Image of Alize Hotel

Alize Hotel

30 of 50 hotels in Olu Deniz

4 out of 5 from 15 reviews
4 stars
Belcekiz Mevki Oludeniz Cad., Oludeniz 48300, Turkey

15 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Trevor Walmsley
Stayed June 2013
7 years 5 months ago
The Alize Hotel has now added an a la carte restaraunt, a strange choice for an a hotel that's main customer base book on all inclusive deals. But the food in the hotel seems to have taken a big dip in quality at the same time which maybe co incidence? But seems an attempt to extract another 10 pounds per head for a decent evening meal. There are now approx 25 to 30 less sunbeds available than last year when more were required, to ensure getting a sunbed folks were actually putting towels on beds at 5 in the morning and if you waited to try to get a sun bed after 7 am you probably would not get one, hardly relaxing.

Rooms are cleaned well and have been updated but badly. One block has problems with hot and cold water in the lower basement rooms, toilets are leaking water through there bases, and storage is now only one sliding door wardrobe, there was a chest of draws last year but the shelves have been removed and the room fridges have now been put inside, said fridges now overheat in a confined wooden space and do not work properly as they are over heating. In my room the light did not work and was finally repaired after 10 days, a missing sink plug was reported on the first day and was still not replaced 14 days later.

What has been replaced are some of the good staff that worked at this hotel, starting in reception one did not speak English a second would not accept complaints from my wife. The doorman just appeared to glare at guests, a smile was well outside his skill set. The bar staff seemed to enjoy chatting with each other rather than serving guests or collecting glasses, piles of dirty glasses sat uncollected and eventually there was no cups by juice or water machines in 45 degrees heat.

The restaraunt staff seem to have been cut back, the young lads work hard and long hours, the food has gone seriously gone down hill, it was chicken, chips and some very sloppy stew affairs and some truly awful under or seriously overlooked concoctions. Sweets we're left in the open for all the insects to enjoy first, stuck to fruit as a safer bet, there was cakes of various orders but it takes real skill to make a large varied range of cakes taste of nothing.

The entertainments staff are a good hard working group of guys who do there best to keep all the guests and kids entertained, ditching tug of war on a wet stone tiled floor might be a good idea though.

This is not a off the cuff review, I have stayed in this hotel over several years, for whatever reason things have gone downhill, good staff have been replaced by not so good in key areas, will be looking elsewhere in future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Kk
10 years 3 months ago
7 days, all inclusive, couple.
First day it didn't look bad. Rooms are quite ok, big wardrobe, plus some draws, big mirrors on the walls..AC did work well, which was highly apprechiable, however during the day temperature rise until 45 degrees:) At least one place, where you can cool down a bit :) Cleaners were coming every day to change towels, and tidy a bit, just the bedsheets were the same for all week:( Bar was unacceptably small, 6-7 tables for 4 (!!!!!!!!) drinks very poor selection, you were lucky if the ice machine was working :) Beer only one, local, house white wine and house red wine, no coctails at all, and plenty of imported spirits excluded from your all inclusive of course...in the fridge redbull, and bar serving coffee...if you want cappucino, just forget:) option only for black coffee and coffee latte! Behind bar 2 ping-pong tables no idea from what year they came, rackets for the game destroyed completely, balls broken most of them, 2 pool tables same condition:)
Food was all right first 2 days, then every day more less the same...dinner is from 7:30-pm to 10pm, good tip for all of you guys, don't go there before 8:30, otherwise you gonna enjoy presence of wasps instead of enjoying your meal !!!
Swimming pool was clean, but anyway to small for so many accomodated people! You have to get up every day around 6am to go to place your towel (to reserve) sunbeds!!!! Sorry for people who just arriving, because they won't get any !!!! Staff around not very friendly, some of them annoying, some of them without english at all...Every day same program by the swimming pool, evevnings entertainment very poor.
Hotel has fitness room, it contains 2 running machines and another 3 poor old machines for training!!!
Hotel is offering excursions and activities, well i don't know if all of them, or we were just not lucky and pick up the wrong one, but it was real suffering!!!! After reading leaflet followed by reccomodation of staff as well, we decided to go to Daylan. Better don't choose. Do not recommending.
Hotel is situated just 2 minutes from main street and 10 min from the sea.
If you going from hotel to the left, in 10 minutes you gonna rich hill, from where is beautiful view!!:)
Beach is nice , clean, sunbeds are free of charge, there is a lot of paragliding going on there. Many of souvenirs shops and restaurants. Just the prices same like in Britain, even all souvenirs you can find in Camden town , London :)

