Image of Medplaya Regente Hotel

Medplaya Regente Hotel

49 of 133 hotels in Benidorm

4 out of 5 from 46 reviews
2 stars
Calle de Mónaco, 5, 03500 Benidorm, Spain
Located in the ever popular resort of Benidorm, centrally located with shops, bars and restaurants are a few minutes' walk away. Children can enjoy the play area and children’s activities around the pool every day. There are 2 ourdoor pools with showers and Jacuzzi. All meals are served in buffet style featuring cuisines from around the world, with entertaining themed evenings.

46 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    27
  • Good
    11
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Food was disappointing
6 years 4 months ago
We spent a week at the Regente to celebrate my husband's birthday and we chose this hotel for three reasons; all of equal importance to us.
Firstly the very friendly staff, secondly the location and thirdly because of the food.

The staff remain the same very friendly and helpful people. Right down from the Director to the chamber maids who make you feel like you're receiving personal attention instead of just being another client. It's quite staggering that some can remember your Christian name from 2 years ago without looking it up on a passport. I emailed the hotel and asked for a specific room on the top floor and my request was fulfilled.

The location of the hotel is perfect for us by being situated away from the hub of the main noise coming from the popular and rowdy bars and being on the fringe of the Sierra Helada National park.

It's ideal for us because we try and spend some time away from Benidorm walking in the countryside which is literally at the end of Levante beach where you can admire the fantastic views overlooking the town and the coastline in general.

The hotel continues to maintain the high standards of cleaning with antibacterial gel dispensers located either side of the entrance into the restaurant and I did notice a couple of certificates awarded to the Regente. One in 2011 for implementing a programme of health and hygiene which covers food preparation/hygiene and water standards and one for 2012 stating the hotel is adhering to the rulings from HOSBEC regarding food hygiene and water standards.

The food is hot, varied and well presented and there is usually something that everyone can find to eat. The breakfast consists of a variety of cereals, porridge, toast, juices followed by a full English breakfast including black pudding. In addition there is cheese and ham, jam, marmalade and honey for those who like a continental type breakfast.

However, I have to say whilst I appreciate that kiddies like burgers and fishcakes sometimes I had difficulty finding something to suit my taste and I had to rely on the salad display.

The rest of the time the deserts are boring and repetitive. This may seem a trivial point, but my hubby doesn't eat jelly, caramel, blancmange and sickly synthetic cream filled cakes.

Whilst the rooms are basic, they are spotlessly clean, but the walls are paper thin so whether you have some sleep or not all depends on how considerate your next door neighbours are.

Fridges can be hired for 4 euros a day and hairdryers can be hired from the reception desk where you pay a deposit and get the deposit back on the return of the dryer.

The entertainment remains the same, starting off with a couple of games of free bingo, followed by a quiz and various artists performing every night and then karaoke. Some of the artists were average and watchable and others are with the same old jokes from four years ago but again you have to put this into perspective when other hotels have the same resident duo or trio every night without any other variations.

All inclusive is not really my cup of tea and I don't think the hotel is gaining any merits by offering as snacks a plastic plateful of crisps or the most bland cheese and ham sandwich imaginable. For 12 euros a day to upgrade to All Inclusive and based on what you drink, whether it be coffee, soft drinks, beer or local spirits, it won't take long to notch up 12 euros if you were paying for your drinks separately. However, the queue at the bar at certain times was frustrating to say the least, especially if you just want a bottle of water, and again I would put that down to the cut-backs on the amount of bar staff available.

In conclusion, we had a great week at the Regente. It is a basic, clean hotel and therefore this is reflected in the prices. We were fortunate to have considerate people next to us and if I have to be disappointed with anything it has to be the food.

But if I had to rate the staff at the Regente, they all would be awarded 5 stars and personally I think this is an important factor and what makes the same customers return year after year as they certainly don't return for the 'luxury' element.

The jury is still out on whether I would return to this hotel in the future and it all depends on any future reviews regarding the food.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Third visit
7 years 7 months ago
We stayed here over the new year for 11 nights on an AI basis.

This was our third visit and we enjoyed our stay as usual. The food was average and as expected for a 3* hotel.

Rooms are kept clean and tidy with fresh towels every day.

Entertainment: Free Bingo at 8.30pm, followed by either a quiz, then one or two acts which were good and some nights karaoke!

New years eve: Canapes and cocktals in the bar, dinner at 8pm which had mixed opinions from guests, nothing special but IMO was fine. Entertainment: at 10pm Joey Legend, followed by David from Words and Music, ending with a disco at 3am.

You can upgrade to AI from 8euros pp per night.

Guests were mainly in the mature age group with a couple of families with young children who complained at the lack of some childrens' entertainment but in the winter months the Regente and most other hotels are more geared up to adults.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mawby
8 years 8 months ago
We stayed at Hotel Regente for two week and had a lovely time - the majority of the staff were very good - and Mahomed in the resturant was super and so helpful. The choice of food was very good - but could have perhaps done with a little more vegetable selection. Our rooms were kept very clean and everyone was very friendly. the bar staff/reception staff were very nice. The only critism we had, is that, the walls are very thin and some people were very noisy late at night. We think it should be pointed out to latecomers in their travel documents.Once again thank you to the Manager and his staff for a very good holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
8 years 9 months ago
Arrived from the airport quickly, only 3 drop offs. Reception greeted us in a friendly manner and we got our requested pool view. Stayed here 3 years earlier and still has the same air of relaxation and a certain home from home atmosphere. The staff has been cut back, only one barman in the day and two or three in the evening but they coped really well, not too long to wait for drinks. Only waited once to enter the dining room, but I felt they were slow to clear tables, ie certain jobs for certain people. Food was okay but not much choice. Gala night (Fridays)was the best, roast beef, which was so tender, and yorkshire puddings. they did cater for the British!! The pool bar was closed so only the main bar to order drinks but not a problem. No snacks at night but between 9.30pm until 11.30pm you could have sandwiches from behind the bar, this is if you were All Inclusive. Some entertainment every evening and not too bad, some better than others and a lot did stay in to watch but we did go out most nights. We had a lovely holiday and the weather was fab, only changed on the last two days.I would certainly choose to stay at the Regente again.
PS. Regarding the stomach bug - some people were ill for a day or two, me included, it's very strange as most guests had no problems.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
9 years 1 month ago
Just got back on Monday after an 11-day holiday A/I at the Regente.

We flew from Leeds and Bradford with Jet 2 and used the online check in service so we only had to drop bags. It was easy to do and so much quicker.
I was disappointed to see that Greggs has closed, as it was the only reasonable place to grab a snack, everywhere else in the airport is so expensive.

Arrived at Alicante 20 minutes early and David Guttridge from Prestige tours was waiting for us, we had the whole mini bus for the 4 of us so plenty space.

We got to the Regente about 2pm and were allocated room 312 facing the pool. (We had requested a low pool facing room) It had 2 single beds and bunk beds, not masses of room but bigger that the Dalmatas last year, and spotlessly clean too.

We didn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Jet 2 and Travel Republic

Recommended
Hudson
9 years 4 months ago
please do not visit this hotel if you value your health,people were dropping like flies with a highly infectious bug, both myself and my husband were out of action for a week, it was terrible, the reps were useless and try to say that there isnt a problem, but there clearly is, we spoke to numerous people that had been ill.and aparently the hotel is well known for having a problem,if we had known this we would have cancelled the holiday, i still feel ill now and ive been home for a week.in my opinion it needs closing down
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

9 years 4 months ago
No problems with people being ill at this hotel during our visit. There are hygenic hand spays outside the dining room and have got to say, never saw anyone not using them. Food was very good; always hot although some of the "older" clientele were reheating their's in the microwave! No idea why. Hotel very clean; cleaners in attendance throughout the day. Rooms cleaned to very high standard daily with clean towels every day.

Bar prices were much the same as outside bars; all staff extremely pleasant. Location of hotel was (for us) excellent; away from the main drag in a quieter area.

Entertainment? Well, not a lot I can say but it certainly wasn't to our taste. Elvis and Neil Diamond impressionists, reptile show, Polynessian dancers! Think maybe it was aimed at the older guests.

Would we go to this hotel again: most definitely. Couldn't fault it at all.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
9 years 8 months ago
This was our second visit to the Regente this year, having stayed there in September. We were only here for 4 nights this visit. Hotel was much the same as last visit, staff friendly as usual, new member of staff on reception called Katya, when we arrived. At this time of year, its fair to say the Hotel is mainly frequented by the more senior cliental. We are aged 46 and 51, and as far as we could see, were the youngest guests...by some considerable margin!! To be honest at times it felt like we were staying in a Rest Home rather than a hotel, and we got used to the sound of clicking walking sticks and scooters by the time we left! We went up to the Rock N Roll House Caberet Bar, up the road one night to see a friend who sings there. The Elvis impersonator Ray Croft came in whilst we were there, and he had just finished a "Spot" in The Regente, and he said a couple right at the front fell asleep as he was gyrating his pelvis!!! I'm afraid there were also a few people there at the time who were suffering from a "bug" again. We heard the lady who advertised trips out telling someone 11 people had been ill and the doctor sent for several times. They now have "automatic" handwash dispensers enstalled outside the dinning room...people still needed reminding about using them though! Luckily i was'nt ill on this visit, so hope my earlier problem, was due to mussels eaten outside the hotel! The food was ok and always something to eat, without any particular highlights. They have professional Entertainers on every night who seemed pretty decent. I would stay at The Regente again, but probably not at this time of year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: DIY

Recommended
Degs
9 years 8 months ago
We visited here from Nov28-Dec12. Third visit and it was noticable that the food quality was less than on our previous visit 18 months ago, although there was always 2 or 3 different choices, the options seemed to be repeated more often than in the past.Restaurant staff, on the whole,quite friendly and were constantly clearing and re-setting tables.
No problems at check in, all carried out very quickly. Rooms are basic but adequate and have tv and room safe. Tv remote available from reception for a deposit of
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

9 years 10 months ago
Have stayed at the Regente many times over the years. This was however my first visit there in around 2 years. During this time the hotel has been modernised a touch, which is an improvement, and gives a cleaner, fresher appearance, without altering the character of the place. The Staff as ever are very friendly and helpful. In fact most of the staff are the same as on my previous visits, and they all remembered me. I particularily like Roberto and Juan Manuel on the reception desk, as well as Fransisco on night time reception. Always had a laugh with him, when returning after nights out. If you stay there, tell him you like his shirt!!!...They used to be Blue, but are now Pink, and he's not terribly impressed by this..he calls it "Puffy Pink" and has tried to wash them as often as possible so they fade!! Ha Ha!...He's a West Ham fan by the way!! I was'nt quite as impressed by the Food quality on this visit. However my judgement may have been affected because i was suffering from food poisoning for the last couple of days, due to some dodgey mussels eaten at a Tapas bar. At least i'm hoping it was the mussels, and not down to anything at the hotel, because we are returning here to the Regente in November!!! I like the location here, its not too far out from the Beach or Nightlife, but far enough to be quiet at night. Because its a small hotel, you are treated as a person here, not a number, and i think the service is all the better for that! Did not stay in for the Entertainment, buts theres a professional Act on each night as well as the resident entertainer, so it really should be alright. But Benidorm is "Entertainment Town" which is why i'm out every night! All in all a very good value hotel, and am looking forward to going back again in 9 weeks time!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: DIY

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum