Image of Dorian Hotel

Dorian Hotel

45 of 50 hotels in Olu Deniz

3 out of 5 from 17 reviews
3 stars
Belcekiz Mevkii, Oludeniz, Turkey

17 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Save your money, go elsewhere
9 years ago
This is by far the worst all inclusive hotel I have ever stayed in. The food was inedible and cold and the 'all inclusive' drinks package was beer, undrinkable red / white wine, local gin, vodka & Raki there was no other spirits available. Flat coke and fanta for the children. Any other drinks (including fruit juice had to be paid for) There was no children's menu other than cold burgers, stale rolls and cold chips at around 4pm. We ate out every night.

The cleaners did a good job with the rooms which were cleaned every day but other areas were grubby (bar, reception etc). The dining room was open plan and the tables in rows like a soup kitchen. No table cloths and broken chairs.

The resort itself is lovely and there are loads of places to eat reasonably but the whole idea of an all-inclusive holiday is to pay before you get there. My reckoning is that if you get what you pay for then we are due back a large refund.

My advice is save your money and go to another hotel.



Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
By far the worst all inclusive hotel I have ever stayed in
9 years ago
This is by far the worst all inclusive hotel I have ever stayed in. The food was inedible and cold and the all inclusive drinks package was beer, undrinkable red/white wine, local gin, vodka & Raki there was no other spirits available. Flat coke and fanta for the children. Any other drinks (including fruit juice had to be paid for). There was no children's menu other than cold burgers, stale rolls and cold chips at around 4pm. We ate out every night.

The cleaners did a good job with the rooms which were cleaned every day but other areas were grubby (bar, reception etc). The dining room was open plan and the tables in rows like a soup kitchen. No table cloths and broken chairs.

The resort itself is lovely and there are loads of places to eat reasonably but the whole idea of an all inclusive holiday is to pay before you get there. My reckoning is that if you get what you pay for then we are due back a large refund.

My advice is save your money and go to another hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Keith And Lou
10 years 2 months ago
we stayed at the dorian hotel in olu deniz turkey,where do i start it was that bad.we booked early feb time 2010 and specified two rooms together because we were a party of five,two females ,mum and daughter and three males,dad,son and stepson.
we were on two different levels and the female room had a double bed.the mattress had springs sticking out so we complained to reception (that was our first mistake, complaining).we were told we could have the what we called the cellar apartments which were by the pool and disco below ground level which made them very dark.so we decided to stay put as long as the female room's bed was changed to two singles but all they did was flip the mattress because of the springs and expected the two of them to share a bed. when this was questioned at reception ,the receptionist asked why mum and dad were not sleeping together!! at this point we decided to forget it and daughter slept on the settee the whole two weeks.
the bar staff were not supervised and were very ignorant when approached for a drink unless you were female between fourteen and thirty then they could not do enough for you. the so called supervisor liked to wander around the seating area and just chat to the females, any females, whilst his two bar staff (two if you were lucky) would be struggling to cope with the amount of customers around the bar .a very clever ploy it seemed to me because this only happened up to eleven o`clock when the all inclusive finished and you had to pay for your drinks, but you could buy one and get one free, very charitable. after eleven there were more staff behind the bar than customers at the bar,very strange.
the staff in the restaurant were very rude hardly said good morning and very rarely smiled it seemed a chore rather than a service and the dress code was a t- shirt with dorian hotel written on it but that was it. they could pretty much wear what they liked after that. not like the hotel next door where the staff all had collars, ties and black trousers.
going back to the bar areas the dirty glasses were rinsed out under a tap and used to serve the next customer so not surprisingly most of our party developed mouth ulcers which we don`t normally get.
the food was okay if you liked salad which was available at every meal time. for the rest of the food it didn`t really cater for it`s clientele which was prodomentley british.it was very repetitive and i stopped eating properly after week one.
moving on to the entertainment and it`s team!!we didn`t expect much entertainment at night so we were not surprised with the standard.most nights just playing records one or two nights a game of bingo the (turkish night)was the bar staff dancing,one night a local michael jackson impersonater came on site and did five minutes dancing and a quiz night. all these nights were repeated the second week.
the entertainment team comprised of two men.the one was ok but the other one who called himself s---c had two sides to his personality one side was cheerful but other side which i found out to my surprise was very threatening .yes you did read correctly.midway through our stay the manangement decided to change the ruling of the pool table to only allow over sixteen year olds to play.this did not go down very well with the guests so a few of us parents approached the duty manager to find out why? the answer given was, "to protect the equipment for future guests".the equipment was in the same condition as when we arrived so it was a complete mistery why they decided to put this rule in place.by this time guest`s were getting angry and telling each other about different grieviences regarding this hotel (not every one can be wrong)so i decided to confront the duty manager away from everyone else to tell him that the sign needed wording better than it did or he was going to get alot of complaints (i was trying to make his life easier).anyway we left it at that and carried on with our hoilday untill the entertainment manager decided to bring in another rule when my children and there mates were just being kids and jumping in the pool .he came up without any warning and shouted has lound as he could "no more jumping in the pool ,no more".no explaination and just stormed off .so i told my children to carry on enjoying there selfs and i joined in thinking he must be joking with us .at this point the entertainment manager comes bounding over to me and says "you should take more responsibility whats your room number i`ll get you thrown off site "i tried to explain to him that there were no signs around the pool to say we couldn`t jump in he points at a no diving sign and says "there" .i try to explain it`s different to jumping and that i have never stopped at a hotel any where in the world where you can`t jump in the pool.he asks for the key to my room and storms off to reception telling me to follow.he says something in turkish to the duty manager then gives me my key back and pushes me ,i push him back and this is when he starts squaring up to me beckoning me to fight him at this point the duty manager steps between us and tells me to go and calm down yes me to calm down .i insist to speak to the hotel manager who was not on site at the time so i was told he would come and find me when he returned on site.when he did appear he was escorted with our rep from hotels for you .the rep told us that the management wanted to throw us off the site because "we were causing trouble"but our rep (gallantley)forced the manager to change his mind and as we only had four more days left of our holiday has long as we behaved ourselves he would let us stay .after this we were treated with even more provocation when my two boys were out in the town one night and threatened by one of the bar staff. the next day the same bar staff member barged into my son while he was eating his breakfast which i witnessed but just let go (what was the point complaining)the only possitive for this hotel were the chamber maids who always said good morning with a smile and kept the rooms very clean and tidy.olu deniz is a beautiful place but let down by this hotel and the people running it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independent

Not Specified
10 years 3 months ago
We stayed at the Dorian hotel in Olu Deniz, Turkey, where do I start it was that bad. We booked early February time 2010 and specified two rooms together because we were a party of five, two females ,mum and daughter and three males, dad, son and stepson.

We were on two different levels and the female room had a double bed. The mattress had springs sticking out so we complained to reception (that was our first mistake, complaining).we were told we could have the what we called the cellar apartments which were by the pool and disco below ground level which made them very dark.so we decided to stay put as long as the female room's bed was changed to two singles but all they did was flip the mattress because of the springs and expected the two of them to share a bed. When this was questioned at reception, the receptionist asked why mum and dad were not sleeping together!! At this point we decided to forget it and daughter slept on the settee the whole two weeks.

The bar staff were not supervised and were very ignorant when approached for a drink unless you were female between fourteen and thirty then they could not do enough for you. The so called supervisor liked to wander around the seating area and just chat to the females, any females, whilst his two bar staff (two if you were lucky) would be struggling to cope with the amount of customers around the bar .a very clever ploy it seemed to me because this only happened up to eleven o`clock when the all-inclusive finished and you had to pay for your drinks, but you could buy one and get one free, very charitable. After eleven there were more staff behind the bar than customers at the bar, very strange.

The staff in the restaurant were very rude hardly said good morning and very rarely smiled it seemed a chore rather than a service and the dress code was a t- shirt with Dorian hotel written on it but that was it. They could pretty much wear what they liked after that. Not like the hotel next door where the staff all had collars, ties and black trousers.

Going back to the bar areas the dirty glasses were rinsed out under a tap and used to serve the next customer so not surprisingly most of our party developed mouth ulcers which we don`t normally get.

The food was okay if you liked salad which was available at every meal time. For the rest of the food it didn`t really cater for its clientele which was predominately british.it was very repetitive and I stopped eating properly after week one.

Moving on to the entertainment and it`s team!!We didn`t expect much entertainment at night so we were not surprised with the standard. Most nights just playing records one or two nights a game of bingo the (Turkish night)was the bar staff dancing, one night a local Michael Jackson impersonator came on site and did five minutes dancing and a quiz night. All these nights were repeated the second week.

