Image of Orion Hotel

Orion Hotel

25 of 31 hotels in Altinkum

3 out of 5 from 18 reviews
3 stars
Altınkum Mh., 09270 Didim/Aydın Province, Turkey
Overlooking the golden sandy beach, with a restaurant noted for its international cuisine, and highly recommended by guests for its warm welcome, the Orion is something of a little treasure. For nightlife try the local bars or make the stroll into town.

18 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Doreen
Great value
10 years 1 month ago
We arrived at this hotel in the early hours of the morning and checked in with the night duty receptionist who didn't speak very much English. He was however very pleasant and a porter helped us carry our luggage to our room. I was sharing a room with my friend and the room was a double, we had asked for twin beds, we explained this to the reception and they immediately re-organised the room. He even arranged for a member of staff to make us tea which I thought was a nice gesture at 5am.

The room was clean and basic and during our 2 week stay maids came in daily to clean, make the beds and the towels were changed every other day.

The hotel has a lot of Turkish people staying there which I think is testimony to the quality of accommodation.

The food was typically Turkish, I did hear a few English people complain about the lack of English dishes, if you are looking for pizza and chips this is not the place for you. On the other hand there was a wide variety of dishes available on a buffet type service and everything I tried was superb. Defiantly recommend trying all dishes.

The hotel itself is situate on the beach which is perfect for families with small children and/or persons who find it difficult walking. There is nothing like eating breakfast on the beach front.

There isn't much entertainment at the hotel but there are many bars and clubs within walking distance. Well worth a try. Noise was a problem but the bars are obliged to reduce the noise level after 12 midnight. I have just booked to go back in 2011 and understand that the rooms now have double glazing which also cuts out some of the noise for those who like to retire early.

I have recommended a number of my friends to this Hotel it's great value.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Lowe
13 years 11 months ago
My wife and I visited this hotel on recommendations from people we know first I would like to say we had a great holiday mostly due to the people we met while staying in the Orion.

The location of the hotel is great I doubt anyone would fault it other than the noise from the local bars until 3am (it turns down a little at midnight)

The food was good we always managed to find something we liked all I can say is try it even if it doesn't look nice it may well taste nice.

The staff for the first few days while we were using cash we could tip them and they were fine. But then we were told we had to go onto some top up card so we did and you cant tip while using this system (change is hard to get anyway but while using the card you get none) The staffs attitude changed. Ranging from pestering people at the bar to buy them drinks and then not getting the drinks no one ever figured out how they were actually getting the money back though to not allowing you to eat at meal times I even saw some staff pulling hair and walking into ppl as they sat and tried to eat.

After a few days off using the card we realised our money was disappearing so we asked reception for a print out off what we had used it for we don't drink alcohol so it was all coke/seven up/coffee and water. But on the list there was lots off orange and a few lagers we approached the reception about this and never did get an answer.

Later we noticed we were being charged different prices for drinks one time 2 coffees would be 4 lira the next time 6 so again we asked the reception about this again they weren't at all interested but it was there for anyone to see (we weren't the only ones in the hotel with the same problem )

One guy who did drink asked for a double brandy one night 10 lira the gave him his glass but he had almost nothing in it we don't drink so we weren't sure I said just use the measuring glass and see if it's a double the staff said they didn't have one but it was there for all to see.

We were going out on a trip in the morning and came down early 7 am i asked for 2 coffees while we waited but the staff refused to get them as they were busy looking for a new car on the computer I'm sorry but its supposed to be 24hr room service and I couldn't even get a drink at the bar.

One day while leaving for a day out I was shouted back by a barman and one off the managers and they had the tip box open the way the conversation went I thought I was being accused off stealing from the tip box but after a few moments it became apparent that wasn't the case they wanted 10 lira from me in the tip box before I left the hotel. I refused I won't be told that I have to put money into a tip box we had been tipping very well up until the card was given to us everything from 10 pounds to 1 lira.

We mistakenly thought all tips ended up in the tip box was at this point and thanks to another guest we found out they don't who ever you hand it to keeps it bare this in mind when your thinking about tipping we tested it by giving one off the bar staff a 20 lira note and asking him to put it in the tip box he didn't as we watched him when I asked him about it he just laughed at me.

There was a young boy working in the hotel we had given the tip for carrying the bags up to our room to the older one there but fully expected him to give half off it to the younger guy so we asked him about it we found out he didn't get any off the tips unless they were handed to him we felt this was wrong as they used him like a slave and he had to do all the work while they watched TV so when he was leaving to go back to school we gave him a 50 lira note we weren't the only ones didn't go down to good with the other staff though.

There was 0 entertainment even the TV which I had no interest in but some people wanted to watch the football one night as it started the staff went over and turned the TV over on them and wouldn't let them watch it they had to leave and find another bar that would allow them to watch it not hard and not far to walk but all the same they should have been able to in the hotel the staff shouldn't have been allowed to turn it over.

In 2 weeks we got clean towels once and clean bedding once the room was never cleaned but they did have a good time looking through our photos and stuff each day. Nothing was ever taken but it was visible they had been through it all.

The bar just outside the doors has nice staff grate food and if you have any problems with the staff as we did (that's every one who was staying there at the time we were not just us) I would advise going there it's only about 15 steps so it may as well be apart off the hotel itself.

I saw many complaints put in at reception but never once was one dealt with at all. We all put it down to the fact it was the end off season.

I'm not sure if we will ever go back to this hotel but only due to the staff and it may well have different ones next year as we were told its up for sale this may have also been a factor in the staffs attitudes what ever it was the staff need to get there acts together.

The hotel itself though has a great location and there is a choice off places to drink at and for entertainment on the doorstep and its easy to get drinks at the bar next door.

Anyone staying there I would advise you to get every receipt with all drinks ordered and check the amounts and if the staff start anything funny just use the bar over the road there very friendly.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Sarah
13 years 11 months ago
This is classified as a 3 star hotel with Sunstart and Thomson - it should be a one star. Our room was filthy, the contents of the previous occupants brush remained on the carpet throughout our stay! The only time the maid made an effort was on the last night and then she left her tip envelope.

The food might have been good but as the salads were left out unrefridgerated and uncovered throughout the mealtime they were covered in flies. There was a choice of a chicken dish or a beef dish, chips or rice rarely any vegetables. For breakfast - coffee granules out of a pudding bowl and milk out of the carton (on one occasions plus drowning flies), salad (fly ridden) and bread, jam and honey. Mealtimes were shared with the local stray dogs and cats.

The staff ate before the guests in the evening, at 7pm leaving the food uncovered until 7.30pm when guests were allowed to have some.

The sunbeds were covered in dirt and the only time we saw the terrace swept or cleaned was the last day when some Turkish guests arrived.

As the previous report if you want a drink or decent food or to meet nice Turkish people go to the Asis Minor bar opposite the hotel or the Buzz bar on the beach front.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Partner

Doreen Byrne
14 years ago
We were greeted by the hotel reception staff with a cheery smile even though at 2am and there were staff available to ensure that our luggage was taken to our room.

The room was limited sea view - we spent many happy moments sitting on our balcony just people watching. Also we were informed that the rooms at this hotel were to be refurbished during the winter of 2006/2007 so to expect even better accommodation.

It was very clean and we had fresh towels and bed linen every 3rd day. We could not fault the maid service, once they had established our daily routine they worked around us.

The location is fantastic - right on the beach!

Hotel staff were all friendly and extremely helpful, most of them spoke good English.

There was not a lot of entertainment at the hotel but there are lots of local bars and night clubs if one was looking for something more lively and/or English.

The Orion is very traditionally Turkish which is exactly what we were looking for.

We are already planning our return trip in 2007. Cant wait!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Lady Lianne
14 years 11 months ago
I stayed in the Orion hotel for the first time this year in October, and I can say my stay was very pleasent,the hotel itself is right on the beach which is great as you dont have to walk miles.

Most of the staff were polite and welcoming as 1 or 2 of them were very rude and obviously they didnt understand no as they would hassle you whilst trying to relax and even when you ate your meal which was very rude.

The quality of the food was great they had a wide variety to choose from and they even supplied meat and vegy meals.

There was only a few problems with the hotel one was you would have to use a top up card for drinks and meals this may have caused a few problems. Also there was no entertainment in evenings or even through out the day which is disappointing.

I would recomend this hotel and I would go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Chris & Tony Leonard
15 years ago
We were located on the first floor directly overlooking the sea, with a fantastic view across the sea and the Greek islands.

Being a twin room we arranged the beds to form a double bed to suit us Brits, underneath hadn't seen a vacuum cleaner for months. The lights flickered constantly so I disconnected the fluorescent tube myself as I didn't get any response from reception.

The Hotel waiters were courteous but constantly overtired and often noisy playing snooker and shouting till the early hours of the morning often keeping us awake.

Hot water was very intermittent, boilers were not switched on till 0800hrs,(Breakfast 0800-1000). Loud music was the order of the day at most meal times. Very noisy due to nearby bars (mainly Brits) often till nearly three or four in the morning, there was just no getting away from the constant bedlam of break dancing and terrible Karaoke.

Entertainment in the Orion was often unannounced and spontaneous.

Must end on a positive though, the food was second to none, but nevertheless we will never return to the Orion or Altinkum.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Mike Brown
15 years 1 month ago
On the whole We found the food to be ok with plenty of choice and some very good salad dishes but the standard of service very poor,dirty table tops, with numurous complaints every day,leave the sunday roast alone!

We came to Turkey to eat differant Turkish foods not British.

The floors around the pool and reception areas were filthy (our son is at the half walking/ crawling stage and was constantly being washed down good old wet wipes)not once during our weeks stay did we see them being hosed down or cleaned and checking the area no drains were evident to allow this to be carried out.

We were allocated a 5 Floor Room with a toddler,Our Balcony faced the sea which was lovely, However Warning!! I rescued our Son in time with his head and Shoulders through a gap in the side of the Balcony screen.
Cleaning of the rooms was very good, however cleaners decided to leave our Balconey doors open only for us to return later to find the complete room infested with Mossies.

Praise to the security chap, upon returning late one evening we found that a water supply pipe to the toilet sistern had burst, within 15 Minutes of calling for help they had a Mr Fixit there and sorted.

This hotel is definitely not a family orientated hotel, no activities for children, 2 pool tables not free, a table tennis table not free, swimming pool not adequate for size of Hotel, Childs section the size of a footbath I took my son in and it was full, with the pool being used by children who had no connection with the Hotel.

Sun beds were whisked away an hour before the pool closing time of 1800 hrs,leaving 2 hrs for the staff to prepar the same area (unwashed) for dinner

I understand that a 5th floor was added to the hotel a while back but the facilities have not been upgraded to match.

Entertainment??? what, when, sorry was there any,the only regular entertainment on offer was 2 of the male Waiting staff (16hrs a shift and far too friendly to the young female Guests) stripping off thier shirts and dancing to a couple of lively numbers and then once finished shirts back on and carried on working !!!

Beware the Top up charge card system being operated by the Hotel leaves one open to abuse and there was constant complaints .

I will not be Going Back to this Hotel Ever
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Mrs A Daniel
15 years 1 month ago
We arrived at the Orion after 7 previous stays here over 3 years, only to find they were fully booked and had no room for us there after being booked well in advance, the receptionist shrugged his shoulders and said I call you taxi he take you different hotel, being the sister hotel-Triton. If I wanted to stay in the Triton I would have booked Triton, I refused and the younger members in our party started to get very cross as they were so tired. I had to walk around the top end of altinkum to find a room for 4 people at 3.30am luckily a larger hotel at the end of the beach, not mentioning any names was able to provide us with what we needed.

The following day walking past the Orion, there were staff we have known over the years, would not speak to us as we wouldn't do as we were told previous night, since been back to Altinkum twice and still they wont speak.

Extremely volatile, either full on and all over you or blank you completely. The waiters in this hotel could do with a long lesson in manners, and the manager-ahmet could do with stop thinking about lining his pockets and be kind to the guests who have visited him when he was not quite so rich, as in long standing visitors and not just those who are paying mega bucks for his apartments.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Liz Wheatley
15 years 2 months ago
We arrived at 6.30am to no key for our room, we got it at 4.00pm!

The room was dirty, the shower didn't work, the balcony was unsafe (for a 3 year old), the balcony door did not shut properly. The reception area was clean, the pool was tiny - not how described in the brochure,I was appalled by the standard of food hygiene!

Location not too bad, this is our 3rd visit to Altinkum, and the first time we've stayed at this end of the resort.

I cannot really say much else only that we moved hotels the next day! Yes it was that bad.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompsons

15 years 3 months ago
The Orion is a great hotel, it is great for younger folk but I would not like to stay there with young kids as there can be a lot of noise from the near by pubs.

Apart from that it was great and the food is ok, the evening meal is nice and you get a huge plate full. It is normally a mix of chicken meat or fish and chips or potatoes (the mash is so yum yum) also plenty of salads and desserts on Sunday you get your roast dinner.

The rooms are nice the carpet can maybe do with a clean. The cleaners come in everyday and make your covers look nice in all different shapes. The bathroom is spotless and the shower is brill (if only I could have fitted it in my bag)

The pool is a bit on the small side but no need to worry as the beach is right on the door step.

One thing I did not like was the top up style cards which you need to use when you buy drinks, you need to put down a 10LTR deposit and then put as much as you like on the card. The only thing I found was you always ran out of credit when you ordered your drinks for your evening meal. So you have to nip to reception to top it up and your dinner gets cold.

I loved the bars near by fav place was Cheers bar and the British bar. Went to Medusas nightclub but was not impressed, it was full of locals, well it holds a couple of thousands or something and there was only about 50 in, we felt unwelcome and very out of place. Proberly better to go in high season.

Apart from that the hotel and Altinkum was great and I can
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: tomsons

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.