Image of Vancouver Apartments

Vancouver Apartments

62 of 76 hotels in Salou

3 out of 5 from 22 reviews
Carrer de la Ginesta, 3, 43840 Salou, Spain

22 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    10
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    4

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Hill
10 years 4 months ago
Having never done this and reading the previous reports I felt duty bound to report.
So here we go. If you have visited a Centre Parcs then that would be a good barometer of this place. It's clean , spacious and basic as a place to sleep.

The complex is somewhat tired and in need of some investment to upgrade - yes there were a few small tiles missing from the pool, yes there is a tide mark around it and yes it does get leaves and muck in it from the trees by the end of the day. However, the pool is cleaned every morning, you can get a sunbed at most times throughout the day as it's a quiet resort and the point of no inflatables in the pool keeps the noise level down and the idiots away from this place. The junior pool was just enough for our two to really have a good time and allow us to relax.

The pool area is completely secure and there is a life guard on duty all day.

We had a couple of issues re no air con and 3 days with no new towels, however on asking for assistance from reception it was instantaneous and never had to ask again. Similarly one night there was loud music post 12pm and we mentioned it to reception and that was the end of that.

Our room was the 3 bedroom which was more than enough space. The beds were fine, not great but okay, the kithchen area similar but the bathroom, againd was tired,w ith the shower tap needing a little help to ensure it worked. The biggest issue was hot water - the boiler is samll and lasts for about 2 people until it's empty.

We had a toaster and a kettle in the room on arrival so not sure why all the discrepencies on this , as far as security is concerned, the front door was bomb proof. 3 solid hinges and a triple action bolt lock. The room safe was also strong so you would need to be pretty determined to get in.

Our room was located on the 4th floor with a huge balcony facing the sea and the pool area so the view was great , and a lovely way to wind down the day. After 12pm there is rleative silence. No discos, not parties , no entertainment. Great - a good nights kip.

From a food perespective, the bar area is basic , in fact I think most food came from over the road which offers a very traditional "everything with chips" menu - very little typically spanish but okay for a quick bite, however the supermarket in the hotle offers a reasonable selction of fresh food to make your own.

Staff at both hotels were polite, friendly and helpful. Being a spanish speaker, it helps to break down barriers but the staff were anything but spanish . Yes the eastern european invasion has hit spain too - but there were genuinely nice people.

The entertainment of an evening was typically tacky but our kids loved it and, as you know, when they are occupied you can relax a little.

So, all in all, not a hotel I would recommend but there was some magic to be had in the fact that it is very quiet and relaxing.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Butt & Toyne
10 years 7 months ago
Apartment was basic but spacious and clean. Towels changed regularly. We all slept well, no sound at night.

Pool and pool area kept very clean and tidy.

Buses were about 2 mins walk away. Beach 5 mins walk with a variety of places to eat and drink. We tried a different place every night and enjoyed every one! Well stocked supermarket just across the road from apartments.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

David
11 years 2 months ago
If you want a holiday that includes clean accommodation then dont visit here.

The walls in our apartment had dirty marks all over them, the breakfast bar was very unstable and the legs had mould on them.

On our 2nd day there we came back in and found our kitchen swarming with ants and when I went to reception to report it I was given a can of bug spray and told to fix the problem myself but not to use the whole tin as someone else might need to use it later and when I did return the can the receptionist and her colleague thought the whole matter was hilarious and shared a joke about it not realising I knew a bit of spanish.

The apartment we had was on the ground floor which meant that the patio doors and windows in our apartment had a bolt through where the doors or windows met as the ground floor rooms have been broken into in the past and you had to constantly remember to put the bolt back in as the door & window locks could only be described as flimsy at best.

If you want any items which you take for granted in your room you have to hire them and I mean simple things like a toaster or a kettle. On our arrival we were handed the list of items to hire and to hire a kettle & toaster for a week would have cost 32 euros.

The pool wasn't the cleanest I have ever seen and you are not allowed inflatables of any kind in the pool and the lifeguard and I use that term loosely was more interested in talking to her friends or smoking that what anyone in the pool was doing.

The entertainment was ok and the resident host Laura did her best but it was the same thing every night and after 2 or 3 nights it became very boring.

I will never visit this accommodation again!!!!!

This was our 3rd visit to Salou and this has been by far the worst accommodation we have ever stayed in.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Holt Family
11 years 2 months ago
This was our families first holiday abroad, we are very fussy and when we arrived at our apartments we couldnt have faulted it.

The staff were very helpful and we felt that the rep that was on duty was very good and friendly.

We found that the introduction was a great help and we were given a lot of information regarding what was on offer for our family.

The house keeping staff were very friendly and did a good job of cleaning our appartment.Towels were changed every day apart from tuesday and sunday as they were on a day off.

Apartments were in a great location as we found it quiet in the evenings as we didn't here the entertainment that was going on, and we were also away from the hussle and bussle.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Sue
11 years 4 months ago
Hotel cleanliness was great sheets changed 4 times while there, towels changed everyday except Thursday, Sunday their day off.

Hotel location great dead central to beaches and other resorts, hotel very friendly and helpful.

Entertainment I thought was good for young children and the girls who run it worked very hard with little equipment and space available to them.

Would visit again but not for few years would like to visit somewhere different.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Judy And Paul
11 years 5 months ago
We stayed here for 2 weeks and it was awful. If you are thinking about staying there don't. We didn't have our bed sheets changed for the 2weeks we were there and we only got a clean t-towel on the 13 day! The floors weren't washed or swept either.

The pool is in a bad state of repair and the waters not that clean either. You can not take any form of inflatable in the pool or snorkel, so don't look at the picture in the JMC brochure and think you can. You can only swim between the hours of 10am till 7pm after which you will be told to get out of the pool.

Kids were running about till very early hours of the morning so dont hope for a good nights sleep. The rep useless thats all I can say about her. If you have a problem try to sort it out yourself if you can. If you've been told to take an American Express prepaid travellers cheque card dont.

We were told we would be able to use it anywhere and we couldn't. We had to find ATM's to get money. We used it twice then found out it wouldn't work anymore in any ATM's.

I won't bore you with the whole story but can you imagine being stuck in a foreign country with a card that dont work and no food, drink, or money and no rep that wants to help!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook/jmc

Marion & Tam
11 years 5 months ago
We had a great time at this hotel. The rooms were very big and spotless. We even had a toaster in the kitchen. The maid came everyday to clean and change towels, if want your bedding changed they will change it for you.

The location was okay but we had a bit of a treak into the main Salou area but if you didnt want to walk you could get the bus which was quite cheap.

The Entertainment team were great Hazel and Laura were the main team and they did brilliant with the resources that they had. My teenagers loed them.

We would visit this hotel again but we want to go to more places therefore we dont think we would visit within the next couple of years.




Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
11 years 5 months ago
This hotel was very poor the rooms were nice and spacious but were not that clean the maid only did things when she felt like it.

The only time I got clean sheets was when I went and asked for some from the reception. We had the same T-towel for the whole 2 weeks it was never changed.

The entertainment was good for the kids but the adult 1 didn't start till 11pm . The entertainment room is rather small and is used as the restaurant area as well .

The pool was in a bad state with broken tiles and cracks we found tiles on floor which had broken off. The area round the pool was not kept very clean either.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone if you are thinking of staying here think again !
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook/jmc

11 years 5 months ago
We had no trouble here. We had our sheets changed often, clean towels every couple of days. The apartments were what they said, basic, which did us to sleep in. We had a kettle and toaster in our room.

The pool area was clean and tidy, the entertainment was ok the kids loved the kids world.

All the team were good so a big thanks to Laura, Chloe, Tim the entertainers and Rachel and little one from kids world.

We will be coming back
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: 7

Recommended
11 years 6 months ago
Firstly be prepared to wait for your room on arrival we was lucky and only waited about 15 minutes others were over 60minutes.

Reception staff only speak English when it suited them.

The room was ok we only used it as a base, I also had live wires coming out of electrical socket this was fixed within 30 minutes of being reported.

Bar area was small and only had one barman on at a time Alberto did the night shift and after 2/3 nights he know what you were ordering before you even before I did.

Entertainment, Chloe and Tim what a pair these two were the life and soul of the place always smiling always willing to have a laugh and get people playing the various games that they had lined up. Evening entrainment some thing different every night and a good laugh as well.

Food was ok not 5 star Gordon Ramsey but nice and simple only had the 1 meal nicked while we were there yes there was one or two thefts from the rooms so get yourself a safe key only 70 euros for the two weeks
only the deposit refunded.

The beach is only 10 minutes away down hill and 20 minutes up hill and not that clean fag butts and the like Salou main beach alot better.

All in all not a bad stay being first time outside the uk.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: JMC

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices