Image of Palm Wings Beach Resort

Palm Wings Beach Resort

17 of 31 hotels in Altinkum

4 out of 5 from 42 reviews
5 stars
Altnkum Mah. Mehtap Cad. 94. Sok. No:21 Didim

42 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    10
  • Very Good
    17
  • Good
    9
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Kieran Mackie
Great for families and to make friends
8 years ago
Palm Wings Beach Resort, Altinkum, Turkey was the best holiday for my family of 6! The pool was very good and great for the kids to get cooled down in and to have a lot of fun for the whole family.
The thing I enjoyed the most was the company of the reps and the shows they made up (animation team 2012).

The food and restaurant were amazing with all the choice you had in food and drinks and deserts, the snack bar is good for families on the go or at the beach just craving for a burger. The rooms were nicely set out and the cleaners were nice and thoughtful.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
jbh
10 years 2 months ago
On arrival we were given a guided tour by golf buggy to our bungalow. I`ll start with the pools. The main pool is large, ideal for kids with their lilo`s,d other swimming aids and water sports etc, it is also quite noisy, but no more than you would expect of a fun pool. The other pool is smaller and oblong in shape, ideal for swimming and relaxing ( no kids allowed at this pool ) both pools kept very clean.

Now the restaurant, this in my opinion was a big let-down. Breakfast: If you arrive early enough, you can see the birds sitting on the pile of sliced bread having their breakfast, there are also plenty of flies on the food plates (not very hygienic). Lunch: No birds but still plenty of flies on the plates, same applies to dinner. Food in general I rate as poor quality and very repetitive, If you like to live on Tomato soup and Chicken for lunch and dinner every day you probably won`t be too disappointed.

The bungalow was spacious and clean with plenty of clothes space for two people, although the mattress on the bed was very hard. No worries about anyone drinking too much, I don`t think there`s enough alcohol (if any) in the drinks. A big favorite with the British holidaymaker is Pina Colada, but you have to pay for this, the same applies to Orange Juice, although there are machines scattered about with fruit squash. If you do holiday at this hotel I would advise taking extra money for eating out. I recommend The Queens Head pub for a good meal at reasonable cost, about 10 minutes walk. To sum up my report I would say this is a very good 4 star hotel, except for the food quality/variation which I would rate at 2-3 star. Full marks to the friendly staff and animation team who work very hard. I would not re-visit this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
David
10 years 2 months ago
We have just returned from this hotel. On arrival you drive through what appears to be a shanty town but on arrival the hotel has lovely grounds and accomodation. The staff were very good and we were all shown to our rooms following a guided tour of the hotel and its grounds in a golf buggy. The rooms are fine but not that large. They are kept clean each day and there is a digital safe which is free. Each room is provided with a 1.5 lt bottle of water regardless on the number of people in the room. We took an extra bottle from the dining room with no problems. The air conditioning is essential. Each room has seating area outside. The bathroom has a shower unit only with hairdryer. There is very little storage in the rooms only 8 coat hangers and three small drawers for two people.
The pool is large and the staff keep the pool and areas very clean. The water slides are great. Some sunbeds had towels put on them early (8.30am) but finding one was not a problem. The beach is small but very clean and there is a large decked area with plenty of sunbeds.

You have to queue to get a couple of ice creams each day as these are only served for one hour !!!

I have read other reviews and this should be taken that everyone has their own views.

The food in this hotel is very repetitive. It is aimed at the Turkish guests and although some people said there is something for everyone, there is not. I have visited many all inclusive hotels and this for food is by far the worst.

Breakfast is poor they serve tomato soup. This was possibly the best option.

Lunch, the snack bar. Every day is the same, Pasta with tomato sauce, Turkish pizza, Pizza and Burgers, chips and salad. Tomato soup is on the list

Lunch in the main dining room tomato soup and salad. Other options were available but these were repeated during dinner.

Dinner for Kids, Move the snack bar up to the main dining room and add tomato soup.

Dinner. The main dining room is large and ample seating. We went early but the food was not hot. They had the same on each night. This consisted of tomato soup, salads, fish in a sauce, chicken in a sauce, patty, eggplant in sauce, brussel sprouts in sauce pasta with tomato sauce, rice, grilled fish, meatballs and such like. The best meal we had was grilled liver!.

The bar. The only bar which is open for drinks is the pool bar. All drinks are served in plastic beakers and you can only have two drinks at any one time regardless of how many are in your party. The area is in darkness and the only time they light it is when a man arrives to play the keyboard a couple of times.

The enterainment is away from the bar and starts at 9.30pm with the kids disco. the staff then do a show which last until 11pm. The all inclusvie stops at 11pm so you cannot get a drink unless you pay for it. When this happens you get a glass from the bar.

The disco opens at 11pm again any drinks have to be paid for. The noise from either this disco or one in the nearby resort is terrible. Up unitl 5am some nights the noise could be clearly heard.

While we were there a large group of Russian children were at the area staying in rooms with bunkbeds. They were supposed to be under adult supervision but they just ran riot at the night. We conplained to the hotel and the security chased them off. They returned playing football, screaming and shouting at 3am. The adults had no control at all. We complained to the Thomson rep who spoke to the management. It did quieten down for a couple of days but then it started again. The security returned and chased them back to their own rooms. At least we couldn't hear the disco for them.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

10 years 4 months ago
we were here in the firt week in may and you could tell it was the first week of the season, everything was just starting to open up.

our room was fine, it was basic, clean, but not very 5*. we found it strange there was no tea making facilities but there was a fridge and you got a free 2lt bottle of water every day. house keeping was also fine, clean towels every day.

food was just ok you wouldnt starve but i hope you like chicken because it will be on the menu every night in some sauce, snack bar was much better and suited my fussy husband. I did find it a bit strange on a all inclusive holiday that you can only get ice cream for one hour a day, i woulnt like to be queing for that in peek seasnon.

pool was one deapth all the way round, not so great if you have younger children, three slides which where great fun but only run for two 2hr slots every day.

beach was small but lovely and they have lovely terraces which had huge cushions on. again i woulnt like to see how packed it gets in peek season, and if you have limited mobility its not the beach for you as the hotel is situated on a cliff and there is loads of steps to navigate.

staff were really friendly and helpful. the bar can be a bit of an issue at night, trying to get a drink could be come quite a challenge, one poor guy trying to serve 50 people, but saying this during the week we noticed more staff being brought in, so we will but this down to it being the first week of season. I have been all inclusive before and i have never been anywhere that you cant get a local rum or cocktail included.

All in all it was a good holiday, meet some lovely people from Jersey and South Africa, your holidays what you make it we try not to zone in on all the negatives, i would go back here again, i feel its more a couples holiday than a family holiday although the animation team do try very hard. Just a wee tip for anyone that smokes, its cheaper to buy your cigerettes on the way out (and your rum if you need it)
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
Welsh
10 years 4 months ago
This was our 1st time in Turkey and we stayed at the Palm Wings Beach Resort in Altinkum for 2 weeks from 1st May. We had very few issues with the hotel from any perspective. The room, in a bungalow, was kept very clean, bottled water supplied every day. There was more than enough food of all varieties to satisfy even the fussiest person. The a la carte restaurants were pretty good, First visit per week is free. Only complaint was at the Italian. Tortellini wasn't very good and 'veal' was some sort of meat loaf. Don't think it was veal at all. The animation team were extremely pleasant and hard working, with lots of time devoted to the younger visitors. If you needed any help or information, look no further than Sally, the Customer Relations Rep. She was always visible and couldn't have been more helpful. Only fly in the ointment, as mentioned in most of the other reviews, was trying to get served at the bar. This is one area that needs to be improved. Having said that, we would have no hesitation going back as overall the hotel gave exceptional value for money.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hays Travel

Recommended
Caroline
10 years 4 months ago
we have just got back from a weeks holiday in turkey, we have never been to this hotel before but wow what a fantastic place will defo be going back everything about this hotel was fantastic, it was clean and the food was sensational, i would highly reccomend the palm wings beach resort to anyone, cant wait to go back


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunwings

Recommended
Heather Davis
10 years 11 months ago
I would never recommend this Hotel to my worst friend.
We travelled last week of October for a week, and from the outside it looked like a 5 star Hotel, but the further we got into the week it became like a carry on film, the food was diabolical, hardly any meat apart from liver twice, (try feeding kids on liver) lots of salad,there were trays of hot pre-pepared stew stuff that came out day after day, on the third day it became apparent that the Hotel was shutting down around us and that no more food or drinks were being brought they were running out of English tea and not replacing it, they took the coffee machine away, and also the alcholic drinks were running out. The entertainment staff were walking around like they were on holiday and on the days that it rained nothing was layed on to keep people busy. The room was shabby the standard of about three star with a very leaky mouldy bathroom and a fire alarm that would not stop beeping. The pool side was very dangerous,with people slipping and hurting themselves. My son was very sick twice during this holiday, What a horrible horrible holiday. Do not book this Hotel.......
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first Choice

Beresford
11 years ago
We stayed in the main hotel as we had asked for a room suitable for a wheelchair user and would need a wet room.
We were asked early on in the hotel to move to a villa room but we refused as the villas had steps to the rooms and did not have suitable bathrooms. We were the only people in the main hotel and they probably thought they could close it if we moved. The lifts were OK. They were out of order on one day, so we could not use our room for a few hours. In the room, the TV was on a wall bracket and could not be moved so it was not possible to see the TV from the bed. The 'ramps' up to the hotel entrance were wooden,quite steep and were moved quite often so we had to move them back. A single disabled person could not holiday here. The access to the pool was down two wooden ramps which were steep. As we were staying in the main block and the Restaurant was at the other end of the site, along quite a steep walkway, this took a while to travel. There was a ramp into the Restaurant. The food was lovely, can't fault it. We could not access the beach as there were many steps. The WC facilities were quite good but the Disabled loo was a smoking room!!
I am a non smoker so this was not a pleasant visit!!
If you wish to attract disabled people to your hotel more ramps are needed (remember able bodied people can use ramps but disabled can't use steps) We were stopped by visitors who wished to know what the facilities were like for the disabled, and being honest we said 'not good'. The staff were great. Very friendly, helpful and patient. We could not access the a la carte restaurants, so we were served on the verandah, the staff were lovely. We wouldn't go there again and could not reccomend it to disabled friends.
The entertainment was not good, the guy with his keyboard, trumpet and out of tune voice was dire!!
The break dancing was fantastic. We have friends who live in the area and we would ask them to find us suitable self catering if we returned.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Wings Abroad?

Recommended
11 years 1 month ago
The hotel was perfect for a family holiday, the food was as good as AI gets, a bit repetitive end of second week but all AI's are.
The location was not to bad but the kids found it a bit of a treck but dolmus only cost 1 1/2 lira.
The staff were polite but had to put up with some people including brits being pretty rude.
The entertainment was very amature but we just had a good laugh at it, we didn't go there for the entertainment.
A visit to Ephesus when you are there is a must but book in the town not with travel agent at hotel, we paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
11 years 1 month ago
We found Palm Wings to be excellent value for money. Overall review - the hotel is extremely clean, food more than adequate, location to beach and shops perfect and staff very friendly.

Hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunwings

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.