Midway through our stay the management decided to change the ruling of the pool table to only allow over sixteen year olds to play. This did not go down very well with the guests so a few of us parents approached the duty manager to find out why? The answer given was, "to protect the equipment for future guests. The equipment was in the same condition as when we arrived so it was a complete mystery why they decided to put this rule in place.by this time guests were getting angry and telling each other about different grievances regarding this hotel (not everyone can be wrong)so I decided to confront the duty manager away from everyone else to tell him that the sign needed wording better than it did or he was going to get a lot of complaints (I was trying to make his life easier).anyway we left it at that and carried on with our holiday until the entertainment manager decided to bring in another rule when my children and their mates were just being kids and jumping in the pool. He came up without any warning and shouted has loud as he could 'no more jumping in the pool'.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
11 years 3 months ago
Do not listen to all the bad reports this hotel has got we all had a wonderful weeks holiday, the hotel is spotlessly clean, the staff are friendly, the rooms are a good sized which includes a fridge and free air con and are cleaned on a daily basis, there are 2 big pools, pool tables, table tennis tables, water aerobics and water polo. The food ok can be a bit repetative but there is never a day that you wouldn't go hungry and it is all beautifully presented and fresh. Had no trouble getting a drink at the bar treat them as you would like to be treated and you'll have no problem. People just want to pay 3 star prices and expect 5 star and then moan about it, a really nice hotel and have booked to go back again in August.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: D.I.Y

Recommended
Brandford
12 years 2 months ago
after seeing so many flies and wasps on the cheese, meats and salad, which came out for brakfast and lunch we decided for health reasons to eat out every day and bought our own cereal for breakfast. food boring and very plain.
hotel reasonbly clean but cleaners are light fingered and 5 rooms that we know of had items stolen during our stay. management did nothing about it.
the staff are grubby, rolling out of their beds under the swimming pool in dirty t.shrts(the same ones every day for two weks) to serve your breakfast.
the entertainment if you can call it that starts late to keep you drinking past all inclusive time is just loud mix of turkish and dance music, so loud we heard of complaints from people trying to sleep in oposite hotel. would i go there again? same resort, yes. same hotel? not even for free.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: olympic

Henderson
12 years 4 months ago
we stayed for one week at the dorian and thoroughly enjoyed it. the food was good though mainly turkish dishes but hey you are in turkey so if you want egg and chips stay at home ! Found the hotel to be extremely clean, staff very pleasant and the location of the hotel is great. two lovely bit pools which were clean and always lots of sunbeds and space (though we did go out of season). as for the comments regarding russian holidaymakers, i can tell you that the russians are everywhere in turkey so cannot hold the hotel to fault for that !

Only downside to this hotel is the entertainment, there is either none or its not good, however there are plenty of bars around so you can make your own entertainment.

For the cost of our holiday considering it is all inclusive i cannot fault the dorian and would have no hesitation in returning there, some people are just sooooooooo fussy !!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
12 years 11 months ago
There's been much discussion about this hotel, the food particulary. So much so that we swithered about whether to change our booking. I have to say, I'm glad we stuck with it. The hotel was really nice and in a goog location, just away from the action. The hotel has six blocks set arond two large pools with plenty of sunbeds. We wre allocated a room right above reception and immediately asked to change. This took a day, but we ended up in the newer part of the hotel overlooking the pool. The rooms are quite small but kept immaculate with maid service every day. The staff were very accommodating. Yes even the two barmen, although if I was twenty years younger and female, I would definately get served quicker. But that happens at home as well I suppose.

Now the food: We weren' totally dependant on AI as we like to eat out and only took the deal cause it was a bargain. So I suppse we have a different perspective. We ate breakfast and lunch and there wasn't a great choice compared to hotels in Spain for example. Heavily dependent on an extensive salad bar. However we always found something to eat. At night we had a look out of curiousity and it looked like there were generally two hot choices along with the salad stuff.
I feel that having a family there would be a different matter. If you had kids and were dependent on AI you would seriously struggle. These days when children have a staple diet of burgers, chicken nuggets and chips, they become hard to please and I can't imagine them eating much of what was there.

I heard they were going back to B&B next year, which I think is a good idea because the food issue is the only thing that lets dowd an otherwise excellent hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Right Holidays

Recommended
Ian & Loraine
13 years 1 month ago
Having read mixed reviews about this hotel it was with some trepidation that we booked in.

During the first few days we kept an open mind about the hotel, food and staff. by the fifth day it seemed to us that the negative reports we had read had some creedence.

The new part of the hotel where we stayed is nicely built finished to a reasonable standard although a little more space for clothing would not go amiss, all in all that aspect is excellent value for money.
The new pool & bar area in the day is run by one guy with limited english, who never kept anyone waiting.

In the evening the main hotel bar is staffed by up to four people who will do anything to avoid eye contact with waiting english people (males) Unless you are female under 30 and attarctive to boot. I finally lost patience after waiting 15 minutes one evening, with out naming names one or two of them seemed like fish in an aquarium they would walk towards you and then dart off when you tried to make eye contact.

The food failed miserably to be even of a poor standard, our plans to eat out on alternate evenings where soon raised to every evening, with out going into to much detail is was bland and repetativeand unimaginative, by the end of the first week there seemed to be an improvment to the point where we ate in in two succesive nights!

At the end of the first week we noticed that an amount of money had disapeared, i immediatly put everything into a safe the next morning( before any one comments i know we should have had a safe from the beginning)

Accepting resonsibility for my own lack of action, i informed the staff that they may have a problem staff, but did not want to make an issue of it.

Later during the same day it was obvious that our room had been entered and searched again. it is difficult to pinpoint who was reponsible,although upon reflection we feel that it was not the most obvious suspect.

A disscussion (not heated)with the manager who i have to say was most helpful resulted in us being moved to another hotel without any admin charges.

All in all our experience of the Dorian has left us wishing we never went there, despite this i would not hesitate to vist turkey again, and would reccomend that others take head of the lessons that we have learnt upon this, our 7th visit
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Right Holidays

13 years 3 months ago
We arrived at the Dorian at around 04:30am where we were met with 3 chaps willing to get us checked in and take our cases to our rooms.

Although we booked a Jacuzzi room overlooking the pool in the new block we were advised (The evening before we flew out) that due to a dispute with the local council the Jacuzzi rooms would not be available. We ended up in Room 116 which was in the old block but still overlooking one of the pools. The rooms are very small although extremely clean. 1 small cupboard is provided for clothes with 3 hangers. We were lucky to only be staying for a week otherwise we would have to live out of our suitcases most of the time. The rooms are cleaned daily with fresh towels each day. The cleaners deserve a medal for the standards they keep up. A small fridge is included and each room is supposed to have a TV. We did not have one and did not receive this until the day of our departure which was quite annoying.

The Hotel is located at the top end of the resort and around 500m from the main Olu Deniz beach and about 200m from the main shopping street in the centre of Olu. The Web Site for the Dorian is accurate in respect to the pictures of the complex.

Most of the Hotel staff are good although you do not see much of the reception staff apart from the daily safety deposit box (10 YTL for a week) visits or when checking out. The Restaurant staff are fine where Happy is the Manager (He is very glad to meet you on arrival but this did seem to lessen the longer we were there as he initally wanta to get you to go to the jewellers (Infinity) as he knows them. Sometimes his comments became a little tiresome and my wife ended up being annoyed with him due to some of his side comments when trying to make a joke. You could tell when he was a little stressed by the look on his face. We preferred Ufuk (or Jack as he wanted to be called for some reason!!) as he was always in a cheery mood and was always happy to help. As far as entertaintment went it was non existent. The Web Site states a weekly Turkish Night but this was not the case. The only music is from the bar which played mostly Turkish music. A Tv was there but was mostly switched off. A Pool table (with only 1 cue) and table tennis (At the new pool end).

The drinks were fine although we do not really drink that much alchohol but found them OK the twice we had one. I was a bit surprised to see the Bar man fill up a large water container from the outside tap near the Hotel. It was the same one people washed there Cars with during the day so BE WARNED the water containers they have in the complex may not be the bottled water you think they are!!.

The Hotel has a few resident Goats and Ducks in a caged area behind the main complex and has a market onsite. The complex is infested with flies which really put's you in a negative mood while either at the pool or in the Restaurant especially.

There are no deterants for the flies and in the end became very annoying. Even our insect repellant didn't help that much!!

The worst part of the complex is certainly the food. We are both not picky eaters but we found the food most days to be inedible or very close to it. The food is so bland and tasteless most of the time and lacks any form of variety. You will get chicken, beef and even fish stew with aubergine and fish kebabs. You would have one of these on offer with rice and a vegetable stew as the second option. The only other extra good main meal was the Chicken Doner but was the only meal served by the chef to limit the amount of food given to each diner which I thought was a bit strange. The food on offer was repeated after each cycle had been offerred as we went back to chicken stew on our last night. The soup was pretty similar most days but did have a little more flavour. The bread was good and was eaten by a lot of the guests. The salads on offer were the same each dayalthough infested with flies. Normally around 4 desserts were offered each day (sometimes different) although again, infested with flies. For the first time I have seen in Turkey what it seemed like Health Inspectors came and took samples of all portions of food on our 3rd day which worried us a lot as it was done in full view of everyone in the restaurant and the manager and all staff all looked extremely concerned during their visit. I ended up losing 9lbs on my 7 night holiday which is a first for me as my lst AI visit I put on 6lbs at the Sun City Hotel complex. All in all I would not return to the Dorian due to the Food although I understand they are going back to B&B next year. I would rate the complex close to a 2 star but certainly not a 3 or 4 star as some operators are advising. I suspect that most reports will come back the same as a lot a people we talked to during our stay had the same complaints - Bad Food.

You get what you pay for so I cannot really complain too much as we payed
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Right Holidays

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.