Image of Grand Ucel Hotel

Grand Ucel Hotel

6 of 17 hotels in Ovacik

4 out of 5 from 11 reviews
3 stars

11 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Steph H
Ideal location
8 years 2 months ago
Our favourite place in Turkey! There are more plush hotels out there but it would be hard to beat the Grand Ucel for the warmth of welcome and value for money. Been visiting now for over a decade and would thoroughly recommend it. Family owned and run by staff that are always welcoming and friendly. Handily placed mid-way between Fethiye and Olu Deniz with frequent dolmus or taxis to either resort.

The grounds are spacious and even in the height of summer you can find a quiet spot to relax (you might have to if you don't like all day music by the pool!) Excellent choice at breakfast but we've usually gone further afield for other meals for a change of scenery.

Entertainment is a weekly traditional Turkish night at the hotel or take a trip into Hisaronu, Fetiye or Olu Deniz in the evening rounded off by a drink by the pool on your return!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Danielle
Cean, tidy, friendly and welcoming
9 years 2 months ago
Myself, my husband and our two children, both 5, all went bed and breakfast at the Grand Ucel and really enjoyed it.

The hotel was really clean, the maids did a really good job at changing the towels everyday and the pools and the waterpark were really clean too.

We went bed and breakfast so we didn't get chance to try the food really, but the breakfast was really nice and the staff there always ready to collect plates and glasses when you'd finished with them.

The food at the waterpark was also very nice but a little bit overpriced.

The hotel was only a five-ten minute ride on the dolmus away from Hisaronu or Fethiye and about twenty minutes to Olu Deniz which was convenient.

The staff were always very helpful, the restaurant staff and reception staff couldn't do enough to help you. The waterpark staff were also really nice but one or two were a little bit pervy.

The entertainment was a little bit poor considering it was only on on Saturday's. But when the entertainment was on it was excellent. That is the only thing I'd say the hotel is missing, even if it was just once every two days or something.

I would recommend this hotel to you, its absolutely brilliant, every single person in our family enjoyed it and we will be definitely visiting again soon.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Steve
12 years 1 month ago
Hello,

Just returned from an excellent 2 x week break in the Grand Ucel on Ovacik. My wife and I and 13 year old son.

The hotel is owned by Polat and his English wife Rhiannon.

The hotel is just a 10 minute Dolmus ride from Hisaronu (1.75 lira, or 5 lira for 3 x people.A taxi carrying up to seven will charge just 8 lira).

We booked an Apartment that was equipped with a large double bedroom, and equally large lounge area with two stout sofa beds. The "kitchen" was just a couple of electric rings, but there were enough glasses, crockery, cutlery & pans, but we never cooked a thing, eating out each day. We did have, what I consider essential, a Fridge!!
I believe there were fridges in other rooms as well as Apartments.

We booked some 6 months ago, direct with the hotel. We seen the advertisement in the CSMA brochure, but all details can be found on www.granducel.com, where the UK phone number (Rhiannon) can be found.
With us booking early we received free breakfast. This was a Turkish breakfast, cereals such as Corn Flakes & Coco Pops, dried fruits, melon, boiled eggs, or scrambled sometimes, a hot dish such as mushrooms, sliced potaoes, sausages. Cold meats and cheeses, lashings of tea & coffee, bread and various syrups: maple, peanut, jam, honey etc.
We were pleasantly surprised how good it was, we never missed a breakfast.

The hotel was spotless and staff very friendly, especially the reception and breakfast staff. Nothing was too much for them and they could arrange anything for your stay.

Transfers from Dalaman airport can be arranged and again are cheaper than an outside travel company or taxi.

Again from booking early we had free passes into the Water Park next door. Absolutely marvellous and made our holiday as it kept our 13 year old lad happy..
As it is about 20 lira for entrance this really was a great bonus for us, and the slides are quite superb. There is a Snack Bar, which was reasonable.

We never ate in the hotel, aside from breakfast, but people who did said it was very good.
The hotel has occasional night entertainment and are adding to the itinerary each year. But as H. is on your doorstep, it wasn't really an issue with us.

Overall, it was definitely one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in, and as this was our first visit to Turkey, it has left us wanting more. we will definitely return.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: none

Recommended
12 years 1 month ago
Having stayed at this hotel 2 years ago, I was really disapointed this time. Standards have totally slipped. When I went before it had not long opened and the standards were very high, towels were changed everyday, rooms spotless, food very nice. This time round it's as if they couldnt care less. this time we booked self catering, but insisted we get moved to the rooms as they were in such poor condition, there were wires hanging out the wall, bits of tile around the skirting was hanging off, there wasn't hardly anything by the way of a kitchen, it was bad enough with the 2 ring hob but there wasn't much of anyting else other than a few glasses, a few plates and cutlery, the wardrobe was broken/coming off hinges, it was just a total mess, then when I asked for a baby cot for my son, they sent me the dirtiest thing I have ever seen and refused to put him in it. in the end I was given a wodden one, which all be it was broken and had splinters, I managed to make it safe and that was better.

Reception were totally useless, there was usually a woman and 2 guys the woman didnt speak english so we didnt have much contact with her to know how she was, one of the guys was very helpful and tried his hardest to help with any issues, but the main reception guy who seemed to think he was was some kind of cassanova was as useful as a chocolate teapot, it got to a point where I think he was purposely trying to annoy us and not help as he was just the most awful receptionist I have ever come across in all my years of traveling the world. Whenever we had a problem he would say he would sort it, but never did, in the end we just went straight to the owner and that really cheesed him off but at least the owner had the sense to try and resolve the issues.

The room we were moved to was a vast inmprovment from the apartments, however our bathroom was full of ants and although i easily solved the problem with a can of raid, they really shouldnt be calling themselves a 4 star hotel when the bathroom is full of ants, the cleaning of the room was well below standard (they finally gave our room a good clean the day before leaving) the towels are only changed every 3 days and in the 10 days we stayed the sheets only got changed once.

If this hotel cost under
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: none

Tracy
12 years 1 month ago
This was our 2nd visit to the Grand Ucel and we were really disappointed. Our party was made up of 2 adults and 2 17 year old boys; we requested 2 rooms close together. Upon arrival we were shown into a room only to find a member of staff asleep in the bed! Not a good impression; however we were relocated but the air con didn't work in that room. 2 days later we finally got a decent room. Unlike our previous visit the staff in charge and on reception were pretty useless, especially the 2 guys on reception. They were most unhelpful, very rude and spent the majority of their time posing for the girls. It wouldn't have been so bad if they were good looking but they were a couple of mingas! We also felt intimidated as though we were an inconvenience to them.

The food was poor but they did do a very good english breakfast for a small charge. Entertainment was pretty non-existant but we didn't mind as it was cheap enough to jump on the dolmus and head into Hisaronu.

We would come back to this hotel as the best thing about it is it is quiet and you can always get a sunbed. The waiters are briliant especially "Dupee and Vulcan" they are good crack. It is only rated 2 stars and you only get what you pay for. If you are expecting a posh hotel with fabulous facilities them look elsewhere.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended
13 years 2 months ago
Just returned from 10 day holiday and already booking flights for next year.Had a deluxe room for 3 people,very spacious with a lovely bathroom having bath and shower.We had maid service everyday and clean towels.The pool area was very spacious and you could get a sunbed any time of the day.Somedays we had the pool to ourselves even though it was july.There was no entertainment while we were there but,we do not stop around hotels,so did not bother us.The aqua park was free to guests staying at the hotel and it was a real bonus.It was open to the public for 25ytl each,which we thought was very expensive.Some days it was really busy and we used to go at 10am when it opened.Lots of turkish families stay at the hotel and we struggled to find any food for breakfast.You could have cornflakes but, had to ask for them.We did not have any evening meals as we like to try different restaurants.The location of the hotel is about a 25 min walk to the centre along a very busy road.The dolmus runs every 5 mins so no problem.The reception staff speak very little english and this can sometimes be a problem.We will certainly be returning next year!!.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: independent

Recommended
Lyn And Tony
14 years ago
Been to Turkey 6 times in the last 2 years!

This is the best hotel we have stayed in. Could find no fault!

Only use Goldtrail to book flights and accomodation, no need for reps.

We took our 14 year old and it was near impossible to get him off the waterslides and out of the pool!

Food was great at the hotel, and they let you run a tab! Staff were helpful, rooms cleaned everyday.

Will be going again, but will book directly with the hotel!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Goldtrail

Recommended
Dawn And Craig
14 years 1 month ago
We just got back from a 2 week holiday at the Grand Ucel..what a fantastic hotel it was...

The hotel should be rated a 4* the owners and staff were very friendly,maids cleaned our rooms changed towels and bedding daily.

The new aquapark was brill and safe with pool staff at every slide.

We ate out every night, English Restaurant,Santana,Pekins chinese,English Rose,Lemon Tree,and many others which were very good.

I would recommend the Grand Ucel the food was exellent. We loved it so much that we have booked to go back next year. We are not going with Goldtail we have booked direct.

For all information go to www.granducel.com
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: goldtrail

Recommended
Kerry Purvis
14 years 4 months ago
The hotel was fabulous. It was very very clean and tidy and the rooms were spacious and clean. The towels and bedding were changed and cleaned every day. The view from our room was of the mountains and was very pretty. If you are looking for entertainment in your hotel, there wasn't much here, but as we went out every night it didn't really matter to us.

The pool and restaurant area, again were very clean, the pool was big and spacious, with plenty of sunbeds.

The restaurant was really good with reasonable prices and good quantities of food.

They were building an aqua park when we were there, however it's nearly finished and will be a great addition to the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Goldtrail

Recommended
Sarah Hey
14 years 4 months ago
Ive just got back from a weeks holiday at the Grand Ucel hotel in Ovacik and felt that I should write a review to balance out some of the negative feedback I had previously read.

I had read lots of dubious things online before we set off and was expecting the worst just in case things started to go wrong. The flight from Manchester was delayed by 3 hours, which wasn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: goldtrail

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.