Image of Monaco Spa & Hotel

Monaco Spa & Hotel

55 of 133 hotels in Benidorm

4 out of 5 from 27 reviews
4 stars
Avenida Emilio Romero, 11, 03503 Benidorm, Spain

27 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    12
  • Good
    11
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Jacqui Perkins
Greatly improved
7 years 2 months ago
We decided to go back to the Sandos Monaco, and wow they have upped the ante we have just come back after a fantastic week staying at the Beautiful Sandos Monaco Spa in Benidorm, fantastic staff, spotlessly clean hotel, and food to die for, the choice of food has increased considerably, beef, chicken, duck, salmon etc, grand buffet.

The hotel has improved this year and after 4 visits we will continue to come back, you deserve the status of the 2nd best hotel in Benidorm, I would go as far as to say you deserve to be Number 1, we look forward to our next visit.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jacqui Perkins
Great hotel with friendly staff
8 years 2 months ago
This was our second visit this year, we do not usually return to the same hotel but because of our holiday in March decided that it would be well worth a second visit.

Everything that I said in my March report was the same except unfortunately for the food, the standard had dropped considerably since our last visit, if you like fish, fish and more fish you will be OK. After going on one of the trips we visited a fish auction and we can understand why the hotel had so much fish. Crates of fish were being sold off as cheaply as 50 cents a crate and I personally think so much fish was on the menu because of this.

We ate out a number of times as it is fairly cheap to eat out in Benidorm, but, all in all the hotel and staff were lovely and the hotel was in a perfect location, near to old and new town but far enough away from the noise of the local bars, so go and enjoy the hospitality of the Sandos but perhaps be prepared to go out a couple of times for meals.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
8 years 4 months ago
Woul;d highly recommend this hotel and I hope to return next year
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: lowcostrooms

Recommended
John Newberry
8 years 6 months ago
the monaco is one of the best hotels we have stayed in.It has been fully referbished to a high standard and it fully deserves it,s four stars.[ I give it five].A short walk to the beach,and 15 mins to the old town.The food is well cooked and plentyfull,the best AI we have ever had.The drinks are very good and the bar staff are polite and friendly,I would recomend this hotel to anyone of any age.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Jacqui Perkins
8 years 7 months ago
We have stayed in many Benidorm Hotels over the last few years and found the Sandos Monaco Spa to be one of the cleanest we have ever stayed in.

The all inclusive meant just that, if you wanted premiun brands there was a surcharge, but if you like my husband and myself like Lager,coffee, fruit juices, and soft drinks there was plenty to choose from, obviously if you drink the local spirits you will notice quite a difference in the taste and strength, but everyone to their own.

Hotel food was always nicely presented and if your food was not hot enough there was a microwave that you could use, breakfasts consisted of full english and also continental breakfast was available. I am a very fussy eater but always found something to eat. Luch and Dinner consisted of full menus, plenty of pork and chicken, king prawns, goulash, fish etc

The snacks if you required them were pretty much non existant ie left overs from lunch or dinner.

Location of hotel superb, 5 mins to beach and 10 mins to the old town.

Hotel staff were pleasant and helpful

Entertainment was not very good so it was easier to go to the surrounding clubs and bars, this was the only bad side to the hotel as it was practically non existant.

Would I visit the hotel again, yes I would but If you want the sun ask for rooms that overlook the swimming pool as all the other rooms only get the sun in the morning

One last thing I would say to the management of the Sandos is if you get the balance right on your entertainment you have a cracking hotel that will prove very popular with the Brits

P.S. If you go out of the hotel turn left across dual carriage way and visit the rock star you will get 1 tia maria (triple) cup of coffee and 1 pint of beer for 1 euro 80 cents, cant be bad for less than
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independant

Recommended
Norman
8 years 9 months ago
can't complain about the hotel itself, very clean, staff polite and helpful, only problem we found was the food wasn't to our taste ( not much english choice )
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

8 years 11 months ago
This hotel has been closed for nearly 3 years and only opened a month ago. It is fantastic! The decor etc is 5 star and the food is really good if you like Spanish food (as we do!) I believe the English food was not always hot enough. The Spanish and English food were on seperate buffets. Good expresso coffee on tap, paellas to die for, huge legs of roast veal and churros with breakfast!
The staff were really helpful with English girls on reception and never a queue at the bar. The entertainment was varied and you could watch it all and then go out for more entertainment on your doorstep! The bedroom was very roomy as was the bathroom and all spotlessly clean and comfortable.
We will definately return next year for the Fiesta!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
12 years 1 month ago
We went 2 couples in our 50`s. The only good thing we could say about this hotel were the rooms, everything else was diabolical.

The food wasn`t very nice at all.

Apart from the maids, the staff were quite rude, although one member of staff did say that they weren`t bothered because the hotel was closing down. In one of the gents toilets, the urinals were full, one toilet was marked with faeces for 3 days before it was cleaned, and that was only because we complained. Men were walking through urine that had overspilt onto to floor for the same three days, but they were then going out to the pool area where children were playing.

In the pool area all the bins were overflowing, and when we went down for breakfast they still had not been emptied.

One customer said to us in a joke that she wasn`t going to play bingo as the first prize might be a free week there. She also remarked that she wish she had brought her camera down to breakfast as it was the first time all week she had seen a clean ash-tray. We have taken photo`s of the toilets and the overflowing bins and sent them to our holiday company.

The location was fine, and the rooms were clean, but we didn`t stay in for the entertainment, we also spent money eating out as we didn`t like the food, even though we were full board.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Medinland

Samantha
12 years 2 months ago
The hotel is being refurbished in October and it probably needs it but it really is fine for a cheap package holiday.

Its clean.

The Staff are brilliant and the bar staff are so nice the best we have had on an all inclusive holiday.

We were 2 x 40 year olds 1 x 15 year old a 11 year old and 2 x oaps and all of us thought it was a good holiday.. its all about how you make it.

Don't be put off by what others have said.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sun 4 u

Recommended
Mrs Hanman
12 years 3 months ago
This is a well positioned hotel with good food and friendly people.

It is being refurbished at the end of the year but overall was a good hotel. Would recommend especially when refurbished.

Lots of tables, lounges and chairs and food was lovely. 3 nights of the week there was a speciality night with food.

The lifts were a little small and only 2 but they are going to change that when refurbishment takes place. Excellent holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hello holidays

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum