Image of Miray Hotel

Miray Hotel

58 of 113 hotels in Icmeler

4 out of 5 from 46 reviews
3 stars
Cumhuriyet Mh., 48700 İçmeler/Muğla Province, Turkey

46 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    18
  • Very Good
    15
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
TINY HOTEL ROOM
8 years 4 months ago
The Miray Hotel is situated ideally for everything, beach, bars, shops etc.
The only thing that lets this hotel down is the family that run it.
As we checked in we were asked if we wanted a safe =£20 per week and a/c =£35 per week.
We did need the safe so we paid £40, the a/c was too expensive. We were shown to our room by a strange Turkish man who would not leave until we gave him some money.
The room was very small about 8x8 feet; the balcony was just wide enough for a patio chair.
We had very small supposedly double bed, wardrobe, dressing table and fridge crammed in and this made it impossible for 2 people to walk around at the same time.
The bathroom was so tiny there was no room to dry yourself off after a shower.
The room was clean on the surface but on close inspection it wasn’t.
The breakfast consisted of bread, cheese, tomatoes, and olives.

On the 4th day I went up to my room to fetch something and left the door slightly ajar as I turned back I caught the young girl (family member of the owner of the hotel) sneaking into my room, to which she shouted sorry, sorry and bolted off down the stairs.
There was also Turkish man (another family member) that followed guests all the time, I caught him looking over my shoulder a few times when I went the toilet but when I turned round he would run off.

I went out and purchased an electric fan for our room as it was so hot.
We went out for the day and when we came back to our room the fan was unplugged and a bill for £35 was left on the table for using the fan.
There was some personal items missing and our belongings had been disturbed.

Any food or drink purchased outside the hotel shop was not allowed in the hotel.
The hotel shop was twice as expensive for everything compared to other shops.
Whenever I bought something at the hotel shop I was short changed every time.
The pool was tiny, no sun and not enough loungers for everyone.

The only good thing was Blondies Bar next door to the Hotel. They had very good food and drink the prices were reasonable. The staff there were brilliant and very friendly.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Will, Sue, Wendy And Ian
Excellent value for money hotel
10 years 1 month ago
Just returned from a two week stay at the Miray, having read mixed reviews I didn't really know what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is situated a very short walk from the beach and all the shops and bars.

The Miray is kept really clean with the maids starting work around 6am and was still there some times at gone midnight. The reception was always occupied and I had read that the man on reception didn't speak very good English, however we found him really nice and friendly, We e-mailed the manager before we arrived to ask for an outward facing room, we couldn't of been given better rooms.

The food is served at Blondies and the staff there were very friendly and didn't harass us to eat there so we decided to eat there one night, the food was OK but much better places elsewhere.

The only negative we could find with the hotel was the pool which is a little small and the staff don't open the poolside bar so there's no background music or atmosphere plus it only gets the sun till early afternoon, but that is the only negative for what is an excellent value for money hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Richard
10 years 2 months ago
Just returned from the Miray in Icmeler and I have marvelled at the few people on another website who think it's great! What exactly is so great about it?! The stench of sewage from the showers? The pool bar that's never open? The icy cold showers? The tiny pool that's always in the shade? The horrible processed cheese breakfast with that meat paste they have the cheek to call salami? The gloomy unlit foyer? The views over the backs of other buildings draped in old towels and t shirts? The TVs in the rooms that only get 5 channels, 3 of which are Turkish, 1 of which is news 24hrs? The huge screens all around the place they laughingly call the 'restaurant' that has NOTHING but football and news on morning, noon and night? The loungers around the pool that ALL have broken backs on them and that collapse all the time?

I tend to measure my holiday visits against where I live and to be honest I've got quite used to hot water in my showers, good food in my fridge and a comfortable chair to sit in at home. None of this is available at the Miray and yet I am expected to pay extra to go there? When I pay to go and stay in a hotel for 2 weeks here's a novel idea- How about it being better than what i already have at home. What is so weird about that concept? If it's worse I might as well stay at home and save myself a fat wedge of cash.

What is it that happens to British peoples judgement and common sense when they go abroad? A bit of sun and a watery drink and they go barmy! I can run a cold hosepipe up to my garden shed, put a hard camp bed in there bring you a bit of rubbery cheese, jam and some super strong tea every morning and charge you £400 a week! Jobs a goodun!

Pay that bit extra (I wish I had) and go to a real hotel. Just because they put the word Hotel over the door doesn't make it a hotel.

Some people will say you get what you pay for, well actually you don't. By the time you've been paid for overpriced bar bills, inflated prices at the shop attached to the building and exorbitant safe and air conditioning prices you could have gone to a genuine 3 star hotel somewhere in Southern Europe. I wish I had spent my money on a nice little 3 star in Rome or Venice. You have been warned.

You don't see any French, Dutch, Germans, Belgians or for that matter ANY other Europeans except Brits there. Just about sums it up then. We will not only put up with hotels like this but we will happily pay for the privilege as well.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
10 years 2 months ago
On arrival at Hotel we were shown to our room by young chap from reception, he did not wait for a tip, bags in, showed us air con and he was gone. The young girl who cleaned was very good, towels every day and sheets every couple of days.

We booked bed and breakfast but I only went for one, other half went every day and enjoyed basic Turkish but he was happy with it. Had a few meals in Blondies, no complaints about them very enjoyable and did eat in other places so could compare. The drinks there were fine went every night before going to bed, plenty of alcohol in ours and the staff were brilliant we were not harassed at all on way out just used to say see you later. The boys who work there work long hours and are very friendly dancing all the time, will return again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Andrea
10 years 2 months ago
The hotel on arrival appreared to be promissing looked relativley modern and clean, however being prompted to take the safe and air con at four o clock in the morning after having traveled for in total 10 hours could have waited until the next morning. Sadly the person who greeted us could not understand much English however was pleasant. We were taken to our room and rudely asked for a tip!

The room was small to our surprise our balcony faced inward to the building therefore we had no natural air, the balcony was very small with just one chair, we don't spend our holiday on the balcony but after a day at the beach or pool we like to relax here prior to going out. The bedding and soft furnishing were dated and very worn. Furniture very basic. The cleaners worked very hard but sadly some areas were missed the floor wasn't always cleaned and we ended up with dirty sticky feet. Towels were frequently changed and bedding once a week, not good in the immense heat.


Despite having a fridge in your room sadly you were not allowed to bring in items unless purchased from the Miray supermarket, whilst the owner of the Miray market was really lovely the prices of the items in the shop were way above that of Tansas etc. Being questioned over what you are bringing in is not ideal when its your holiday and you are just b&b?

I did find the staff over familiar with guests and found this uncomfortable as a woman. Blondies is next door and described as a fun pub, the staff are great and work very long hours, but be careful because drinks are not always as you ask on two occasions i did not have alcohol in my drink. Meals are plentiful but taste very much the same despite what you order also us Brits do not eat chips with everything.

One thing annoying is that you can not leave your hotel without be approached by staff from Blondies and asked where you are going, us holiday makers do not want to eat and drink in the same place every night. I found that if you didn't comply with eating in Blondies every night you were treated differently.

The pool area at the Miray let the hotel down, despite the fact i don't want to sunbath for 12 hours i still want a bit of sun still at 2pm the pool becomes very shaded. For my two week stay we were lucky to have a hot shower perhaps twice, despite complaints to the manager it didn't help. Although a cold shower was refreshing sometimes! a hot one was needed after the beach sand sun oil etc.

The hotel didn't live up to our expectations it was clean but very basic, no entertainment at pool side not even back ground music, pool let it down as did the level of noise from adjoining bars and internal noise from reception and doors banging late at night everything seemed to echo. We would not return for many reasons.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Joan & Dave
11 years 4 months ago
Both myself my husband and two friends booked into this hotel may 2009. The hotel is very clean, bed linen & towels changed every two days. Staff extremely helpful and very friendly. Location is on a busy street, but as the music stops at 11.30 no problem. The food was excellent, although we only booked B&B we eat most of our meals in blondes next door.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Lowcost

Recommended
Marian
11 years 4 months ago
I stayed in the Miray on my own for 2 weeks and found the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, nothing was too much bother. I was greeted by reception and made to feel very welcome.My room was cleaned daily and was roomy with a nice balcony overlooking the front street.I would not say it was quiet but the music went on till 12o'clock but it was not a nusiance as I liked the atmosphere that it created and made me feel cheerful.The staf work from morning till night and are always at hand to help and even if they are tired they never complain.
Blondie's resterant provides the hotel's entertainment, which is in the same building and is great.I would stay at this hotel again and recomend it to everyone what ever there age, there is something for everyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: holidays4u

Recommended
12 years ago
Hotel Miray Icmeler - Stayed for eleven nights.On arrival allocated a room that was so small you had to walk on your cases. There was no natural light in the room it was very depressing.We were moved the next day & they had the cheek to make us pay
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Independant

Julie & Ian
12 years 1 month ago
Just returned from a 2week stay at the Miray Hotel and would not go back. 5th time in Icmeler but 1st time in this hotel. Bed was not changed the full 2 weeks we were their. Had to keep buying our own toilet roll, had to constantly ask for clean towels and the floor in our apartment was never washed just a quick sweep.
The pool area was disgusting hence us going to the beach every day. It looked like there had been a spillage at the side of the pool and this was still there the day that I left. Small pool looked like it needed a good clean.
Hotel staff were friendly enough as was the shop staff.
Blondie's Bar was excellent and the staff and waiters could not do enough for you!!!
Took us 4 days to find out if we were able to extend our room, only found out at 10.00am on the day so think it could be better organised.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travelsupermarket.com

Tiegan
12 years 3 months ago
i went to this hotel in june it was brillant. the entertainment was brillant and people say there was know enterainment.im going back to turkey in 2009 twice. the was people in dancing hip hop it was brillant. people have nt stayed in t see.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.