroom.I was appalled to have to go buy cleaning products to clean the apartment as no cleaning was done while we were there.Towels were changed twice,also in the two weeks we were there we never once saw a thomson rep and was told to walk half a mile down the road to the maritim hotel which was disgusting as my partner is disabled.the rep said she would meet us and she arranged a day and time, she did'nt bother to turn up.the budget travel rep yvonne was very kind and helpful and she foned the uk as we needed to find out. our transfer time to the airport.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Sean Dooley
9 years 5 months ago
The appartments were clean but basic- but on a sun holiday what more do you want? Food in The Rugby Tavern and The Mucky Duck was lovely and the waitresses were very nice. Entertainment in the complex wasn't great but would be good for younger children. The supermarket on site has everything you want and fresh bread every day. We stayed in Pins Playa 1 which is on the beach which great. The pool is across the road in Pins Playa 2 although there is a small pool in Pins Playa 1. The tiles beside the pool were not as slippy as people were saying but care should be taken. The pool closes at 7pm which I felt was a bit early. A railway line runs at the back of Pins Playa 2 which can be loud. The girls in reception were very helpful as was the Budget Travel Rep Yvonne. If you want to go to Barcelona I would recommend you either get public transport or a taxi because the Barcelona by Day/Night is very expensive and the guide isnt very helpful. Overall this was a very good holiday an I certainly would come back here again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Budget Travel

Recommended
Victoria Bolster
9 years 7 months ago
I would not recommend these apartments.

Our room was on the bottom floor next to the beach and we were broken into our phones camera ipods watch and some cash were all taken also some items of my make up eyeliner ect.

Our rep and the hotel staff were of little help.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: budget travel

Patrick Spencer
9 years 7 months ago
apartment was clean but basic. if you wanted a kettle or toaster u had to pay 10 euro to hire one. if you had a young child and needed a cot u had to pay 28 euro to hire one. you have to give 120 euro deposit when u check in which is to be returned when u check out, if the apartment is clean and nothing broken.the staff were helpful with general inquieries but only to a basic level.they dont supply loo rolls, you buy your own.
the metropolitan bar in the resort had no entertainment for 4 out of the first 7 days and increased the price of the drink on the 2nd day. the so called kids club was on for 1 hour some days and 2 hours on others and only took the first 8 kids that turned up.the whole area is tiled and was very slippy with no safety slip mats anywhere. children were regularly falling on them.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: budget travel

Niamh Kiely
9 years 7 months ago
We stayed in Pins Playa in May 2008.

The apartment was basic and clean.

We had a lovely holiday but the pool area was extremely slippy. One of the days it rained all day as a result a spanish lady cracked her head wide open after slipping on the tiles right outside the complex and had to be taken by ambulance. two more ladies slipped and broke their arms. A small child slipped into the pool thank god there was a life guard watching and pulled him out.

I cant understand why anyone would lay tiles such as these they are disgraceful. I had read comments on this issue before I went but I could not believe how dangerous they really were.

The entertainment was terrible very boring very amateur even my two kids were bored they are 9yrs & 13yrs old.the staff were very nice and helpful and the food was lovely.

If you buy a bottle of water it costs
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Budget

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices