Image of Meryem Ana Hotel

Meryem Ana Hotel

15 of 31 hotels in Altinkum

4 out of 5 from 16 reviews
3 stars
Çamlık Mh., 09270 Didim/Aydın Province, Turkey
An ideal choice for guests wanting to relax by the pool during the day, and visit the restaurants and bars of Altinkum by night. A comfortable and laid back standard of accommodation just a short walk from a sandy beach. Weekly Turkish night in high season.

16 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
12 years ago
The hotel staff seem cheerful and generally smile and greet you, which is nice. The hotel is in a good location for walking to a choice of beaches and plenty of bars and restaurants and the cheapest Efes in Altinkum was available from bars in the street opposite the hotel.

The Turkish breakfast was fine as they go (excluding the awful watered down "cherry juice") although almost every day we had to wait for the replacement of some item that had run out and they whisked everything away at 10am on the dot, including your breakfast if you had left the table (e.g. to try and get a drink before it was turned off).

On the downside problems were difficult to resolve. I had to ask a couple of times before we finally got a TV put into our room and they were unable to provide a bin, an extra chair, or even a lamp for reading. The main issue was the lack of hot water. Occasionally this could be fixed by running the tap for 10 minutes, but most days there was no hot water except for an hour in the evenings and on at least 3 days we had no hot water at all. We complained about this repeatedly (and to the rep) but nothing was done. It was suggested that some rooms had a better supply so we asked to be moved on 4 occasions but were told every time that there were no rooms available.

Cleanliness was acceptable for the price of the hotel. The area around the pool looked fine, however the pool itself was very murky most days and we didn't use it.

There were a number of power cuts during our holiday and so the hotel generator came in handy, although twice we were left in the dark for extended periods with no water coming out of the taps.

The lift is somewhat temperamental and often required a bit of coaxing to get it to work.

Some aspects of the
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Sunset

Jacqui Wilson
12 years ago
We stayed here for the first time and found the hotel wasmore than adequate. We have been to altinkum many times but, not at this hotel. The breakfast was typical turkish and was always fresh. The evening meals were nice and they were reasonably priced. Our room was small but ample for two for one week and it was cleaned regularly.
The hotel is at the top of the road at the back of dolphin square and it is a couple of mins walk to bars etc.
The staff were lovely and they could not do enough to help people.

I would have no hestitation in going back to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Mel
14 years 1 month ago
The hotel was clean and the reception was lovely, however the rooms are in need of a general overhaul and look a little neglected. This said they were clean and served their purpose. Air-con is a must and about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: goldtrail

Recommended
Jill
14 years 3 months ago
Very pleased with this hotel. The cleaners came around everyday changing towels daily and changing bed sheets every other day. Rooms get v. hot during high season so renting out the air con is a must and for a cheap price of
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: holidays for you

Recommended
Laura And Chris Morey
15 years ago
I have just returned home today after 7 excellant days staying at the Meryemana hotel. I was surprised that the hotel was as nice as it was, from the outside it doesnt look great but inside it is lovely, really clean and well decorated.

My partner and I had a balcony room overlooking the pool area which was a good size but if you have a room without a balcony the room sizes and bathrooms are bigger.

The water temperature of the showers depends on how much sun you have that day.

Location is brilliant, we walked everywhere as even the 3rd beach is only half an hour walk away.

The food served here is expensive so we decided to eat out every night as the food portions arent good for how much they charge.

Breakfast is very basic but what you get is very nice.

The staff at the hotel are fantasic, really friendly and entertaining(turkish night was alot of fun!) and of course, lazing around the hotel pool in the afternoons was fabulous.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Brian Bolton
15 years ago
It was terrible we expected a drink and some breakfast but no.

The rooms was hardly cleaned and the lift was a health hazard. I informed the reception manager several times, to no avail. It took the rep to sort it out two days later I thought things would improve, but no they got worse with lift,[getting in the lift with a pram and two adults ] it closed before you could get the last adult in the was a animal of a lift.

The Management at this Hotel Don't seem to care....
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sun set/Thomas cook

Cap
15 years 1 month ago
Stayed at Meryem Ana in August this year(2005)and I would recommend it for sure. The hotel staff were fantastic. Very helpful, friendly, funny, etc etc. The staff changed while we were there, we became friends with the ones who left (went clubbing with them nightly) and also with the new staff. Halil is wicked!!!!

The hotel is in a good location, a little bit away from the beach but ask reception and they will phone a bar by the beach who will come and pick you up in a mini bus- no charge, just ask you to buy a drink. Its near dolphin square which is the main drag.

There is a supermarket right next door. The only downside was the pool didn't have a shallow end. Not a problem for me but for people who can't swim or like to have their feet on the ground it could be.

I am going back to Turkey next year....and this hotel is well worth staying at. 5 stars!!!!!!!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: holidays 4 u

Recommended
Noel And Cath
15 years 4 months ago
Both my fiance and I were impressed with this hotel. The staff were excellent, especially by the poolside, being jimmy, adam and young fahrti, providing us with many laughs and they were all kind natured. They were only all too wllling to help as were most of the turkish restaurant and bar workers we met. They helped to create a fun, enjoyable and friendly atmosphere.

The hotel had adequete facilities and staff were always present to answer or deal with any questions.

The balcony areas were quite small in all the rooms however this seemed to be the case for most hotels in this resort.

We would recommend this hotel to both couples and families wanting an enjoyable and relaxing holiday. It is within close proximity of the local restaurants and bars yet just far enough away to get away from it all.

The food and service was second to non.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunset

Recommended
Carl
16 years 1 month ago
The rooms were quite small and considering we were going bed and breakfast there was no kettle or oven or microwave or toaster. Only a fridge.

It was quite clean, although the pool gort rather dirty sometimes. The hotel food we were provided with for breakfast was very basic.

The food off the hotel bar was expensive and overated, it was nice but nice enough for the price. There was entertainment on once a week which wasnt very good as you had to entertain yourself the rest of the time.

I wouldnt visit this hotel again, I feel I can get more for my money else where.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunset

Brian Thomson
16 years 2 months ago
the hotel was very clean and tidy,the food was great and all the other resturants are all in easy walking distance if you decide to try.the location was good if you have a family very quiet at night away from all the bars,the staff were very polite and helpful at all times,especially young mert my sons favourite and good with all the children and adults.the entertainment was ok but more would be great. i would reccomend anybody to holiday there fantastic
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunset

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.