Image of New Port Aparthotel

New Port Aparthotel

110 of 113 hotels in Icmeler

2 out of 5 from 20 reviews
3 stars
Gölenye Mh., 48720 İçmeler/Muğla Province, Turkey

20 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    6

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Julie Lambert
Total disgrace
8 years 8 months ago
The only positive thing about the Newport is the location.
These apartments are a disgrace. I have visited Icmeler for 20 years and these are by far the worst I have ever been to. I never expected more than basic accommodation. So long as it is clean with regular linen changes and so on, then I am happy.

We stayed here for 22 nights and never saw a cleaner and never got clean sheets and towels in all this time. On arrival we were told the regular rooms with balcony etc all needed to be cleaned. We were taken to an attic room with the promise of a room change the next day. I was horrified to say the least.

The bed was disgusting and the room had not been cleaned. The toilet was covered in faeces and stank of urine. All the furniture was heavily stained and falling apart. An enormous nail was sticking out of the mattress and I almost vomited when I opened the fridge door as the smell was overwhelming.

There was no kettle, no microwave as expected and no way of making a hot drink. After complaining the receptionist promised to have our room ready at 3pm. This was a lie and we were stuck there overnight.

After several conversations we moved to another room. This was much better but still dirty. The toilet looked like it had never been cleaned and the bathroom was covered in mould. We had one teacup and gave up asking for a frying pan after a week and had to buy our own. We did not get a kettle for 3 days and other guests never got one.

We had one towel to share between both of us for 9 days. The floor was filthy and the tiles covered in thick black grease. We had to buy bleach and cleaning equipment and had to spend half a day scrubbing the apartment to make it habitable. We never had the room cleaned as they did not have a cleaner. They gave us one clean sheet and 2 towels during our 22 night stay.

The pool was a serious health hazard and the water was green for the 1st 2 weeks. I have never known such lazy staff; they were all young and very unhelpful. They slept on sunbeds around the pool and were often still asleep at lunchtime. One was the designated cleaner yet we did more cleaning than him.

At 3am one night I got up to get a drink and was startled as I entered the living area to find a Turkish guy with a young girl standing there. They had used a spare key from reception to let themselves in hoping the room was empty. I was petrified and against my better judgement decided not to involve the police.

I understand that these apartments will soon be under new management and they plan to make many improvements for next season. The future owners son arrived before we left and he had a much better attitude and was genuinely sorry to hear everyone’s complaints. I wish them luck as they have a busy time ahead thanks to the lazy staff and management they are replacing.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
T Selby
Lovely family run hotel
8 years 9 months ago
We love Icmeler and have always had fantastic holidays, however this was our best yet. Thanks to the laid back staff and lovely Turkish family staying there who made us feel so welcome.

We arrived at the Newport not really knowing what to expect, but I can tell you we were not disappointed. We booked the Newport as a last minute resort as our originally booked holiday had been cancelled by another company, and I was so glad. Yes, they were laid back, however, in a good way! They were extremely friendly and would go out of their way to help you, all you needed to do was ask.

For the price we paid for the holiday accommodation I don't think you could've asked for more. We had clean bedding and clean towels whenever we asked, the room we had had fantastic views, the place had a really good atmosphere and at the end of the day you get what you pay for, but I would definitely stay here again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Kenneth
11 years 10 months ago
Glowing report unfortunately posted from Turkey. To remain unbiased we do not allow reviews from the resort where the accommodation is situated.

If you are posting while still on holiday, please feel free to re-post your review on your return home.

