Image of Destan Hotel

Destan Hotel

42 of 50 hotels in Olu Deniz

3 out of 5 from 25 reviews
3 stars

25 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Julie
Nice hotel, shame about the manager
10 years 3 months ago
We stayed in the hotel Destan in Hisaronu and would never go back due to a very ignorant and arrogant manager. Our daughter has a severe skin condition and scratched her skin leaving tiny blood stains on the bedding, he sent one of his staff to get her from the pool and demanded she paid 16 pound to clean the sheets. We returned from the beach to a very upset daughter, on approaching the manager he told us to pay up or get out of his hotel. We couldn't move hotels as we had no more cash to book another hotel, we resolved it by buying our own sheets and doing our own cleaning.

We have stayed in this resort for 7 years and never had this before. The hotel and staff were lovely especially Danny.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Oakey/ Morgan
11 years 2 months ago
Well how to start?. We have stayed at the Destan Hotel twice before and had a great time there, met a lot of people who return again and again, but this time im afraid it was rubbish. On arrival we went into the new reception area to be greeted with a blazing row between the Customer Relations manager and a family about air conditioning charges, the family said they had not had it but the relations person said they had, and had to pay or would not be allowed to leave for the airport.We went to check in and was told we were not booked in untill the next day, but we had documentation saying we were booked in that day, after 10 mins of phone calls the manager arrived and while walking thru the reception said give them rooms, he didnt even speak to us. there are to many things to say about the hotel ie food and drink being confiscated, no ice for the drinks, 50% of the time there was no ice creams in the fridges, the music around the big pool was head banging disco music very loud, i think they only had 1 cd and played it constantly, when asked to change it and turn the volume down they did for 20 mins then returned to Boom Boom, so we were forced to go and sit around the small pool for peace and quiet. To sum up the staff are miserable, the Management are ignorant and arrogant,people we met there on previous years that we met this year have said that they will not be going back to the destan, which is a shame as the hotel used to be a great place but not anymore. Me and my family will never go back to the Destan Hotel
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Holiday Mate / Falcon

Oakey/ Morgan
Never going back
11 years 3 months ago
Well how to start? We have stayed at the Destan Hotel twice before and had a great time there, met a lot of people who return again and again, but this time I’m afraid it was rubbish.

On arrival we went into the new reception area to be greeted with a blazing row between the Customer Relations manager and a family about air conditioning charges, the family said they had not had it but the relations person said they had, and had to pay or would not be allowed to leave for the airport.

We went to check in and was told we were not booked in until the next day, but we had documentation saying we were booked in that day, after 10 mins of phone calls the manager arrived and while walking thru the reception said give them rooms, he didn’t even speak to us.

There are too many things to say about the hotel i.e. food and drink being confiscated, no ice for the drinks, 50% of the time there was no ice creams in the fridges, the music around the big pool was head banging disco music very loud, i think they only had 1 cd and played it constantly, when asked to change it and turn the volume down they did for 20 mins then returned to Boom Boom, so we were forced to go and sit around the small pool for peace and quiet.

To sum up the staff are miserable, the Management are ignorant and arrogant, people we met there on previous years that we met this year have said that they will not be going back to the Destan, which is a shame as the hotel used to be a great place but not anymore. Me and my family will never go back to the Destan Hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Lisa
11 years 3 months ago
I was a loyal customer of 3 years, never again!!!
I was going to come and defend the Destan Hotel after going there for the past 3 years and the rest of my family have been going for the past 4 years. The rooms have not always been the best, but the location, pool and staff offset the leaky showers. I would never go back now, the hotel has changed hands and it’s so rude, dirty and just awful. The first night we arrived we asked if there were any rooms in the newer block, the man on reception said not tonight but come back tomorrow were see what we can do. We got to our room and the shower just dripped out. So in the morning we went to reception to ask about moving and getting the shower fixed, well we spoke to the customer relations manager, which really needs to work on her customer relations skills. She was so rude and just talked over us and her attitude stunk, her answer was if you don’t like it go some were else and that was the answer she had. That night the shower was fixed give them that.
The rooms had been painted over the winter but still there was mould up the wall and ceiling in the bedroom and bathroom, the room smelt of damp and urine all the time, the shower leaked, but that was normal, the sink moved, toilet seat was not attached. The mould got worse over the two weeks we was there, when we moved our suite cases at the end of the holiday to pack, they was covered with mould. It’s not only the rooms, it’s the staff and manager which was a big problem, while we was there three staff got the sack for fighting with English tourists.
In the second week we came across about 200 pepper sliced behind the old reception desk on a Destan bed sheet and they was still there when we left. We confronted the customer relations manager when we left on the peppers and she insisted it was where people eat them and throw them behind there. No way they were for someone’s dinner, they was not eaten apart from the ants, they must have put them there. We also confronted her about the mould every were and getting worse, and her answer was if was dirt and we put it there, oh yes I always take my stash of mould on holiday with me, what a joke!!!
Moral of the story is if there is a problem with the hotel it would be down to you and it’s your problem. We would never return again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Alpharooms

