Image of Kontes Beach Hotel

Kontes Beach Hotel

11 of 113 hotels in Icmeler

5 out of 5 from 11 reviews
Cumhuriyet Mah. K. Evren Blv. No:24 İçmeler/Marmaris, 48720 İçmeler, Turkey

11 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    8
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
11 years ago
the kontes beach hotel was wonderful from the moment we arrived we were made welcome we asked for a higher floor sea view room we were told it would be ready in a couple of days we were given a first floor sea view room which was just as good hotel was basic but very clean views from the balcony to die for best in icmeler we went b/b the food was great no complaints we ate in the restaurant a few times the food was amazing and the waiters made you feel very special most of all seyfu and nuri they were fantastic linda on reception was also lovely couldnt do enough for you in our eyes the hotel staff made our holiday very special we have already booked to go back next year cant wait the hotel is central to everything perfect spot there was a weekly turkish night which was very good but the waiters kept us laughing all our holiday adem saka the manager was also lovely all in all this is the best hotel i have stayed in for the people to make you feel special many thanks again especially to seyfu nuri linda and sevi see you next year
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travel republic

Recommended
Gavin & Debbie
12 years 3 months ago
We stayed here for one week and after reading the other reviews we were looking forward to our holiday.
When we got there we were allocated room 107 which is located at the back/side of the hotel,our invoice quite clearley states a front sea view,so we asked to change our room.The receptionist was no help at all. All he would say was we are full. We asked to see the manager and was told he was at home(it was 09.30)and would not be in till 12noon.
We went to the room which was clean but very small.It was at the end of the corridor and had a strange smell not sure if it was because we were above the kitchen area.The balcony was big enough for two chairs and a small table. It had a view of sorts if you didnt mind the large metal fire escape and the flat roof with someones old knickers on the roof.
The breakfast was the normal turkish fare and was great.We had a meal at the turkish night (tuesdays). I orderd the fish on salt(order the day before)and the wife had steak(well done).Well the steak was still pink/raw which was sent back straight away,the fish still had loads of bones in it....
Then we got the shock when we paid the bill as it does not tell you the price of the fish. It was 50 turkish lira,thats the dearest fish and chips I have ever had.
The turkish dancers were just ok as was the belly dancer.The break dancers were great.
The hotel has a great position on the beach(if that is what you call it,there is no sand.)and it has its own private section for hotel guests as it has no pool,but you still have to pay to use the beds.There is a beach boy who will fetch you drinks and food...a large bottle of water 3 tlr....in the shop next to the hotel 1.5 tlr.What a rip off.
The staff were ok except for the lad on reception who was of no help at all to us at any time.We were never approched by any one about our room.The young lady in the restaurant told us we could use the pool at the sister hotel(the efendi).We had a look,it was small but ok,we used it all the time.The staff in the bar and restaurant were much better than the others so they got our custom.
Would we visit again....no....next door...yes.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: med hotels

Denis & Pat Deacon
12 years 4 months ago
We chose the hotel because of the numerous good reports on various web sites. We also wanted somewhere reasonably quiet away from the "Brit Strip" in nearby Marmaris. We were in room 101 which although smallish was perfectly adequate - I have stayed in smaller. The air conditioning was free and we needed it because of hotter than normal weather for May. Guests included Swedes, Germans, Danes and Norwegians as well as English. All became friends and what a night we all had for the Eurovision Song Contest with Terry Wogan's commentary. The staff made sure the appropriate flags were on the tables and joined in the fun. The Turkish evening was excellent value for money. Food was excellent, staff extremely courteous and friendly, and the location at the side of the beach again superb. Would we go back yes. we wanted to go in September, but it is fully booked. Note: we met couples from various countries who had been staying there for years!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: mytravel

Recommended
Sue And John
13 years 2 months ago
We have just returned from a fantastic time at Kontes Beach Hotel in Icemeler. Fabulous sea view, friendly staff and good food and service. We have never been anywhere where the people have been as friendly as here. We hope to go back in September.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: ot.beach.com

Recommended
Dave & Jill
13 years 3 months ago
3rd visit to Kontes and just as good as the first and met up with others on repeat visits, this speaks for itself.

As ever we found accommodation and food excellent and views from the rooms that must be some of the best in Icmeler looking over the bay towards Marmaris.

The rooms are clean all have sea views most twin beds but believe there are 4 that have 2 bedrooms. No pool but right on the beach the med will do nicely, small pool at sister hotel the Effendi.

Only entertainment is the weekly Turkish night which was excellent so it got a 5. We were travelling independently and I injured my leg no rep to call on, the staff were wonderful took us to hospital and stayed with us until I could leave with leg in a cast, and took us back to hotel.

