Image of Gokcen Hotel

Gokcen Hotel

20 of 50 hotels in Olu Deniz

4 out of 5 from 18 reviews
3 stars

18 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    7
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Emma London
10 years 2 months ago
On arival at thr hotel we were greated by the entire family. We were made to feel very welcome. The family owned a number of busineses including a restaurant and a taxi ferm for the first few days this was very handy. the family were very good untill we started to want to do our own thing. We were made to feel very unwelcome when we informed them we didnt want to attend the family bbq as we wer going on a trip to a local attraction. We hired out a car and the family didnt seem impressed with this either, infact they stopped speaking to us after this. one lunch time we sat down to get a meal and we were ignored by the family also when we told them we wanted to go in to a near by town for a meal instead of going to the family restaurant we got a very bad reaction. When our transport arived to take us to the airport we didnt get a single good bye from the family, the complete polar opposite of our greeting.
Also bedding was not chaged on a number of occasions and we didnot recieve new towles. There were ants in our room and when we reported it nothing was done.
I would never go back to the hotel again and i would advise others to stear clear also.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: On The Beach

Hannah Clark And David Popplestone
12 years ago
This hotel is very basic and very dated. We stayed for a week half board. We arrived early morning and were starving from a night flight and wanted a nice breakfast. We were greeted by the family, who were polite enough who then sat us down to breakfast, we were given the breakfast menu and started to order a full breakfast and orange juices to then be told that we had to pay for it, turned out that we only got a Turkish Breakfast,which wasnt that nice. We just ate bread every morning. The hotels food is very basic, as half board there was a set menu which didnt change so we had the same dish every night, which wasnt the best food. We could have ate from the menu, but we chose not to spend all our money on there food which was expensive and not nice. The location of the hotel is ok. Down a steep hill and very remote, if you want to get out of the hotel walk up the hill and get the bus from the top of the hill, do not get a taxi, they are way over priced. But you do need to be fairly fit and able to walk up the hill. Although the surrounding areas of the hotel in Olu Deniz and Hisaronu are very nice. The hotel staff are some very srange people, one woman is lovely and will really help you, the rest are just interested in getting your money and were very rude. We did not feel welcome there, at reception there is a sign saying our home is your home, i didnt get that feeling, we felt that we were intruding on their home. The hotel was fairly clean. Our sheets were changed everyday, but not the top cover of the bed. Our bathroom however was digusting, it was obvious that it hadnt been changed since the hotel opened and it stank like a public toilet.The swimming pool are is lovely and a perfect spot for sunbathing,the swimming pool was nice to swim in although on our last 2 days the pool was very murky,whether that was the cleaning crystals or just filth I dont know. If you are looking for entertainment then you wont find it here, there is none,and there was no weekly bbq. We shall not be visiting this hotel again. Although we shall visit Turkey again. With this hotel you do get what you pay for,not alot.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Booked on Teletext

Barry
12 years ago
i have just returned from my third visit to the gokcen,i can only say what i great time i have had again,i can only praise the staff for their friendlyness and politeness, after two weeks it felt that i really had found true friendship, although some staff change every time i visit i can honestly say their respectful approach never changes, being a family run hotel you feel that little bit more thought of, ozlem is the main person at the hotel she is someone you cannot fail to take a liking to she is friendly, funny,at times quite mad [dont play pool against her i lost more times than i can remember it cost me a fortune in ice cream] but i found her to be a great friend even being invited out to dinner with her and some of her friends, could you expect that from any big hotel chain,the waiting staff i found very friendly nothing was to much trouble for them always asking if you needed anything thier approach was one of more of a friend than there just to serve, the hotel was very clean rooms were cleaned every day sheets changed daily, the resturant was spotless as was the pool area, the food menu was very extensive and every meal was well prepared and an enjoyment to eat,bed and breakfast clients were served turkish breakfast which i found pleasent if not different you could have english which was extra but for the price was very big and very filling, drinks at the hotel like any hotel are a little bit more expensive than town bars but i thought not that overpriced, the location of the hotel to some is not ideal as it lies in a valley and is quite an uphill walk to get to the main road but to see the scenery around you especially when you wake up in the morning to see the sun rising over the mountains is all worth it, it is a quiet place and younger people might find it to remote but it is only a short taxi ride to the livelier areas, as i go in the off peak time there was no entertainment at the hotel, to sum up my visit to the cokcern i can only say that i found it friendly, and a pleasent place i cannot wait to go back to
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: own arrangement

Recommended
Steve, Tracy & Kane
12 years 1 month ago
We have just returned from our 7th visit to the Gokcen Hotel and once again have had a wonderful, relaxed and enjoyable time. We can not fault this hotel, the staff and facilities. The pool is clean, the pool area is spacious giving enough space for the kids (and adults) to be in the thick of the fun or removed to quieter locations if desired.

