Image of Nazar Hotel

Nazar Hotel

18 of 31 hotels in Altinkum

4 out of 5 from 26 reviews
2 stars
Altınkum Mh., 09270 Didim/Aydın Province, Turkey
This pleasant block of studios is conveniently situated within easy reach of the charming resort of Altinkum and enjoys a friendly atmosphere. The studios are well-kept and prove popular year after year with all types of guests.

26 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    8
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Tony Clayton
Despicable behaviour by staff
11 years 2 months ago
We visited this hotel with our disabled daughter and 12 family members, could not access breakfast area [2 flights of stairs] with daughters wheelchair and I was threatened by receptionist when I tried to take food up to her, needless to say we did not take her on holiday to be treated this way and we boycotted hotel for eating and drinking, they lost a lot of money.

I agree about stink round pool area from sewerage plant right next door.

Could not fault hotel position for all activities i.e. shopping/bars/eateries/beach [100yards] and all nightlife of altinkum.

Having been visiting turkey for 20 years was shocked by attitude of some staff at this hotel. Had no problem getting rooms cleaned, just put out room clean required sign on door when needed, cleaners were spot on.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Clive Wroe
11 years 3 months ago
This is the 3rd time I have stopped at the Nazar Hotel within the last 5 years, although this is the first time I have stayed Bed and Breakfast, previously it was Self Catering.
The hotel has deteriorated considerably insomuch that it has a dracodian policy of bringing food and drink into the hotel even though it has B&B only. This policy seems to have one aim which is to basically charge double what the local shop directly opposite the hotel charges. This is extreemly annoying when buying water and ices when by the pool.
For whatever reason, ( couldn`t find out exactly why ) every day at some stage we had to endure an appalling smell of raw sewerage. This was prevelant in the pool area. Which is a pity because the pool area is ok.
As my room was next to the bar ( as usual with singles supplement you tend to get the worst room nobody else wants ) I asked for a quieter room, was told there would be none available for 6 days although after 2 days people were finishing their holiday. Never did get the room changed.
The maids were good but would advise that you remind them you want the room cleaned, linen changed and theres no real problem.
The general cleanliness of the hotel is reasonably good and junior staff polite and willing. Location of the hotel is excellant.
Iv`e been going to Altinkum now for 10 years or so and seem it expand. Still has good beaches if you have young kids, very safe, and is ideal location if you want to visit historical sites.
I think if Thomas Cook got a bit serious with the owners it wouldn`t take much to bring the hotel up to its former standard. The biggest grouse I heard was that there is no longer a kettle in the room and no matter how much they try God bless them, the Turkish couldn`t make a decent brew if their lives depended on it!!!!! A kettle in the room would be a vast improvement, do you know an English hotel that doesn`t have that facility. Thanks for your time.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

George Maloney
13 years 2 months ago
My holiday in Altinkum was fantastic, the hotel was fabulous and clean, staff friendly, food was out of this world and dining out is so cheap with great entertainment laid on in most places. Will definately return.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
13 years 4 months ago
This is the second time that me and my friend have stayed in this hotel and we werent very impressed this time round. You can only stay at the hotel on a bed and breakfast basis which we didnt have a problem with at first. When we arrived they recognised us from last year and said a few things had changed. They said that we were now forbidden from taking any food or drink into our rooms from outside. If they saw us bring anything in then it would be confiscated until the end of our stay. This is a ridiculous rule considering that they only supply breakfast. Everyone sneaked in food and drink anyway though. There is a fridge in your room but its a mini bar so anything you use is charged for at the end of ur stay. They've also removed the kettle and cups so you cant even make yourself a cup of tea.

They claim that the maids come in and change sheets, empty bins etc every 3 days but in the 2 weeks we were there we had the cleaners in twice. The second week we didnt even have our bins emptied. They expect you not to flush toilet paper down the loo but put it in the bin instead. Me and my friend ignored this and its a good job as well seeing as our bins weren't emptied for the 2nd week. By the time we left we had 4 carrier bags of rubbish sitting on the balcony. This also meant we had to use the same towels for about a week as well.

The hotel itself is quite nice and the staff are friendly as well. The food from their restaurant isnt bad either. Like i said, you have to stay on a B&B basis but the breakfast served is all Turkish. This consists of bread, cheese and olives mainly. Not our cup of tea at all so we only ate there twice and went out and bought food the rest of the time. We heard though that all hotels serve Turkish breakfast unless you pay extra.

The location is pretty good as well as mentioned in previous reviews. Just a shame that they've introduced this 'no food and drink' rule and only serve Turkish breakfast when you have no choice but to pay for it anyway if you want to stay there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Rachel
13 years 4 months ago
This is the second time we have stayed in this hotel, first impressions were good. it is only bed and breakfast now which we found very restricting as you were no longer allowed to bring in any food or drink from outside, it would be confiscated, and the breakfast consisted of ham, cheese, olives, bread cake and there is only so much of that that you can eat. the children especially were restricted to bread and cake.

the staff were generally friendly but not very helpfull especially when carrying suitcases up and down stairs as the lift kept breaking down. we found on the last day the staff didn't speak to us at all as we complained about the length of time we had to wait for our dinner, approx 45 minutes and also that we ate out a lot.

food and drink was good but a bit pricey and not always good value for money. entertainment was non existent but that could be due to the fact that people didn't hang around for it and it was early in the season.

probably wouldn't come to this hotel again as its only bed and breakfast. as for location though you probably couldn't beat it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Adrian
13 years 4 months ago
I recently stayed at the Nazar Hotel in Altinkum with my family. It is the second time that we have stayed here, the last being around 10 years ago. A lot has changed in this time. It is now only bed and breakfast. The breakfast is fine if you like Olives, Ham,cheese,tomatos and cake first thing. If your would like an english breakfast, you have to pay extra. you are best going to Nick's restaraunt out the front of the hotel where you can get a very good breakfast for 2 quid.

It should be pointed out that the hotel is situated next to a sewerage treatment plant and the smell is noticable in the rooms and around the swimming pool. The staff are friendly enough but can be a little unhelpful. The lift was out of order six or seven times during the two week stay. so be warned that you may have to carry your own bags up and down the stairs.

The food is generally good, but don't be taken in by the BBQ on a Friday night. They charge
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Fiona
14 years 3 months ago
Our stay here was great and we couldnt really fault it! The staff were friendly and helpful and our room was always cleaned on a regular basis including replacement towels etc! The rooms are basic but when you're only sleeping there and trapsing in from the beach covered in sand for a shower then you dont need The Hilton.

Location is great because everything is close by so you havent got to spend money on taxi's unless you want to go somewhere else or do something different. The nearest bars and restaurants are literally 30 seconds from the front of the hotel and the beach is about 5 minutes away. Probably not great though if you have young children as sometimes music from near by bars can be heard until quite late.

We only ever ate Sunday lunch here but it was lovely! We were quite surprised actually!

Never stayed in the hotel during the evenings so i have no idea what the entertainment was like!

Im going back to Nazar next week on a B&B basis so i'll get to sample their breakfast menu as well! Cant wait! :-D
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Chris @ Jean
14 years 4 months ago
Cant fault it. Enjoyed every moment. Entertainment lacking but plenty to do outside the hotel.Beach wonderful, planning another visit early September. Hope its as memorable.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended
Caz
15 years ago
Been staying in this hotel since 1989 and found a huge change in it over the past couple of years.

We had our room cleaned only twice in the two weeks we were there and had to go to reception for toilet rolls.

The hotel staff are more keen on getting into the bedrooms than anything else, but there again the hotel does claim to supply room service (not quite the type I had in mind).

Anyone visiting with daughters should keep them with them at all times in this hotel. I certainly won't be going again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunset

Samantha
15 years 4 months ago
This holiday was one of the best yet. Me and my friends loved it here and we can't wait to return in July 2007.


The hotel was clean throughout the 2 weeks we stayed there, always clean towels and toilet rolls as well as our beds being made every 2-3 days.

Didn't eat in much at the hotel but when we did it was tasty.

The hotel location was perfect, the pubs were just on the doorstep and the beach was literally 5 minutes walk :)

The hotel staff were very helpful and kept us entertained.

We didn't stay in much to see the entertainment as the clubs are just to hard to resist, but we heard it was good especially for the children.

I can honestly say I would recommend this hotel to anyone! me and my friends can't wait to return next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.