Image of Best Negresco Hotel

Best Negresco Hotel

21 of 76 hotels in Salou

4 out of 5 from 23 reviews
3 stars
Carrer dels Replanells, 14, 43840 Salou, Spain

23 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    13
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Maureen Turner
7 years 5 months ago
just returned from negressco hotel and was very disappointed the food was disgusting with chips chips and more chips every day we had to ask for potatoes and they don't know what a vegetable looks like. the meat was rabbit dried up lamb and chicken now and then they catered for the Germans French and Italians more.

the pool opened at 10 O'Clock in the morning and the attendant waited to dead on 10 before he moved. while we were there the pool was never cleaned and glass was left on the floor and there was never enough sunchairs to go round.

the entertainment was rubbish not really got anything good to say about it don't know why it is a 4 star should me a 3 would never go there again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independent

Steve Biggs
7 years 7 months ago
scond stay at this hotel. stayed in 2005 had a fantastic time decided to return with our 2 young sons. stayed in the 2nd hotel the costa dorada. very disapointed with both hotels overall. room very clean. food quality good, restaurant staff vey over worked and most nights we didnt get served a drink as they were so busy, bear in mind this isnt high season! reception staff spoke only basic english. Pool area good but pool ice cold. being filled by a hose pipe constantly putting cold water into it. Pool full of bird mess, you dont notice this unless you use goggles. pool bar run down and not used and rotten. told we could use pool in other hotel but this was full and there were no beds left sfter 9am. again pool water ice cold, not good with 2 young children. Entertainment very very disapointed. when we came 5 years ago this was one of the high points. there was a 20 minute kids disco, half in spanish, then some random nights with not very good entertainers at all. again very busy as they they crammed 2 hotels entertainment into 1 hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Kim
8 years 6 months ago
We stayed in the Best Negresco on a late booking and having read the reviews was a little worried. However we had a great time and would definitely go back. Yes the room wasn't massive with two large double beds, a fridge and a large wardrobe - but we only slept in the room anyway so it was ample. The room was cleaned every day and fresh towels and linen provided. There was also a safe in the room which we paid 17 euros for the week for. There was a hairdryer in the bathroom. It was our 7 year old's first holiday abroad and he loved it and wanted to stay. The restaurant was excellent and the choice of food extensive and plenty of choice for us all. The staff were friendly and helpful with any queries. The only thing I wasn't impressed with was their kids club - the young girl in charge of the children only really included the spanish children and often neglected them so our little boy would not join in - however he loved playing in the pool and the local beach. We went by public transport to Pineda and Salou a couple of times but the Negresco is in a very quiet area which was perfect for us.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
John
8 years 6 months ago
second vacation to this hotel on a two week half board basis. the hotel is set in a quiet part of cap salou looking out across the sea, on the right hand side is sandy beach with a well stocked beach cafe, usual boats, chairs, umbrellas for hire.
the hotel looks spectacular inside and out, on entering the reception area you look out on what appears as being on the back end of a cruise liner as the sea surrounds the swimming pool and lounger area.
the rooms, most of which have a sea and pool view are cleaned daily, if you put your towels in the bath these are returned with clean fresh towels. tv offering one english channel, fridge and safe (18 euros weekly hire).
the food would suit just about every european nationality, a good choice from the buffet style breakfast or cooked on the spot if you prefer how you want your eggs or pancakes cooked. evening meals are three course or as many courses you can eat, again this is buffet style or show chef cooked, a good choice for children is also offered.
most of the staff are very friendly, although many changes have been made since our visit in may 2008, we felt that the hotel has lost it's diamond atmosphere where staff are concerned and if only they could manage that little bit more it would certainly sparkle again, as an example of this last year you were taken in the evening and seated at a table, the children would be spoken to in spanish learning a different word each night and given a lollipop by the head waiter. this year you just walked into the restaurant and found your own table, paid your drinks bill at the end and left.
the entertainment was very much geared up for the spanish and french speaking guests, it was as if us british were being left out, again last year with a different entertainment team not a single nationality was left out, this was one of the major concerns we have about the hotel this year
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Patrick & Cath. Keaveney
9 years 3 months ago
Thomson's rate the Negresco 4 Star,in My opinion 3 Star would be nearer the mark. Very impressive situation. Pool and Sun bed area , surrounded by the Sea, with ample
Sun Beds, Chairs etc. A very large eye catching Reception Area with comfortable seating. The Bar and Entertainment Room has a Stage etc. But full marks for the well furnished quite Room. The indoor Pool is part of a fitness unit, and You have to pay to use it.... A black Mark for this one. The bedrooms are a good size,with two double Beds,but what is it They have against Draws ?. The Bathroom needs updating,and I have never been in a Four Star Hotel without a Shower. A Shower head is provided, but nothing to fit it on, so the best You can do is have a hose down.
Sheets and Towels are changed regularly. The Hotel always had a very clean and cared for appearance

However this Hotel falls down badly on it's Dining Room. Queuing outside at peak times,then standing at the table while it's cleared and prepared. The tables are so close it's a work of Art weaving Your way through them,while the Food is very repetitive,and lacks imagination for a four star Hotel.
Would I go again ? Yes if I got a good offer. The big redeeming feature is the Negresco's situation, and it's Views.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson's

Recommended
Bob/Shela
9 years 4 months ago
What I would describe as a 3 star plus hotel.Situated about a 30 min walk from Salou (the last part uphill)although there is a quite good bus service from just outside the hotel, fare 1.30 euro.Our room had two double beds which limited the space available,but had a fridge which was working all the time and was very handy,no problems with air-conditioning, room safe 18 euros for week.Food was good although the veggie choice a bit limited at times.Entertainment in the evenings a bit mixed- enjoyed some nights. Mini Disco for the kids most early evenings.Pool ares - sun-beds available until about 9.30 most mornings, some of the beds could do with being replaced and shortage of umbrellas.Would go back but would have preferred it if there had been a few more shops and bars nearby
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Tomsons

Recommended
K Jarvis
10 years 4 months ago
The hotel is situated in Cap Salou at the end of a road next to Llarga beach. There was no parking at the hotel for our car so you have to go across to the Punta Dorada and pay 15 Euros a day!! To use their underground car park. There is parking out on the street but never came across a space the whole week we were there.

The reception area was big and clean and the receptionist seemed friendly. I had emailed the hotel prior to arrival and had requested a sea view room which we got. The room had two double beds pushed together and was very small for two adults and two children, some of other rooms were bigger when we walked past and peeked in. We had a lovely sea view from our balcony.

The restaurant is located at the bottom of the hotel. Sometimes the lift works, sometimes it doesn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Phil & Kath
10 years 5 months ago
Overall we were pretty disappointed with our stay. The beds were to narrow causing me to fall out, complaining did no good, there were no extra pillows available, and the air conditioning was hopelessly inadequate, meaning hot sweaty nights. Not many receptionist's or bar staff spoke English (really frustrating). The food was good, but chilled quickly, there was no dress code,for evening meals, which meant you could be sitting next to someone wearing a vest, shorts and a knotted hanky for your evening meal, although the vast majority were dressed for dinner. It is never the less, a very clean hotel, nicely situated.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Dave Rosser
11 years 4 months ago
This is our first time in the Negresco Princess and we found the the food,the staff,the hotel location were all excellent.

We have stayed in other Princess hotels and this rates as one of the good ones.

We found the staff friendly and the the maid service was first class.

We had booked on a late deal with Thomson and we were
not disappointed with the hotel and its services.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Alison
11 years 5 months ago
Read previous reviews about hotel and was a bit apprehensive about the distance the hotel was away from Salou.

Not too disappointed. About a ten minute walk "slightly " hilly but comfortable to center. Very much a resort with plenty and Port Aventura and water parks a must if you have children or not, a fun day out.

Ideal time to go just before children broke up from school hardly any waiting time for the rides. Not a great fan myself found 1 day ticket enough but take advantage of the offers 7 days for 3 when you book holiday.

Grand entrance when you arrive at hotel lovely setting over-looking sea and a beach to the right. Rooms basic but cleaned every other fridge to rent if you need one did,nt bother but could of done with one.

If you like your tea or coffee take a kettle was pre -warned but did'nt. Food excellent a great choice partner is a veggy and he had know complaints but as anywhere there is always a few, staff excellent very high standard of waiter service could,nt find any faults. Pool usual thing with the sunbeds out early with the towels, if you can,t beat them join them.

Entertainment average a bit wearing when the parrot show is in four languages. Not your typical british very few when i was there and my daughter found it hard to meet friends, kid club but there was a bit of a language barrier

Over-all very good would return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices