Image of Balkaya Hotel

Balkaya Hotel

14 of 17 hotels in Ovacik

3 out of 5 from 25 reviews
3 stars
Ovacik Mahallesi 1, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey

25 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    12
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Laura
Do not go to this hotel, worst holiday ever
12 years ago
Myself and my partner went to the Balkaya for our first holiday together and what an experience it was. Turkey was beautiful but the hotel left little to be desired.

The rooms are tiny and dirty, the staff don't really care if you have any complaints as they already have your money. We paid for all our drinks as we had them but when we left we had a bill for 140 lira. I refused to pay it as we had not eaten there only had drinks which we paid for on ordering them, the receptionist shouted at me and I walked away in tears. The receptionist later pulled my partner to one side saying I was rude.

We didn't sleep well as the bar was open 24/7 and they blasted out the same CD for the whole stay on repeat.

No clean towels were given and we had to ask for toilet roll.

The staff were only interested in young woman and they made no effort to be discreet about this and there were holiday makers serving behind the bar.

The breakfast was basic, no fruit, nothing was fresh and there were cats jumping all over the tables.

There were three nights in total of entertainment - the same belly dancer and that was it and quite frankly it was rubbish. The alcohol was warm.

If you asked the staff how to get to Olu Deniz they wouldn't tell you. Also if your female stick to your partner as they had little to no respect for women.

We spent little time in the hotel as we went on lots of excursions which was fabulous. I'd recommend Turkey as a holiday destination but just remember you get what you pay for and in the Balkayas case a pound would have been too much. On leaving the hotel our taxi was late picking us up the staff didn't even say thank you or goodbye, and this was where we spotted the kitchen where staff were filling up water bottles with a hosepipe, flies crawling all over the food, and dead cats in a cage.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Linda
12 years 10 months ago
had a great time at balkaya hotel. i arrived it was raining and cold. staff were great and couldnt do enough for us.
we even had a bonfire in the cold nights and it brought all th guests together it was so nice.
the only problem we had was no hot water because no sun, and the boss has assured us it will be sorted for next season.
the hotel boss is new from 1 year ago and has made big improvment so i have alot of faith it will happen
the cleaner lady is very good and bar staff excellent, we never stopped laughing ... this is what holidays are all about
i will be going back for sure next year
thanks to soloman david and osman
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
David Clarke
12 years 10 months ago
I strongly recommend the Balkaya Hotel In Obvacik for familes, couples and singles is absolutely first class.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Derek Bowskill
12 years 11 months ago
stayed at the balkaya hotel. first impressions not very favourable. arrived four and half hours late. As we were late this was in the evening .evening meal had finished but the staff did provide us with food .hotel had just changed hands and they were open to suggestions on how to improve the facilities .there was a great atmosphere among the guest in the hotel,The main concern about the hotel was some of the staff were not up to the job of running a hotel . the barman was a complete fool ,Some of the other staff spent most of there time round the pool bar.Iwill give credit to some of the staff when suggestions were put to them they acted on them .it reminded me of fawlty towers. the new owners are trying to get it running properly. the other concern was the location down a rough lane from the main road.I do believe next year if they say what they are giong to do it will be a hotel i may visit again. get rid of some of the idiot staff
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: goldtrail

Recommended
Connie
13 years ago
We arrived early hours of the morning with the bar still open and the music blaring, we were told that the bar stays open until 5am regulary. We were showed to our room when on first inspection was clean.

We went down for breakfast, expecting fruit on the menu but to be faced with a table of cheese, olives, & boiled eggs. There was constantly a lack of cups & glasses for coffee and juice and generally a lot of hanging around waiting for the staff to wash the dirty cups & glasses.

I found some of the staff very rude and arrogant but this was I must admit the reception staff.

The saftey of guests were not their concern, dangerous bolts & screws sticking of out their pool furniture, small pieces of glass still lying around the bar when glasses had been broken and not cleared up properly.

Bar hygiene was also something that didn't seem to bother them. My son witness the barman drink directly out of a coke bottle and then serve a customer from the same bottle. Holding a cigeratte in their hand while pouring you out a drink and then using their hands to put the ice in your glass, it was enough to make your stomach turn.

My final moan would have to be when 11 days into our stay, the management came up to me and told me that my son would have to remove his t-shirt while he was in the pool, my son is very fair and needs to be covered up in the sun. The reason for this is that the cotton damages the pool but it would be ok for him to were a polyester top.

This is not a family friendly hotel and I would advise anyone to have a really good think before staying at this hotel.

3 Star this hotel should -10 star.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Hotel s 4 U

Barry
13 years ago
Warning!do not use this hotel...on our arrival reception desk was unmaned,bar staff had to find receptionist who was quite abrupt(a great welcome to the hotel BALKAKA as we called it)rooms were adequete towels were changed daily if not the bed linen for the whole holiday duration.Breakfast was rubbish no fresh fruit,what food there was which was very limited was open to flies etc!covered only by clingfilm.Staff were not very helpful if available at all,a distinct lack of cups & glasses & one kettle to boil water for a hotel full of guests.Lots of rubbish left around pool area from previous day.It was forbidden to bring in such things as water,crisps,fruit,etc if you did you were pounced on by the staff & told in no uncertain terms that this is not allowed.We were promised entertainment but saw none whatsoever,there is more i could say, but how long have you got?All in all this hotel wasn,t interested in your holiday just your money.There has been new management installed& things did improve this could be a good hotel but it will be sometime before we return if at all.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: On the beach

13 years ago
We arrived at the Hotel Balkaka early hours of the 2nd Aug only to find the receptionist fast asleep on the Sofa and after waking her up were given the keys to our room which was the pool view Family room and thought this should be good(how wrong).
When we got to our room we found we only had two towels between a family of four and for the first 4/5 days these were never changed.
When getting ready to go out on the evening it was regular that the water would just go off for about 1-2 hours so we would be sitting around until the water came back on(dont listen to anybody who tells you the hot water tap is the cold one and vice versa).
We thought we had a good room in having the pool view how wrong as the music was blasting until around 4.00 a.m in the morning where it was impossible to sleep with the deep tones of Growlers voice(one of the staff)this is the name we gave him as i was wanting drink at the bar when we first arrived there was no one there but seen a member of staff sitting doing nothing(as usual)where i said could i order a drink please where he gave out a noise like a growling dog(must have been upset at being disturbed).

Saftey deposit boxes -We had a bit of a fright one day when asking for the master key to open the safety deposit box only to here a reply from the receptionist in a calm manner "we cannot find the key it's lost and the only other key is with the manager and he is not here" Well it was a good job i did not need the key to get our passports out to go home there and then.

Food - We were half board but tried the evening meal only once as the food looked awful. As for the breakfast as stated in the previous report there was only Bread(sometimes)and salad and fruit juice(when you could get a glass).

Location - The location was okay but have to say if we were to go back would find something a bit nearer to the Bars/ restaurants as over 2 weeks the Dolmus/Taxi spendage soon mounts up.

Entertainment - There was none the only enertainment was where we laughed between ourselves at certain thing that were going on at this joke Hotel.

This Hotel could be made into a good Hotel if only they would pay attention to detail but i think think the
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunshine.co.uk

Tracey
13 years 1 month ago
i have just got back from balkaya i stayed there by myself for 2 weeks. recently i went there for 8 weeks for july/august 2009 but i loved it so much i needed to return. . the swimming pool is excellent and very clean. the staff are very nice and polite. restraunt food was very nice and not expensive so most days i had eaten in. the first room i have was a family room which i shared with my 2 children also a friend was really lovely. when you walk in had 2 sofa beds then spiral stairs going up to a room with a double bed also another room with a single bed which it was like a small house and very clean. when i went by myself i had a double bed which it was quite a large room and also very clean
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: holidays 4 u

Recommended
Jeanette Oates
13 years 2 months ago
We have just got back from spending 2 weeks at the Balkaya hotel... I would recommend this hotel definately and will definately return.. The staff are fantastic really helpful and loved the kids infact on our departure most of them including the managers came outside to wave us off!! The food was typical Turkish food and for breakfast they will make you omlettes at no extra cost if you ask.. It is about a 15 minute walk to hisaranu which is lively and there is a bus also you can get from the main road about a 5 minute walk from the hotel that takes you to Fethiyie, Olu Deniz Hisaranu etc and cost us 5lira for 2 adults and the kids were free.. taxis are reasonable about 15 lira from olu denis to ovacik. but the bus runs til 2pm... The cleaner was fantastic the room was cleaned every other day and sometimes more if you needed loo rolls clean towels no problem perhaps previous guests should have asked?? We had no ficticious bar bills or any other unexpected costs.. The pool is excellent and the staff join in with water polo games and bring ice around to keep the drinks cool.. The room was huge we had a family room downstairs is the balcony,couch, toilet then open plan stairs leading to 2 loft bedrooms with 4 single beds we pushed them together and the maid kindly put on double sheets. The Management has changed so perhaps previous reviews are down to the previous owners but I can honestly say I have never met nicer people.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Hotels4u

Recommended
Cruisecontroller
13 years 11 months ago
Before I give my review, I wish to point out that there was a complete staff change back in August, add to this, the Hotel was on lease for one year and so what i've written reflects this. This Hotel has earned the unfair title of Fawlty Towers, run by Manuel !! In the right hands, this hotel has the potential to be a real goldmine. I hope the new lease owner has the foresight to see this. The rooms on the ground floor in the back accommodation block are due for refurbishment this winter. The hotel is located in a quiet area of Ovacik some 25 minutes walk from Hisaronu centre, you can use dolmus which run along the main road, 10 minutes walk away. The grounds and the reception area were kept really clean. The rooms ?? We had a good size double room located in the reception building, it was like being in an echo chamber as the noise travelled from downstairs up to the rooms. There was never any hot water in the mornings and only warm water in the afternoons. We were supposed to have sheet/towel change twice a week but we only got it once and only then when we asked !! The cleaner was six months pregnant and was expected to clean all the rooms every day on her own, she wasn't getting to our room until after 4.30pm. She was expected to carry the sheets and towels to the rooms, very rarely was she given any assistance. One day, she had no toilet roll to give us, fortunately we always take two rolls with us when we go away, just in case !! Of four young men employed here, only one really earned his keep and he was called Ramazan. Another guy just sat around the pool all day taking pictures of himself with his mobile phone or just generally posing, he was the only one who had any sort of command of the English language but still had to ask guests for spelling for the daily menus !!

The choice at breakfast was sliced orange, tomato, cucumber, hard boiled eggs, feta and cheddar cheese, two kinds of meat, olives, orange juice, tea, coffee, jam and bread. During the first week of our stay there was a choice of two cereals. We did have a meal one evening and snacks on two separate occasions and could not find fault with the quality of food provided. I have made mention that I would return to this hotel but this would only be when all the problems are resolved and it gets back to glowing review status.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Holidays4u

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.