Image of Venecia Park Hotel

Venecia Park Hotel

61 of 76 hotels in Salou

3 out of 5 from 24 reviews
3 stars
Carrer d'El Vendrell, 13, 43840 Salou, Spain

24 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    8
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
10 years 2 months ago
I must say first that going so late in the season probably had some bearing on the ratings I have given the Hotel. It's a real shame because the Hotel itself has a lot of potential. However, despite always being open minded about other reviews I did find the the staff (especially the bar staff, oh dear!!) a little more than rude. They were serving in both the hotel and in a cafe bar which opened onto the front to the public. I'm sorry to say you were made to wait and if the customer happened to be 'local' the conversation had to finish in their time. Not good. I can appreciate the safety factor but the plastic cups not even plastic tumblers were a joke and you couldn't even get your cccoffee in a cup. Snacks consisted of toasties and chips and there was no ice. Rooms were very spacious and kept clean and well supplied. Well located for centre of Salou apart from the slight hill on the way back. So beware if you have anyone who is infirm or lazy!! Food in general was very, very poor (and I'm not a fussy eater) you didn't starve you just didn't enjoy it. As for the entertainment it was a very diluted version of the ususal. As I said at the beginning probably due to the time of year. Receptin wanted to charge 30 Euros deposit for a remote control which we declined only to find that if you didn't mind getting off your bottom the TV worked without it. Some hotels have removed the on/off switch so you do need it. I have to say my biggest disappointment was finding out the cost of keeping on the room as we had a late flight. The Med-Hotels Rep enquired for us knowing that the sister hotel in Cambrils charged 20Euros. The Venecia Park wanted 60!!! No way.

Come on Venecia Park do yourself a favour andget it together
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunsave

Alex & Dave
11 years 2 months ago
The hotel is quite well kept and rooms are cleaned daily (fresh towels etc).
The hotel staff were sullen and at times rude. We had to queue for some time to get drinks and then didn't always get what we wanted.
The food.... Well to say we were ill is an understatement. The food is all kept at the wrong temperature (ie cold!) and sits there for far too long. We were ill after three nights and had to try and attempt to eat out, but by that time it was too late as we were so dreadfully sick. When we complained to the manager we were told to Microwave the food ourselves, not really what you expect on an AI holiday. We both ended up having time off to get over this holiday and wouldn't go there again if you paid us.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Medinland

Lesley-Anne
12 years 2 months ago
Well where will I start? First time all inclusive and I have doubts about whether to do it again.

The room was clean and had daily visits from the maids. Had clean towels every day and clean sheets twice during our weeks stay.

The food can be described in 4 words... salmonella on a plate. Buffet style and everything was cold. My partner vomited for a whole night after eating in the dining room. Very limited amounts of snacks throughout the day ( 5 in total to choose from and same things every day!! )

However the staff in the hotel well very friendly and we had no problems with them speaking English... lets face it I was in Spain and I don't speak Spanish so fair call to them.

The hotel was in a fairly good location. 10 minute walk to main beach and plenty shops and eating places along the way.

As for the entertainment I would have to say what entertainment?? Someone playing disco tunes from a laptop doesn't count as entertainment to me. There was a band on one night but they weren't up to much.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travel councellours

Lynn Gater
12 years 2 months ago
We had read really bad reviews on this hotel and dreaded going, however 2 friends had gone a week earlier and came back singing its praises. We were not disapointed hotel was clean the food we thought was execellent something different every night and the meat was always tender and lovely.

Maids in every day hotel was noisy but thats what you go on holiday for if you want quiet you would go somewhere quiet.

Staff were ok.

Entertainment was a let down but what you pay for this holiday you don't mind, the man done his best to get everyone up dancing. The bar did shut at 12 but you haven't paid for a drink all night so if you want to carry on there are plenty of bars outside.

I would definitely come back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: media travel

Recommended
Trevor
12 years 2 months ago
The hotel is well situated and seemed nice on first impression, 2 lifts and stairs give you access to all the floors we were way up on the 4th floor. All the corridors seemed kind of echoey so any noisy people seemed twice as loud.

Our room was clean and enough space to move about a bit. The bathroom was also clean and we were given clean towels everyday we did however only get 2 toilet rolls! which was no where near enough for 1 week so we had to get our own.

The balcony was nice and provided a good view of Salou (it looked great at night) however the balcony light was turned off at about 12 so if its a nice night you couldnt sit outside as it would be too dark after 12. The tv was on a wall bracket however everything was in Spanish so we didnt bother. Beds were comfortable and for some reason we had 3 of them? 2 singles and a double there was enough storage space and a safe in the wardobe but to get the key you needed to pay 10 euros for it which you get back once you hand the key back in.

Food:
Being all inclusive we thought the food had all been taken care of well the first night we got there we had missed dinner so bar snacks it was you have a choice of burgers, chips, nuggets, hotdogs and pizzas and I see the odd sandwich toastie everynight same old thing, the breakfast/lunch/dinner food was a buffet and on first impression it looked very nice well laid out with what seemed like plenty of choice there was even a kids section. However the food was quite bland with spag bol, turkey , lamb and of course plenty of chips and nuggets lol there was a salad section for the veggies out there. However we were put off the food for good after I became ill on our second night after dinner it would seem the lamb upset me a bit, it was cold and the second piece of lamb I picked up was 100% fat ewww so that went in the bin.

Bar:
The all inclusive bar was seperate from the main one and had only the local brewed drinks you could only get 2 drinks per all inclusive card which you get when you first get there and then you are served your drink in a plastic cup so 2 of these with lager in isnt even a pint! Obviously you can go as often as you like but it gets to be a bother after a while as it can take a while to get served.

