Image of Belvedere Hotel

Belvedere Hotel

52 of 76 hotels in Salou

3 out of 5 from 23 reviews
3 stars
Carrer del Terrer, 7, 43840 Salou, Spain

23 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    12
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Nell
11 years 1 month ago
it was mine and my boyfriends first holiday together so we were very exited for it to be just the two of us for the week.the hotel was very clean and the location was spot on. fresh towels everyday and bed linen every other. the room wasnt overly big but was fine for just two people, any more then it would be a tight squeeze.

staff were quite friendly and always willing to help if any problems. the food however was apaulling it was cold and didnt really vary much. so we ate out all the time. and stayed out for the entertainment as the hotels was boring. overall the holiday was fun but the food would put us off in the future
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Dallas
11 years 3 months ago
went to hotel with husband sisterinlaw and 3 kids we had a great time staff friendly always something to eat and we are very fussy. rooms cleaned everyday maids friendly and nothing went missing from any our rooms entertainment not up to much to be honest typical spanish entertainment had a fab hol and will go back
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: siesta

Recommended
Lacey
11 years 4 months ago
We traveled to Salou June 12th 2007 staying at the hotel belvedere. Myself and my partner (22) and my daughter who is nearly 2 were traveling. First impressions of the hotel were good.

Large clean well presented reception with large bar area, separate conservatory and multiple seating, very nice. We booked a twin room with a cot but we actually got 2 double beds pushed together and a cot.

Rooms were clean but rather on the small side,not really much room to walk around but we looked as it as a place to sleep so were not to fussed. Bathroom was nice with a lovely power shower over the bath.

We also had a balcony that overlooked the pool which was nice although the glass to balcony isn't very high so young children do need to be supervised at all times. After a few days at the hotel we discovered that we were among a very small minority of English, the rest were all Spanish!!

Apparently we had booked at at the time of "change over" where the Spanish have there holidays but were not told of this prior to our holiday. This really annoyed us as we wanted a family holiday full of English people to relate to, this was not the case.

We found the Spanish to be very ignorant and would often push and shove. A lift of myself, my partner and a pram was often overlooked as empty and a further 6 Spanish would often try to cram us in which made me really mad. Food at the hotel was nice, a good selection although we did notice that it were often the same sort of thing everyday.

Not really a very good set meal for the kiddies, usually chips, nuggets and a cold spag bol type pasta, often cold if you were not the first ones there. Meal times are like London rush hour so arrive early to avoid cold food and long waiting for a seat.

There are a few different sections to the resteraunt. There is a pizzeria where fresh pizza is cooked in front of you and a large griddle in the middle where a chef will prepare and cook fresh fish/meat or what ever is on offer that day.

Breakfast was my best meal time as there were a good selection of cakes, cheeses, fruit, cereal, breads, omelette's ect.

There was an English breakfast on offer although the sausages were hot dogs. Overall i found the food to be very good as i am not a fussy eater but we did struggle to get things down my little girl. My partner was not really amused at the food as he would prefer burgers and English meals but it more worldwide cuisine.

The restaurant staff were lovely and always made you feel welcome. Restaurant itself was large clean and airy. The pools in the hotel are of good size, there is a large family pool and a smaller children's section.

No inflatables or balls are aloud in the large pool for some reason and there is always a lifeguard at hand. You are not aloud to enter the hotel from the pool without full clothing which were a pain for toilet trips for our little girl.

Talking about toilets, the downstairs toilets stunk to high heaven, I have no idea what it was but it was horrid.

Our rep Kelsey were really nice and were always at hand if you needed her. There is also a first choice board in reception with all her visiting times and contact numbers if you need further help. Maid service were very good and we always had clean towels and bedding.

The major downside what we found to this hotel were the entertainment, there basically wasn't any unless you were Spanish.9am-10pm I recall some kind of aerobics but it was full of elderly Spanish people exercising outside to Spanish music.

Nothing goes on through the day, you are left to your own devices. There is a mini disco for kids at about 9pm but again it were all Spanish music and usually Spanish children. We never stayed at the hotel after our first night so I can't comment on what went on although I do believe that they did have a show on as we had seen it elsewhere.

On a night time we chose to travel 3 Min's down the road to the Dorada palace hotel to use the facilities thread hotel was excellent and we actually tried changing but it were full.

Both bars at the hotel are great and the staff were fab, always smiling and my daughter often got freebies. Bar at pool is good, they do serve snacks too.

Hotel is in a fab location, its 5 Min's to the beach and all the shops and is definitely central. Overall the hotel was nice but it were just the entertainment that let it down and the lack of English but maybe that were due to the dates we went, I have no idea.

Anyone who stays here will not be disappointed at the standard of the hotel but like I say, if you want a good lively family hotel, this is not for you.

Hope my views help.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Michelle
11 years 5 months ago
After reading previous reports on the hotel I was worried about staying at the Hotel Belvedere, however we were pleasantly surprised.

The hotel was kept clean and tidy and the pool and surounding area were cleaned every morning before it opened for use at 10am.

The hotel food - Breakfast is ok for pastries, cereal or ham and cheeses, however if you want hot breakfast use the 2 griddle cooks for an omlete or pancakes. The "Hot Plate" is luke warm. Again its the same for your evening meal.

Once we had sussed using the cooks for fresh cooked food it was really nice, its just a case of staying away from the pre-made hot plate food as its definatley not hot! even if you get there dead on 7pm when the restaurant opens, but salads/pasta/rice and deserts are really good.

Bar staff and waiters are really friendly, you'll get an "ola" from the maids - so apart from the older Spanish patrons who are rude and impatient it is a nice atmosphere to be in. Just be prepared for other guests to push in queues, lifts and speak as if everyone is deaf. Even with its shortfall on the food and only having spanish speaking entertainment (apart from kids disco).

I would recommend staying here.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Jenny Precious
12 years 5 months ago
We were in a large college group, staying on a half board basis, which was appalling, the food was disgusting and half of the time it was cold and made you feel ill just looking at it.

It has a good location been just 10 minutes from all of the main clubs, the staff are nasty and stole a large amount of money from our rooms, they have no manners and the reception staff dont seem to want to help if you have a problem.

The room walls are so thin you can hear what the people next door are talking about, and there is no privacy at all, we got followed to our room sa few times by hotel staff and one of them in particular tried to get into one of the rooms.

Would never go back to this hotel and would never advise anyone to go there either. It makes you feel unsafe and wasnt a nice experience, which is a shame as Salou is a good place.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Mr E Thornhill
12 years 5 months ago
The hotel was was in a good position not far away from the resort centre.

Food was average but more or less the same every day.

Most of staff ok but one or two tended to be quite rude. Especially the female security warden who did not appear to enjoy her job very much.

The downside of this hotel is definitely the security of your possessions which seem to disappear when the maid has been in your room. Three rooms together can't all be wrong. Hotel manager cannot see the problems he has with his own staff.

The rep in the hotel was most helpful with our loss and hopefully the problems can be sorted out for other visitors.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Miss K Wood
12 years 5 months ago
We stayed in the Belvedere for two weeks at the beggining of May, the hotel was in a really good position as it was only a 10 minute walk to the Theme park.

The Hotel its self was fairly clean apart from the floors in the rooms, which were filthy (this was discovered when you had walked on the floor bare foot and then clambered into the bed and dirtied the white sheets).

The food was awfull - it was the same things every night, the childrens menu was the worst ever - there was never any English food, as such, for example baked beans to go with things!! The veg was slimey every night and the salad was not washed. We had a particualy bad dinner experience when some awfull German child (who was about 5-6 and wearing a bib) screamed the whole place down and his mum and dad just smiled at him and patted him on the back.

The staff in the hotel were ok, the security guard was always sour faced and there was a particualy rude receptionist who (when thing went missing from our rooms and we complained) told me my room was a disgrace - clearly failing to see that i was packing to go home!! So all my stuff was thrown on the bed.

The entertainment was worse than the food it was always in spanish, we found a good family bar accross the road though with good entertainment and realised on the last 3 days that we could use the hotel across from us so spend the last two nights watching their entertainment (much, much better than ours.

Over all this hotel is not recommended, it was ok for the price we paied but the food, entertainment were terrible and the staff were rude.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

K Jackson
13 years ago
We stayed in october 2005 and although we paid very little for half board was still appaled by the state of the food.to say it was 1/2 cooked would be praise!!!!i had chicken one night that was almost still alive!!!!

rooms seemed to be clean enough no probs there but lots of spanish guests getting up at 6 in the morning and then rowing with there families/friends in other rooms with lots of door slamming and shouting after the 3 rd morning this was resolved.and yes they are pretty rude people which is a surprise as i always find the spanish pretty ok.

location excellent which is the only plus for this place!!!!very near portaventura but do book online here before you go as you will save money.Beach about 15 mins walk but well worth it as its clean and nice to use.the waters fab.

You must visit the titantic bar at the end of the road.Entertainments free and fabulous lots of cabaret and comedy shows and the foods to die for.drinks are well priced.staff are very friendly and chatty,all english.Well priced 4 course brekkie for all those hungry people not wanting to eat raw food.plus they show film in the afternoon.

I have been to salou 5 times and this is the only BAD hotel i ahve stayed in.i love salou as its so much to do and see.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Sally Burnett
13 years 1 month ago
After reading reports on the Belvedere I was a little worried what it was going to be like but I needn't have worried, the hotel was clean, the food was excellent and the chefs were great.

My daughter who is 14 and her cousin who was 16 got on great with them my only gripe was that the pool was to cold but the kids loved it and were allowed to take any inflatables in we had a great time and would go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Hancock
13 years 2 months ago
Food was a means to eat nothing fantastic just like school canteen but canteen probably better. cleanliness of the place was excellent. Location was terrible nothing lively going on anywhere. The staff need to learn to smile and have some manners they looked as though they really did want to be doing anything. Entertainment was terrible there was none.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum