Image of Greenlands Hotel

Greenlands Hotel

10 of 17 hotels in Ovacik

4 out of 5 from 38 reviews
4 stars
Located in the Ovacik region just over 3.5km from the centre of Hisaronu. The dolmus stop for the short journey into either the centre or the beach at Olu Deniz is within 250m.

38 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    15
  • Good
    12
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Debbie
Nothing too much trouble at this hotel
10 years 2 months ago
We stayed at the Greenland Hotel for a week in early September. We arrived early hours of the morning and was taken to our room. The room was lovely, very modern, clean and some nice little touches.

When we woke in the morning to brilliant sunshine we opened the balcony doors - wow a fantastic hotel. Pool area was clean, plenty of sunloungers,the bar area was clean and bar staff were friendly and helpful. Food was plentiful and everything you can imagine was on the menu.

Location of hotel was a bit out the way but easy to get a dolmus bus into the next town. Just a short stroll down to the main road and put your hand out and the bus will stop.

Entertainment was ok. We didn't stay in the hotel much of an evening but when we did it was ok, the dj and entertainment crew did there best to keep everyone happy. The hotel staff in all areas were absolutely lovely, they were all really friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

We loved this hotel so much we have booked for Sept but staying 10 days this time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sharon
11 years 5 months ago
Stayed for 1 week during whit week school break, two sons 13 and 17, was booked for a family room to be told on arrival there were none available so we were given two rooms next to each other, this worked out quite well but if children were younger i would have been more annoyed and found out that this happened to other families also!! so they are obviously over booking the rooms??
Apart from that, we had a lovely time, food was lovely, cannot fault it, if anything its too good and we never stopped eating!!
there also is a lack of entertainment for teens, if they started the kiddie disco earlier then just had music for all ages later instead of the laughable "entertainment" provided?? I think that alone would be a huge improvement.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: holidays4u

Recommended
Andrea
11 years 5 months ago
We were given a room on the middle floor . I did e-mail before hand asking for a top floor room but no such luck. After only sleeping in the room for the first night we decided to upgrade to a deluxe room . they gave us 10 nights for the price of 8. at the cost of
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
11 years 5 months ago
The Hotel is in a very quiet location, surrounded by green hills.Allthough it is a bit of a walk up the hill from the main road, as it is all inclusive most people never left the complex.
the negatives- the main complaint was the entertainment, the Pub opened at 9.00am with a kiddies disco at 9.30 for approx.15 mins. wich was disgusting as the kids, especially the girls were all dressed up in there best clothes and only wanted to dance, i think most of them had made friends with each other and think that the entertainment team which cosisted of a MC, a turkish lad of about 25/27 years old and Sara who danced with the children could have given the kids at least 30-45 mins as the kids still were still on the dance floor after, this would have given the parents a break and i am sure that people booked the hotel for the entertainment!
The adult part of the entertainment consisted of Bingo, Quizes, Kareoki etc. however they brought in over period of two weeks, Break dancers, Belly dancer, Russian dancers and a local Turkish dance troup.
The accomadation in the old part of the complex is vary dated and tired however we were informed that at the end of this season all the older blocks are being re-vamped and brought up to the standard of the new part.

The whole complex is built on a slope and might be problem for people with walking difficulties.

The positives- The food was excellent, i am a very picky eater but must have put on at least a stone in weight whilst there.breakfast consisted of different cereals, fruit, fresh bread butter,jams etc and there was a toaster, cold meats cheeses etc and cooked food, ie scrammbled eggs, eggy bread, soft boiled eggs and freshley cooked to your spec. ommlettes, fried eggs and pancakes, tea coffeee and fruit juice, water.It would take to long to list the food availble for the lunch and evening meals but i will mention the homeade soup and puddings-fantastic.
This was the first A/I holiday we have had and what a gem to start with!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Geri & Trevor
12 years 1 month ago
Hotel was in nice location, set on mountainside though not very close to Hisaronu or Olu Deniz but very easily reached by local dolmus or taxi--take nerve pills before taxi rides, if you use taxi's you won't need to book jeep safari haha!!Entertainment here was lacking unfortunately but did have 3 outside troupes visit whilst there which were quite good. Not a great variety of food but what we had was very nice and always hot. The drinks are limited which lets it down a bit (gin vodka brandy & beer available on AI - rest to be paid for) Don't expect a proper eggs & bacon brekkie - they don't do pork in Turkey. A small water park is a 10/15 min walk from hotel, the younger adults in our party went and enjoyed it. It's not really quite a 4* but then again it is a very reasonable price and you get what you pay for. Don't expect the Ritz and you won't be dissapointed! Oh and one last comment, most of staff are nice, just the odd 1 or 2 a bit moody and nothing but praise for chamber ladies...they are really nice and friendly our one was called gellish...a star in an apron!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Rich & Lisa
13 years 1 month ago
excellent,couldnt fault it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
13 years 2 months ago
Wanted to leave on the second day,if you stay at this Hotel make sure you ask for blocks 7,8,9 that is the new part and is definately four star the rest is 2* at best.Pools are nice ,however no lifeguard and no control of the slide, first week teenager fell off and had seven stitches second week a younger boy around ten fell off from the top and was rumoured to have fractured his skull.Food in my opinion was poor with a budget of
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Regal Holidays (Kent)

Angie
13 years 3 months ago
This was are second year at the hotel and one that again we really enjoyed. The entertainment team had changed since last year but were just as good and kept the whole of our family occupied when required. We loved the whole holiday and are already looking to book next year. My son who is aged 12 enjoyed participating in the activities this year as he was old enough to join in with his dad. the holiday overall was a great success for us as a family and one that we will be repeating next year. We hope that some of the staff will still be present on the return of our holiday.
The only critism we have is the fact that there is no way of keeping a room on unitl departure for such a large family group leaving on a late flight.
The overall clkeanliness of the hotel was excellent and the staff fantastic. The food at times a little bit limited would of like more roast type meals. The location very pretty but not a lot within walking distance of it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Janie
14 years 1 month ago
we stayed at the greenlands from 4th sept for a week. it is in the most scenic surroundings i have ever been. we stayed in block 5, and the view of the mountains were breath taking. the rooms were very clean, but on the small side but there was only two of us,so was fine. the food was good, loads of choice, the vodka was rough,but i prefer lager anyway! the bar staff werent that happy except bozo,but they do work 16 hours a day was the reply. it was easy to get to either resort on the dolmus,fetiye is lovely really turkish, hisoranu is very brash so hasnt the same feel. we wanted to go paragliding,but ran out of time. it should cost you between 40 - 65 pounds. the entertainment was the only thing to let the hotel down, it was dire! i would definately go back to the greenlands. it is so peaceful.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Wallis
14 years 1 month ago
the greenland hotel has got worse this year,it is a 4 star hotel but should be 1 star.we booked three rooms for my wife and i,my son and his girlfriend and 1 for our 18 yar old who is disabled.we booked a 3 week stay.the hotel was cleaned daily but only the parts you could see our room had antique cob webs.the food was basic with lunches, with the night befores leftovers most meals were luke warm or cold and i dont mean the salad.the hotel is set at the foot of mountains lovely views,unfortunately because of the location we did have one uninvited guest for lunch, a venomous snake.the hotel staff could be better if the general manager was sacked for his attitude and arrogance the hotel was overbookd and we were offered a family room when we argued he said"take the room or go"we booked may2006.because of his attitude and the state of the hotel we will not return and would not recommend it
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.