Image of Marcan Hotel

Marcan Hotel

36 of 50 hotels in Olu Deniz

4 out of 5 from 41 reviews
3 stars
The Hotel Marcan is ideal for families and couples looking for a relaxing holiday. Family-run, the Marcan is unbeatable for friendly service. Situated high on a hill, central to Hisaronu.

41 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    19
  • Good
    12
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Neil Andrews
Hotel was grest. Good food. Very clean. Rooms excellent.
3 years 4 months ago
Thomas cook were the operators. Left us behind at airport. Had to make our own way to hotel and wait 3 days to get refund.

Month later still waiting on apology and out of pocket expenses.

Total lack of care.

Don't travel with them.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Ricky Mullen
Pleasant Stay
4 years 3 months ago
We booked this a day before departure, and flew out for our third visit to Turkey. Have to say it's been our best, been to Marmaris and Altinkum previously, but loved Olu Deniz. Arrived at almost midnight (two adults and a 5-year-old) and although I was a little surprised at how small the room was to be honest given that strictly speaking all you do is sleep and shower in your room then it was entirely functional. Free air con which was handy.

Food wasn't stunning but none of us went hungry and didn't have to eat out as it was definitely edible - long as you're not overly fussy. Not a fan of the local beer but it did the job, I actually preferred the wine. My son loved the pool, plenty of available beds and it was never over-crowded. Very short walk to the strip of shops/restaurants etc, two supermarkets and plenty of selection. Less than 5 minutes from the lovely beach, and fantastic views of the bay. Hotel staff were attentive and friendly, grounds clean and well kept and as I say the rooms did exactly as you'd expect. They perhaps could provide some entertainment as the evenings were flat and you had to go outwith the Hotel to find anything.

Only thing I'd say is that Thomas Cook need to get better coaches to go to and from the airport, the ones provided seriously struggled to climb the steep roads to and from Olu Deniz.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Hotel tip: Attached to the Hotel is a bar, well worth sitting here at night - only thing is your all-inclusive option stops the moment you go past reception so drinks aren't free here.

Recommended
Funda
Tiny rooms, horrible food, rude staff
9 years 4 months ago
Oh where to start. I have to say everything was basic. Breakfast was the same every day and very boring, economy cornflakes, fresh bread which was left in a basket with a knife so you had to cut it up yourself - no toast, jam, honey, tomatoes and cucumbers and cheese that looked as if it had been sitting there for days which you had to swat the flies off! The coffee was awful and the tea always ran out and the cold drinks were so watered down they tasted like water with a hint of something.

The rooms are only cleaned if you hand your key in at reception before 10am then you go back and collect your key from reception after 3pm so you have no access to your room all day when you want it to be cleaned, but if you don't hand your key in then potentially your room will go without being cleaned or towels and sheets changed for you whole holiday - yuk! The rooms again are small and beyond basic and in need of a lick of paint, in fact the bathroom was so tight the toilet is actually attached to the shower cubicle so you have to sit on it sideways because there is no leg room.

The prices on the lunch menus are all out of date, when we asked why we were being charged more than advertised, we were told that the prices needed updating as they were 2 years old - great! The staff (except Kenny - who was lovely) were awful, in fact one of the waiters is horrible and wouldn't stop coming on to me all holiday.

The day receptionists were OK but the night time chap was useless and rude and kept making inappropriate comments to my nieces teenage friend who came with us. The air conditioning is way over priced. The hotel has absolutely no atmosphere, I love Turkey but I have to say that this was the worst hotel in Turkey I have ever stayed in, I couldn't wait to get back home and I can safely say I would never go back there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Miss Banks
Don’t be scared off by the past reviews, it was great!
10 years 3 months ago
I am so glad that I didn't change hotels after reading past reviews about the Marcan Hotel and its staff. We went for a week in August (during their Ramaddan period) expecting something resembling 'Fawlty Towers' after all the horrible reviews we read! We could not have been any more pleasantly surprised by our stay there. The staff were friendly to us. The room was clean, and if you wanted the room to be cleaned, all you had to do was to leave the key at reception and request it be cleaned - not difficult.

As for members of staff checking your bags for bottles of water - that is absolute rubbish! As long as you don't walk in blatantly carrying bottles of water in your hands as you walk through reception, then you have nothing to worry about.

Although we booked in as bed and breakfast, the only criticism I have is the breakfast area outside and the uninvited guests - the wasps. I have some kind of phobia when it comes to wasps and didn't feel comfortable having breakfast there, but a couple of days into our holiday, another fellow guest at this hotel advised us that we could have breakfast at the sister hotel across the road, where it was indoors and slightly better. This situation wasn't much of a problem, as we booked lots of day trips which involved early starts in the mornings. So, apart from a couple of days, we didn't have breakfast in the hotel, but went to the local shop and bought fruit and drinks there for breakfast - again - no hardship at all.

After reading past reviews, we steered clear of the hotel card that is used to buy drinks and food from the hotel -we ate out every day, and a lot of the time, lunch is included in the day trips that you can book up - we never go full board on holiday for this reason - and it worked for us.

We would definitely go back to this hotel and resort again - without a doubt. We had a great time.

Recommend the Jeep Safari 100% - remember to wear your swimming cozzy as you get drenched with water all day, ending in a mud bath!! Also recommend El-Nino Restaurant for dinner (right next to the Festival Restaurant) and Hanibal Tours in Town for all your day trips - can't fault any of it!

Please don't be frightened off by past reviews - I'm glad I wasn't!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Lee
The hotel is a total rip off
10 years 3 months ago
Well just got back, on the 27th august, wont be going there again. Me, my wife and 8yr old daughter all came back a stone lighter. If you like chicken then your ok. Thats basically all you get, chicken soup, chicken curry, chicken broth, chicken everything!

The breakfast wasn't much better if you like salad and eggs,good job they had cornflakes that's all we ate, the staff aren't brilliant, especially when its rammadan. Their people come first, were all starving and had nothing to eat from 8 oc lock in the morning till eight o clock at night its a long time.

In the end we ate out most nights. The pool is lovely but get up early for a sun bed in my opinion the hotel is a total rip off, there prices are treble the prices in the shop down the road. You are not allowed to take anything back to your room as they do check your bags! Beware.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Karen And Paul
Fantastic, Fantastic, Fantastic!
10 years 3 months ago
Just like everyone else I read the dreaded reviews. Never again will I read reviews! This hotel was fantastic for the price, it’s great. The staff there couldn’t do enough. It was fun fun fun all the way.

the food was top notch. The location is fab. Very short walk to ctr. Me and my husband are 31 and we took his mum who's in her late 40's. I can’t stress enough how good this hotel is. Yes it’s basic, but clean! If you want your room cleaning hand your key at reception and say you want it cleaned. Don’t just leave your key and expect it to be done.

Don’t listen 2 any bad reviews there all crazy! Yes I would defiantly go back again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Ian
10 years 3 months ago
The bar staff were good, pity about the management being snobs.The pool area is great although you need to grab sunbeds early, the rooms are not bad and a fridge would be good for keeping water cold. Pay your bar bill every day as I only had one bill I agreed with. The hill to the hotel is steep, not good in July. Reception could be more helpful, if you had a complaint they did not want to know. The cleaners are great. Would I stay here again, maybe, not sure.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Disappointed
Overpriced, poor service and will not return
10 years 4 months ago
The Food and drinks were well over priced, we only stayed bed and breakfast and that was very poor, same thing every day including wasps and flies - which were everywhere!

The cleaners were probably the best bit about the hotel, as the barmen and management were obnoxious and arrogant, drinks for around the pool were served in glasses, which were often smashed, and it would take ages for the glass to be cleaned up even after many requests.

The entertainment is pretty none existent, they do hold a Turkish night once a week, we never went but by all accounts it was not very good, I think the hotels idea of entertainment is playing music as loud as they can till 5am - many complained but they never took any notice.

They also searched your bag on your way into the hotel, so you can’t even bring water in - not even if it’s just for your room - which means you have to buy the overpriced drinks from the bar which had about a 600% mark up against the local shop.

I would never stay in the Marcan again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Gillian
10 years 4 months ago
before i went to this hotel i read many reviews saying that you shouldnt go to this hotel etc, i am so glad i didnt pay attention to these reviews as i could not fault this hotel in the slightest. it was clean, the staff were very friendly, the pool area was gorgeous and it was situated not that far from the main street. I spent 2 weeks here and it was amazing i would go back and infact me and my partner are going to book for next year. Hisaronu is a gorgeous area and i would recommend that you should go to the loft bar as it has a great atmosphere and the staff are amazing. defo 10/10 for this holiday - do not be put off by bad reviews!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Beedle
10 years 4 months ago
The hotel was in a good location that was the best part. the staff were very unfriendly. There was a great deal of noise during the night and guests jumping in the pool at all hours, the bar never seemed to close until around 4am. Even after complaining it carried on. The management weren't bothered they just wanted to entertain the young kids. It was a nightmare and I moost certinly wouldn't go back. You are not allowed to take food into the hotel or drinks around the pool. The cleaners were really kind and helpful.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Jet2

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.