Image of Monaco Spa & Hotel

Monaco Spa & Hotel

55 of 133 hotels in Benidorm

4 out of 5 from 27 reviews
4 stars
Avenida Emilio Romero, 11, 03503 Benidorm, Spain

27 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    12
  • Good
    11
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
13 years 2 months ago
After reading reports on this hotel was not looking forward to going. The food in the hotel was great and the puddding where out of this world.

The only bad point I can say about this hotel is the size of the pool. The maid cleaned our room every day, and the bar staff where really friendly.

Yes I would go again tomorrow. Had a fab time and the hotel is defo a 8 out 10. Don't know what people expect from cheap package deals.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: 2 can travel

Recommended
13 years 3 months ago
Well, where does one start. This hotel has a right mixture of good/bad points.

here goes!

Hotel Cleanliness: For a 3* star hotel you are never going to expect the ritz but i was quite suprised by how clean the maids do try and keep the hallways and rooms. No complaints. I suppose the only unclean thing i witnessed was a mouse run across the games room (one pool table and darts board)

Food: For all inclusive you need a selection otherwise you get bored of eating the same thing every day. To be honest the food was always hot, had a selection of salads, soups, mains, and deserts and tables are cleaned as soon as you finish. They have carverys some nights and a good selection for vegetarians too. Only downside on food is that whatever you read in the brochures, snacks are NOT AVAILABLE during the day. Now for all inclusive this is something you would normally expect. Bar shuts dead on midnigt everynight and youll be lucky if you get more than two drinks each visit.

Hotel location. 5 min walk from the beach and all nightlife, bars, restaurants a stones throw away.
Downside is that hotel is located along a graffitti alley and this is really offputting. It was for us when we arrived. A lick of paint would improve this so much.

Apart from the bar staff (drunk all the time and hostile) all other staff are great. I think they are like this though because of the abuse they get from stag parties. This brings me to a point that would never make me return to this hotel again. Not because i can fault the hotel but because of the clientel they allow to reside there. Put it this way, with groups of 20 young males all fuelled up with alcohol, there was no room for anyone else to swim in the pool (which is small anyway) and parents always had both eyes on the children because of these idiots. A shame really

Entertainment: Very basic. Bingo every night , and a show. Some are really good, others a terrible.

Overall - good value for money if you get a week under 300 british pounds all inclusive. Just shame about the clientel.

Other thing id like to mention is that the Flamingo Benidorm was overbooked and people were constantly being transferred from there to the Monaco instead.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Medinland (2 Can Travel)

Cath Jolley
13 years 7 months ago
Left a piece of fluff on bathroom floor still there 2 days later .

Clean towels everyday food was passable. They did a good roast beef and another day good seafood meal. Mostly salads, chips and trout was covered in tomato sauce instead of sauce being seperate.

I wouldnt say all inclusive full board with afternoon tea on stale bread. mainly catered for elderly, and it was good not ideal for families with young kids, but it is great for older people I got stuck in lift took 45min for engineer to come. Staff did not ask was I ok when I came out but if it was someone elderly it would be a shock for them,it is being refurbished later this year.

Which will help but Ive been in worst places so I would go again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
D.smith
13 years 9 months ago
Room was clean. Towels changed every day.

The breakfast was the only disappointing aspect of all the meals. If you went early it seemed as though is was warmed up from previous day.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
I Fraser
14 years ago
Hotel appeared to be clean but housekeeping in bedrooms was not to good. On day of arrival saw ash on bathroom floor left it there on purpose and it was still there on day of departure. Also our 2 year old picked a tablet up from under the bed and to cap it all off he crawled under the bed and when he came out he was like a teddy bear with fluff and dirt all over him.

Hotel staff were very freindly and the food was good although a bit samey with the kids menu mainly consisting of smily faces.

The hotel lifts were a nighmare esecially at meal time with a buggy only 2 lifts and they only hold 4 people at most

Entertainment was ok but some of the acts you were laughing at them rather than their act

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sky tours

Marc Davey
14 years 5 months ago
I will never ever go back to the Monica hotel(or Benidorm!)

After we settled in, we went down to the pool area.To our surprise the pool was empty.When I felt the water I could tell why.It was ice cold.Even the kids section was freezing.My 2 year old son was shivering.in the end we had to go to the beach where the sea was warmer.

We went all inclusive and the food was of a good standard. Outside of main meal times was a another story.When you pay for all inclusive you expect certain things for your money,like snacks and ice-creams for kids.But the most you could expect was a bowl of crisps.Which meant we had to pay for food outside the hotel,which defeats the object of all inclusive.

As for the entertainment,what a joke. Bingo every night with ballroom dancing thrown in.All this happened in the main bar area and lasted for about 3 hours.My 2year old son can't sit still for 3 minutes let alone 3 hours! Other guests made some complaints because he was making noise.In the end we had to wait in the room untill he fell asleep or go out.

If you don't want much for your money and you don't like kids,this is the place for you!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Pete & Mel
14 years 7 months ago
After reading previous reports on the Monaco prior to our departure, we were not looking forward to our stay. To our surprise it turned out to be a reasonable break in very clean surroundings.

Due to the amount of people booking in on our arrival we thought it a good idea to use the stairs, how wrong can one be, thankfully we were only on the 6th floor. We used the stairs often as the hotel did appear to be filled with the more mature clientele, but I did have some good laughs about old times with a fair few, maybe the Bacardi helped.

We heard a lot of complaints about the food but to be fair we have had a lot worse in so called higher class hotels. Every evening the chef worked his magic and produced some excellent main dish, from roast beef to salmon and lobster (having my own teeth may of helped).

The cleaners, reception and dining room staff were excellent, but they were sadly let down by the bar staff, who I am sorry to say were extremely ignorant.

Overall I would visit again in winter but not summer.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Mr Mrs Moore
14 years 7 months ago
Hotel Monaco was clean the food was very good and the staff are ok.

Would stop there again.

Frog and toad just down the street was great little boozer.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Recommended
Chris Whalen
14 years 8 months ago
The hotel was very clean,but I,m afraid the food was a bit ropey at times,the breakfast was quite good and one day they did put on all types of seafood which was quite good but apart from that it was pretty bland.

Its location was right between the old and new town and the 3rd street up from the beach.we found the majority of the staff friendly. there were activities on during the day but the night time entertainment was pretty boring so we tended to go out at night which basically defeats the object as regarding all exclusive.

There are only 2 lifts in the hotel so at meal times and change over days they were a trial but if you timed it right there was,not a great problem.

This is the 3rd hotel we have stayed at in Benidorm, the Princessa and the Ambassador being the other two the Princessa being the far better of the three.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompsons

Sue Jones
14 years 8 months ago
The hotel was very clean. Situated in a good spot not far from the beach. The entertainment was very poor if you was under 60 I wouldnt recommend it at this time of year, We were all inclusive but went out most of the time, luckily plenty of entertainment near by.
Food was fair but if you wanted a evening snack it was a small plate of crisps at the bar.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.