Image of Mavruka Hotel

Mavruka Hotel

21 of 50 hotels in Olu Deniz

4 out of 5 from 16 reviews
4 stars
Fethiye, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey

16 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
9 years 11 months ago
We found the hotel to be very clean, secure and well run by friendly staff. The buffet style breakfast was basic but very good quality and the restaurant meals were plentiful and well cooked.

Rooms are clened daily and we had no problems other than the lack of hot water most mornings. The hot water is generated from solar panels, so no sunshine; no hot water. Get up early before everyone else uses it all.

Hotel pool was a fair size for adult couples but got overwhelmed and noisy the second week that we there when families started arriving. So in the school holiday periods, this is not the hotel for a quite adult break if you intend staying around the hotel for big chunks of the day.

Overall, a good hotel.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
10 years 7 months ago
The hotel is in a great location just a couple of minutes stroll from the beach and even closer to the main pedestrianised street through the resort. Just about far enough away from the centre not to be distrurbed by noise at night.

The rooms are spotless with new towels every day and new bed sheets every other day. The rooms have everything that you would need during your stay - plenty of storage space for clothes, air conditioning (free), fridge (free), tv, hairdryer, power shower (fully enclosed so no water on the floor!), small balcony etc.

The pool is quite large with plenty of sunbeds although these did tend to go quite early in the morning. The hotel grounds are well kept as are all public spaces within the hotel.

There are two bars at the hotel - one round the pool which also doubles as a restaurant and is where breakfast is taken and a terrace bar at the front of the hotel which is open til late. The breakfast was of a reasonable quality although no variety from one day to the next. As we were only B&B we didn't have any evening meals at the hotel because there were too many great restaurants to choose from in the resort.

It is worth noting that the hotel has a policy barring food and drink bought from outside the hotel being taken into the hotel. This isn't a problem if a bit of common sense is used and any drinks, crisps etc are 'hidden' in a beach bag.

To summarize, a fantastic hotel, we could have no complaints about any aspect of our stay.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Easy jet & Monarch Hotels

Recommended
Giff
10 years 8 months ago
Our 3rd time at Mavruka and were pleased to find it as previous years - clean, airy, peaceful. The location is fantastic - central but quiet.

Food was fine - we were B&B but did have evening meal at hotel a couple of times. The buffet meal was very nice with lots of choice and came in at a very affordable 15 lira for 3 course meal.

All the staff are courtesous, rooms spotless and cleaned daily. The pool and pool area is clean.

The practice of putting out beach towels on the loungers early then leaving them is annoying but the hotel can not be blamed - rather it is increasingly selfish British tourists. I suspect that this is a trend that must be on increase at all hotels. We still managed to plonk ourselves without difficulty though.

We will use the Mavruka again and heartily recommend.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Holiday Mate

Recommended
David & Joan Graham
10 years 9 months ago
This hotel is in an ideal location, 5 minutes walk from the seafront, 1 minute from the town centre. Our room was perfect in every respect.... clean,spacious, airy, comfortable beds, more than ample wardrobe provision, super bathroom with a state of the art power-shower, effective air-conditioning, nice pateo close to the pool.

The staff were friendly and helpful, especially at reception and in the person of our room-maid, who was most helpful when I stupidly locked my wife and myself out of our room!

The breakfasts were very good, although some food was exposed to marauding flies.On Wednesday evening we were amazed at the excellent quality of the barbecue with Turkish dancers and gorgeous belly-dancer.

Two minor criticisms:

1)The rule of forbidding the bringing in
of one's own food and drink to the hotel was
ludicrous and unenforcable.

2)One of the older barmen,having spotted my iPhone,
never left me in peace, wishing to buy my 'phone,
offering me
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Kwik Travel

Recommended
Paul & Lynette Elsworth
10 years 9 months ago
The Mavruka is a lovely hotel, conveniently situated in Olu Deniz. The hotel in general, is kept spotlessly clean. All public areas including the swimming pool are very well maintained. Our room was cleaned to an extremely high standard, with towels being replaced daily, without having to request this. We appreciated the way the maids arranged the towels in a variety of patterns on our bed each evening, finishing off their handiwork with fresh flowers on many occasions. With the exception of a "Turkish" night held once a week when we were booked in, the hotel is generally quiet in the evenings, although the neighbouring hotel also held a "special do" once a week and this was a little noisy until midnight. There is a notice in reception, as well as the back entrance, warning guests not to bring in food or drink from outside, to consume on the hotel premises. We did witness one guest get caught "red handed" but in fairness he did flaunt the fact that he was carrying food/drink purchased at the local supermarket, because the carrier bag was of a clear plastic! If you're careful, you can smuggle food in, just conceal it in your beach bag and hopefully the staff will be non the wiser! We were bed and breakfast, the breakfasts were basic and not a lot of variety, but there was plenty of it. If you like toast done well, please be prepared for a wait! The conveyor belt type toaster was very slow and a queue formed very quickly. Overall, we were very pleased to have chosen the Mavruka and found that the comments on this site made by past guests were accurate.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Sunshine

Recommended
10 years 10 months ago
The brochures tell you that the Mavruka is around an hour and 40 minutes from the airport, and if you are lucky this may be the case. However, we were in a seriously underpowered minibus and were the eighth and final drop off so our transfer was not the best of starts, as it equated to around two and a half hours
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Vinnie And Lauren
10 years 10 months ago
We travelled to the Mavruka Hotel Mid June. The weather was great, hot during the day but cool enough at night not to feel too uncomfortable.

Transfer time was around an hour and a half in total as we were last off and the only drop in Olu Deniz.

Mavruka Hotel was nice and modern being built only a few years ago. Rooms were a reasonable size and cleaned everyday including towels. A bonus was free air conditioning in the room and also a mini fridge free of charge. The pool was a good size and kept clean and there was also a kiddies pool for anyone with small children. Although you should be aware that sometimes it became slippy aoround the pool area.

We had our dinner there the first night as we arrived in the evening. The food was not bad at all. We ate our lunch at the Hotel most days and found this to be pretty nice. Breakfast was ok but basic with a small selection of cereals, bread (toaster), olives, tomatoes, cucumber, salami, boiled egss and scrambled eggs. This was fine for me but some fussy eaters may have issue. (No full English unless you wanted to pay extra)

The Hotel is in an ideal location, positioned around the middle of the main pedestrianised and monoblocked main road with shops and restaurants. The walk to the beach takes around 5 minutes. (if you're walking slow!)

Staff: Sonny the barman was a great guy and the younger lads were nice too although struggled with English a little. As per the other reviews old Remy the Bar Manager was a little grumpy but if you chatted to him he would come round. We think it was a bit of a front more than anything.

The resort as a whole was great, laid back with some bars / nightlife down the beach front if you like that kind of thing. There is a good choice of restaurants here too. Our favourites were: Josephs for a Mexican Steak (delicious), Captain Hooks for a Swordfish Shish (very tsty and tender), and Toscana for the best pasta in town also did a great Steak and Chicken dish called Bianco e Nero. Also Hisaronu is 5 mins up the hill in the Dolmus for a livelier night out.

You also gotta try the paragliding, just fantastic! We went with Focus for
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Giff
11 years 7 months ago
We rebooked at this hotel after good experience last year. It is modern and fresh. Air con is included in price. Staff are polite and helpful. We only had breakfast at the hotel but it was fine. The location of this hotel is fantastic, really close to resort centre/beach but still very peaceful. Totally recommend.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Laura
11 years 10 months ago
We went to Hisaronu, up the hill from Olu Deiz, 4 years ago and stayed in a 2 star hotel which although basic, was abslutely fine.

This time we decided to go for the 3/4 star (depending on which tour operator you go with) Mavruka, at Olu Deniz. We were not disappointed.

The rooms are large, airy, with free air con (or life support as we described it!) and a couple of Englsih speaking TV channels in the room. There was even a fridge in the room.


The whole hotel is so new and immaculate, the maids do a superb job of keeping it that way and they are keen to ensure that even if you don't want your room cleaned, that you still get new towels.

I have given the food 4/5, not because any of it was bad at breakfast, it was all fresh and clean and a good selection of Turkish style breakfast foods, but the cereals were a bit odd, but then you are far from home, so what can you expect?

The only negatives we found with the hotel were that they are quite against you taking in food/drink from outside the hotel (we never got caught, but witnessed another couple being stopped for teh sake of a
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Holidaymate/Falcon/Goldtrail

Recommended
Melissa
12 years 9 months ago
Our holiday in Olu Deniz was wonderful and made more so by our stay at the Mavruka Hotel. We were B&B but didn't get down for breakfast until the last day, to be truthful we didn't miss much, there are so many cafes 2 minutes away that serve good, inexpensive brunch.

The hotel was spotless in every aspect, housekeeping cleaned the rooms every day, you can leave a sign on the door if you'd prefer they didn't. Towels were changed every day, sheets & pillow cases once a week. The maids were very friendly & were always smiling.

The hotel seemed so peaceful & calm despite being only minutes from the main street & beach, it is in fantastic location. Although the hotel wasn't full there was still enough banter from the bar staff to keep you going around the pool. Coffee & cakes are wheeled around the pool in the afternoon for a small charge. All bar drinks are put on your room card & you get a receipt for your own records.

There was a good mixture of British & Turkish holiday makers, the hotel seemed to attract a nice group of people.

The reception staff were excellent, a few characters amongst the bar staff, very hardworking but always smiling & willing to have a laugh. The bar stays open until 3am. Muhammed (Bar Manager), Ibo, Hakan & Sinan were great fun.



Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.