The set up at the hotel feels like one big family. We are back in Icmeler in Sept would stay at Kontes but booked up.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independant traveller

Recommended
Sam
14 years 1 month ago
Me and my husband have just returned from Icmeler.

We stayed at Kontes Beach hotel.

The Staff were very friendly can't do enough for you. The receptionist Ella Louise was lovely very friendly and helpful, the hotel room was clean, free Air Con.

Showers were warmer in the evening due to solar heating, Dinner & Evening meals were very good, towels were changed once while we there, just ask the receptionist for clean ones.

Room got cleaned everyday, Great view. Just Booked to go back next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Med Hotels

Recommended
John Delahoy
15 years ago
We have just returned from the Kontes hotel this is our ninth visit to Icmeler. Our first at the hotel.

It is the best hotel we have stayed in. The view is wonderful. The reception is great, the staff look after you and are very friendly.

The rooms are cleaned every day, the towels changed every other , day the food is excellent cannot wait to go next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: med hotels

Recommended
15 years 1 month ago
Arrived at 6 30 am, tired sore and wanting my bed, opened balcony door and seen the most beautiful sunrise shimmering over Icemeler bay. That is how my holiday started and it only got better. 5th time in Turkey and the best yet.

Hotel consists of small reception, normal sized b+b room, spotlessly clean with free A/C.

Food in hotel is excellent, passing trade packs it for lunch and dinner, speaks for itself.

Entertainment consists of one Turkish, Sat night, changed to Sunday when Turkey played Denmark. This is also free although requires booking, ate three times in hotel along with holiday friends, not residents, suitably impressed both with food and service.

Staff are as GENUINELY friendly as you could wish to meet.

If anything sells this hotel it is location, seperated from beach by promenade, with tree covered seating areas to sit after beach time with cool drink, at normal prices, and watch the world go by.

In twenty years we have never returned to a hotel, so many places, so little time. We will be back at Kontes Beach.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Goldtrail

Recommended
Caroline & Tony Wall
15 years 3 months ago
After visiting Icmeler for the last 12 years we have never stayed at this hotel before.

We arrived at approx 12.30 and we were greeted by a man on reception who was very friendly and gave us our room key told us where to go and wished us a nice holiday.

We were very impressed with the room, it was very very clean and had the most breathtaking view of the bay.

The aircon was excellent and was included in the price no extra charge. Breakfast was meats, cheeses, bread etc very nice and plenty of it.All the tea, coffee and orange you could drink.

Staff are very pleasant couldn't do enough for you. There was a Turkish night on Saturday evening which was a really good night.

The restaurant was very busy each evening catching passing trade aswell as the hotel guests.

We have booked to go again in August. Can't wait.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Med Hotels

Recommended
15 years 4 months ago
This was the first time that we had stayed in this hotel even though it was our 9th visit to Icmeler. We didn't know what to expect as there were no reviews on it previously.

We need not have been concerned, the location is fabulous, just across the promade and straight on to the beach.The views from the balcony,I believe must be the best in the bay.

On arrival we found the reception area rather small and dark but after going up in the outside glass lift and arriving in our room we were very pleasantly surprised. It had been completely refurbished. New beds and furniture and newly painted. Not a large room but big enough. Plenty of storage space although there was nowhere really to put the suitcases. The bathroom had all new fittings including a shower cubicle instead of the usual too short curtain.

The water was a bit temperamental for the first few days and just a tip for everybody, when turning on the washbasin taps stand well back and to the side as quite often the water spluttered out and drenched you. Not good when you're all dressed up to go out for the evening. The shower is powerful and hot, don't have it on full blast or it will knock you over.

The air conditioning was included in the price and was quiet and efficient and worked any time of the day. Room was cleaned daily and towels and beds changed twice a week.

Breakfast was the usual Turkish but a good selection of meats, cheese, tomatoes, cucumber, eggs, bread, jam etc. There was also cereal and yogurt.You could also have as much tea, coffee and orange as you liked. We only had two evening meals whilst we were there but both were very good and if it hadn't been for the fact that we like to go out and about we would have eaten there more often. Hotel guests get a 15% discount on all food and drinks.

I don't think there was any entertainment but am not sure as we never arrived back at the hotel before 2am. The staff were very good, friendly and efficient.

All in all I would say this is a very good basic hotel for couples. There is no pool and nothing for children to do so I don't think it would suit families, but for us it was ideal.

We would definitely stay here again. Shame it's all booked up for September.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Broadway Travel (Med Hotels)

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.