Travel operator: Web Site

Recommended
Maria & Peter Herbert
12 years 7 months ago
From: M HERBERT [mailto:herbertm@btinternet.com]
Posted At: 04 October 2007 16:33
Posted To: Customer Services. Hotels 4U
Conversation: Newport Apartments, Icmeler, Turkey
Subject: Newport Apartments, Icmeler, Turkey


I have just returned from a 14 day holiday in the Newport Apartments, Icmeler. I have to say it was the worse run apartments I have ever seen. Me and my husband were first put in to a basement room, with leaking toilet, curtains hanging down and windows that looked into the room from the pool area. After calling the local rep she did manage to get us to a first floor, room 204, eventually, though we were promised a transfer earlier, but the lady in reception didn't have a clue who was in or out. Initally we were grateful, but we discovered in time that management didn't care about how things were run, and run the place on a shoe-string, No cleaning or change of towels, once in a fortnight, after asking twice. After checking the room on leaving, we discovered they never cleaned behind the bed-side cabinets, there we found a tampon, with a dead spider. The toilet never flushed, we had to use bowls. No warm water in the bathroom, and you were lucky to get a warm shower. No toilet rolls, we had to pinch them. The patio doors were broken, didn't lock. The room was run down, and it showed. No lights on the stairs at all, and I know that one lady fell on a floor above us, even after asking the young lady in reception to put some lights on because it was dangerous, she just asked if I had fallen. The last two days somebody persisted and they had two lights on, one on the second floor and one at the bottom, if you were lucky. No lights on the emergency exit signs. The lady in charge had a total disregard for anybody's welfare and made excuses all the time and at one time they were over-booked and she didn't know where she was going to put people. Loud thumping music was played around the pool area, which drove us oldies indoors, and we never used it again. The pool area was never cleaned, hence cobwebs under the sunbeds. I know a couple of people booked thinking the apartments were near the sea, it is a good 20-25 minute walk. It was a total disaster.

I just wanted to let you know the situation at these apartments, as you could still be booking people in there, and I think they deserve better.

Maria and Peter Herbert
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Uk Travel /Shop/Hotels 4U

Michael And Paula
12 years 8 months ago
To say our stay at this hotel was brief would be nothing short of an understatement. Upon arrival 14 hours late, firstly from a very delayed flight then a transfer from the airport which should have taken 2 hours but some how managed to take a staggering 6! We where greeted by a Turkish man who helped unload the cases from the coach then vainished for ten mimutes. When he returned he had a lady with him who appeared to be half asleep and aslo under the influence of alcohol,she told us that our room was not ready due to people checking out late!!! Please bare in mind we where 14 hours late at this point. When we asked her as to the reason why there was no room ready she tried to say it was because people refuse to checkout until there transfer arrives for them and that it was her first year at running the establishment. All of a sudden two rooms where available neither of which were clean. The first room located in the basement was partially flooded with water from a soil pipe the second room on the third floor was a slight improvement as there was no running water on the floor. As we where exhausted from a grulling delay and transfer we reluctantlly accepted the top floor room,we woke 5 hours later and requested towels from the staff they where very very unhelpful and rude.We had to run round the hotel and look for the maid ourselves and request towels for myself,girlfriend and my three year old son. After closer inspetion of the room we found all the locks on the doors were unsuitable with us having a child ,the two patio doors only had slide locks on them which took my son no time at all to open being on thethird floor these where unsafe. The front door however was a little hard it took him till his second attempt to actually open it and then to be only three feet away from three flights of stone stairs! We checked out of the hotel a short time after that and found ourselves alernative accomadation which we had to pay extra for. The basemant appartments also had a verander area outside them which was not railed off from the ground floor level,this is also a concern to people travelling with children as there is a five foot drop down to this!! I would strongly recommend that people with children not use this appartment as there are a number of very serious safety issues here!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: goldtrail/yesil dalyan

Lisa
12 years 8 months ago
We stayed in the newport for 2 weeks. The apartment rooms were dirty didnt get cleaned very often. The staff was very rude. All the were interested in was playin music very loud. Early hours in the party staff would be arguing with other members glass getting smashed. We had told the staff our views of the way they were behavin like animals. So they didnt speak to us for the rest of the hoilday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Goldtrail

Matthew Celin
12 years 9 months ago
My family and I visited Icmeler Marmaris in April 2007 and went back there in July and stayed at Newport Apartments. I found it on inter net. www.newportmarmaris.com. First I did not know what I was getting, it was very good price so I took it and our vacation was short, a week. Anyhow, when we arrived Newport, we were very surprise.

It was very clean and nice place and service was very good. The people were very friendly. A family was running this Newport.

It was not a business to them, it was a home and we were their friends who were visiting them.

My wife does not like cooking and she did want to cook at all. Even though the apartment had a kitchenette, we did not want to cook even one day because people at Newport were cooking anything we want with a very reasonable price. We were not even bothered to prepare breakfast for one day.

I highly recommend Newport.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: found from their web site

Recommended
J Pratt
12 years 9 months ago
The apartments are for self catering bookings, however in our two apartments that we were in there was very little crockery, cutlery etc. Only one glass no plates and a couple of serving spoons! There was a two plate electric hob and an old microwave which we did not use, there was no kettle either so as far as self catering purposes this was unacceptable.

We were intially given one of the basement flats however we refused to live there as it was like a sweatbox! Very little sunlight and no balcony! When we did ask to be moved we were then moved to an attic apartment. Little bit better but still unacceptable, no shower curtain, no bath mat and dripping taps. The bathroom was very dangerous after shower as all marble floors with no slip mat! The air conditioning was very noisy too.

We had to ask for clean bedding as supposedly the room was cleaned however there was dirty sheets on the bed. We only had one visit from the cleaner in the whole week, i even had to help myself to clean towels from the washing area.
Our second last day we moved rooms into a better room with balcony but too little too late!

The swimming pool only got sunlight from lunchtime, and the majority of the day was spent watching the staff larking about round the pool dancing in your face! and pushing each other in the water, and listening to loud music!!! The staff were constantly in your face asking if you wanted drinks or food, very offputting, this actually encouraged us not to eat at the apartments but to go into the town and eat elsewhere.

Overall I would not recommend these apartments to anyone no matter how much you pay for your holiday, they are badly needing upgraded, and the staff need to be taught how to behave professionally towards their customers.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Right Holidays

Diane Cameron
12 years 9 months ago
We have just returned from a 3 week stay at the Newport Apartments and too be honest it wasnt without incindent!! On the whole we found most of the staff to be very friendly and helpful apart from one.The member of staff who spoiled our first few days of our holiday was continually in our face and would not leave us in peace. Well, he was sacked after a few complaints and the difference in the place after he was gone was unbelievable. Night and day springs to mind!!
No two apartments are the same size and we found the one that we stayed in was ok apart from the taps constantly dripping. Its dripped so much that one night we managed to flood our apartment and the staff took everything under control moved us to another apartment as we had no electricity due to the flooding for the night and they said it was no problem.
We ate in the restaurant a few time and found the food cooked to perfection.
The only downside of the location of these apartments was that while we were there it was the "freak" heatwave, so we found that the Newport to be a bit far out of town to be able to walk to the beach etc comfortablely.
I would just like to mention that our rep only visited us once in the whole time we were there and the boss of the apartments sorted any issue that we had. Our flight was delayed by 24hrs coming home and the boss dealt with all the phone calls to vision to sort out our flight tickets etc. Great guy.
On the whole we had an enjoyable holiday at Newport and we would return again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Vision Holidays

Recommended
Scott Fisher
12 years 10 months ago
We have just returned from our 2nd stay at Newport Apartments, went last year and had to go back again this year, The hotel is out of this world, perfect setting in mountains and is spotlessly clean.

The staff are great and you come home making friends with them all.

It is situated between town center and old village surrounded by the mountains the views are breathtaking, a walk into town takes 10 minutes or the dolmus comes every 10 minutes and a journey of 5 mins cost around 30p.

Icmeler is a lovely resort, try love boat or venice on the canal for a meal and go to dreamboys for cocktails!

I would recommend Newport to anyone as you cannot fault it at all, if you are thinking of booking you will not be disappointed. also take advantage of the flexi dine where you get a breakfast or lunch and a 4 course meal for
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My own

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.