Image of Destina Hotel

Destina Hotel

13 of 17 hotels in Ovacik

3 out of 5 from 11 reviews
3 stars
Babadag Yolu, Tehneli Dere Mevkii, Ovacik, Turkey

11 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Wayne
Going back soon
11 years 1 month ago
This was my first time to Turkey we stayed at hotel Destina, this hotel is fantastic, the food was lovely, staff were friendly, the rep was very good and helpful, nice hot weather, nice clean and airy room, the hotel has its own Turkish bath which is reasonably good.

We had a top floor room, it’s a 10 min walk to Hisaronu, night life is great, Monday market is good,

So this is a very good hotel, if you read other reviews saying it’s not a good hotel, take no notice of it, it’s a fantastic hotel, we are thinking of going back in September this year as it was a fantastic holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Helen
Good budget hotel
11 years 11 months ago
You will not go hungry here though you will get bored with the food if you stay for longer than 7 days. Lots of healthy options - fruit and salad choices available for all main meals. Chicken and turkey on the menu every evening but the chefs ensured that these were served up in a variety of ways.

About a 20 minute downhill walk to the town and this may not suit everybody. Rooms are compact but there is no need to spend much time there. Hotel staff could do with checking rooms between occupants - we had a faulty fridge, lights and electric sockets.

Pool very nice and clean. It got a bit noisy in the night with the return of revellers from the bar so take ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. Staff very friendly and polite.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Angela
Great value for money
12 years 1 month ago
Hotel Destina, Ovacik, Turkey is beautifully situated on a hilltop site. It is surrounded on three sides by stunning green scenery of the mountains and each evening you are able to watch the sun setting whilst eating dinner in the family run hotel restaurant.

The pool has to be the second best feature, as it is large, clean and very family friendly. There are 'just' enough sunbeds if you are down reasonably early to sunbathe, although the Animation Team will move guests towels if they do not come to use the facilities by 11am. A great practice!

Food is good, varied (although chicken if often on the menu) and the daily soups are very scrummy!! There is a large selection of continental breakfast choices- bread, salads, meats, cheeses along with eggs, frankfurters, toast and cereals. Hot meals are limited to several choices per day for lunch and dinner but the salad bar is extensive, there is always soup and the dessert range is wide.

Hotel staff are very helpful, courteous and polite. They work hard, long hours and are happy to accommodate you in any way they can. The hotel owners were there during our stay and they welcome constructive comments from guests in order to improve your stay (and have made changes due to these).

The maid service was efficient for our needs, towels and bedding being changed on a regular basis and the room always seemed clean. There is soap provided for in the shower (there is no bath) and the sink. Plenty of toilet paper always available (though it is put in the bin and not the toilet).

The Animation Team is a mature couple from Wales who are delightful! They work long hours and are always open to new suggestions. They try to vary the nightly entertainment- there are 'some' games and acts for children but it is mostly geared towards the adults and does start a bit late, usually 10.30pm. They do get you involved in the pool, darts, volley ball etc during the day!!

Hisaronou is within walking distance down the hill. We often came back after midnight and even walking this late felt quite safe on our own. A taxi would cost £3 or 6 Turkish lira without a tip. There are numerous clubs, pubs, restaurants, Turkish lads dancing on the bars (in most bars), fire shows, a fun fair, live entertainment nightly, so many types of shops selling everything you could want!

We loved our holiday, and would in a few years possibly consider going back. It is '3 star', so you get what you pay for... a relaxing holiday, with brilliant weather, a good hotel with great staff, fab food, ok entertainment in a sensational location which goes towards excellent value for money!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sylvia Crawford
12 years 2 months ago
after reading the reviews before going on holiday we expected the worst, we arrived there to being very pleasantly surprised.The hotel was lovely, very clean the staff were very pleasant, helpful, in fact they went out of their way to help you special mentions to fatti,sabash,houssain and ozzi.We liked where the hotel was located,approx a 15minuite walk from the centre away from the hustle and bustle of the town centre but close enough to get to.The food was lovely but a bit more turkish food would have been nice, (the hotel tried to cater for the fish and chip, apple pie brigade that
always crawl out of the woodwork on holiday).A kids club or creche is something they could think about,its always nice for parents to get a wee break on holiday.The rooms were clean the beds comfortable all good sized for a 2 week all inclusive holiday.O verall we would definately visit this hotel again and know we would have a great holiday
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Vicky
12 years 9 months ago
After reading reviews regarding Destina Hotel we was not really expecting alot but it was a cheap get away for a week.We arrived at the Destina Hotel and we received a really freindley welcome .Rooms was clean little on the small size but you only sleep in the room so this was not a problem for us . Food was good but think after 2 weeks I would have got feed up ,it was turkish food but if you want english food stop in england !! overall we all had a good holiday I would go back as its such a friendly hotel and staff are really good could not of asked for more for the price we paid .I think the hotel has done really well for its first year of all inclusive.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Denisfitzpatrick
12 years 10 months ago
to sum things up cheap and cheerfull but in need of upgrade to bring it into the 20th century no entertainment the manager had no skills to motivate people to do anything he had no tanoy system for his bingo night he played the same old music day afer day just did not try a leg the bar served people drink till they were sick and just kept on pouring it out to them meals if it was not eaten all the food at breakfast it was served up at lunch time and again afternoon snacks at the pool the same food left overs night meal servided again nine times out of ten it was cold the Hotel Inspector would run away and give up the lower flat room got flooded after it rained this left a horible smeel to linger for days
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomascook

Adrian
12 years 10 months ago
All Inclusive Package not worth a light - food inedible cold partly cooked chicken over cooked fish, Pool Bar served by the most miserable and rude head barman it has ever been my misfortune to meet, drinks all diluted by at least 10 to 1 except raki but the only reason they did not dilute that was because it goes cloudy with water, beer totally undrinkable usually 1 part slops topped up from the pump.Rooms were "cleaned" everyday although it was rather hit and miss whether clean towels were provided also lots of petty pilfering from rooms.Cold or tepid showers were the norm.Rooms rather on the small side although they did provide an empty fridge and a TV (no english channels)entertainment was laughable but if you dared to laugh and joke at the bar in the evening you are told to be quiet because people are in be and have complained so anytime after 9.00pm you have got to be quiet as a mouse unless of course you play noisy turkish music which apparently does not disturb the sleeping guests at 2.00 am to summise - dont go best to book a fortnight in Belson or Dacau the foods better there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: booked online

Ann
12 years 10 months ago
Generally you get what you pay for, and we did'nt pay very much to stay here. Regardless of how much or how little it cost, one should still expect the food to be hot. This was a common gripe with fellow guests. The food was usually lukewarm even when we went for a meal the second the restaurant opened. The meals were repetitive, with grilled (dry) fish, chicken and meatballs. Though one day we were surprised by hot braised veal! Despite this, the food was edible, I never starved and if the main course did'nt appeal to me I chose the salad which was always the desired temperature and there was plenty of choice. I notice that another reviewer had a TV. We did'nt have one but we did'nt bother complaining. We did not have the full complement of curtains either and the sun shone in the room the minute the sun was up. I wore a blindfold. Our room was much smaller than the average 2 bed room. There was 30 cms between the edge of one bed and the wardrobe. There was 30 cms of room between the end of the beds and the dressing table; barely enough room to walk through. The shower room was tiny with the toilet squeezed in between the wall and the shower cubicle. Basically everything was shabby but seemed clean enough. The sheets were clean and fresh though I did notice that one day the 'clean' towel had a big black mascara smudge on it. That should not have passed inspection.
Now for the case of the missing shoes! One couple told me that one of the husband's shoes went missing, they searched all over and could not find it. A few days later, they find the missing shoe along with it's mate sitting neatly on a chair in their room. I was aghast! They had space for a chair in their room? I raced back to our room and put all of my shoes in the suitcase and locked it. The next day, a teenager said that she had two right shoes go missing and had emptied the room looking for them. A day later one of the shoes turned up but I do not know if the second shoe ever did. Mmmm, could it be a foot fetishist poltegeist having a bit of fun? Maybe a one legged thief was hopping about? Or simply, they were just untidy people who could'nt keep track of their footwear unlike moi who had mine safely locked up in a suitcase.
Now for the good points. The swimming pool was large and clean. The overall hotel 'village' was pretty with lots of flowers. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful. Only one staff member let the side down. He worked in the pool bar mainly and his attitude was obnoxious. He was a right twit (spelt that wrong, never mind).
The entertainment was dire, it mainly consisted of Bingo and quizzes though one night the weekly entertainment budget was blown on some acrobats. They were very entertaining as entertainment should be!
I did enjoy myself despite all, and met some lovely people. Perhaps the camaderie felt by one and all was the result of mass whingeing.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel Republic

Destina Hotel
13 years 1 month ago
Hotel Destina all inclusive, wonderfully clean friendly hotel. great location close to the mountains far away from the throb but close enough to walk into town! Ente4rtainment was the only let down , but that could be because of the early season!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Jim & Bev
13 years 2 months ago
If you like turkish food go to this hotel if not dont, staff were good & hotel was clean. we were all inclusive but did not eat at hotel after the first day because we are fussy eaters after that we ate out every day . If you want english food and a propper cup ov engish tea pg tips or tetley you must visit sara at the coffee pot we were told about it after 4 days and we ate there every day after that. She is english but married a turk and she is lovely i would reccomend the coffee shop to every one she even makes her own home made carrot cake Mmmm.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: co-op

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.