Susan Griffiths
11 years 4 months ago
We arrived at this hotel with some apprehension, having read some derogatory reviews. What a relief! The room was really pleasant, spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom,(no leaks) and nicely furnished. Yes the balcony was small but we were on the shady side of the hotel and do not spend much time on the balcony anyway. so did not see that as a minus point. The breakfast was the usual Turkish meal with the addition of hard boiled eggs and cornflakes, so no grumbles there either. All the food was covered (until a guest left it uncovered). We had lunch in the hotel most days. We tended to stick to sandwiches, which were very nice and reasonably priced, although omelettes, pizzas and salads were also available. We attended the weekly BBQ which was
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Manos

Recommended
R & I
13 years 1 month ago
Just returned from a pleasant 2 week break at the Destan Hotel, the hotel is well situated, within two minutes walk from the strip in Hisaronu. On arrival you enter through the bar and past the nice shaped pool area to reception, the staff where quite friendly, We stayed Half Board because the cost was'nt much more than B&B. The Turkish breakfast was okay, but the same things each morning, the evening meal was nothing to get too excited about, soup, the usual mezes, and one choice for main course, which was served in the dark as the lighting by the serving area did not work. This hotel does not allow you to take in any food or drinks from outside whatsoever, ..be warned !. Snacks can be bought from the bar and the menu is very reasonably priced.
The room we had was adaquate for what we needed, though suffering from a bit of wear and tear, the bathroom especially so, but it was towards the end of the season, the bedding was changed regularly as where the towels which some days where folded and shaped into swans, hearts and flowers, nice touch !.The hotel has two pool areas and plenty of sunloungers so its not the usual fight in the morning. Overall - The Destan Hotel is clean, very well situated in Hisaronu, the staff are pleasant, and makes a good base to stay, but if we ever return it would be on a B&B basis.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Goldtrail

Recommended
13 years 2 months ago
The pool area at this hotel was clean and well kept. The bathroom needed some attention as the shower doors tended to fall off! this happened in all of the three rooms our family occupied..The tiolet moved as it was not properly secured to the floor!The balconies are very small and if there is more than two of you, its a bit of a squeeze!
I would like to make everyome aware that this hotel has a policy that does not allow food or drink to be taken into the hotel under any circumstances. My six year old son had a small bottle of coke taken from him by the hotel manager,he was quite abusive and pointed out the large boards that are situated around the hotel.These boards inform visitors of their policies and other holiday makers had goods taken from them too.
Always take a large bag out to carry any shopping in, as they cannot search your personal belongings.
Be aware of the head barman, he watches as you come and go from the hotel, he also has his favourites, especially if you drink late at night at the bar....
The bar snacks were lovely and good value. The lads that worked behind the bar were friendly and polite, they were great with the children.
The room were cleaned every day and the cleaning ladies do a very good job, they were always friendly although their English is limited.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Jane & Steve
13 years 2 months ago
wen we arrived early hrs in the morn, were told that we werent allowed 2 bring any kind of drink or food in2 the hotel, ad 2 buy it from the bar, charged
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Manos

Mr Scott
13 years 3 months ago
we were disapointed with this hotel, the 1st room they gave us was in the basement with a high wall for a view the room was filthy with cobwebs all over the place, the rep got us moved still in the basement but it was cleaner the shower door was hanging off and the toilet was broke which they fixed, we had to go down 2 flights of stairs and the lights didnt work which was very dangerous they where fixed on the last night of our stay,our room was only cleaned twice in the second week,we have stayed in a few hotels in hisaronu and this is definately the worst, the food was very good and the location was brilliant but the staff really couldnt care less wether you are enjoing your stay or not,we would never stay in this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Terri & Chris
13 years 4 months ago
I had read reviews about this hotel before I booked and thought overall it would be good value for money, and I was right it was. Don't expect the world and you won't be disappointed.

At first I was upset that the young night porter could hardly speak English when he checked us in. I was tired and after I had slept on it I decided I was in Turkey after all, and felt more ashamed I couldn't say please or thank you in turkish!

The room was a decent size. We had a basement room, with a "garden view". This meant I didn't feel safe to leave the door open at night, however on this side of the hotel we didn't need to pay for air conditioning either (
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Holiday Mate/Gold Trail

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.