The bar and restaurant are immaculately clean and the service is prompt and friendly. The food from the restaurant during the day and in the evening is of an extremely high standard.

The rooms and bathrooms are comfortable, air conditioned and cleaned every day, bedding and towels replaced at least every 2 days.

The hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct

Recommended
The Bentons
12 years 1 month ago
On our first visit to Turkey and the Gokcen hotel we did not know what to expect.We have just made our 4th visit to the same hotel.There must have been at least six familys weve seen before so this tells you how good it is here.Its a family run hotel and they are always putting them selfs out for you,it never seems to much trouble for them.The staff are very friendly and good fun.For instance we wanted to watch the football it was not on in their hotel so they made two trips in the mini bus so we could watch it some where else and picked us up.It is very clean here and the food is great.They can also arrange all your trips for you and get you a good price.Jeep safari not to be missed.Thanks Ozlem and co. see you next year
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Booked direct

Recommended
Scott Hill
12 years 2 months ago
I really can't understand how anyone can complain about the Gokcen hotel or its staff.

My holiday there really was one of the best I've had had! ALL the family and staff were lovely, and they really could not do enough for you.

Nothing was ever too much trouble. Whoever said the pool and hotel is dirty is so wrong, all the rooms were cleaned daily, and the pool and pool area was spotless. The food in the hotel was gorgeous - and reasonably priced too.

During my stay there, I met so many people there who have returned to the same hotel year after year - I think that says it all.

All the guests who were there at the same time as me commented on how lovely the hotel and staff were, and how they would definitely go back again.

There is nothing I could say bad about this place, no it's not a 5 star luxury hotel - but I doubt you could stay at a 5 star and be greeted with the same genuine, friendly warmth that the hotel owners and staff extend out to everybody.

Thank you Ozlem and co for making it a truely memorable holiday.

See you next year ;-)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: On The Beach Travel

Recommended
Morag Breen
12 years 2 months ago
I think this hotel has by far the nicest,most helpful staff ,i have ever came across.They cannot do enough for you.If you have a problem they wont be long in seeing to it.The food was lovely allthough i would have liked a change in the half board menu sooner than we did.It was a perfect to for visiting nearby Hisaronou, Olu Deniz and Fethiye.Also it is quiet but ideal for relaxation.We found the pool and surounding area spotless.Sunbeds were easy to get too.This is a first for us.Oslem organised a football match with residents and staff that was great fun, a lot of us went as spectators. we were taken in th hotel minibus.Also there was a picnic organised at a pretty beach by Oslem and Zayid(her dad)There was acharge for this but it was great value for what turned out to be a lovely day.The gokcen is far from boring though.As there is allway someone to have a laugh with.Not forgeting the rest of the staffDinja,Osgay and the rest of the boys.forgive the spelling.I felt so at home here we will definitely be back to see the lovely gokce family.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Cambuslang Travel

Recommended
Karen
12 years 2 months ago
We really enjoyed our stay at the gokcen !! The family are really helpful if you need something and are very sociable which made our stay enjoyable. We had some great times at the bar (dincer) The food was delicious and can not be falted. The room was cleaned on a regular basisand the rest of the hotel was spotless. All that I can possibly say is that this hotel lived up to expectations and we will certainly be visiting the gokcen family again!!
see you's soon. (:
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: -

Recommended
Vicki Currie
12 years 3 months ago
the gokcen hotel is a fantastic place to stay to have a chilled out and relaxing holiday. it's the type of place where you feel at home straight away. my family have been going there now for 16 years and look forward to many more happy hols with the gokcen family and their friendly staff the hotel is set in beautiful gardens in a quiet part of ovacik but just down the road there is as much night life as you want.the hotel restaurant which was refurbished recently is well worth a visit the food is excellent and at a reasonable price. the owners look after you as though you are their family, i would recommend this hotel to anyone it's special.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: onur air

Recommended
M.Webster
12 years 4 months ago
Meals in hotel were very good and catered for all tastes. Staff were friendly, helpful all the time. The pool was clean and the whole hotel, appartments and grounds are well looked after. Situated on the edge of the village, it is quiet and secluded, but taxi or dolmus are only a short walk away and it is a comfortable saunter to the centre of the village though transport back is advisable. As we were there in May there was not a lot of entertainment provided in the hotel but in the busy season this is different.Most of other guests were on return visits to this hotel and we are returning in a bigger group in October.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Scottravel

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.