Image of Mirage Hotel & Apartments

Mirage Hotel & Apartments

68 of 113 hotels in Icmeler

4 out of 5 from 22 reviews
3 stars
Kayabal CAD Icmeler 82, NULL Bodrum Imsik/_tr, Turkey
This location, with its beautiful mountain backdrop and pleasant surroundings creates the perfect setting for a relaxing holiday. The beach, boasting fine bay views along with local shops and cafes are all within a short stroll.

22 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    7
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Karen Teague
13 years 11 months ago
We had a fabulous holiday at this hotel. The rooms were small, but adequate for myself and son. The bathroom had a real bath in, but the shower was difficult to operate. I suspect that those who gave bad reviews on the toilets did not know how the Turkish toilets work (the toilets are like bidet and toilet combined with a spurt of water directed at the appropriate place which is turned on by a stop cock on the wall at the right hand side of the toilet - paper is only used to dry) For this reason it is better if you only do your business in your own bathroom. Having said this, our bin was emptied every day.

The air conditioning was very good when you realised that the front of the remote control flips up, giving more options (including a timer).

We went at the end of the season during the "Sugar Festival". This is the end of Ramadan when the Turkish have a three day holiday. This meant that for three days the hotel catered for the Turkish. In the restaurant there was folk dancing, belly dancing etc, and the Turkish guests showed the British guests how to do the dances. It was like gate crashing a wedding and really good fun as we saw a part of Turkish culture that we would not otherwise have seen.

The food was adequate - plentiful and regular. However the breakfast was very samey and none of the food catered for special diet. There were many salads each day, but vegetarians beware as many had concealed meat in them. There were many additives in the food, so those who have difficulties with that would have some problems as again it was never advertised. The desserts were samey but very nice. In the afternoon there were Pizzas, burgers and chips available at the pool bar for those who like that sort of thing. 5pm - 6pm there was also cake and coffee at the pool bar, but I cannot comment on that as I never got there!

There are a number of cats outside the restaurant. If you are a cat lover, the treatment of these can be somewhat upsetting. In a response to adverse reviews about the cats, the waiters call over the cats with the promise of food, then when the cats get there, they hit or kick them. This is effective training as the cats are afraid of people and will run away if you go to stroke them.

The location of the Hotel was good. A short walk to the nightlife, but not so close you could hear it. A very short walk to the harbour and beaches.

There is a 24 hour hotel bar opposite reception - very unusual on all inclusive. However it had neon lights so it was difficult to have a good atmosphere in there. Also much of the time it was not too clean, which was why I only give 4 stars for cleanliness as this bar let down the rest of the hotel.

The Hotel staff were fabulous. The waiters were friendly and efficient. I cannot say enough good things about the reception staff. We had some bad problems with our tour rep (more on that later), and they did everything they could to sort it out. They always stopped for a chat. Ridvan and Ozlem are truly wonderful people and we will miss them very much.

As it was end of season, there were not many entertainments, and those that were there had to be asked about.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Yesil Dalyan

Recommended
Charlie & Lisa
14 years ago
This hotel if you can call it that is the worst I have ever stayed in. First impressions on arrival it look ok but as they say all that glitters.

The rooms are tiny 10ft by 10ft, bathrooms grubby, air con was so bad when you put it on at night you couldn't sleep and it was over 45degrees.

Roof pool was filthy & very slippy, ground floor pool bit cleaner.

Overall this should never be advertised as 4 star it would struggle to get 2 or 3 stars anywhere else.

Food was disgusting flies everywhere, cold slurry no thought has gone into menu really bad food.

Staff are very miserable and unhelpful especially reception staff and bar staff.

Stay at your peril, you would be better paying 200 pounds for a hovel b&b as would be as good as this hotel. If you don't believe me book & see.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Freedom Direct

Farys
14 years 1 month ago
Mirage World suited us fine for our first experience of all inclusive in Turkey,well I mean the food was ok but got a bit boring towards the end of the holiday,my mum and dad was sick of seeing cheese and tomatoes for breakfast and Ihad had the same potato salad on every meal.

The entertainment(what entertainment???)was really bad we hardly stayed in at night we went to a bar near the main square called Rmeo and Juliet(its really good there).It was really clean in the rooms the maid came every day and maid the beds and changed the towels.But around the pool there was room for emprovement as water built up around the pool very easily and became extremly slippy, I myself nearly slipped many a time. Around the area of pool were we sat really needed cleaning because there was fag ends and split drinks from many days before still on the floor and made it horrible to walk on.

There were plenty of activities during the day myself and my mum took part of the water gym most days,but there was also water polo,tennis,volly ball,darts and games on the surf boards in the pool.

We did enjoy our stay at Mirage but with a few improvements we could have enjoyed it a lot more and we are thinking of returning next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: holidays 4u

Recommended
Ann Dave
14 years 1 month ago
We have just come back from a stay at this hotel and I have to say we had a lovely holiday so much so I did'nt want to come home.

The hotel was lovely and clean rooms small but comfy. The rooms were cleaned everyday. Towels changed everyday. Our balcony overlooked the mountains with great views.

The food is now all inclusive, here they need to take a look at the menu as it became repetative after a while. Breakfast was the same just about everyday boiled egg, salad or omellete and a side bar or melon. Dinners weren't too bad but the puddings were the same day after day.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful if anyone is going soon could they please say hello to Memet and Ahmed.

The entertainment left a lot to be desired very poor, it was OK for the children but there was nothing for the adults maybe they could have a review on this.

All in all though I would definitely pay another a visit to this hotel as the positives quite outwayed the negatives.

Icmeler is a beautiful resort with lots of things to see and do. We came out of the hotel and there were bars and restaurants on the doorstep what more could you want.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: freedom direct

Recommended
Rachel Wilkinson
14 years 1 month ago
Stayed here twice. And would go again. The staff are a huge credit to the hotel working day and night to make you feel welcome and by the end of the holiday its sad to say good bye. The rooms are basic but vey clean and nothing to complain about. THe location is great. A short walk from the beach, restaurants, night life and the beautiful river walk. The restaurant next to the apartment is also run by the staff and is nice.

Great place to stay.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Laura
14 years 11 months ago
We have just returned from a girl's holiday in Turkey and I really didn't want to come home! We enjoyed everything about our holiday and would definitely go back.

It was the fist time I have stayed all-inclusive and was a bit apprehensive but needn't have been. The food was excellent and of a high quality although I wasn't that fussed on the breakfast. They have a 'late breakfast' but there isn't much left and all the tea and coffee is finished. Lunch and dinner is quite similar with hot and cold food and deserts. Snacks at the pool bar are available all afternoon and there is a soup service from midnight until 1am.

Antonio and the waiting staff are very friendly and work very hard. They always seem to be there and never have a day off! Jimmy, Ali and the bar staff also work very hard and are always ready with a smile and your usual drink. Measures at the bar are generous and between the three of us we drank about 20 bottles of vodka in 2 weeks! Great big thank you to Gino and Sarhan, the Animation Team. They certainly kept us entertained and our holiday would have been completely different without them. The jobbies agree, but especially Splenda Sweet! And yes boys, there has been a murder. It was the girl who took the corner kick!!!

Our bedroom was clean but we were a bit squashed. We had three beds in a twin room. It's a good job we are all very close friends! This is the only complaint we had but it wasn't a major issue, as we didn't spend much time in our room anyway. The other thing was the non-existent disco bar that had been advertised in the brochure although the pool bar did have music.

Our Representative wasn't very good. She didn't have answers to question like how much did the safety deposit box and how the sun beds on the beach worked. She was more interested in selling us tours.

I was a bit worried about the toilet paper thing but it wasn't a problem. We used scented nappy sacks in our room and there was never a smell and the bin was emptied daily.

The toilets in bars and restaurants were spotless and I never noticed a smell. Some places have squat toilets but usually have normal toilets as well.

All in all we had a brilliant holiday and would go back in a minute. The bus transfer from the airport is a bit on the long side at 21/2 hours but it is definitely worth it.

It was the best holiday I have ever had and I have lots of
great memories that I will never forget.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays/MyTravel

Recommended
Ethna Middleton
15 years ago
Although we are frequent visitors to Turkey, this was our first stay in the Mirage and sad to say, our last.

The food in the 'canteen' was covered in flies and whilst they may have enjoyed it we definitely didn't. We ate out so this defeated the purpose of going A/I.

Walking around either of the pool areas was treacherous, as they were permanently soaking and even worse when the water slide was in operation.

Whilst I hope to return to Turkey I won't be returning to the Mirage.






Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

15 years 1 month ago
Arrived at hotel late at night, staff didn
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Paul,Caroline &Aaron Dolan
15 years 2 months ago
Mirage Hotel in Icmeler. Went AI,although we were charged for cocktails. So to me this isn't AI.

Great location(150M
)from the beach and close to shops/restaurants etc. Hotel was very clean with fresh towels every day.Although there was a shortage of sun loungers (we had to get up at 6.30AM every morning to bag one)not what i went on holiday to do realy.

Rooms were a bit small with air con,tv,hairdryer,fridge (stocked daily with a bottle of water). Food was ok, as there was always a variety ,although the child menu was very limited. The drinks at the pool bar always smelled and tasted of Raki (Pernod)as they weren't being cleaned properly.

The staff were friendly and helpful enough.The entertainment was absolutely dire/ terrible and was the same rubbish the second week.

Wont be going back to this Hotel!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Scottravel

15 years 3 months ago
We booked the mirage last May on a bed and breakfast basis after previous good reports - The hotel has now changed to A/I which we got at no extra charge leaving us plenty of spending money.

The hotel has obviously changed a lot this year but having never been here before I can only judge it by the present which is an extremely well run, clean hotel with great staff - the entertainment team Gino, Ally and Hasan (think that was his name) mingled well with the guests, chatting with adults, making a fuss with the children and running daytime activities if guests wanted to join in i.e water polo, darts, football, bowls etc. They were based in the upstairs pool area where there was also a DJ who played music around the pool for those like us that prefer a bit more action around the pool and also play area for children with a Large trompoline and football beach.

There is also a waterslide up here that goes on twice a day. The downstairs pool area is more peaceful. There is a snack bar at the upstairs pool after 2pm that is well run - no queueing - Big metal containers with lids that each have chips, burgers or turkish pizza ready prepared and hot - just help yourselves and add salad, gerkins, tomato sauce and mayo (yummy).

Lunch and dinner are very similar, served at the downstairs buffet area with a bar - great choice of cold dishes and sweets but the main course is a little limited - usually a couple of meat/fish options & veggies, potatoes & soup and fresh bread - I think we only saw chips three times in the two weeks at the buffet - although there was a childrens buffet where you could find chips if you were quick! Personally we loved the food - my hubby is very fussy and he enjoyed it and our children didn't moan about no chips and actually ate very healthily - If you didn't find anything you liked for dinner you could certainly make up for with the desserts.

The evening entertainment, I think they are still tring to get right. When we got there the main evening entertainment for adults was in the downstairs disco bar at around 10.30. This is open to the main street and they had all the shows in ie micheal Jackson, break dancers, robot show. But guests were complaining as you had to pay for drinks from this bar - although there was nothing stopping you bringing your A/I drinks down from the pool bar upstairs. They changed it to the pool bar after a few days but it doesn't feel right as its lacking in atmosphere around the pool and it was usually Dutch /German sitting up there for a quite drink. The last few days we were there I think they were trying to combine the two!!.

Our teenage children prefered to stay in the hotel in the evening with their friends but me, hubby and youngest son used to go to other bars along the street where there was more atmoshpere. The English here at the Mirage now seem to be outnumbered by Dutch/German and there didn't appear to be many children around but this wasn't a problem.

Rooms were clean, compact, towels changed everyday.

All in all a lovely , well run hotel. No problems with sunbeds, cushions provided.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Eclipse Direct

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.