I must say that we are traveling a lot and this is defenetly not a 4 STAR experience!!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Mark
11 years 1 month ago
it was our 3rd trip to olu deniz this year, and as usual we stayed in the alize, having travelled all my life and visiting many many places, i really can not fault this hotel. very clean rooms, pool, bar every where. staff fantastic, food great, entertainment basic but great fun... and lets be honest, thats what you want. kids loved it as did i.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
11 years 3 months ago
Got back early hours of this morning and missing it so much. The hotel is lovely, superb location. I went with my sister and our children all teenagers. The hotel is more geared up for families, couples than youngsters wanting to be out until the early hours so suited us perfect.

Rooms as stated previously, basic, small balcony but very clean. You do need to be able to take your suitcase up 2 flights of stairs if you are in one of the higher rooms, the hotel porter leaves them at the bottom of the stairs and waits for his tip!! We had 2 teenage boys who were able to carry cases up otherwise I might have asked if the porter could take them to the door but I'm not sure if he sees that as his job! We spent very little time in the rooms, they are air conditioned thankfully as it was very hot at night.

Food I couldn't fault. There was plenty of choice, always something different on the barbeque. We tried lots of different turkish foods..some we liked, some we wouldn't want again but it was nice to have the opportunity to taste. Lots of sickly sweet puds and fresh fruit.

Drinks were fine for us. However if you are whisky, brandy, baileys drinker then you won't be impressed. All inclusive drinks are literally wine, raki, vodka, gin, beer (efes and one other draught), soft drinks. Anything else you have to pay for! Coffee available all day, I think tea was but I didn't order any myself.

You have a fridge in your room handy for other drinks that you want to buy from local supermarket (3 mins from hotel) and reasonably priced.

Didn't realise till last day but pool towels are available free of charge, you keep them for 3 days then swap for clean. Handy for the last day if you don't want to pack wet towels.

I can recommend the hotel masseur, I had a full body massage for
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Monarch

Recommended
Jiv
11 years 3 months ago
Welcomed in the early hours and led by the now infamous (other reviews) porter! Led around an immaculate pool area and through mature and sweet smelling gardens to our room. Much bigger and more modern room than expected, and given quick lesson in how to get the perfect air con - priceless! Pool area more gorgeous in the morning, no loud music as was lead to beleive, although did join in the aquarobics for one day only. Enjoyed the music during this time daily, but never pushed to join, as with all the other organised activities. Erkan and team around all day, great with everyone whether joining in or not. Club songs and dances very catchy! Food available virtually all day, fresh warm bread with breakfast and dinner, bbq's every evening, always something for kids regardless of how fussy.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Phil Griffo
11 years 3 months ago
Otel Alize is a wonderful place to spend 14 days away from old blighty, it is small enough to get to know everyone, and just big enough to avoid any mingers one identifies from the safety of sunglasses.
So after the first week one is basically so comfy with their surroundings, its entirely feasible for one to imagine that one is parading their un-selfconcious part baked selves around their own massive villa with a load of friends and a few undistinguished family members.

The food was a bit ropey, but as we were all inclusive I tended to chomp on the olives most of the time but beware the chips; as these were harder than the contents of the olives.

One found all the staff were very helpful but also very tired, which gave the impression to some visitors that they were unsociable. I did see the same tired waiter being lambasted a couple of times by recently arrived happy go lucky brits.

The response from the Turks if one uses some local lingo can produce a massive smile too !
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Pauline Jones
11 years 5 months ago
this is our 2nd year back and its just as fab the hotel rooms are small but clean and you have every thing you need we had a basement room which was cool in the hot temp.
we had to get up early to get sunbeds some days worse than others the swimming pol is lovely and clean and cold when you 1st get in.the slide opens from 3 to 5 pm
the food is great breakfast is toast sausages cold meats a chef doing fried eggs and omlette which are lovely and a mixture of james and spreads,lunch always lots of salads and chips meats we always found something to eat infact you could eat all day long the dinner in the evening was all the salads again mixture of pots, pasta and chips meat dishes usally 3 and a barbi outside and the most gorg sweets!!!the pizza and snack bar is great and icecream lovely.
the hotel location is perfect 3 mins down road from shops 5 mins to seafront.
we took the free bus to seahorse beach which is lovely and worth a vist.
the entertainment team worked very hard and kept everyone entertained the evening is ok we had 2 good show in 10 nights but the team try their hardest.
the staff are very friendly and always smiley.
we have been back 4 days and are trying to book for next year!!!


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Cox
12 years 1 month ago
We stayed at alize for 2 weeks it's was our first family holiday(with the grandchildren).The hotel was lovely,very clean around the pool area bar and gardens.The staff here are fantastic all of them, very friendly.The entertainment team are great,they even got my 14 year old son up on stage to take part in a comedy show it was so funny,we ave put it on Youtube,and we love Arkon who is in-charge of the entertainment. The food - it got a bit much towards the end of our holiday,as it was much of the same (chips,pasta and chicken)but we managed.The hotel is about a five minute stroll to the resort centre and a Dolmus cost us 7 ytl(
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Netty And Neil
12 years 1 month ago

The hotel was very clean as was the pool and surrounding area. The gardens were well tended. The only exception to the cleanliness was about 8' away from our bedroom door - the resident hens used a rail to roost on and made a bit of a mess - as birds do!! However, this was cleaned up daily and they were just so cute that it didnt worry us. The setting is amazing, surrounded by mountains - very beautiful.

Our room was very small - smaller than avarage because of it's location - but it was clean and cool and well serviced by the room maid who left towel animals on our bed on several of the days. :)

The food was of an acceptable standard but not particularly varied and became a bit boring towards the end of our 10 night stay. My husband is a bit of a fussy eater but always found something he could eat, even if it was just soup. We particularly enjoyed the Turkish Pizza that was freshly made in the snack bar each afternoon. Fresh omlettes or fried eggs were cooked while you waited at breakfast time and at dinner time meats and fish were freshly cooked on the "BBQ"

The entertainment wasn't particularly professional but the head of the entertainments team, Erkon, was very endearing and he and his team tried their best to organise pool games, darts games aqua aeorobics as well as evening entertainment each day. On a couple of evenings outside entertainers were brought in. A troupe of brake dancers were particularly good as was a fire eater - well worth dragging ourselves away from the bar to see!!

The hotel staff were good. Some of the bar staff could have done with smiling a bit more often though.

We didnt pay the earth for this holiday and felt that it represented good value for money and we would consider returning at some point in the future.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
12 years 3 months ago
We arrived at the Alize early morning and we had to fill in this form. We were then given a wristband to show we were all inclusive and then the porter took both of our suitcases and carried them up to our room. Our room had 2 single beds but we pushed them together and a window seat. The bathroom was small and it had toilet, sink and just a shower. The balcony was small with 2 chairs and a small table; from the balcony we had a slight sea view but all around you there is mountains and the gardens are kept really nice. The swimming pool is large with a shallow end and deep end and also a water slide that is on the shallow side. In the first week we had no problem getting a sunbed but in the second week we had to get up abit earlier. The hotel has lots of facilities including a salon where she does hair, nails, waxing etc. for cheap prices and also men can get hair cuts and shaves. There is also a Turkish bath and a gym in the basement area. They have a theatre like area with seats going up where they do children
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.