Image of Esenkoy Hotel

Esenkoy Hotel

107 of 113 hotels in Icmeler

3 out of 5 from 25 reviews
2 stars
Cumhuriyet Mh., 48700 İçmeler/Muğla Province, Turkey

25 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    9
  • Poor
    5

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
12 years 4 months ago
My partner and myself have just returned from the Esenkoy in Icmeler we were on half board the meals were the worst meals I have ever eaten in Turkey.

I read the reviews after I had booked I did not know about this site.

There was never any hot water at any point in two weeks. The staff were only happy when you spent your money in the bar.

Guess where I found this site the Esenkoy Manager was always reading the reviews.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: scott travel

Recommended
Janette Hall
12 years 11 months ago
We travelled to this hotel in October for 2 weeks. My sister, three grandchildren (aged 16, 16 and 3]. We didn't know what to expect as the holiday was very reasonably priced. We had great flights and arrived in the early hours of the morning to be met by Camel who took all our luggage to our rooms. The staff were wonderful - they could not do enough for us or the girls. Aisha, Alli, Engin, Erson, Ronalda, Camel and the Chef. Our 3 year old was adored by all of them and she had a ball! The 2 16 year olds were also taken good care of. The food was what we expected in Turkey and there was nothing we could not eat. On occasion we had the Chef prepare food from their special menu and it was beautifully cooked. We would have no hesitation in going back there, as we had a wonderful holiday and were treated like one of the family. The location is also superb. The only thing we found a 'bit' pricey was the drinks, but this was in keeping with all of Turkey.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Scott Travel

Recommended
Rachel And Richard
13 years 1 month ago
We stayed at the Esenkoy Hotel for two weeks in August this year and it was one of the best holidays we have ever had.

The staff at the hotel were incredibly friendly and did everything they could to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable. The hotel was generally in a good condition, although basic, and the food was great. We stayed on a Bed and Breakfast basis so usually just had breakfast at the hotel, which was light but lovely. On several occasions we also chose to have our evening meal at the hotel, and the food was consistently of a good standard.

The room we stayed in was basic but clean and had everything we needed - we spent most of the day either on the beach or by the hotel pool (which is medium-sized and very clean). The room had a fantastic balcony that wrapped around two sides of the room - great for sitting out on in the evenings. The bathroom was clean and we didn't have any problems with the water.

The location of the hotel was fantastic - towards the quieter side of Icmeler so we weren't disturbed by loads of bars and music. The music at the hotel bar was always turned off at midnight which was great too. The beach was a couple of minutes walk away, as was the canal (where the restaurants and bars are).
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hays Travel

Recommended
Allan Jean
13 years 2 months ago
stayed in the esenkoy for the first time in turkey the hotel was in a back street so i thought nice and peace full the staff are only happy when you are spending your money in the hotel as for the meals we were on half board i thought it would buffet style i am not a pikky eater but could not eat the food on the evenig meals in two weeks there was only one day of hot water i know it is solared powerd to heat the water but you can not even do your basic washing except in cold water i will definetly not be visiting this hotel again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: goldtrail

Gary, Shannon Joan & George
13 years 2 months ago
Turneds up at this Hotel early hours of the morning to the place in darkness. Was extremely concerned on my fist impressions of the hotel and that did not change. I have been visisting Turkey for a number of years and although Icemelar is a fabulous place this hotel is very poor.

The rooms were basic but clean, however the hotel overall was a bit grubby and the carpets were heavily soiled.

The pool is trhat what you would call it a postage stamp was murky and there was scum around the edges. All the tiles were chipped and as we had a small child had to use the pool at another location.

There was a couple of sun beds around the pool but they were all in the shade and had seen better days.

The family at the hotel were friends, but could be a nbbit overpowering and were your best friend as long as you were spending your money at their bar.

On the basis of the quality of this hotel we gladly chaged to an alternative hotel.

Think twice about going to this hotel if you expect something more.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Scotravel

Janet And Keith
13 years 3 months ago
Just returned from Turkey staying at the Esenkoy Hotel. What a fantastic holiday! Everywhere in the hotel was spotlessly clean.

The food was good, an excellent Turkish breakfast and three courses every evening, very well cooked.

The location was just right, near the centre but down a quiet street and not far from the beach.

The hotel staff were wonderful, they made you feel at home and couldn't do enough for you. They work very hard to make your holiday special.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independently

Recommended
The Norwoods
13 years 4 months ago
Travelled to Esenkoy Hotel in May half-term arranged at very short notice. The hotel is situated in a quiet, pretty road about 3 minutes to beach and town centre.

The road is quiet at night but near to all the action. Our first time in Turkey, we had no expectations but had a fantastic holiday.

This is a small, family run Hotel, basic but spotlessly clean and with excellent Turkish breakfasts and 3 course evening meals, with a small pool and bar area. The staff must be the best ever, couldn't do enough for us, we had a brilliant laugh with crazy Ronaldo the bar manager, Engin the owner, ( try his wife Ali's hand made jewellery shop in town) Camel and the Chef!.

The other guests were all returners, one couple had been going 6 years running, and we have all arranged to go back next year!

Very child friendly, our two (10 and 11) had a great time, Engin's mother baked a birthday cake for my son who had his birthday whilst we were there.

All in all a cracking little place, couldnt ask for anything more really. Can't understand the bad reviews on this site, surely guests wouldn't go back year after year if it's as bad as some people are making out.

And how can you complain about Turkish breakfast being served in a Turkish Hotel?! Admittedly there was no choice of evening meal but the standard of cooking was much higher than we expected it to be and was delicious and different every night.

Perhaps those who complained expected fry-ups for breakfast and burgers for dinner? As for the staff being sleazy, our experiences couldnt be more different, Turkish people on the whole are friendly to everyone, maybe this friendliness was misinterpreted by some as something else, but my family found them to be very genuine people, and we would heartily recommend this place to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Scot Travel

Recommended
Meachin's
13 years 4 months ago
Hotel staff brilliant we arrived way after evening meal ended there was a meal waiting for us our cases were taken to our rooms and we instantly made friends.

Then it only got better we were treated superb with genuine kindness and engin and ronaldo couldnt do enough for us.

The hotel was clean and basic the meals were well cooked and tasty and I enjoyed everything about our stay.

Actually loved it that much the girls have just been again and we are planning to go back next year having already booked the rooms.

Couldn't have wished for nicer people. No touble with room, meals, service, or anything else you can think of cant wait to go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Holidays for you

Recommended
Gordie
13 years 4 months ago
travelled to esenkoy with h4u what a huge mistake no choice of meals ordered brandy someone nipped out bought a bottle ordered piaza again arrived on moped
no entertain ment at night quite glad gave us an excuse to escape to town we visited a couple of other properties while there then booked appt near there for further holiday later that year met people who had been several times to esenkoy cant understand why ronaldo pestered us all during meal times and time at pool family who owned hotel esp daddy was nice but did not like us not going out @night they did however all came to say bye @ midnight as we left for home
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: H4U

Danny
13 years 5 months ago
My partner and myself visited the Esenkoy we thought the revues might have better.

We decided to give it a try this is the worst holiday I have ever had in seventeen visits to Turkey the family were rude the meals were the worst I have ever had in my life. In two weeks never any hot water.

On a night time we liked to go to different bars when we returned to the hotel it was asked by the staff every night why we went out they said we should spend our money in the Esenkoy I said I could spend my money where I wanted we would never go back to the Esenkoy. In future I will take notice off the reviews
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: goldtrail

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.