Staff:
I found the reception staff kinda smiley and happy and helpful, bar staff were also nice and cheery even the poor guy who spoke no english was happy and jokey. Restaurant staff were less than great and seemed like they couldnt be bothered to be there. I didnt see much of the maids as we were out when they came to do our room.

Hotel facilities:
It wasnt too bad even though I myself didnt use the pool it seemed ok and the kids loved it. There were a couple of pool tables and a few machines a mini golf course and a table tennis table and that was about it! The area around the pool was ok a fairly large with plenty of sun loungers about.

Entertainment:
Sorry what entertainment? there wasnt any. Some guy with a laptop? Playing the same old music everynight got very boring. Ok we did go in October hardly the height of the season but come on there was a good few people there and practically all British. The best entertainment we had was on Wednesday when a massive thunder and lightning storm hit which was amazing to watch, it even knocked out the power in the hotel for about 20 mins.

Overall:
Although clean and staff ok I wouldnt come back here based on food alone lets face it for all inclusive you want that to be at least ok.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travel councellours

Kennedys
12 years 4 months ago
Hotel from hell, 1st day t.v bracket fell off wall and cut my hand open reported it .

Got a plaster,returned 2 days later to screw it back on wall. Light fitting in ladies toliets hanging from celing,toilets dirty.

Football play area demolished to dangerous to play in. Glass,smashed tiles broken panels,a real death trap. Swimming pool sharp tiles cut peoples feet open.

Location of hotel super everying on your door step.

Food terrible didnt no what you were eating. My boy of 3 1/2 ate nothing but chicken nuggets, chips.

Staff very rude indeed,not helpful nor understood English.

No entertainment for children till 10pm a man with c.d player when he bothered to turn up. Absoloutely nothing else for children then it was to late for them.

Cleanliness of rooms - no towels changed,only occasionally then only got 1 towel between 3 of us. Maid took pillow cases off, did not replace them. Had nothing on pillows. Balcony not cleaned nor the floor in the room.

We would not stay in this hotel ever again not even if we were paid to!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: 2 can travel

Hayley Knowler
12 years 4 months ago
The hotel was very clean and was very well presented. The rooms wasnt cleaned every day but the cleaners done a very good job of it when they did.

The food area was very clean although the food wasnt all that.

The hotel was located perfectly as it was right near the beach and very close to the clubs and bars which was the main reason for our holiday.

The staff n the hotel were very friendly and understood English very well, everybody seemed to get on well with the staff behind the pool bar and at the reception.

The pool was clean and was a very popular place to be during the day.

Some people seem to have said that the entertainer in the hotel doesn't turn up I disagree with this as every night we was there he would be at the hotel during the day and of a night before going onto his other job.

I would definitely go back here as I have met somebody and hope I will see them in October.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Im Not Sure

Recommended
Miss G
12 years 8 months ago
On arrival the hotel lobby looked very dark and uninviting, however it was clean. Our room was exceptioanlly clean on arrival but was not cleaned on a daily basis and on more than one occasion we weren't left towels. The bed linen was suppossed to be changed two or three times in the week - it wasn't.

The hotel food was very basic and we ended up eating out at least once each day - we had paid for AI, but found the menu too repetitive.

The hotel was well situated and for two young females travelling alone, we found the area safe and unintimadating in the evenings. It was easy to find nice restuarants and bars in the same area.

We found the majority of the hotel staff rude. We couldn't find anyone to understand our Scottish accents. One morning, we were verbally abused in the dining area for sitting at the wrong table - apparently the one we sat at was set for lunch. We had to stand there like two naughty school children being yelled at in a langugae we did not understand, in a room full of people and by a member of the waiting staff who was at least 6 or 7 years our junior.

One or two of the bar staff were very helpful and friendly- I only hope they got the biggest share from the tips jar which I don't imagine was very full.

Entertainment - extinct
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independent traveller

Marie Maria Laura Claire
12 years 9 months ago
The hotel reception was clean and the staff were friendly and spoke very good English but always seemed to sort the Spanish out before anyone else!

The rooms were ok apart from the ceiling above the patio door collapsing! Our linen was never changed and the entertainment was non existent! Unless you were Spanish!

The food was not very good we lived on chip cobs that were cold and sweetcorn!

We were threatened with walking sticks by other holidaymakers who could not understand why we were walking around in our bikinis! They push you to get to the food before anyone else.

We will not go here again we spent far too much money for AI as the was nothing to do in the hotel and it was boring for four young girls on their holidays
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: funatics

William And Gillian
13 years 3 months ago
There are two lifts,which if you hit them at the wrong time you can be waiting for fifteen minutes.

The foyer into the hotel was immaculate.The pool side was always dirty what with other holiday-makers leaving cups and food lying beside their loungers.The tiles around the pool needed a good scrub with a yardbrush.The pool water had far too much chlorine in it and burnt the eyes out of us.The staff were friendly enough and the lifeguard at the pool done an excellent job watching both pools.

Entertainment was non existant. Its a good job we ran into another couple or we would have been fed up.Food was ok but not very hot,chips,chips,chips love the things although we had mashed spuds once.

Made to feel like second class people when we went to the main bar,we had to sit in a partitioned off part to get our A.I. drinks even then we were lucky if it was open then we had to go to the pool bar.

The maid service was brilliant.The room we stayed in was on the fifth floor and it was ok apart from a broken tile in the middle of the floor.The bed had a leg broken off it and if you didnt fix it every day and you sat on the end of the bed it lifted the whole bed up in the air.

To be fair it was ok but I wouldnt go there again for the price we paid.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum