Image of California Garden Hotel

California Garden Hotel

46 of 76 hotels in Salou

3 out of 5 from 22 reviews
3 stars
AutovĂ­a de Tarragona a Salou, 43840 Salou, Spain

22 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    9
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Tony C
OK Hotel
5 years 10 months ago
Read a few reports before we went about the noise from the next door disco, but either the reviewers were over sensitive, or the place had shut down as we never really had any bother.

Overall, very much an average run of the mill 3 star Hotel. Very much a cosmopolitan mix of guests - a lot of East European/Russian guests and as such the food on offer reflects the need to cater for all tastes - Don't expect traditional English fare. As other reviewer’s comments, meal times had to be timed just right to avoid queuing.

Rooms etc all kept clean with towels changed every day. Location just right.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Philip Sampson
Good location
7 years 1 month ago
I found the food generally ok, no big surprises, a little bit of the same food, only a different way of it being cooked or presented. The only main thing I found not too good was that you couldn't have tea or coffee with your evening meal. You had to buy water or wine from their hotel bar. The plate's were always wet from coming out of the dishwasher.

The staff were ok, maybe a bit more than ok (except for the room cleaner).

We didn't hear the disco/nightclub, but we did hear of people complaining about it. We were in the sister hotel which is at the other end of the 2 swimming pools, maybe that is why we didn't hear the night club.

It is wise to get aircon while you are checking-in as it is cheaper for 7 days as you only pay for 5 days.

Looking at the hotel, it does look as though it has been and had a re-fit as no wall's or doorways were marked/knocked and no floor's looked worn or damaged.

The location is good as everything is with in 5-15 mins walk depending on what you wanted.

The entertainment is just not worth bothering about -it was so rubbish.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
K Jones
8 years 9 months ago
hi we spent a week in sept payed for halfboard. the food for the most part was ok,breakfast 8.00 till 10.00 go early or expect a line of people normal english, evening meal 6.30 till 9.30 again go early or wait in line. Put somthing on the table or when you come back you will find some body else sitting there. Hotel is in good location bissy road out front and disco club to side, we were on the other side so was nice and peacefull. Decor needs updateing as hotel is starting to show its age ie hard to turn the taps on and off. 3 lifts in our block there is another block, if you stay here you have to come to the front block for your meals.
In general not a bad hotel but would not go back as have stayed in better 3 * in salou
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: t cook

Rebecca
9 years 11 months ago
This hotel is very big and bustling. rooms adequate and clean. the pool area appeared to be quite big but was very busy and although you could get a sunbed the area is very cramped with limited person space around the pool area, also a bit dirty with rubish on the floors, not a relaxing area for childless couples. a lot of the staff did not speak english or appeared to not understand english this was offputting and came across quite rude. the food in the hotel i found very disappointing and ate out a lot. this holiday was cheap and chearfull so we got what we paid for however would not return and rather pay more for better services and food
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: internet

Amy
10 years ago
Me and my boyfriend travelled to the california garden hotel on 28th June, we arrived quite late on the saturday evening so just went upto our room, after checking in with the rude reception staff. Our room was basic but we didnt expect much else from the budget we spent. The next day was the euro 2008 final which spain were in, we watched this in a bar and they won which was great, when we went back to our room at 1am after celebrating we found that someone had broken into our room from the outside ( breaking our balcony door) and had stolen ipod speakers,bag,sunglasses, brand new perfume and some english coins. they had completly overturned our room and when we told the reception about this all they said was " you can stay in this room tonight and make a complaint" they told us they were full.we thought this was disgusting and packed our suitcases and sat in reception, refusing to return to the room, and miraculously they found us a room! but however we had to be out of that room by 9am the next day. they did give us another room on the third floor facing away from the street which was much better. I am very glad we had a safe. defiantly worth paying for! the food was disgusting, we ate out most the time because it made us ill. the maids didnt clean our sheets they just flipped them over! also our room was infested with ants. the pool was clean but very crowded and there was no form of shade whatsoever. The only good thing about this hotel was the location, its 5 minutes away from the beach and shops, which is good. The hotel staff were all rude and didnt know much english, and seemed to be more interested in the spanish guests. We would visit salou again but defiantly not the california garden hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Holiday power

Philipps
10 years 10 months ago
Booked over internet and checked out on holiday truths site all seemed well....
We arrived late due to late flight caused by too many cases on plane (My Travel fault) so missed the first evening meal.
If only we had got this meal we would never have stayed after arrival.
Food bland, overcooked or undercooked, cold when it should be hot and lacking correct variety. Food Hygiene completely negligible. Griddle front caked in hardened grease, same utensils used for raw and cooked meats. Flies on fruit displays above sweet/pudding area (on 4 different days). (We ate out a lot, despite being half board) Other Peoples used dishes put on your table to allow staff to pick up your dishes, Food waste trolleys next to tables. Staff rude, ignorant and surly. Complaints to Management and Reps not followed up.
All travel agent reps in this hotel constantly apologising to customers for one reason or another. Our Rep was very quick to get out complaint form, but insisted on filling them out themselves complete with spelling and grammatical errors.
Pool over-Chlorinated people using pool after 18:30 till after 22.00 at night. Staff member seen using brush he had been using to wash floor around pool (after pouring fluid presumed bleach/chlorine). Pushed child under water and held down with brush. No Sun Shades.
Entertainment very poor.
Rooms basic to the point of needing complete refurbishment.
Night Club next door plenty of noise after 4 in the morning.
This hotel is more like a 1* and this is reflected by calibre of management, staff and I'm sorry to say holidaymaker that goes here.
We have been to excellent 3* hotels in the past and this hotel is not even in their league.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Anna Martin
10 years 11 months ago
Would'nt vistit this hotel again no entertainment whatsoeves unless you like musical chairs.

Nothing for kids to do. Visitors fighting for sunbeds if you wanted a sunbed you had to get up about 6am to reserve your bed and no shading whatsoever by the pool.

Very little english spoken and staff were very ignorant except for reception and cleaning staff.

Noise level was bad both inside the hotel with doors being banged and an all night disco just opposite.

Rooms were kept very clean but quite small not a lot of room to move around.

The food was plentiful but boring with the same thing being served every day.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Jackie
11 years ago
Stayed in the apartments that belong to this hotel California garden apartments. The rooms were cleaned every day towels changed bins emptied.

We were half board and the food was not very good but we did have 2 fussy eaters, I am not a fussy eater and I did not find the food very nice I preferred to eat out.

The hotel staff were nice there is no entertainment you have to go over the road to the hotel but we never bothered we went to other places, you also have to go over the road to use the swimming pool which is a pain.

I would not visit this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: low cost beds

11 years ago
Hotel in a very good location 5 min from beach, near to bars and shops.Food a very good choice from salads to chicken & chips as much as you wanted.

Staff very helpful. Plenty of sun beds no matter what time you went to the pool.

I would reconmend this hotel but it did get a bit busy at the week end but OK.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Recommended
Carly
11 years 11 months ago
We were staying in the smaller block of the two blocks at the hotel.

The maid service was excellent, room cleaned everyday immaculately.

The hotel location was also brilliant, only a five minute walk to beach and resort centre. We thought this hotel was an excellent 3 star hotel with plenty of pool space.

The food in the restaurant was also lovely but we did only eat in a couple of times, but both times were nice. My only complaint about this hotel was the lack of shade around the pool, no parasols and hardly any natural shade.

Overall, the hotel was clean and friendly, and I would recommend it for a 3 star beach break.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum