Image of Salou Park Hotel

Salou Park Hotel

36 of 76 hotels in Salou

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
4 stars
Carrer d'Amposta, 2, 43840 Salou, Tarragona, Spain
This large hotel is in central Salou close to the main attractions of the city centre. Salou has miles of sandy beaches, a good range of shops; busy nightlife and is very close to the Port Aventura Theme Park.

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Bob Anderson
8 years 7 months ago
The Hotel is situated in a very good location on a prometory overlooking a small bay. A seaview room meant a great view from the balcony. The room was big enough for 2. When we arrived there was fluff under the bed and we said goodbye to it as we left.

The few public areas were kept very clean, however. I say few public areas as there was no real place to sit away from the bar.

The staff here are of mixed quality. The reception staff were very helpful and efficient. The restuarant staff, some were helpful and some were not. The bar staff, well, I am really sorry I had to disturb their malaise by visiting this Hotel. I must have been a real inconvenience for them.

One evening when returning from the town at 23oohrs, I asked for a coffee and was told that the coffee machine was off, "have a whisky instead" was what I was told. Alright if you drink whisky. The bar offically closed at 2359hrs. You see, they had cleaned the coffee machine so they could get away as soon as they could. In the same vein. The pool area was also the only place to smoke, and depending on which staff were on, there was either one table with an ashtray or all the tables with an ashtray. Again a lets get home quick measure.

When we first arrived at the hotel we went to the bar for some refreshment and met a surly barman. Alfonso. Even though I spoke to him in Spanish he still was less than welcoming. he was a bit peeved/surprised when I told him in Spanish what I thought of his manner. Imagine a brit that has taken the time to learn his language.

The food. Well if you like Turkey, fish or fish and turkey, and you like it stone cold then this is the Hotel for you. yes the chef is spanish and not all the guests are british, but I would at least expect the food to be warm. perhaps the open window close to the hot plate had something to do with it.

The sweet selection was, however superb. The breakfast was by far the best meal presented, even though that could be cold.

Overall I did not enjoy this hotel. I tried to approach it with an open mind having read the previous posts, but by and large they are true.
I beleive that the problem stems from the management. By that I mean that the management do not employ enough staff. there was very little turnover during the week. They are obviously cutting costs at the expense of customer satisfaction. The staff consquently, so early in the season, are not getting proper time to rest between shifts and their attitude reflects that.

Would I go back to this Hotel. NO
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Hamilton
9 years 4 months ago
we arrived at this hotel to loud music, we went to the reception to book in, not very friendly at all. went to our room which had four beds in a row, a room for two, it seemed very small for a family. The balcony had a gap so all the clothes kept dropping through. The beach was packed packed packed. Nice if you want to be able to touch the people next to you.

I would not return to Salou, if you want a loud lively holiday this is for you.

The cleaners kept the hotel very clean and worked so hard.The resturant staff were very unfriendly.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: teletext

Mr S Fordham
9 years 6 months ago
Arrived at hotel on the 30th June 2008 were given a room overlooking another hotel no view at all.
if you book at this hotel then book a room overlooking the pool its worth the extra money.The room its self was clean and was big enough for three adults
the rooms are cleaned daily and the staff do an excellent job. The dining room was large and split into two sections we found the food fine and the staff polite on the other hand the recepion staff could do with a course in how to smile more than once a fortnight. The entertainment was in our opinion only
average with the same acts that we have seen at other spanish hotels in previous years
The swimming pool area was far to small for the amount of guests at this hotel and yes you will have to put towels down to get a decent sunbed postion you are not allowed into the swimming pool area until 9am.

The beach is not far away BUT and a big BUT is that it is down a very steep path ok going down but a sod coming up i would not stay at this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: wintersunshine holidays

9 years 7 months ago
I am a frequent visitor to Salou and I have stayed in a few hotels but this is the best place I have stayed in. This trip was not the first time I have been to Salou park I had stayed the year before and was glad to return.

The food was lovely with a different menu containing a wide range of food each night.

The rooms were very clean and tidy, with the job done properly (no corners missed etc.)

Most of the staff were polite especially the restaurant staff they were always seemed very happy and were constantly smailing although reception staff were not so they needed to loosen up a bit and were very abrupt.

The location of the hotel was fantastic close to the beach, pubs, clubs, shops and restaurants despite this it is very quiet and peaceful, the only downside to the location is that the hotel is at the top of a hill which depending on your circumstances may be a bit of a problem for you.

The entertainment that I did watch was wonderful the duration of my stay was 2 weeks and there was a different act each night and was suitable for people on all ages to enjoy

I have stayed in this hotel a few times now and would deffinatly stay again. I would reccomend people to stay here for a good meal and a comfortable stay.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel Republic

Recommended
Mike + Ashley
10 years 3 months ago
We stayed in room S-202 which is a basement room. The room was a bit small but perfect for 2 people to sleep in. Cleaned everyday and clean towels and linen every day. we were offered a free upgrade to a balcony room, but stayed in our original room as it was fine.

Food was very good with full English available for breakfast along with an extensive continental menu. (All buffet). dinner was also good with a great choice of different foods every night. Only moan is the price of drinks which are priced slightly higher than the bar.

Location is great.2 mins to the small beach and 5 mins walk to town, yet still in a quiet area.

Staff were friendly especially bar staff.

Entertainment during the day often changed at the last minute. Evening entertainment was a different show each night, Flamenco, Polenysian (excellent) and various singers though they were probably appreciated more by the older guests.

The Hilton it is not, but a fantastic hotel for the money.

We would definitely return and reccomend to others.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: none

Recommended
Tina
10 years 7 months ago
Hotel was not really 4star. The rooms were basic but very clean. The balcony had a gap which wasn't really suitable for my 2 year old (although I'm over cautious I suppose).

The pool and the bar area is lovely - probably what makes it 4 star. There was a one man band doing all the entertainment with traditional shows, eg Brazilian, snakes, flamenco.

The dining room seemed very hot and the food limited but it was perfectly adequate, again not really 4star standard. But we only paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: n/a

D Hyndman
10 years 8 months ago
Be very careful before booking into this hotel.

Myself and my wife booked in here through "freedom Direct."

What we expected was a 4 star room as advertised, when we arrived they tried to put us in a room in the basement with bars on the windows, no balcony no sea view ( which we had requested.)I absolutely refused to stay in any of these cells, and to cut a long story short, had to pay a supplement of 12 euro a night to get the type of room I expected in the first place. Having spoken to a lot of people over the next few days, this seems to be the norm.

Allocate guests rooms in the dungeon, then they will pay the supplement, nice little scam on their part.

Must be said though. the room we got after paying was lovely. But if they had this room available when I was checking in, why was I not offered it then?
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Freedom direct

Mrs Jones
10 years 8 months ago
Salou Park Hotel has a good location good food and is very clean. We were very disappointed in that the rooms were in the basement and had bars on the windows.

The bar areas and the entertainment were of a good standard and the waiters excellent.

The reception staff were poor and I was refused a call to England to cancel debit and credit cards after having my purse stolen at the market. I was told I would have to use public phones in the street outside and was given a map with the police station marked. I offered to pay for the call but was still refused. Not good for a four star rated hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Hays Travel

Recommended
A Gardner
11 years 4 months ago
The Hotel is kept in a clean tidy state with the room attendants often over eager to clean your room.

The food had a good selection however everything that was cooked was covered in grease. The location is superb and is the only thing that I believe allows it to have 4 star status.

Apart from the night watchman who was always very pleasant and very helpful, the staff were often rude and unhelpful. After they had made an error with our board basis (they gave us a voucher for half board), The manager quickly recovered the voucher and insisted that we paid immediately for meals that we had not taken before releasing our room key.

As this happened on the second day, we chose not to utilise the hotel entertainment facilities although if you require a sunbed by the pool then despite hotel claiming to enforce rules, you need to reserve your bed before 0800hrs.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Lee Mcmenamy
12 years 3 months ago
This hotel is in a great location, just next to the beach and bars. The hotel is very clean.

The rooms were very clean, only fault is that you have to pay extra if you want a sea front view.

The pool was very clean, and very spacious, there is also a second floor tereace which is a little quieter.

The Bar was very clean & comfortable and there seemed to be a lot going on in the evening.

The food was excellent with a lot of choice, however if you go in the peak hours, the staff can take their time to serve you.

Overall if you are looking at going to Salou, this hotel is in an excellent location for the bars, beach and tehme park (approx 10mins in taxi)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: internet booking

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices