Image of Esmeralda Apartments

Esmeralda Apartments

56 of 76 hotels in Salou

3 out of 5 from 31 reviews
2 stars
Av de la Diputación, 153, 43850 Cambrils, Spain

31 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    7
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    13
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Anne
Brilliant hol, great staff
6 years 7 months ago
This was our 2nd time staying at the Esmeralda and we can't wait to go back again this May. Yes the rooms are basic, but you don't go on holiday to stay in your room all day and they were clean. If you wanted you could fetch your own clean towels from the laundry room instead of waiting for the maids. The staff are fantastic and can't do enough for you, the bar is very good and it was nice to relax on the terrace and chat to people we had met, ok the entertainments not great but then its the same in most resorts.The menu is reasonably priced and we enjoyed our daily breakfasts. The pool is small, but over the road is the lovely beach and sea.A large supermarket is close by and a few good bars, also a lovely walk along the prom into Salou or the other way to Cambrils. All in all the Esmeralda is cheap and cheerful and we love it !!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Cindy
Sheets and towels not changed, never again
7 years 4 months ago
Esmeralda hotel is absolutely disgusting. For the price we paid we expected quite a bit more. It was like a half way house.

When we arrived, we had to pay 40 Euro for any damages caused. We went up to the room and was surprised that there was no privacy, if you took children. It was all in one room. We had 11 nights there and only had one change of sheets and considering we had no air con in the room the sheets were rank.

On the 8th night I went down to reception and said I would change the sheets myself . The reception did come up and change them for us and gave us 2 fans saying she knew this room was very hot in the night. Same again with the towels. Only had one towel change in 11 nights. You get one complimentary toilet roll then have to buy others yourself. If you wanted a bath mat you had to hire that as well as toasters etc for the kitchen that was in a cupboard. Oh and if you had kids in the bunk beds you had to hire the ladders, and there was an open fuse box on the top bunk. The door on the apartment wouldn't shut properly so we were told to bang it. Also had an infestation of some sort of dragon fly that went in the wood doors on the balcony.

I was glad that we did not have kids on this holiday, as we got up, showered and went out all day. But if your on a budget and have to eat in your apartment, well, what can I say, not very nice.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Carl Nicholson
11 years 2 months ago
My wife and I have stayed at the Esmeralda twice now,and have had a great time on both occassions. The first time was with Thomson, and it was only afterwards we discovered we had been totally ripped off by them! Now we book indepenantly and book flights with ryanair and couldn't get a better deal.

The hotel is just great, it is such a vast inprovement on other bland concrete slab apartments nearby, it has a really traditional Spanish feel and just looks lovely. The staff are now good friends, susanna and her lovely, constant, smile will always have a place in our hearts!

The pool is not the biggest but is big enough and is spotlessly clean, as is the rest of the hotel. The menu in the bar and restaurant is a little restricted, but is superbly cooked, and there are a host of other various places to eat in the immediate area anyway.

I just love visiting here, Salou and Port Cambrils and just a walk away, but the walk to Port Cambrils may be a little too much for some.The buses are regular anyway and only cost just over a euro for the short journey. The beach is not even 30 seconds away and is well kept.

Just love it and can't wait to return. Alan, Bernie, Sue, and all the rest, hope to see you soon!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independant

Recommended
Sandra
11 years 4 months ago
We booked a last minute deal to The Hotel Esmeralda. A hotel with lots of character - although the room was a bit small or the furniture might have been to big! it was lovely and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool was small and as it was school holiday time very busy, but the fabulous beach was literally across the road - The hotel is located centraly for both Salou and Cambrills, we walked to both, but you could hire bikes and ride on dedicated bike paths. Entertainment in the hotel on the whole was good.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: xx

Recommended
Sue
11 years 5 months ago
Okay, so we were not told when booking with the travel company about the deposits for the room key or the safety deposit box, so that came as a shock to start off the holiday. Blame My Travel not the messenger...( Just a little tip about the trips with the tour company ASK AT RECEPTION FIRST FOR THEIR INVALUABLE ADVISE )

As for the hotel and the staff we could not have wished for more. The rooms were cleaned on a regular basis and our sheets were changed several times in the two weeks. Yes if you want clean towels daily you needed to go and exchange them yourselves and yes you had to put your rubbish out in the street collection bins BUT that looks to be standard practice in the resort.

The location of the hotel was very good, the beach was less than 5 minutes away and although the trains run along the back of the hotel, I can assure you having gone and used the trains they run a lot closer to many of the other accomodations locally. We had a back room over looking the mountains and had some wonderful views in the morning and at night with the sunsets.

These guys went all out to help when asked for advise and we will certainly be going back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Recommended
Hayley
12 years 2 months ago
Hotel cleanliness - whats this?
The apartments were disgusting and filthy sheets were only changed twice the whole time we were there unless we were willing to get up at 10am in the morning to change our own sheets.

Me and my friend were bitten many times and I even ended up in hospital as a result.
I blame the complete lack of cleanliness of the apartments for this. When the cleaners did come they were around for two mins maximum. I could have done this myself if there had been a mop and brush in the room.

Hotel staff - complete joke. Most were unfriendly unhelpful and rude.

Entertainment - who the heck is Rob Orbison? And why does he wear so many tropical shirts? Don't even bother.

Overall - don't go, seriously, it's nasty.

I know you get what you pay for, however I expect somewhere to be clean at the very least.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Jacqui
12 years 2 months ago
I travelled with 4 friends and stayed in a 2 bed apartment. The rooms were clean, the bedding was fresh and clean. Although the decor was a bit old it didnt detract from the comfort of the apartment. Whatever extras we asked for ie pillows, towels etc they dealt with straight away. The staff were very friendly, always smiling and ready to help suggest good places to eat and bars/clubs to visit. Had a great view of pool and could hear the sae at night time, very relaxing! Will certainly visit again!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Booked independantly

Recommended
Andrea
12 years 3 months ago
I don't mind basic accommodation, but I do expect a certain standard of hygiene. This place was dirty and smelly, the towels looked like old floor cloths, the bedding was not much better. The kitchen smelt like something had died in it and the toilets smelt of sewage. I did complain to reception and nothing was done.

The pool is like a foot wash which fits no more than about 10 sun beds round it and is right on the main road. There is an additional charge for everything.

My son and I did not last 12 hours in this apartment the icing on the cake was the drunk with the fire extinguisher who went on the rampage and trashed the 4th floor. The staff then came up with a story about how he sleep walks and thought the apartments were on fire. If I had not been moved I would have rather paid to come home on the next available flight, you could not pay me to go back to the Esmeralda apartments.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: my travel

M.Gilbert
12 years 3 months ago
My friends and I stayed at the Esmeralda apartments for a long weekend.

We had a 2 bed apartment which was very clean and spacious. Yes, it was old fashioned and basic but for what we paid we found it to be excellent value for money. We collected clean towels daily from the laundry.

The hotel staff were the most friendly and helpful we have ever met. Nothing was too much trouble and requests were dealt with immediately.

The location was fantastic, over the road from the beach and near to local bars and restaurants.

The food was basic but very good, the breakfasts and bar service/waitress service were excellent.

Entertainment is family orientated and cheesy but certainly fun.
We will certainly visit again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Booked independently

Recommended
Sharon And Billy
12 years 5 months ago
Arrived on the Sunday morning to be told by reception that we were lucky as our room was ready or we would have had to have waited like some other holidaymakers.

Hotel is very old fashioned looking both from outside and inside. Lots of dark wood panelling made it look very 1960's. We had to pay a breakages deposit of
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum