Image of Tuntas Aparthotel

Tuntas Aparthotel

28 of 31 hotels in Altinkum

3 out of 5 from 23 reviews
3 stars
Altınkum Mh., 09270 Didim/Aydın, Turkey
The Tuntas Hotel boasts one of the best locations in Altinkum, right on the golden sandy beach. With high levels of service and friendly surroundings, it is always popular with our guests.

23 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    4

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Wouldn't Go Back
7 years 4 months ago
We were very disappointed with this hotel.

There is the Aparthotel and an adjoining hotel of the same name, and we were in the hotel. There is only one ramp in the whole place, very steep and usually difficult to access due to cars being parked all over the place. At Reception you have to either go down or up a flight of stairs to get to the lift which is a nightmare if, like us, you had a pushchair or little help with suitcases.

Food was dreadful, repetitive, and got so bad we had to eat out the last three nights and our 2-year-old wouldn't eat anything there at all after just a couple of days.

Rooms are to be fair quite spacious but the bathrooms are tiny and had a serious hazard with the showers having a sharp drop in the basin area. Satellite TV is completely in Turkish with no English channels at all. During the time we were there the entertainment team barely spoke to us and we headed out every night it just simply wasn't good enough to capture our attention.

The pool is tiny, a small square section for toddlers which is insufficient and constantly invaded by bigger kids. I complained about the steps being loose and dangerous but nothing was done. Although the hotel is beside the beach the beds were forever taken up.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Jet2Holidays

Lisa Ger
Looking forward to returning
9 years 1 month ago
We have just returned home after staying at the Tuntas Apartments in Altinkum. From the minute we arrived the Manager and staff were very friendly and very welcoming. The staff were very helpful and were so good with our 3 children. The apartments were big and very clean, I would definitely recommend these apartments. The location is very good so close to the beach and lot of other amenities, looking forward to going back next year.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Do not go to this hotel
9 years 1 month ago
We've had several holidays in Turkey but I think this must rank as the worst. Where to start?

Positive: On the beach (but see negative) & 3 or 4 very helpful staff, Omar & the young English lady in the pool bar, the younger female receptionist & 1 'dining room' waiter.

Negative: We chose this hotel because of the location on the beach but the beach as well as the hotel & all it's areas was overrun with packs of dogs & cats, personally I'm afraid of dogs & dislike their deposits & I hate the smell of cats especially when I exited our room on the 5th floor to find one staring at me.

Food: Even though we were all inclusive we ate out 5 evenings & 3 lunch times -there is only so much bland chicken you can eat. Although one day the owner, Mustafa, arrived & there was a lovely lasagna for lunch!

Cleanliness: There was no obvious rota for any public area cleaning - the odd spray & rub on a patch of window or a quick wipe of a table but most mornings when we came down to the communal areas there were glasses, cups etc & other rubbish from the previous evening & dirty tables & floors. The exception was the day the owner arrived. The rooms were paid a bit more attention but not could not be classed as properly cleaned - lots of hairs left everywhere in the bathroom on more than one occasion.

Hotel itself: The cleaning could have been a lot better if the hotel wasn't so run down & worn out, scruffy carpets, marked walls, unpleasant smells. The lift was out of action for at least three days so we had to use the 'back' lift - which meant going through the staff smoking area - even though there were no smoking signs.

The resort: Could not recommend it. It's the dirtiest, most uncared for we've ever visited in Turkey & the packs of dogs make it worse. Which is sad because the restaurants we ate & drank in had wonderful employees who couldn't have served you better & to the most part, the food was excellent - especially Topkapi.

Would we go back? Never, Would we recommend somewhere else - definitely!

My best tip: read reviews by senior/multiple reviewers & ignore the reviews by contributors that have only made 1 or 2 reviews as this is what mislead us & resulted in this terrible mistake of booking the Tuntas. We have learnt by this & hope you do too. Simply put this hotel & resort are to be avoided.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hotels4U

Hotel tip: Don't go there.

Nyle
Wouldn't dream of returning
9 years 5 months ago
We were well aware on booking that the Tuntas was a 3 star property, so guessed both food and facilities would be just that and so it proved. The rooms (at least on the car park side) were spacious and really quite nice, no complaints other than the toilet was small and cramped and flooded on each and every time we showered.

Beds were comfy and the room had ample wardrobe and drawer space. Balcony was quite big although didn't get much sun till late afternoon.

Cleanliness was overall average, could have been better. Staff were mostly quite young and friendly and did try to make your holiday enjoyable. There were a number of issues which did spoil our holiday at the Tuntas, perhaps we expected too much.

The food was poor, repetitive with lamb beef and chicken served in a variety of guises on alternate days, lots of fruit and salads though, imagine watery scrambled eggs with processed frankfurters each and every morning. In fact we had anticipated there might have been a problem food wise so had brought some extra cash, so thanks to all the wonderful folks in the Queenshead who provided great food and service.

Can't speak for the sea view rooms, however the noise level from the hotel and surrounding bars was indescribable till 2 or 3 in the morning every morning. Might just be a generational thing but it wasn't what we wanted at all, you might enjoy it though!

Stray cats and dogs regularly visited the bar and sunbed area on the beach, was shocked and horrified to see many starving street animals around the hotel.
Drinks were limited but fine, no sign of watering down, the beer is Tuberg and was ok.

Wouldn't dream of returning to either hotel or resort, it's just not for us.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Graham Layton
Fawlty towers in Turkey
9 years 5 months ago
The rooms in need of refurbishment, windows catches broke so screwed so won’t open. Dirty pillows one cup/glass for four people. There was no table or chairs if want to eat in apartment. Rusty/dirty microwave and fridge management tried to disguise need for replacement by gloss painting appliances. Missing handles on the units. Broken shower rail so had to hand hold shower head.

Things don’t improve around the pool area, stupidly actively encouraged by staff jumping off pool bar roof. Sunbeds very close to pool edge you will get soaked as anything goes staff don’t care control over what goes on none existent. Staff seem to think their job is to mess about pushing people or being push into pool rather than do their jobs. Reception numerously unmanned room keys left unattended bar just as bad.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Jill
Already booked to go again
11 years 1 month ago
October 2009 was our first time of staying at the Tuntas though have stayed in Altinkum on many occasions. We found the apartments very spacious and clean, and were cleaned on a regular basis throughout our 2 week stay. The manager and all the staff were so friendly and helpful. We also returned to Tuntas again with my son and daughter in law in May 2010. This was their 1st time to Turkey and said they would definitely return in the future. I now I have just booked again to stay here in October 2011 and can't wait!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Mike Wolforth
13 years 1 month ago
hotel is generally a bit grimm , dark rooms and corridors. we had a large room, nicely airconditioned ,at extra charge.pool & immediate area is tiny for hotel size. but is clean and tidy. as is rest of hotel.breakfast ok quality just very repetative. had some evening meals , very good, but do not expect english style dishes.staff very limited in number and not overley friendly. that is ok with us . we wanted peace and quiet, and we got it.( no entertainment ).probably not so in high season.might go again, mainly for location to beach.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Mary Stevens
13 years 2 months ago
Worse holiday ever.Will NEVER return to these apartments. The pool area was filthy, the apartments were on a dust hill and quite remote which made me feel uncomfortable returning in the evening. There was no hotel entertainment except the music the barman played.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: travelrepublic

Melanie Binley
14 years 3 months ago
We went to the Tuntas appartments in Sept 2005. We found the manager very freindly and all the staff that worked there very freindly too. We got on so well with the manager of the bar Ike and his brother Simon and all the rest of the staff that we went back in July 2006 all though they like to through you in the pool day and night fully clothed they see it as a bit of fun. So be careful and explain to them if you can not swim it does lack in entertainment, but does well for the area around the pool
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Van
14 years 4 months ago
Arrived 4am in morning first impressions good. Room 2 bed very roomy.

Met manager next morning seemed friendly. Soon realised they like to DRINK!!! Infact they get so drunk they can't speak just slur. They love to push people in the pool day or night, whether you can swim or not even if your dressed to go out. We welcomed a new member of staff she stayed 4 hrs they threw her in the pool fully clothed and with mobile the poor girl could not swim because they were so drunk they just laughed one of our friends had to jump in and save her from drowning the girl left in tears and never came back.

Then there was the problem with the parties with prostitutes the manager and his brother talked openly infront of anyone even the kids. The Police were called and the manager was arrested 3 times of which we knew of for prostitutes, parties till 4/5 in the morning and drink driving this did not stop them!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: gmc

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.