Image of Efes Inn Hotel

Efes Inn Hotel

46 of 113 hotels in Icmeler

4 out of 5 from 25 reviews
3 stars
Cumhuriyet Mh., 48700 İçmeler/Muğla Province, Turkey

25 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    12
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Katy &jake
12 years ago
my son and i have just come back from here after a 11 nights holiday.we had a fantastic time, didnt want to come home. rooms basic but clean beds really comfortable air con free and cold. staff made my holiday, as they were all so friendly. food in the cafe is of a good standard. never actually made it to breakfast, as couldnt manage to get out bed in time. wbest holiday we have had we will be looking to go again nx yr but for longer this time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Paul And Claire Dickens
13 years 10 months ago
Hotel was spotless, the maid service superb, food was lovely, its location we found to be just what we were looking for, ie, near one end of the town, and very near the beach. Without exception all staff provided excellent service and were all very helpfull at all times. Entertainment was a bit repetitive.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Deborah & Mark Johnson
14 years ago
We have just come back after staying at the Efes In hotel for 10 days. It was absolutely fantastic, The hotel was lovely, The rooms were cleaned every day and the bedding was changed every day (which was nice). The staff are friendley and always chatty considering the hours they work. The only thing we could fault was one of the receptionships was a bit miserable and there was no air conditioning in the reception area. A very enjoyable time and would definately go back again. We recommend you try the food in the hotel as this was exceptional especially the English Breakfast. The hotel was right on the beach and close to all the ammenities.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Karen And Paul
14 years ago
Lucky enough to have a refirbed room on 5th floor. Lovely room, excellent views of sea, pool and mountains. Kept spotless Staff very friendly, especially in the pool bar. Breakfast usual poor quality for us brits, however the food at the pool bar was good. Had a lovely holiday, very little hasstle from shops and bars, say no thank you, and they leave you alone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
14 years 2 months ago
This hotel is the best we have ever stayed at, the hotel itself is spotlessly clean, maid service everyday and they are so nice.

All staff, including the owner, were fantastic, nothing was too much bother for them, food in the restaurant was not only excellent but it was cheaper than outside, enternainment was 3 times per week, and unlike outside the hotel they do not allow the belly dancers to go around collecting money from customers, we found this very refreshing.

Plenty of loungers around the pool, and no one putting towels out then going off for the day, the pool was cleaned each day and the area around the pool was spotless, you also get free TV in your room, ask for one when you arrive, and free A/C in all rooms, and it works all the time you keep the balcony door closed.

My wife is disabled and uses a wheelchair, no problems experienced with this, no problem with the lifts, there are 2, the wheelchair goes in fine.

They have added a 5th floor, and it is truly wonderful, the view of the bay is out of this world, we had a corner room and the sun was on it all day from sunrise to sunset, and there was a lounger for my wife which was a nice touch.

We will most definately be going back to the Efes, no other hotel would be good enough for us.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
C.Beerling
14 years 10 months ago
This hotel was perfect, couldnt fault it 1 bit.

The staff where exellent they made the holiday!

Im defianatley back next year!

Not a bad word to say about the place
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Taylor
14 years 11 months ago
To be honest i can't fault any of the hotel categories stated but 'boy o boy' does this hotel want some money spending on it! It's location is second to none, the food in the restaurant excellent, the staff brilliant. It's the fact that it seems so tired.

A number of people staying at the hotel said it was being refurbished in the closed season but then other people said they had been towing this line for the last 3 years.

Ok ...bad points: A big one is the Air conditioning. Its rubbish. Practically none existent and in temps of 45 plus its not funny. Some friends we met were sleeping on the balcony, some were getting down in the middle of the night on the sunbeds, others were getting up in the middle of the night for cold showers...totally runined the holday for these people. To be fair our room was bearable but my parents was like an oven.

I thought the pool was murky, i personally never saw it cleaned and it had a sort of layer of film on it.Finally... the ...fridge, mini bar or... as i preferred to call it..the microwave, the stuff in there was warm in the extreme, everyone was treating them as some kind of joke.

The carpets in the hotel are disgusting. The locks to the doors are ...erm..very difficult to open, and i cursed it many a time.

But...having said all this i would go back to this hotel again. The staff are exceptional and the food is great. They make up for what is, in my opinion, a run down hotel.. I would however need some guarantee though that the air con in the Efes has been sorted.

btw - i do recommend the Havana across the road from the hotel - great fun.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Jula
14 years 11 months ago
Just back from 2 weeks at Efes Inn Hotel.

Was given a room on 3rd floor, the "air con" was a small vent above the front door which done nothing, room was quite small and like a sauna, I asked to get moved to the new 5th floor and did 2 days after i arrived.

The new 5th floor of the hotel was built during close season, the rooms are nicely furnished and had its own air con unit,which was a godsend as the temps in the resort were very high. We were lucky enough to have a room at the end of the corridor so had a huge balcony.
The only gripe about the new top floor rooms was that they looked like they had been finished in a hurry, wires hanging out from ceiling, huge cracks running along ceiling and down walls.

The Hotel itself is in an excellent location, right on the beach and the beach bar served nice meals and the staff were friendly enough.

The pool was ok not enough room round it or sunbeds for the amount of guests staying in August though as the Hotel was full, and there people laying towels on sunbeds first thing in the morning then not coming to use the beds til way later in the day which is quite annoying for the people who couldn't get a sunbed.


Rooms were cleaned on a daily basis with linen changed twice per week.

Entertainment took place in the beach bar. They had weekly BBQ nights with Folk Dancing & Belly Dancing. And a few other things like Cocktail nights etc.

The main gripe about this hotel is the aircon,everytime you passed reception there was someone else complaining about it,it has obviously been a problem for years if you read back the reviews and i know that a lot of people we spoke to won't go back unless they get it sorted.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Rees Family
14 years 11 months ago
We have just returned from two weeks at the Efes Inn. We stayed here a few years ago when the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, but things have definately taken a downward turn. Like Jula, we were given a room on the 3rd floor where the air conditioning was non existent. The fridge in the room was not working and gave out so much heat it was unbelieveable. After chatting to the Rep we were moved to the fifth floor where the air conditioning actually worked. We had a corner room with a huge balcony and excellent views over Icmeler.

I think the owners tried to get the new rooms ready for the start of the season and left a few things outstanding, there was bare wire hanging from the ceiling and the handle on the the bathroom door fell off everytime we used the bathroom, we waited 24 hours for this this to be repaired only for it to fall off again when we opened the door, another problem was lack of storage space, just one wardrobe with no hangers and two small drawers. Also there were no chairs on the verandah so we were not able to sit outside and enjoy the views.

Sunbeds were filled up by 9 each morning, so unless you got up at the crack of dawn you had no chance of getting one.

We can't comment on the entertainment on offer as we did not use the bar at all. It seemed to us as if there were some sort of reunion for previous guests going on, and if you were not one of the elite you were excluded from the celebrations. Although this didnt spoil our holiday as there are plenty of 'friendly' places to go in Icmeler.

On a plus side - the cleaning staff do an excellent job, the room was always spotless with bedding and towels changed every other day.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Diane Daley
14 years 11 months ago
We had been recommended to stay at the Efes by a couple whom we met last year and were looking forward to our visit particularly as it was at the time of our wedding anniversary. On arrival we were given a room on thes second floor facing the sea - which was lovely. However, this was, as we found out afterwards, a room where the air conditioning did not work for the entire holiday. The fridge did not work and generated more heat - so in the end we unplugged it and it was only when we complained that we finally got a new one 1 week after our arrival. The room was pleasant enough, but on close inspection and movement of items we found lots of dust, dirt and other guests 'bits' they had been left behind. The carpet was disgusting - with lots of stains and it did not fit properly.

The carpets going down the stairs were dangerous - with the rubber ends falling off and being left to the side by other guests. Our cleaner was a lovely lady and did her best, but it would be difficult for anyone to have made the room look good - given that it needed a lick of paint and maintenance - especially in the bathroom. The water pressure was a joke with my husband and I dancing in and out of the water - as it when hot/cold/hot/cold and so on.

It was our wedding anniversary on the Monday, but by 4pm we had not received our fruit/wine as promised. When I asked reception they said they had forgot and nothing more was done until the next day when I complained to the rep. We also had flowers sent by friends at the resort - these were not delivered until 2am - the day after our anniversary - again they had forgot. The gentleman in charge of reception did apologise for the mix up and arranged for flowers to be sent. Likewise our rep did her best and did arrange for a new fridge to be sent to our room, but this did not arrive until one week after our stay.

We soon found out that the Efes Inn is visited on a regular basis by guests year after year and for that reason felt at times very much left out. At times were made to feel like intruders by both the staff and some of the guests who in our opinion were given better treatment. We chose to go to other more friendly places and management of the Efes bar made comments about this to both us and other guests.

When we did eat there the food was pleasant enough. the entertainment was ok - and staff made a good effort to keep us amused and entertained on their special nights. It was on nights like this that it was clear who their favourite guests were and we were frightened to get up and join in for fear of gate crashing someone else's party!!

We were there on a bed and breakfast basis. This consisted of hard boiled eggs/toast/cereal/squash/tea/coffee/cold meats/salad/melon/yoghurt. Not exactly inspiring - it was help yourself and it was not long before the thought of any more boiled eggs lead to us to other establishments for breakfast. Again I noted that for some of the special guests, they were waited on by staff.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.