Image of Albatros Apartments

Albatros Apartments

39 of 76 hotels in Salou

3 out of 5 from 58 reviews
2 stars
Carrer de Brussel┬Ěles, 43840 Salou, Spain

58 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    7
  • Very Good
    27
  • Good
    10
  • Average
    12
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
George
great for families
4 years 11 months ago
What a great time we had! 10 out 10 would go back every time. The food was wonderful and the staff were very well mannered could not fault it!

Highly Recommended!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunsave

Recommended
Gaynor
9 years 3 months ago
I write this review in response to others I read before travelling.I was apprehensive before we went, having read negative reviews about the Albatros, but I had nothing to worry about! The Albatros represents excellent value for money in my opinion. It is as clean as can be expected, basic but comfortable and yes, the tiles in the bathroom and kitchen are not the ones I'd have but they certainly didn't spoil my holiday! They're clean and intact, but ugly, so no big deal.The kitchen could do with a few more utensils and a microwave would have been handy, but again, no big deal.
The Albatros is not at the top of a steep hill. Yes, there are steep steps dpwn to the nearest beach. but if you come out of the hotel and turn left there is a smaller beach to be found about 400 yards away that is gorgeous and as it shelves, it is calmer, lovely for littler ones and easier to just walk on to with a pushchair.
We found the location of the Albatros to be perfect; it was away from all the hustle and bustle of the centre, but the centre was so easily accessed too, being about 2 minutes walk away, or an hour away, depending on how many shops you browsed in along the way!
Tha land train stops just outside the door and there is a bus stop across the road to take you to Cambrils, Tarragona, Barcelona or anywhere else you may want to go, with buses every few minutes. Trains run to Barcelona and its 11 euro return fare.
If you are planning to explore Tarragona, I'd advise you to get information before you go as all the Tourist Information offices were closed and apparently don't open until the high season.

The Bistro downstairs is excellent value for meals, 3.75 for a full cooked breakfast including orange juice or coffee. Half a chicken and chips with salad for 8.50, local lager 1 euro a pint. When you book in you are given a card which entitles you to 10% off meals at the Bistro. There's a Liverpudlian man who runs the Bistro in the day, he knows the area well, speaks fluent Spanish and he's the one to ask for information, he's lovely.
The Supermarket at the Albatros is as reasonable as any other and cheaper than a lot, so we tended to use it daily, they're also very nice.
All Staff I came into contact with were very nice, very helpful.
The entertainment is ok if you like karaoke, bingo and Tom Jones impersonators. We didn't join in much, but did at the end and the kids had great fun,and I'd had too much of the local grog to care about the lack of culture I was exposing my kids to, ha! ha! It was great!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Helen
10 years ago
We had a 2 bedroom appartment for 5 of us, one double room and a twin with a sofa bed in the lougne. The bed in the lounge was guest bed and as the room was so big we could leave it up all week and still use the sofa separatly. The kitchen was separate from the lounge / dining area and although small was adequate for our needs. The maid service was good and we had changes in towels every day other than Sunday. The bistro downstairs served a selection of food with a very good value breakfast menu. Noisy at night sometimes but not the fault of the bistro or the appartment management.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Went independantly

Recommended
Daniels
10 years ago
basic but great apartment near to beach - a must for sun lovers. great staff on duty at all times - very clean apartment - slightly old fashioned in taste - but practical for our needs. plenty of places to eat out or buy in - must remember matches for gas cooker. didn't take in entertainment during evening - but it sounded good. would not advise staying if you have small children after watching parents manouvering buggies to the beach - lots of steep steps to get there and back - and pool not really suitable for small children. would go back tomorrow for the view from our balcony.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
10 years ago
The Hotel was basic but clean and the room was too a good standard. On arrival we requested a Sea View which we were given with no charge and also a electric fan which was a god send. The staff behind the desk were quite friendly and even ordered taxi's for us. Al's Bistro was great value for money offering two for one on house mixers and local lagers. The food was great too and Al and his missus were really friendly. My only gripe was the lack of sun loungers and we had to resort to getting up at 9 and putting our towels down!!! Always remember to lock you balcony doors when going out as when we were there some people from the 2nd floor got robbed because they had climbed up and got in through the open door. I would definitely return to the Albatros it's great value for money and near all the attractions.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Rachel
10 years 1 month ago
The rooms were were cleaned requarley, but not brush. sand from the beach was everywhere. the food in the bistro was not very appetizing and there was flies everywhere. the location was great beside the beaches and the town. the staff seemed dead and werent very nice. entertainment not very good and teenaagers will not enjoy.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Rebecca Caffery
10 years 2 months ago
hello i must say that my holiday was fantastic i loved the apartments they were cleaned daily and had fabulous view and what can i stay the reception area and staff was always clean and welcomingthe entertainment and food in the bistro in the basement of the apartments was brilliant here were nightly entertainment quizzes and bingo. the pool was fantastic loads of loungers and equipment four pool tables and 5 mins walk to the local beaches and shop my family loved it excelent attractions in spain would definetly go again and bring more people as they would love the stay love rebecca hola to big al he will remeber me and andrew as the kinds from birmingham.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
Tracy
11 years ago
We have just come back from a great holiday in Salou. For the amount of money we paid the apartment was what we expected it to be. We had good views of the sea and main beach from the balcony. The apartment was big, but a bit dated. One downside was that it didn't have air conditioning or even ceiling fans. The other downside was the noise from the bar below us. However, we have just spent a really happy week there and wished we could have stayed for longer.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Robinson
11 years ago
After reading the reviews of these apartments before we left, we were slightly nervous about our visit but we need not have worried.We had a lovely apartment at the Albatros. Our Apartment was spacious enough with a double bed and a pull out settee for the kids which was adequate for us. There was even a sliding door which seperated the kids beds from ours if you wanted to.The self catering facilities had what we needed. We ate out every night anyway so didnt need a lot. You will need to take matches with you to light the gas if you want a cup of tea in the morning as the kettle is a traditional whistling one that heats on the stove!The maid visited daily and made our beds,took away our rubbish and cleaned our bath. She even used to line up my daughters teddies on the bed for her. Our towels were changed every other day and linen was changed once as we were there for a fortnight.The balcony was huge with a gorgeous view of the sea.
We had to pay a refundable 110 euros deposit on the room when we checked in but we were aware of that before we got there. Safety deposit boxes are avialable for 18 euros a week and a 10 euro deposit which you get back when you check out.
The staff in reception were helpful and always spoke as we walked past. The Thomson rep was always there when she said she would be there but not in your face, if you needed her you knew where to find her.
Als bar which was underneath the hotel but not run by them was not brilliant. It was very Chav city. We had one meal there which was ok, not brilliant but ok if you like everything with chips and ketchup, food in the town was much nicer and the entertainment at Als was a massive let down.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
11 years 1 month ago
After reading all the comments from other holiday makers . I must admit I was worried, when we arrvied the reception area woz well presentable . The staff were nice and polite, and always smiled when I said hello!

The rooms were massive, refurnished yes in places, ideal for a young family. Very clean, emptied our rubbish and topped us up with all the supplies we need for the week every other day.

Had a sea view. Glass doors everywear and were a hazard with young kids I thought!

Noise form the other residents echoed around the hotel all nite .. bit off putting.

Round the back of the hotel there was a service road.. were all the rubbish bins were. And a terrible smell of raw sewige every time you walked past it, as it was when you walked though the main entrance of the hotel.

You have to pay a deposit of
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: skytors

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum