Image of Tolay Hotel

Tolay Hotel

28 of 50 hotels in Olu Deniz

4 out of 5 from 58 reviews
3 stars

58 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    18
  • Very Good
    25
  • Good
    10
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Great location
12 years 1 month ago
Stayed here with my 14yo daughter and had a lovely week. The location is brilliant; just two minutes’ walk to the main strip although I had to drop a star for the dirt track outside (not nice on freshly showered night-out feet!) and the noise from the hotel next door.

Our room was in the basement, nothing fancy but perfectly adequate; two comfy single beds, bedside tables, a vanity unit and a double wardrobe. Being down there kept it cool enough not to need the air-conditioning but the balcony still got sun at some point in the day. There were insect screens fixed to the windows so it felt safe to have them open at night for a breeze. Despite being warned that we'd get flooded if it rained we had no problems after a proper afternoon downpour. Our shower had an issue when we first tried it but it was sorted within ten minutes of us bringing it to staff attention.

The maids clean the rooms beautifully every day and ours was done in the afternoon so if you wanted a lie-in you could have one without being disturbed. Towels were changed daily and left nicely on the beds. Elsewhere was also spotless with staff constantly cleaning around the pool/bar/restaurant areas.

Breakfast is 'Turkish' but you can toast your bread and have eggs (fresh from the chickens!) or jam with it which should be ok for even the most British of Brits abroad! Tea and coffee are both nice enough, good sized mugs are provided and no-one batted an eyelid when I made two at a time (I like my caffeine in the morning!). Given that they get just £4pppn from the tour operators I think egg on toast with a cuppa is a good deal! You can have cereals or a full English for extra cost but I didn't see anyone take the option.

We had lunch/snacks there a few times and I also had a couple of dinners. All the food was well cooked and presented, daughter loved the chips! It was lovely to see the kitchen garden and know your food was fresh. A Sunday roast was offered but I don't go abroad to eat the same as home so I declined. Food, spirits and cocktail prices were the same as most bars in town.

All the staff were great, very friendly and happy considering the hours they put in! There seemed to be a large number of repeat guests (the truest measure of any hotel in my opinion) and all the staff came to say goodbye when anyone left, it really does feel like family. They're not fluent but have enough English to get by and have a laugh and were clearly trying to improve all the time (and let’s face it you don't hear many Brits attempting to speak Turkish, do ya!)

It's not the quietest place in the world but if you want good, basic, clean accommodation close to town for a bargain price then the Tolay is for you. I'll certainly be returning!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Cynthia + John
12 years 1 month ago
we went to the toley on a last minute booking for what we paid we were not expecting 5 star we were happy to see a clean hotel in a nice central position the room was basic but clean the bathroom was aufull but clean the shower had no curtain round it so it is basicly a wet room you have to drape your beechtowel over the toilet and remove toilet paper ect., the floor after a shower was lethel and you have to put down a towel on the floor we did get used to it though..the staff were friendly and the food was good we ate in 3 nights and enjoyed it the breakfast was the worst we have ever had in the 13 years we have been coming to turkey you always get a choice of bread, cerials, fried,hard boiled,or omlets jams,yogurts,and fresh fruit,but here you jut got bread,hard boiled eggs,jam,smallpieces of tomatoe,and olives,anything else even toast and cerials has to be paid for. we paid for air con but it did not work for the last 3 days they just said they had sent for the reparer but we did noe believe them because other people were sying the same thing. ali the manager was very friendly and we have no complaints there,the dining room,bar area,and pool area were spotles and was being cleaned all the time, we would visit again due to the cheepness but we now no what to expect...............
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: jewel in the crown

Recommended
Ebony
12 years 2 months ago
This is our 2nd holiday at the Tolay and we can't fault it in any way, the staff are very friendly, and Ali the Manager is excellent, he can't do enough to help and asked us every day if there was anything we needed!
The cleanliness is very good, the maid cleaned the rooms daily, changed towels etc. The rooms are good, we had a double bed, bedside tables, bathroom, wardrobe, dressing table and balcony, prefect for what we needed! We ate out most nights to explore the town but had a few drinks around the pool bar during the daytime/evening, the food is good, a good selection and good prices! ...Ali even arranged for us to take bread rolls to the airport! :-) There was karaoke, a Turkish night and other games which got everyone talking and by the end of our stay, we knew the majority of people at the hotel, it was a very friendly atmosphere!
The hotel is in a great location, only a 5 minute stroll from the town, but just far enough away to enjoy a peaceful night.
We were made to feel very welcome, we always have been, and we'll definately be going back!
Thank you for a great holiday Tolay! B-)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Holiday Mate

Recommended
Paul And Bloody Eileen Barrett
We got what we paid for and more
12 years 3 months ago
The hotel Toley made you feel special and welcome. From the excellent manager Mr. Ali and all his staff right down to Aylou the Rottweiller who is so cuddly.

I have read some of the reviews and quite simply we weren't in the same hotel! It was tremendous value for money. Our double bed didn't creak and the room cleaner for room 41 was brilliant!

We had a great time. We got what we paid for and more. We shall come back and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The only drawback was the noisy tourists without thought for anyone who would create havoc late at night because they had drank just too much.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Alison And Graham
12 years 10 months ago
tolay hotelit is the best holiday we have had the rooms were clean the food was very good all the staff were excellent and ali the manager was great nothing was to much bother for him it was just great will be going back again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: holidays 4 u

Recommended
Mark Calter
12 years 10 months ago
This was our return visit,as before the hotel was spotless,the staff were very friendly,the food was better than our last visit and Ali the manager couldn't do enough for us.
On the down side the bar prices were high and the measures small(spirits), the hotel does not compete with the town on any prices at all,and should remember its our money and we can spend it were we want,we just dont go to Hisaronu to see the Tolay.
I would definatly stay there again and would recomend it to anyone who wants a good clean basic hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: did my own bookings

Recommended
Ebony
12 years 11 months ago
What a fantastic hotel! This is our 1st stay at the Tolay Hotel & i would definately reccommend it, for couples, friends & family! The maid cleaned daily, the staff were always cleaning the pool and bar areas, it was spotless! The pool was lovely, there was no problem with getting a sunbed.There was a great choice of food in the resturant, at very good prices and the quality was good. We ate there during the daytime but walked out into the town at night. The location is superb, only a 2 minute walk from the main street of Hisaronu which is packed full of bars and resturants, spoilt for choice! The hotel is also next to a wooded area, with tortoises to see and some nice walks too.The Turkish Lira makes everything great value for money! There was regular entertainment at the hotel, Turkish night with great prizes, karaoke, dancing, the staff were such fun and couldn't do enough to help, "Hi Ali & Tolga, thank you for a great holiday!" We would definately stay at this hotel again, hopefully we'll see you soon!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Holiday Mate

Recommended
Neil & Tracey
12 years 11 months ago
We arrived at the hotel in the early hours of the morning and were shown to a small room with no air conditioning facility and right outside there was a drainage system. We only ate the turkish breakfast which was not too bad. Unfortunately if you wanted your bread toasted you had to pay extra for this. The location of the hotel was only a couple of minutes walk from the centre of Hisaronu. The hotel staff were all fine except for the manager who at first was extremly friendly, however because we did not spend time lying by the pool all day and in the hotel at night, he started to ignore us and became rather unfriendly. We did spend one night at the hotel for the Turkish evening which was not too bad. At one point he said he had not seen us and where had we been. Also we paid upfront for our air conditioning after having our room changed, and at the end of our holiday he tried to get us to pay for it again as he did not take this off our bill. I also spoke to him on our last day saying I did not want to go home (not meaning I wanted to stay in this hotel) and the manager (Ali) replied he did not want us to stay. The rest of the staff were pleasant, unfortunately the maanger let the hotel down, however if you do not spend all your time and money in the hotel, you are made to feel very unwelcome.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Right Holidays

Ross
12 years 11 months ago
okay!here it goes! the hotel was well cleaned everyday and you could obviously see that the maids were doing an excellent job! the location was gud aswell rite next to the main stretch!

The reason i wouldnt stay in this hotel again is the same reason as alot of people,the manager. He was the worst manager ive ever seen out of every hotel/hostle ive visited and pressured you all the time! asked you where you were going got miserable when you didnt spend money at his hotel! he quoted to us how much we were payingeach for the room per night to try and make us buy more!
He actually cut short our holiday andmade uspay extra even tho we had already paid for it! seriously tolay get a new manager!
If you like brown nosing the staff and want to spend loads of money and get ripped off then by all means stay here, but if you want to enjoy ure holiday and not get hassled find another place,there are plenty of other options available!
Also it was quite a loud hotel mainly from next door which didnt really bother us but just to let you all know!
This is not a biased report its extremly accurate, the hotel is fine but the manager needs firing!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: right holidays

MEGHAN,MORGAN MUM
12 years 11 months ago
This holiday was a family holiday with my daughters. We had a very relaxing time and this hotel is very central. The people from the Hotel where very nice. The room we got was very small for 3 people but the next day Ali got us a better room and we had a great view from the top of the hotel. The hotel did not have much entertainment but the pool and guests and a short walk to the centre was all we asked for. The trips to Olu Deniz and the amrket where great. We would go back to Tolay Hotel and thankyou Archy from Right Holidays who recommended this hotel. Thanks Guys.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Right holidays

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.