Image of Trakia Plaza Hotel

Trakia Plaza Hotel

71 of 104 hotels in Sunny Beach

3 out of 5 from 10 reviews
4 stars
Sunny Beach, Iberostar Sunny Beach Resort, 8240 Burgas, Bulgaria
Situated between the popular Trakia and Hrizantema hotels and just minutes from the lively resort’s centre, the Trakia Plaza is close to a wide range of restaurants, bars and shops. The hotel is an ideal choice for those who wish to enjoy luxury.

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Sharon
10 years 4 months ago
We stayed at this hotel on a half board basis, but with two young children this was not a good idea. The food was geared towards the tastes of the German and Eastern European guests (of which there were many) If it was not for chips my children would have starved!! Also we found that the Bulgarians prefer their food lukewarm as opposed to piping hot. Being British, we formed an orderly queue at mealtimes, however it would appear that we were the only one's who bothered. A glass of wine or water was free with the evening meal, but you have to pay for soft drinks.

The hotel room was fit for purpose. The bathroom appeared to have been recently renovated with an excellent powershower. We found the air conditioning during the night to be pretty poor. We tried to keep the patio door open, however the noise from the main road (all night) was deafening and I woke in the morning with several painful mosy bites! On our floor there were several groups of younger Eastern Europeans, who tended not to go out until very late in the evening, returning in the early hours of the morning, making a racket as they did!!

No matter what time of day we got up, there were always plenty of sunbeds, tables and parasols around the pool. The pool itself was very good, with the waterslides. There was a pool bar, however there was no waiter service.

The kids club consisted of two young Bulgarian girls whos idea of activities were limited to throwing a frizby around the pool or kicking a football on the grass. The kids disco (!) consisted of the girls playing German songs on the terrace from a small CD player. Because most of the children there were non-british, the girls tended to speak to the group in German, which discouraged my children from joining in.

The hotel itself was bright and airy, with the communal areas kept spotless. The toilets on the ground floor were continually cleaned and well stocked. The staff, although not unfriendly did not tend to interact with guests very much.

On the whole, we enjoyed our holiday. I would consider returning to Sunny Beach, but would not be rushing back to this hotel!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

10 years 6 months ago
I went to trakia plaza end of june and first impressions i got was nice. nice on the out side and also nice on the inside. staff were very friendly maids always on the go cleaning keeping the place spotless.rooms were good sized and always kept clean.also good air conditioning i stayed half board but didnt like the breakfast tea time there was always a good choice in food the location of the hotel was only a 5 min walk if that to the beach which was very good. limited entertainment going on in the hotel but got a nice pool with 2 slides in it which you payed a small amount to use for the whole day. also had 2 pool tables air hockey car raceing machines and more games at bottom of hotel which kept the kids happy :) im hopeing to book up for this hotel for next year
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: balkan

Recommended
Graeme Kennedy
12 years 5 months ago
The hotel was clean and well maintained in both the rooms and public areas.

The restaurant was adjacent to the Hotel and offered buffet style food which was very basic and not appetising to those who prefer a UK menu. Soup was always nice.

The hotel had no atmosphere day or night confirmed by the few people who ever bothered to stay in the pool area in the evenings.

During the day at the poolside there were no waiters available which I would expect a 4 star hotel to provide.

The staff from reception to the bars were not at all very pleasant and in some instances rude even withholding change at the bar until it was asked for as the barman was expecting a tip. Same in the restaurant.

Overall we were disappointed with the hotel in terms of service when compared to the 3 star Pomorie that we stayed in in July 2004.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan

Nicola
12 years 7 months ago
This hotel as far as I am concerned is catered for the German people not the English.

There was not entertainment for the young English travellers or their families. The food was the same repetetive and my English kids would not eat it.

Hotel and cleanliness was brill,few staff spoke English And entertainment was rubbish.

This hotel I would not recommend to any English person or family. I would never stay at this hotel ever again.

Any English person go to the Iberostar which was recommendend by a Yorkshire woman.

Balkan holidays you need to sort out young English Families throughout Sunny Beach.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: balkan

Nikki
12 years 7 months ago
This hotel is nice and clean, the cleaning ladies always made beds and put kids nightwear and cuddlies oo the pillows, nice touch.

Hardly anyone speaks english at this hotel and the entertain was rubbish. It was also full of students from the 25th may-29th and they ran riot and made it three nights of hell with no sleep.

Do not take children to this hotel at this time of year.food was repetative had to eat out most of time as my youngest did not like the food in the hotel at all.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: balkan

Mark
13 years 4 months ago
I thought that this Hotel was very clean and well run by Sunnybeach standards.
Although staff in the most were friendly, not very much help from reception area, tended to keep you waiting while busy talking.
Room was very clean and well furnished.
Had to pay for sunbeds by the pool and also waterslide if you wanted a go. But this seemed to be the case in all of the resorts hotels.
If you go half board be prepared to eat out, food is rubbish.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan

Recommended
Barbara
13 years 7 months ago
The hotel Trakia Plaza is well maintained and well run. Everything is of a high standard and thankfully clean. We arrived late to our hotel due to long transfers and they very kindly kept the restaurant open for us. The service of the staff was fine, and thankfully there was a supermarket located just off the foyer.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan

Recommended
RAYMOND SHAW
14 years 4 months ago
Hotel is kept very clean and all the staff we met could not do enough for you and werent expecting being tipped.

Your meals are served in a restraunt outside the hotel grounds, food was o.k. but got a bit fed up with the same food.

The pool is very good and you can walk all around the pool,only downside was you have to pay 5levs per sunbed and they do not let you sun bathe on the grassed areas around the pool.

The location of the hotel was ideal. The hotel room was spacious and kept very clean as was the hotel in genral. Would return to this hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: BALKAN

Recommended
Gary,Bernie,Mick,Sian,Megan,Jessica And Shaun
14 years 4 months ago
This was our third trip to Sunny Beach and our first stay at this hotel.

We found it extremely clean and spacious. The rooms size was excellent and the staff were very helpful.

My daughter had broken her arm the day before we flew out and I ordered a waterproof arm protector off the internet and had it delivered to the hotel reception from Surrey in England. The staff were as anxious as us for its arrival as they new my daughter wanted to get into the pool. It took 3 days to arrive, but as soon as it did they came looking for us to tell us. They were very considerate and helpful, even though they spoke little English.

I would recommend the hotel to anyone. The children loved the pool and water slides, they even enjoyed the large selection of food on offer.

I think you have to go to Bulgaria with an open mind, its not Spain and very different, but if you are prepared to enjoy yourself and interact with the Balkan people you will find them extremely friendly.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balken

Recommended
14 years 5 months ago
me and my fiance just got back from here,it was a lovely hotel.the breakfast was pretty good with a good choice but dinner was not,think it was more catered for europeans.it was in a good location close to all amenities,and you get a great chicken kebab from the blue and white.the staff are friendly and helpful ,it has a great pool but really cold,but i'll be back i love sunny beach,cheap food and drink and everyone is so friendly.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: balkan

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum