Image of Olu Deniz Resort Hotel

Olu Deniz Resort Hotel

13 of 50 hotels in Olu Deniz

4 out of 5 from 67 reviews
4 stars

67 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    26
  • Very Good
    33
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Joe Lock
We would go again
10 years 6 months ago
We stayed in this hotel for my son’s wedding, everything about it was excellent, and there are 3 very good size pools and one small one for the little ones.

It was the first opening week and was not quite full but we really enjoyed every aspect of this hotel, it has a sister hotel which you can go and have a meal and drinks anytime you like and its only 5mins away (Sun City)which is very nice but of the two i prefer the resort hotel.

Would go there again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Gail Bird
Awful awful awful!
11 years 4 months ago
Arrived 7am meet at reception to be told there was a problem; we had been put in a double having booked a twin. At the time of booking I stated that I had walking difficulties, the room that was allotted was down curved steps without a handrail. The room was changed around midday. The rooms are in need of updating and more storage. Although kept clean. Gardens were beautiful.

One of the biggest problems is the food, breakfast is ok but lunch and dinner are really below standard we gave up eating apart from breakfast after about three days which make all-inclusive an expensive option!

Having a night flight we booked the exclusive day trip and although it was a lovely day out the hotel we went to was awful. First of all had to put the lid of the toilet back on and connect the shower hose! The food served in a hotel across the road was barely fit for human consumption nobody ate anything the only good thing about was the air con.

There were bits of the holiday which we really enjoyed but it could have been so much better. If the standard of the rooms and the food were up to standard this hotel has every chance of being a lovely resort, the position is great.

The private beach at the lagoon was awful never go there! We paid for a taxi to leave.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
11 years 4 months ago
Arrival/Reception

We arrived in the afternoon and were treated quite courteously. The desk was helpful in explaining the charges which apply to towels for the pool (
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
12 years ago
ive returned today from this disgraceful hotel, 4 * is a joke 1 * more like it !!, watch out for all the complaints coming in as there was so many people rallying around getting photos and complaining and i know a few are going to do reports on TA i have told them about this site too as they didnt know about it


good points

great location

lovely friendly waiting staff

made my daughter a birthday cake and sang to her, which was kind

rooms were fine

views around hotel lovely

nice gardens

2 mins to the beach


bad points

no kids menu
no a la carte restaurant open
no home made bread , pizza etc
no ice cream except lunchtime
food was absolutely appalling quality and choice
very loud music playing up til 3 am in surrounding hotels that i was told they could do nothing about
no kids club
afternoon cakes were like cricket balls
management dont give a dam to complaints
guest relations woman was russian and totally useless, just kept shrugging
plastic cups and polystyrene cups for tea and juices
no entertainment
everyday the food got worse and less choice until the last day the restaurant closed

now im not sure if this was due to it being the last week in oct ,but i have to say we were extremely disappointed with this hotel, not 1 person i spoke to had a good word to say about it, ive photocopied the complaints book and taken loads of photos,

breakfast was fine. lunch and dinner virtually the same and was a choice of a few salads and about 8 hot items , these hot items were the same every day, fish ,chicken, over cooked burgers, cold chips, oily pasta, large peppers, sprouts and rice and that was it, the chicken was either in some salty greasy sauce or so over cooked it actually stuck to the roof of your mouth !!, ive taken photos it was that bad. desserts at lunch was about 3 bright coloured blamanche things , fruit and sometimes ice cream, such a shame as the hotel itself is in a lovely location although at night time way too noisy for me. i complained to the rep, the guest relations officer, reception , restaurant manager and hotel manager about the food, some agreed it was bad but said it was out of their hands and the customer relations woman said it was because in oct they get less money for their guests, well thats no excuse. i know a few people are going to write to watch dog and have taken photo and video evidence. we had to eat out a lot as we couldnt bare the same old food every day, not once was there any meat, even the spaghetti had just tomato sauce with it, who wants sprouts as a choice out of the 8 hot things grr, we were given the left overs and the last day we were there the restaurant closed and we were told for the next few days we had to eat in the sun city which i think is disgraceful, guest were steated like animals, i feed my dog better food than we were given, thank god it was for only 5 nights and we stayed the first week in lykia world . i would not recommend this hotel to anyone judging on what we put up with the last 5 days grrr
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: alpharooms

John
12 years 1 month ago
just returned from this hotel on arrival the rgoateception told us the maid would fill the fridge with water daily we had none for the 14 days apart from the bottles which we got ourselves from the bar.the rooms were very small only one wardrobe with one shelf no other cupboard space and carpets never hoovered.breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs beans and frankfurters.lunch was chicken of sorts goat or salad evening meals were much the same.the pool was not big enough for the amount of people there.the only plus was the bar.if it was not for the sun i would have come home after first week.there was a lack of entertainment.we would never return to this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Pete,liz And Chloe
12 years 3 months ago
1st time in turkey and we really enoyed it.location of room wasnt great but it was very clean,we could easily have moved but we had unpacked so couldnt be bothered.room cleaned every day.gardeners working all the time so grounds are lovely.food was great,we are not fussy eaters so we loved it all.staff are spot on especially the waiters.adult only pool is brilliant.went paragliding with re-action(they are not far from hotel) and it was awesome,it usually cost
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Stuart
12 years 3 months ago
We paid for a room upgrade as we didnt get what was described, ended up with a seperate room for my 12 year old son, so that was great. It was set on top of a very steep hill. There was a pool bar but the dip pool was shut!
The main pool was woefully small and I would recommend using the sister hotel, Sun City (appears to be a nicer hotel all round.)
Staff were faultless, however - quick to replace your drinks and very approachable - even the gardeners and security staff were pleasant.
Entertainment was embarassing. One evening it was virtually unsupervised karaoke consisting of drunken guests just screaming and acting daft on stage. With little entertainment in the resort, this was a letdown.
During the day, the constant booming of club music at the pool sent us to the beach.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travel republic

Barber
12 years 4 months ago
We went to Olu Deniz Resort Hotel with our family and friends. We booked this holiday before the hotel had been taken over by Russians and it had excellent reviews then.

We ate in the restaurant for the first two nights which was ok but we were not too keen on the food so went out the next night which we had planned on going out a few nights anyway as we like to eat out as well even though we ai. The next time we ate at the restaurant we decided to go to the ala carte restaurant. Dont bother, its just the same food you get in the restaurant but you have to pay for it. The only plus is you are getting served at the table. You have to pay for drinks. The breakfast was ok if you like eggs which we do so that was fine. You could get omelettes, fried egg, scrambled egg, boiled egg, pancakes etc. If you dont like egg you will be a bit stuck! At lunch time the food was ok and we mainly ate at the restaurant. Most of the food was chicken dishes but I like chicken so was quite happy. The salads were ok too.

There was always something to eat at the restaurant but I have to admit it was the worse ai I have been to for the food. There was not alot of fruit, I would normally expect lots of fruit at all times in the restaurant but only battered apples and oranges. We decided to eat out for the remainder of the holiday as we wanted a nice meal and not just to be fed! They did do very nice and plenty of bread and the ice creams were lovely at lunch time (its the only place ive been where you actually get proper ice cream in a cone and not just a little pot) and the pizzas from the stone oven at snack time were also lovely. The soft drinks were nice too, pepsi and fanta etc.

The entertainment was a joke. People were laughing because it was soooooo bad.

Bambam and Romeo were nice and remembered the kids names and were lovely. The head entertainer just wanted everything revolved around him and in one of his shows he was belting a wet towel off one of the other entertainers!!!! What the hell! All of the staff were lovely and the hotel was very clean. Sometimes though you could not get the pool towels and if there was more than 2 of you he would ask you to come back after 11. We took a couple of towels with us which was lucky as otherwise you wouldn't be able to sit on the sunbeds as they were too hot.

The resort was lovely and I would definately go back again only next time I would go self catering.

All in all we still had a great holiday, but it would have been better if the food was more varied and there was a lot more of it and the entertainment was ALOT better.

PS. the weather was great x
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

12 years 4 months ago
We went to Olu Deniz Resort Hotel for 2 weeks ai with friends. I was a bit worried about going because of the negative feedback written on here.

This was our first visit to Turkey and first to an All inclusive. The Hotel was OK and not half as bad as what I
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
12 years 5 months ago
Stayed for one week All Inclusive -

Food was always hot an plentiful, beautifully presented and replenished when almost empty. Breakfast was good choice of cereals, yoghurts, biscuits, meats, eggs, sausages, beans, etc and then freshly made pancakes and ommelettes - at busy times you could be queuing for a good 10-15 mins but worth the wait!
Lunch was soup, a choice of lovely salads, meats, cheeses an hot foods varying daily and a lovely selection of deserts and ice-cream served between 12.30 - 2.00pm.
Dinner very similar to lunch but no ice cream served. My only concern would be if I had a fussy toddler with me, don't think there would have been enough choice!
Hotel was always cleaned to a high standard, the rooms made daily. Waiters constantly cleaning the tables in the restaurant and taking away empty plates, glasses.
The location of the hotel was brilliant, so close to the beach and only 5 min walk from the night life if you chose to go out of the hotel but far enough away from the loud music played.
The staff within the hotel were always friendly and smiling, only downside is that not many of them really spoke much English so sometimes was hard to try to get across what you wanted.
Entertainment team was ok - beware if you have teenage daughters with you though as we found out that more than one of them was bedding young 16/17yr old girls and even asking them to pay for a hotel room away from the complex!
The overall entertainment was very very poor in my opinion. I wouldnt like my young children to watch sketch shows of how men from different countries take a pee! Also the weight lifting sketch that they did was the worst - head entertainer pretending to lift weights, couldnt do at first so put the "white powder" on his hands, still he couldnt lift it, he then proceeded to empty the contents of the bowl of powder onto a table, put it into two lines and the went on to "SNORT" the powder as if cocaine and was then able to lift the weights! ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING FOR A SHOW WHICH IS SUPPOSED TO BE A FAMILY HOTEL! At this point of the evening almost everyone sat in the ampitheathre walked out.
There was very little entertainment on during the day, the odd pool volleyball/polo game and a daily darts match that lasted no more than 45 mins. The music they played was the same everyday.
Bam Bam and Andy were two of the entertainers who were lovely, they spent time talking to you and to the kids.
The pools were lovely especially if you wanted peace an quiet from the kiddies as over 16s could use the relaxation pool which was very peaceful. The main pool was nice but not huge and I imagine in the height of the summer this would be very very crowded, the sunbeds were already completely side by side like sardines! Could usually still get a sunbed at 8.30-9.00am but any later than that an you may struggle.
The beach is right outside the hotel although didnt go on it as its very pebbly and you do have to pay for the sunloungers an brollys. The hotel has a bus that they lay on for guests that takes you to the Blue Lagoon, entry to this part is free as are the sunloungers but you only get food an drinks free for a limited time - 12.30 - 2.00. After this you have to pay! You can use the white canoes/pedaloes for free for 30 mins or pay for the blue pedaloes 15TL for 30 mins. This part of the beach is nothing spectacular but the blue lagoon beach closer to the hotel you pay to enter an for sunbeds etc.. didnt go there but heard it was alot nicer than the beach the hotel take you too.
Overall the holiday was lovely, close to the beach, shops and night life. Also you can use the amenties at the sister hotel - Sun City - which overall does look bigger and nicer, also the entertainment there was a lot better many people said.

I would come back to Olu Deniz but due to the poor entertainment wouldnt stay at this hotel. If you dont plan on staying in the hotel at night then this hotel is superb.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Alpha Rooms

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.