Image of Golden Donaire Beach Hotel

Golden Donaire Beach Hotel

5 of 76 hotels in Salou

4 out of 5 from 79 reviews
3 stars
Salou, Aragó, 2, 43480 Salou, Spain

79 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    35
  • Very Good
    33
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Azz & Caz
Few good points, quite a few bad ones
7 years 1 month ago
The good the bad & the ugly follow:-

The good:-
On the beach, walk out of the main revolving door up a few steps and your on a great beach. Cheap and cheerful 3 star hotel.

The bad:-
No beach towels.
Walls in room are paper thin, you can here it all through these walls.
Room very dated, wonky chair, small room.
Shop side rooms seem to be the quietest.
Entertainment side room has pillars obstructing your view, not good, like a working mens club.
Staff are hit and miss.
Pool not heated freezing cold.

The ugly:-
Fridge is 5 euro a day.
Safe is 20 Euro a week.
The food is luke warm, poor bland rubbish.
Bread rolls are left overs from the previous meal.
Look out for the mouldy rolls.
Soup is like dish water.

Three star hotel, three star standards don`t expect the Ritz.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Aurum
Basic rooms, but top class facilities
7 years 2 months ago
Although the rooms are very basic in this Hotel, nearly everything else is top class for the very reasonable cost of a stay here. Friendly staff make sure you are going to enjoy your stay with good public rooms and facilities. A good selection of food for both breakfast and evening meals. I think you would be a very picky eater if the food did not come up to standard for all in your party.

Step out of the front entrance of the Hotel and you are right on the beach, so nice a safe for children. A lovely prom walk from the hotel into Pineda, Cap Salou or even Salou itself. If walking isn't your thing a brilliant Bus Service is only yards from the Hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Rob
Very Accommodating
7 years 4 months ago
Went to this hotel in July with 3 adults and I teenager (15). We have been to this hotel on previous occasions and have found the rooms cleaned every day.

The food they is something for everyone my niece is very picky with her food and she managed to eat ok. We went on a half board bases. Location of this hotel is very good right on the beach.

Entertainment is very goods that to Jackie and the rest of her team for making it a great tome. Weather was really good. We did have a problem with the room we were allocated on arrival. But went to reception and spoke to Karen and her team, who were very helpful. And they did get us a move a few days later.

Anything the customer asked for hotel did the upmost to accommodate. We had a great holiday. And we were going to try somewhere else next year. But since we had such a great time in La Pineda we are definitely going back to the Donaire next year. Can’t wait till 2012!
Recommended
Yvonne Hudson
Fantastic holiday with great staff, food and location.
7 years 4 months ago
My family visited the Golden Donaire Beach Hotel, for two weeks.

It was one of the best holidays I've had. There was a wide range of activities throughout the day for everyone to participate in and in the evening. Every evening there was a mini disco for the young children, followed by some sort of show. The staff in the hotel were very considerate and you could easily talk or have a laugh with them. They were very friendly and supportive, especially during daytime activities.

The food in the hotel was good, and I enjoyed every meal I had, and so did the rest of my family. There was a wide range of things to eat, and there was never a night when someone didn't eat anything.

The location of the hotel was the best I've seen so far. You cannot get a much better setting than this. The hotel was right next to the beach and only a 10 minute walk from the local shops. The buses ran every 30 minutes so there was no trouble getting to where you wanted to go.

I would definitely stay there again, no question about it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Carol Purdy
Everything was excellent
7 years 6 months ago
I went on holiday with my boyfriend. We went to Golden Donaire Beach in La Pineda in Spain.

We went half board and there was plenty of choice for breakfast and tea.

The rooms were extremely clean and loads of space.

The hotel was right next to the beach.

There were a few lifts but very slow. We were on the 7th floor and sometimes it was quicker to walk down the stairs than wait for the lifts.

The buses were good to hop on and came every 30mins so if you wanted the nightlife it was only a bus away or a bit of a walk.

The staff at the hotel were brilliant, very friendly and reception spoke English. The reps were fantastic. We booked 2 trips with them and it was very good. We also went on the local bus which was also good.

There was a show on every night - fantastic! We did not have children but there was plenty to keep them occupied with all the activities going on.

I read the reviews before I went on holiday and it was all true as in everything was excellent!

The only thing my guy said about having dinner at night was he could not get a cup of tea with his dinner, only soft drinks or alcholic drinks.

I would go back to the hotel again, maybe next year. the weather was very hot too.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Nora & George
8 years 5 months ago
We have just returned from the Hotel Golden Donaire after spending two weeks there. The location is brilliant, right on the beach. The hotel is spotless and the staff really work hard. The food is really good and plenty of variety. Staff are friendly, polite and ready for a laugh.

We spoke to quite a number of people who had been there for the past three or four summers and they were full of praise for the hotel.

I have already started looking into prices for 2011 and usually we don't like to go to the same place twice. Next year this hotel will be all inclusive. We would definately recommend this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Skytours

Recommended
Lyn And Violet
9 years ago
this was our 6th visit to this hotel,
it hardly ever changes,
its like home from home,
the maid missed sweeping our balcony for 2 days but they have a really hard job keeping all the rooms clean every day,
the hotel food was good with a wide variety of meat, veg and fruit,
with the hotel right on the beach it it ideal for all ages,
i learned a few spanish frases before i went and
i found all the staff very friendly when i spoke spanish to them,
the entertainment wasnt very good this time, only 2 good nights out of 7, but i wouldnt let it put me off returning again next year,

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson/sky tours

Recommended
Denise
9 years 1 month ago
just got back from donaire thought the hotel was a very good three star. location is brill food is good very good family hotel.down sides are no brollies around pool and two rooms were robbed while we were there. back to good points reps are best we have had on holiday gave us lots of info. buses are very good too stop right by the hotel.went into salou but lapanida is far nicer
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Jones
9 years 2 months ago
We have just returned from a fabulous 2 week stay at this great hotel. The location was amazing. I travelled with my husband, my parents and two children aged 8 and 5.
We had 2 rooms next door to each other on the 1st floor with excellent views over the beach. On arrival we were slightly concerned because the bar was also located on the same floor. However, we had no problems with noise or disturbances for the whole fortnight.
The rooms were comfortable but basic and could really do with an update. The maids came, made beds and provided clean towels daily. We had a huge balcony as it was a corner room so that was a bonus.
The pool area was the only disappointment really. Besides having to get up at the crack of dawn just to have the chance o a sun bed,It was just not child-friendly enough!
My 8 year old had no problem because she swims like a fish, but my 5 year old son is just starting to swim and could only just about stand up in the shallow end. There is a children's pool but this is far too small. The pool area is also very slippy and this caused a lot of accidents,including a trip to hospital for one boy during our stay. But the Jacuzzi is lovely!
The food is plentiful with lots of choice-even for picky children.
Everything about this resort is so expensive and the hotel is no exception. The food and drink is extortionate! They even put all the prices up in our 2nd wk as we went into August - Atrocious!
Hotel entertainment was very good-especially Jaqueline who has pots load of energy and gets lots of willing people invloved in activities.
Evening entertainment was much as you would expect but the Abba tribute night and Chinese acrobats were particularly good.
My kids both went to the Thomson kids clubs and were very happy with their sessions - however i feel the facilities were very poor, and the reps were pretty non-descript!
With an amazing beach literally on your doorstep in a fab location, this hotel really is lovely.
We would have no hesitation in returning here again and again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Skytours

Recommended
Williams
9 years 2 months ago

The Golden Donaire Beach Hotel in La Pineda was fabulous. We had a 3-bedded room on the 7th floor with fantastic panoramic sea views and a pool view. The room was cleaned daily and the towels were changed whenever we required them to be.

Located at one end of La Pineda with just a leisurely stroll into the resort for shops, bars and restaurants. Perfect for the beach too, not even a road to cross.

All the staff were friendly and the day/evening entertainment more than adequate.

The food was delicious and plentiful, the restaurant bright, clean and airy.

If I was to make one complaint then it would be the 'Brits' saving sunbeds... what a nightmare! I have no objection to people putting their towels on 1-2 sunbeds but saving 6-8 was ridiculous!!! I realise that there were some large family groups staying but as the children were mainly in the pool and the grandparents in the shade, I feel perhaps 2 or 3 between them would have been adequate. Even worse, those who saved the sunbeds at 8am in the morning but spent the day at the beach or waterpark before returning late in the afternoon.... selfish!!!

We spent 2 days at Aquopolis Water Park and Port Aventura Theme Park (2 for 1). Both booked through the reps which enables easier entry to the parks. Great fun but expensive.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: SkyTours

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum