Image of Lykia World Village Hotel

Lykia World Village Hotel

9 of 50 hotels in Olu Deniz

4 out of 5 from 57 reviews
5 stars
Lykia World Residence, Kıdrak Mevkii, 48340 oludeniz, Turkey
A beautiful mountain setting boasting panoramic coastline views with a huge range of activities on offer, make this a perfect family holiday location.

57 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    25
  • Very Good
    24
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Excellent holiday
3 years 4 months ago
Been to lykia since 2004 and booked again for July 2018.

It's changed names was called Lykia world with the village one side and the residence the other with families being able to use both sides now it's 2 hotels - the village is called liberty hotels and the residence is called sentido lykia resort and spar - only adults can stay at sentido side and families even if your adults cannot get into the sentido if your staying at liberty ! It's now all inclusive still the same meals but the beach restaurant has improved and so have the rooms yet the holiday price has gone up but then you get what you pay for,
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Hotel tip: If your adults only stay at sentido side

Recommended
11 years ago
we stayed at lykia world recently, our second visit, this time it wasnt quite so good, the hotel prices have gone up quite a lot and the a la carte restaurants are over priced so we didnt try any, we also all got a 24 hr sickness bug that went around the hotel, also there seems to be tons of bees and wasps grr, the air con is set at 24 and cant be changed which we found too hot in the daytime and fine at night. excellent facilities for kids, ellie enjoyed the kids club and the paradise park. the food was again very good , plenty of sun beds available all over the complex so that was great, but could have been cos it was the week before half term. we enjoyed our stay there but probably wont be back as twice is enough
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: monarch hotels diy

Recommended
11 years 2 months ago
This was our 1st time in Turkey, what a hotel
we stayed in the village in the garden area.
Large bathroom double shower large living area etc etc
Mini bar can be emptied and local produce placed in.
Food - excellent - eat in marina for table space no waiting like in village restraunt.Chinease is excellent at 10 euro each.Location is great short taxi ride to oli and feth Lykia have there own taxis that will pick you up at agreed time, they are not expensive. Drinks are fairly exspensive 7 euro for a bottle of corona but your on your hols. Our bill was
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Michelle Hodgson
11 years 6 months ago
This was our first time to Turkey and as a family of four. We arrived on the 1st April which I think was one of the 1st days of opening! There were only 3 of us checking in so check-in was quick.We had a family room in the L's (cant remember the names!) on the ground floor. The room was large enough for us 4.
We had a bed settee for our eldest who is 4 and a travel cot and there was still plenty of space. The bathroom was large and the shower was excellent, warm and powerful. The rooms were cleaned every day and the towels were supposed to be changed 3 times a week but i'm sure we had clean towels every day.
The whole hotel was very clean. The Residence restaurant was the only one open when we arrived, for the first 5 days so we had a bit of a trek for meals but it didnt bother us. The food was excellent, much better than I expected it to be. There is loads to choose from so we didnt get bored. A couple of times the residence had something different like sushi which was made in front of you (which was very good). When the village restaurant opened the food was almost the same as residence and just as good. For breakfast there was a choice of cereals, museli, yogurts, meats, salads, cheeses, breads, omelettes waffles, pancakes, and the usual hot things like sausages, eggs, french toast etc. At lunch there were grilled meats (lamb and chicken usually), salads, stuffed veggies, rice, pizza, chips, different kinds of potatoes, salads and breads. dinner was almost the same but with pastas and some other specials suck as stuffed chicken, stuffed lamb, meatballs (koftas), chilli, fish, chinese meals I could go on!!!Everything we ate, and we pretty much tried everything between us, was lovely and the staff were fab. They loved the kids!!
The hotel is built in a cove and so is built up the sides of mountains. As a result its a bit of a climb up to childrens paradise but alternatively there is a bus that runs around the hotel that also ventures down to the beach. The hotel is massive!
It is only 5 mins away from Olu Deniz and there is a bus that runs evry 10 mins down to the town. We didnt go to Olu Deniz but the beach did look lovely. The beach at the hotel is pebbly but does have sand around the sunlounger area. The beach is a nice one though.
Fethiye was about 20mins away and was a lot bigger than I expected. We went to the market which is HUGE. There is a bus from Olu Deniz which runs to Fethiye regularly.
The staff at the hotel were fantastic, especially the childrens club guys. Only our 4 yr old went along and only to the evening times. They were fab though and i cant emphasise enough how good they were.How they remember so many childrens name i dont know!The kids club ran lots of activities but i'm sure you will have seen the brochure. The Judo lessons looked excellent and the guy who did them is an ex world champ. He looked like he was having a fab time and the show he did with the kids was fab.
All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful and were very impressed. The entertainment was also very good. there was a couple of theatres around but only the residence one was open when we were there so I dont know how it works at peak time. The shows that were on were really good. There was an entertainment team who performed nearly all the shows and they were very good. We also had a Turkish night with Turkish dancers (with belly dancers!)and a magic show.The kids loved it!
Overall We had a fantastic time. The weather was really good although we had 4 bad weather days. The temp when we got there was around 19-22 and when we left (2wk holiday) it was getting up to around 25-27'c. Like I said earlier we were one of the first to stay and so quite a lot of the hotel was closed. Only the residence indoor/outdoor pool was open but our kids were happy swimming anywhere and there are a couple of slides there. The outdoor pool was freezing but I expect when the weather is warmer it would warm up and be refreshing as we were told temps last summer got up to 55'c! The childrens paradise opened after about 5 days.
We would definately go back and already we are looking at next year. For anyone thinking of going at the same time of year just bear in mind that Olu Deniz is basically closed and the hotel maynot be completly open which we weren't told but maybe should have expected!Also the weather can be unpredictable. We did have plenty of gorgeous days but as I've said it did rain for 4 days and when I say rain...it was like a monsoon! Another point to make is that prices at the hotel are quite expensive. We paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
12 years ago
Almost faultless.

However, one gripe is that hotel was entering close-down at the end of October and the quality of the food deteriorated from 5* at the start of our week to 3* by the end with lots of "oh we've run out" coming from the chefs.

Rooms fine - you dont stay in them for long so hardly a big thing for us

Stunning location - far far better than we were expecting. Not easy to get off-site but as we were only there for a week it wasnt an issue. If you wanted a chance of scene on the odd night then yes, this may be an issue

Staff couldnt have been more helpful. Littel Emre in particular was a total star - if he ever entered Big Brother over here he would walk it! He had both adults and kids eating out of his hands - a natural charmer and entertainer.

Entertainment for a week was fine - might have grated if we had 2 weeks of it
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: TC

Recommended
Emma
12 years 1 month ago
Lykia World Residence is amazing. The hotel itself is huge and can take 15 minutes just to walk from one end to the other, but it's worth it for the beautiful scenery. There are lots of pools including at least 2 over 18 pools which is lovely if you want peace and quiet. The food is delicious, they have a different theme each night with LOTS of choice. I particularly liked the range of fresh fruit which were very yummy!
You are never far from a bar to purchase drinks when the sun gets too hot, the beach is lovely and has a platform you can swim out to to view marine life.
Olu Deniz is a 5 minute drive away and taxi's a provided by the hotel, the staff are very friendly and most speak good English.
They have a different show on every night. I watched a few and enjoyed them all, had a good laugh at some and was in awe over others.
I would definately go back to this resort when i get the chance!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
12 years 2 months ago
Check in was very quick. We were given entertainment programmes for the following week and the children were given a teens programme.

Shown to our room which was a family standard room. Stayed in Patara block which was a bit of a walk to reception but was fine for us (had to walk off all that food somehow!) Had a lovely veiw of the mountain and sea.

Restaurants: All the food was of a very high standard. Our favourite was the Marina and usually got seated if we were down by 7.45. By 8pm there was someone standing at the top of the stairs telling you it was full.

Speciality restaurants: Tried the Blue Buddah Chinese and Neptune Fish restaurant. Both were excellent, could not fault the food, setting or service!

Teens Club: Children joined after a couple of days and that was that - never saw them again! They loved it. Did a lot of water sports with them, Banana boat, Ringo, Power Boat and Jet Ski. These cost between 4 and 10 euros. My daughter did have an accident on the banana boat though and ended up with a swollen face and black eye.

Activities: Husband and children did a 1 day scuba course with LW. Thought it was very good except my daughter couldn't finish the dive in the sea as her ears were hurting.
Husband went paragliding with the hotel. We did look into prices in Olu deniz but Lykia World dropped their prices while we were there,
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Mytravel

Recommended
12 years 3 months ago
We have just returned from our first visit to Lykia World
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Self arranged

Recommended
Chris
12 years 3 months ago
First time to Lykia for us, 2 adults & 2 youngish teens. We stayed in the Village. Lymra Block, Room 231.

Flight left UK at 6.30pm, with getting Visa's, bags & the transfer we arrived at Lykia about 3 am.

We took the TC coach transfer, journey takes about 1:45 mins. Thomas Cook Rep did not have our names on his list & blamed the 'merger'. I just showed them my paperwork stood my ground & insisted on getting on the coach. No way was I sorting out my own taxi transfer to Olu Deniz at one in the morning !!! Lykia is always the last drop off due to it's location, wasn't a problem for us. Most folk slept until the drop offs commenced in Hisoranu.

We were offered cokes and sandwiches while booking in which I thought was a nice touch.

Lykia was spotless considering the size of the place & that they have in excess of 2000 people on site. I sat on the balcony one day & the maid spent 30 mins on our room. Bath towels were good quality but didn't seem to be changed as often as I would have liked. Later found out this was my fault for keep hanging them up & that if I had put them on the floor they would have changed them daily. Same with show gel being replenished you need to take it off the wall for maid to know it's empty. The grounds, gardens & pool areas were also spotless & staff constantly mopped up spills in the restaurants.

Our room in Lymra block was fine for what we paid, although more suited to those with two kids under 12.
You went in the main door, on the left was an archway through to the bathroom, with shower cubicle, wash basin & door to the loo. The archway gives no privacy & for those with teens a door would be much better as there is a huge mirror opposite the archway, reflecting people getting in and out of the shower.

There was a large main room, huge 6ft double bed(possibly two 3 fts pushed together), then a step down to an adequate double sofa-bed, not really brilliant if you have mixed sex teens like us, but we manaaged. Storage was also not great for four, for two weeks but no worse than many other hotels. Expensive mini-bar and a TV we didn't switch on for the fortnight, so no idea what programmes are like. Free safe in wardrobe.

The room was freshly painted and while didnt have the modern square sink shown on the web-site, the washbasin & toilet were new. I guess Lymra has had a refub of some kind. We also had a nice balcony with a side sea view.

Lymra is very near reception and the village restaurant which is good, the downside is that you can hear the music till 2am, even over the rather noisy air con.

The food as Lykia (along with the views & landscaped grounds) is the star of the show. If you were served this a la carte it would be 5*. The choice is outstanding and as there are three included restaurants, the Marina, the Residence and the Village you can eat in different settings which is a plus to most AI/FB's in the Olu Deniz area. The Marina is lovely for the views & eating outdoors, but we came to prefer the Residence as it was smaller, less frantic and we got to know our the staff there so it was a bit more personal.

There is show cooking so you are assured of eating something fresh and hot. They have speciality nights and the included wine is fine for Turkey (not a purveyor of fine wines). The minerals are branded coke, 7 up, Tango, the only disappointment is the beer, it's Tuborg not Efes & DH said it tasted watered down, probably wasn't just weak, suppose it stops people getting drunk lol.

We only managed a lateish breakfast and early dinner, skipping lunch so probably didn't get our full value like many. We never tried the a la cartes as we were so happy with the included food.

We bought big bottles of water & cans of 7up at the pool bars at lunch time.

Bills at Lykia are confusing, Everything is priced in Euros. We put everything on our room and paid on the last day & the bill is in Lira! We assumed it would be in Euros and I had Euro travellers cheques from the year before, they did convert it for me though. Large water was 2.40ytl & can 7up 2.38ytl. Only thing that cost a bit was scuba diving about 700ytl, no idea how that compares to anywhere else for a 1.5 day PADI qualification course.

The location of Lykia is great if you just want to stay on site, but poor if you wish to get out and about and see the area. A Lykia cab to Olu Deniz is 15ytl there and 10ytl back, very reliable on times as well. All fares from Lykia are cheaper for return journeys.

TC trips are generally expensive. They do a full day trip for a fiver into Fethyie, which is worth it if you want to go shopping as it costs less than a cab. Goes to the Gold Centre, Fethyie Market, Handbag Shop (v. expensive) and Turkish Delight Shop, with a break in the middle to get your own lunch.

The hotel staff were brilliant nothing is too much trouble for them. We tipped a couple that stood out for us as well as putting in the general tip boxes.

Hotel entertainment is not our thing, alternate nights we had an early dinner & then took a cab to Olu Deniz for a wander round the little shops and a drink & coffee in one of the bars. Caught the Chinese monks I guess they were OK, not so sure about the Mr Lykia contest, but if you like that kind of thing it is the same or possibly a little better as you get anywhere.

The other daytime entertainment is the sporting faclities and pools. These are great. We liked the grassy area at the back of the childrens paradise and the grassy area behind the Oasis pool during the day. I did get annoyed at the amount of people who took little kids into the adult only pool though. It's unfair on the staff who then have the awkward job of having to tell them to leave. No respect. You could tell all these people were just liberty takers and knew they shouldn't really be there from the sheepish way they acted. No wonder kids don't follow rules nowdays as they have their parents as examples. We also went to the beach a few times but getting in the water is a bit hard on the feet.

Lykia wouldn't be for everybody due to it's size and location. I liked the Full Board plus aspect & prefered it to AI as it didn't seem to attract any heavy drinkers.

Don't normally go back to the same hotel twice, as there is not the same anticipation up to the holiday, but if I could find Lykia at a good price, I would. Unfortunaley would need two in the Residence so sadly would probably be beyond our pocket.

If you want a family style holiday, have not been and are hesitating I would book it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours/Thomas Cook

Recommended
Donna Ridge
12 years 4 months ago
This is the best holiday we have had! What a fantastic place! Beautiful gardens, fabulous pools and private beach. The staff were amazing, we never saw a miserable face, they couldn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours/Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.