Image of California Garden Hotel

California Garden Hotel

46 of 76 hotels in Salou

3 out of 5 from 22 reviews
3 stars
AutovĂ­a de Tarragona a Salou, 43840 Salou, Spain

22 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    9
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Jane
13 years 3 months ago
Arrived at 2pm.
Reception staff very polite and helpful.

We had two rooms both on the side overlooking the road,very quiet at night even though there was a nightclub down the road.

Food was a bit repetitive, chicken beef or fish.

Hotel very clean.

Always sun beds available.

Entertainment was ok through the day but we did not stay in the hotel at night.

I would visit the hotel again because of the location, about five minute walk to the beach.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Ferris

Recommended
Jade
13 years 3 months ago
Our stay at this hotel was very pleasant. The rooms were cleaned everyday the staff were very friendly and the pool was also great.

The entertainment during the day lacked abit but you have Portaventura, Costa Caribe and Aquapolis just around the corner and the beach within a 5 min walking distance.

The entertainment at night was good for the little ones but if you want the waiters to bring your drinks to the table then don't expect alot of change as they like to take a good tip without asking.

The food was quite repetative and with me being a fussy eater I didn't like much of it but the rest of the family enjoyed it.

The only downs about our holiday was that on the second day my partner had a shower and the bathroom ceiling fell threw flooding the whole room. We were moved very quickly and the staff were very apologetic.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Recommended
Caroline
13 years 4 months ago
My partner and I stayed in this hotel for a week and thought it was a brilliant hotel.

The location is excellent and is not even a five minute walk to the beach, bars and restaurants. The food is served by buffet and there is a wide range of hot and cold food.

We found the staff very helpful and friendly and they always tried there best to help. The 2 pools are very clean and there are plenty of sun loungers available.

The entertainment is average but still very good for a three star hotel. we are actually coming back to this hotel in a few weeks time but with my boyfriends teenage sister so I do recommend it for all ages.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Recommended
MRS DYER
14 years 1 month ago
We arrived at the hotel 3 o'clock in the morning!

From the outside the hotel looks really nice! When we arrived up to our room, we were pleased with what we got. (3 beds in 1 room) There wasn't much space, but it was comfortable. Our room was also looking over the swimming pool, we also have television in the room when MTV & CNN, which came in useful in the evening.

The swimming pool was freezing all the time, but it soon woke you up.

Food was OK for the 1st week, but into the 2nd week it became boring, as we had the same thing day after day (chicken, rabbit & fish!)In the 2nd week we found a restaurant called the Titanic, who serve excellent food, and it is only a 2 minute walk from the hotel.

The hotel staff were OK, didn't speak much English, except the reception staff who spoke the most English.
Cleaners were very good, again spoke no English.

Entertainment wasn't brilliant, wouldn't recommend with children, as they would soon get bored.

The location of the hotel was brilliant, just on the outskirts of town (town was a 5 minute walk away). Porta Ventura was a short journey away, you could walk or catch the wolly train for 2.50 euros.

The water park was in Cap Salou, again you can reach this by the local bus for 1.25 euros. The dolphin show and the seal show in the waterpark is a must see.(all included in the price)

I wouldn't visit this hotel for 2 weeks again, because of the food, if it was self catering then I would.

I went on my holiday with my husband and his best friend, we are all aged between 22 and 26.

Our Thomas Cook rep. was brilliant, very helpful. We done 1 trip through our rep., which was a trip to Barcelona, which is definitely a must, really enjoyed it, went shopping in Barcelona for 5 hours, then we got taken to the fountains straight after, which was excellent.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: THOMAS COOK

Emily
14 years 3 months ago
When we arrived the hotel and our room was clean and well presented, however was only cleaned for the first and last 2 days and for some reason it was not tended to for the middle 3 days. However it was spacious enough and accommodated our needs.

The food was well presented and clearly alot of effort had being put into the preparation of it, however they was not alot we liked, definitely more for the adventurous eaters!!!

The location was excellent, a 5 minute walk to the main front, with plenty of English and Irish bars on the way!!

The staff were fine, apart from some of the receptionists which were rather miserable and it seemed an effort for them to get up from their chair!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Smyth
14 years 4 months ago
We stayed at the California gardens apartments and we found it a very enjoyable holiday.

The food was very good and the accommodation was clean but basic.

The only downfall about the apartments was that you had to cross the main busy road to get to the pool, which was not heated and was always freezing.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Recommended
Johnstone
15 years 2 months ago
We enjoyed our stay but thought the entertainment and childrens facilities were poor, the staff were very surly and were always wanting a tip. The pool and the rooms were clean but basic. The best thing about this hotel is the location, would visit Salou again but not in this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

15 years 3 months ago
If you are thinking about going to this Hotel - don't!
Certainly does not warrant 3 stars. The food is appalling - cheese mouldy/flies on food/stew full of bones, totally inedible. Mini golf and playground dangerous, would not pass Health & Safety standards in England. Hotel not geared up for British tourists, every nationality going. Entertainment was a joke. Accommodation a joke 4 of us crammed into a standard twin room, not enough room to open the wardrobe doors when the camp beds were down. Only good point is towels were changed every day and the pools were clean. Take heed of the above, don't be tempted by a cheap deal!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

John
15 years 3 months ago
the hotel is in need of refurbishment. room lighting poor an no temp. control for the air condioning.rear of the hotel overlooks a building site, pool side aspect is adjacent an all night disco, and its very noisy. staff are generally surly, the waiters seeking tips.the food was edible if not interesting. the location is good, quick access to the beach, shops etc.port adventura is a short (10 mins) walk away.
facilities are generally poor in the hotel, ie no water machines,poor info.for families with children the pool area is fine,but little organised activities for children. the entertainment was very poor.We would not stay in this hotel again.in fact we spent a lot of our time in a nearby hotel which was far superior to california garden.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Johnson
15 years 4 months ago
Rooms were basic and small, one room had camp bed for child - no room for anything esle. Staff were generally quiet and never smiled. Equiptment in gent's broke the whole seven days and was not fixed.No entertinment unless you like performing parrot's and spanish singers.
Pool was clean for kids and rooms were cleaned out every day.Resort lovely.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsom

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.