Image of Poseidon Palace Hotel

Poseidon Palace Hotel

83 of 133 hotels in Benidorm

3 out of 5 from 29 reviews
3 stars
Av de Emilio Ortuño, 26, 03501 Benidorm, Spain

29 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    14
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
J Quinn
8 years ago
First time in the Poseidon Palace, lovely hotel, good food, nice swimming pools. Not too much daytime entertainment, but what there was, was good. Evening ok but why stay in the hotel when you've got the Old town to look around.
Only one problem, pick-pockets!!! Just got off the bus walking to the hotel and had my bag picked. All money, passports and air-line tickets stolen.
Would it stop my from going again? Dont think so but wont be going back next year.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Recommended
BARTON
8 years 4 months ago
THE HOTEL IS NOT NEW BUT VERY CLEAN IS IN GREAT LOCATION BETWEED THE OLD TOWN AND NEW AND THE FOOD WAS GREAT AND FOR PRICE WOULD GO BACK .
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: TRAVEL REPUBLIC

Recommended
Steven Donalds
9 years 8 months ago
Had a great 2 weeks in Benidorm and have to say after reading the reviews I am mystified as to complaints about the food, the staff and the fellow guests.

Yes there were a lot of spanish in the Hotel but then again it is Spain and if you take the time to be courteous to them they are never any bother, a simple 'hola' or 'adios' goes a long way.

We never had a bad meal and never ate out except to have a few tapas in the Old Town at lunchtime (if you enjoy tapas look out for 'tapas alley' just off the beach as you walk up to the headland. The hotel food was certainly very good and on one night we had a magnificent whole salmon stuffed with spinach to take cuts from and another night the most succulent whole roast baby pig to choose cuts from. Drinks at dinner were relatively cheap and I can recommend the Muscatel for a great dinner drink.

Again the staff were very helpful and polite (again a simple 'Hola' or 'Gracias' does the trick).

The Hotel is ideally suited for the Old Town and its small bars etc and if you go through the Old Town to the harbour you can get boats over to the island or up and down the coast. Can recommend the Benidorm Palace but go for the meal and show not just the show, swap dinner in the hotel for lunch and then you dont miss out on a meal you have paid for.

There is a long walk to the new town but we never go there as there is so much in the old town (including a 24hr pizza bar on the way back to the hotel, great at 4 am) and surrounding area which quite frankly the new town doesn't offer.

There are also a large number of gay bars in the Old Town which provided great people watching potential and actually some great Cabaret. Never thought Id be watching a spanish drag act outside a bar at midnight surrounded by gay men but have to say I enjoyed it a great deal.

The entertainment in the hotel was the usual stuff but worth watching with a beer or a spirit before heading out. There were some excellent prizes on offer in the gen knowledge quiz (we won 2 free passes to the water park) so give that a try.

All in all I think for a 3 star hotel this is excellent but if you want chicken nugget and chips, an all english clientelle and the 'delights' of the new town then dont go here it simple isnt for you.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
DALE
9 years 11 months ago
The location for this hotel is ideal if you don
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: SUNSTART

Fraser Robertswon
10 years 3 months ago
The hotel is not the best in the world yes thats true, but it was clean the rooms were a good size, and the shower it would blow out the bath.

The only down fall was the food was not that good ,but what do you want from a 3 star.

The staff were nice as well, as for the entertanment I can't say why stay in your hotel all of the time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Flyglobespan

Recommended
Hayley Jackson
10 years 9 months ago
Start with the plus points!. The hotel is spotlessly clean, with maid service every day and the pool area is lovely. The breakfast is really good with drinks including champagne included! Rooms have everything you want, hairdryer, powerful shower, balconys etc.
However we were annoyed as the brochures fail to tell you that theres no check in til after 2pm so out room was not available on arrival. I've never experienced this before. The hotel is 90% spanish and us brits are very much made to feel like we should not be there by them. I met some of the rudest people i have ever encountered. No lilos in the pool which is pathetic. Although the breakfast is good the evening meal is solely catered for spanish taste and there were many evenings which it was inedible. Also, this was my first visit to benidorm and in my opinion this is in the more spanish end of benidorm, i prefered the rincon de loix area near the morgan tavern....by the way westlife are brill and are on there every night at 1.30 am. Ate out a lot of the time, recommend the chinese opposite the hotel, the india gates restaurant and the cornish pasty shop opposite the main entrance (at the back). Also, the towerlounge bar on the strip just down from the hotel is great for entertainment. All in all, the hotel did not spoil what was a brilliant 2 weeks in benidorm however i would not return to this hotel again. Would definately return to benidorm though!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

10 years 9 months ago
We love going to Benidorm but will never visit this hotel again.

The hotel itself is very clean but we went when it was the spanish holidays so the hotel was 90%spanish (i know we were in spain),the food was catered for them and not for other guests.

We had upgraded to full board before we got there and ended up eating out every day.

The upside to the spanish being there was that there was always plenty of sunbeds, after reading other reviews it sounds like we were unlucky and that they do cater for other guests taste in food at other times of the year.

We are going back to Benidorm in 2008 but stopping elsewhere.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Ann
11 years 1 month ago
i would never go back to benidorm and i would certainly never go back to this hotel. this was just a spur of the moment booking as we where going to nyc in september .

there has never been a statemen more true that you only get what you pay for.

i would not normally go to a 3 star hotel , this was not even a 3* the hotel was clean however the rooms where like shoe boxes and we saw 2 of them.

the food in this hotel was disgusting and not edible the breakfast was not edible and dinner was not much better.
most of the time we would go in to the dinning room have a look and come out again.

the best part of this holiday was the flight home.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Scott
11 years 8 months ago
Having been to this Hotel before we found it excellent as ever. Food is great with lots of choice. Yes there is spanish food, try it you may like it. There's veg & salad for the vegitareans (what more do you want?). Location is great close to beach and old town. Entertainment is hit & miss but with all Benidorm has to offer getout and try elsewhere if you dont like what the hotel has provided.

Went to Benidorm Palace (brilliant -Meal was great with loads of wine/cava) also went to Rich Bitch for drag show, good but expensive. Went on boat trip from harbour over to the island which was great.

As ever loads to do and see. Best 3 star hotel in Benidorm.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent traveller

Recommended
Moss Family
11 years 9 months ago
The hotel was very good clean and well equipped.

The children loved the pools and the internet room and the staff were excellent with the children and us, would recomned it

The location is very good for old and new town and looking forward to staying there in 2007
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: going places

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum