Image of Ephesus Princess Hotel

Ephesus Princess Hotel

16 of 34 hotels in Kusadasi

4 out of 5 from 8 reviews
Pamucak Mevkii Selcuk, 35920 Kuşadası, Turkey

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
You will struggle to go hungry in this hotel
8 years 2 months ago
We have just got back from our 2 week family holiday at this hotel. We had a hotel room in the main building which has a great sea view and decent size balcony. The other room types are villas in the gardens; these villas do seem quite a walk away from main building and pool.

The room was clean and serviced every day, the mini bar was stocked daily with soft drinks and water. Bathroom was clean and had a shower / bath. The room had 2 TVs (1 in bedroom area and 1 in living area) these showed 2 English kids channels, 2 English news and 1 movie channel. Slippers and towels are provided including ones for the pool.

You will struggle to go hungry in this hotel as food is always been served right up till 0100. The food is a good standard with each night in the buffet a different theme. Some nights are nicer than others but you can always find something to eat. There is a pool snack bar, beach snack bar and a fish snack bar - all which serve food throughout the day. Different a la carte restaurants can be booked but some do not allow children in, this needed to be booked the morning before at guest relations. These are nice but do take a long time so young children may get bored.

Tuborg Beer is on draught, 'proper' Cola brands on all bars, wines and spirits also. The ice slush is great for the kids and various juice bars are situated on site.

Pool area is big and there are lots of sunbeds available, you need to get down early if you want a lot together. Some people are reserving sunbeds during the night and these towels are not been moved even though the sign says they will be. Pool is cleaned daily and they display an analysis of the water different times through the day.

Animation team and mini club are both excellent and provide activities all day and night except Tuesdays. Various water sports are free, including banana boat and water skiing and these are booked down on beach. Health spa is brilliant and provide loads of treatments, free Turkish baths are available daily between 1300 - 1500.

Reception staff and 'guest relations' are poor but I think a lot is down to language barrier, rest of staff ,including managers, are polite and friendly.

If you book with Thomas Cook then you will be the first drop off which takes about 50 mins. Didn’t use rep but seen her around a few times.

We enjoyed our 2 week stay at the Ephesus Princess and would recommend it to others.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Karl
Unfriendly, unhelpful, awful!
8 years 11 months ago
We booked this hotel on the basis of it being a 5 star then Thomas Cook downgraded this to a 4 star after we booked. Up on arrival we were given a villa which is in the gardens separate from the hotel. Believe me these are like Butlins they are not even a two star yes they are clean but well in need of updating.

To cut it short we had a toilet flooding for 3 days and had endless maintenance men trying to fix it, it was exploding bubbles water everywhere. We finally got a kettle from reception for the baby only for 3 days later the manager accessed our room while we was out and took the kettle but it gets even better, there was a flood in the lounge area like a shallow kids pool flip flop height and when questioned why he had taken the kettle he said they were for v.i.p guests and we couldn’t have it back till the following night. I said I have a 9 month old baby he said sorry v.i.p I said why didn’t you deal with the flood his response was it was a small flood but when I came in rubbish the leak must of been going hours to cause so much water.

We moved apartments again as I was sick of the toilet leaking and being unusable one night I was up till 4am with the maintenance guy, it was a joke.

We moved villas exactly the same old and in need of refurbishment had to unpack again for 7 people and pay the men waiters to carry the cases in the van as believe me this place is unsuitable for families with children.

For example there are roughly 50 to 100 steps to the apartments but they are all hand built rockery type you couldn’t access your villa on your own with a buggy a you couldn’t physically get or drag your buggy up there nor could you leave your child in the villa while you run back for your pram.
Thomas cook don’t state this in the brochure though.

We woke the following morning to have the biggest ants nest swarming over the lounge, it was disgusting.

I said I’d had enough and I wanted to move into the hotel which is refurbished but only small rooms the management refused to give us two rooms and we spent the remainder of our holiday top and tailing in an apartment that slept 3 to 4 people maximum and there was 7 of us it was a disgrace.

The maids left the villas continuously unlocked but the staff don’t care.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Stephanie
9 years 1 month ago
The food was excellent - first time going all inclusive and very worried that the food would be the same thing every night, we could not have been more wrong.

A different theme every night and lots of choice from international dishes to burger and chips - at least 10 choices a night.

The hotel was clean, maid comes daily. Mini bar in the room with lemonade, Fanta and water was stocked daily. Lots of games and sport laid on by the entertainment staff who worked hard and did a great job. Shows, discos karaoke and live music in the evenings.

The hotel is right next door to a large and very good water park and the local dolmus stops outside for trips into the town. Only complaint was the air conditioning in the rooms, it is very poor and appeared to go off during the middle of the night. Overall i would recommend this hotel to anyone else traveling.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:
Joyce
11 years 1 month ago
Hotel is set on a hill side with uneven paths,so if you have a problem with walking this is not the hotel for you, unless you have a room in the main hotel. Hotel rooms are available but you need to pay a supplement. The views from the hotel are great, you overlook a bay with 3 hotels in the distance. The hotel is very clean but no way a 5 star hotel. More a very high 3 or low 4 Star. Food at the hotel is fair, it is all served outside so gets cold quickly. The serving areas were very busy during our stay in July and the big problem was people did not wait their turn. The hot breakfast was a little limited and sometimes you needed to wait 20mins plus for eggs and pancakes.The snack bar at the poolside had a very limited menu Hotdogs, Burgers and Chips. Pool area very clean, you could get sunbeds but most people put towels down on the way to breakfast. This just seems to be part of a holiday arrangement today!
Hotel Entertainment was very poor - sorry folks not a hotel for great nights. During the day games etc held by the pool or down on the beach. During the evening it was not worth making the trip to the theatre except for the two nights when outside entertainers came in.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Carol & Brian Hughes
11 years 10 months ago
We stayed at Ephesus Princess in October for the 7th year in succession.

The cleanliness is brilliant - any problems are dealt with immediately.

The food is varied and all tastes are catered for - you can eat from pretty much when you get up to when you go to bed.

The location of the hotel is breath taking - the views can't be described, it's a pity they can't be shown to the full in the brochures - then again if they were you'd never be able to get a booking.

The staff are friendly, efficient and polite - nothing is too much trouble.

The animation team work hard and try to offer a varied programme to suit all tastes.

We've already booked again for this year - we go to diffent places every year but the first two weeks in October are set in stone for the Ephesus Princess.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Own Booking

Recommended
Souter
13 years 3 months ago
Could not fault the hotel, although it is a bit out of town, the town itself is very commercialised and the shop people are very much in your face, which can get a bit much sometimes.

The hotel was empty which was a bonus for us, no problem with sun beds.

Food was varied.

We were upgraded to the main hotel and had two adjoining rooms which was really nice and the view was to die for. Towards the end of our holiday more and more was opened up and I would imagine that once the season had got going the hotel would have been even better
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Noname
13 years 10 months ago
We had an excellent holiday, in beautiful setting on headland, main hotel and villas/apartments cut into headland.

Lots of steps in villa area so not good for disabled or prams etc would have to stay in main hotel.

Very clean, toilets always immaculate.

Food lovely very varied, something for everyone, salads lovely, children could find something from hot counter but mostly ate burger and chips from pool snackbar throughout day.

Staff very friendly, we stayed in a clubhouse(villa)very nice, ample space, good view of sea.

Grounds well maintained. Lots steps down to private beach more like manmade on a jetty but very nice not so bad going down and we used tractor to get back.

Canoes, pedaloes, banana boat, windsurfing all free and very safe all given life jackets.

Pool area lovely but at this time of year water was ice cold and no one went in but indoor pool was a godsend.

We used sauna, steamroom and turkish bath all very nice but beware a few nude people young and old of both sexes as we where mixing with europeans at this hotel,not what the English are used to!

Entertainment just ok. We were not that impressed with animation team, they didn't make any effort to encourage people to join in and didn't seem to have any go in them!

On the downside we where here in last week of October and the hotel closes on 1st Nov and in the last 3 days of our holiday it was clear everything was winding down and so did the choice with the foods, it seemed that we where using the last of the stores a few meals where repetative with mainly vegetables done in different ways.

Also there was only the A La Carte restaurant open on Mond,Wed,Sat and no icecreams for the children just cake.

The service should have been excellent for the whole week up to and including the closure of the season.Definately recommend this hotel, not a good idea to go last week of the season but we had a fantastic chilled out holiday with lovely weather thrown in.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cooke

Recommended
14 years ago
We had a fabulous holiday at Ephesus Princess because it was exactly what we wanted. A free child place for out 15yr old teenager, plenty for him to do - and other teens to do it with- plus peace and quiet for us.

General
There are approx 25% British at the hotel which seems quite a lot until you realise that there are then 75% others! There are a lot of Turkish & Dutch, then some Russian, German, Belgians, Macedonians and French
There is small market/bazaar in the pool area every Tuesday. The extensive grounds are mainly gardened and very beautiful.

Accomodation.
If you bear in mind that star ratings usually refer to facilities offered then the hotel could well be 5* but is not luxurious. Our room was minimalist but very clean and a lovely view to the sea. Air conditioning seemed to vary from room to room. Ours was very weak even when we left it on (as advised by reception) all day. The beds were comfortable, TV was fine, shower and toilet were fine. As in Cyprus no paper is allowed in the toilet but every WC has a bidet which is controlled by a valve on the wall at the back of toilet. Twice the maids made heart shapes with the towels and decorated the bed with flowers etc.
The staff were very friendly and made a great fuss of children in the restaurants etc.
No-one is allowed in the pool area until 8 o
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.