Image of Playa Park Hotel

Playa Park Hotel

3 of 76 hotels in Salou

4 out of 5 from 28 reviews
3 stars
Calle Vendrell, 1-3, 43840 Salou, Spain

28 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    12
  • Very Good
    15
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
11 years 3 months ago
We stayed at the Playa Park over Easter.

The staff are really nice at this hotel, especially the receptionists. We asked to be moved on the second day of our hoilday because our room was right next to a lift. Despite the hotel being almost full, the receptionist found us another room.

The hotel was very clean. Although our towels were changed daily (except on the last-but-one day of our stay), they never changed our sheets. I usually made the beds myself (out of habit)in the mornings, so maybe that's why they didn't bother to change the sheets.

I really enjoyed the buffet breakfast and evening meals at the playa park. There was a huge choice of food. They cater for all tastes. During our stay there was a Mexican night, which was really good as I like spicey food.

The Playa park is next to a really nice beach and a short walk to the shops.

The entertainment was all in Spanish. Not surprising really considering 99.9% of the guests were Spanish (British tour op; don't use this hotel during the winter)Ironically, the entertainment team were Spanish speaking Brits, LOL

If I ever go back to Salou again, I will definitely stay at this hotel again. I highly recommend it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended
Powell
11 years 9 months ago
We have just returned from a great holiday in Playa Park.

I have no complaints about this hotel or resort and would recomend it to any family.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: go2spain

Recommended
Mrs C McPherson
11 years 11 months ago
I went to the hotel on a half board basis. Before we choose the hotel we looked on this website and found great reviews all of which I can't disagree. The only thing I would like to set straight was that on one review some one gave the hotel a poor grade because their was no mashed potato well I have to say that there was when we were there.

The food was always of a high standard the chefs were always bringing out fresh food for the hot plate. There was a great variety we had everything from chicken fajita to donner kebab salad fresh fish roast beef to name a few.

The room was cleaned on a daily basis and we were given fresh towels.

The hotel might not be great for people with mobility difficulties as their is a walk to the main shops. Having said that the bus stops right outside the hotel door.

There are some great bars etc just 1 min walk from the hotel. We had stayed close to the hotel before and liked the location it is perfect for people who want a good base. With easy access to the hustle and bustle of Salou but don't want it to close that when you want to relax you can't for the noise.

The entertainment seemed good there was plenty of organised activities during the day if you wanted to take part. I would come back to this hotel.

I would also like to share that if like us you enjoy going out and doing trips etc. Then you don't have to go through your rep. one of Salous bus companies run tours to Barcelona for shopping etc or you can go on one of the tours to Barcelona zoo/nou camp/aquarium we went on two different trips we used them to go to the zoo it cost us 28 euros for an adult were Thomson wanted 59 euros per adult. They were very well organised we got picked up from the hotel and dropped back of their. your ticket for the zoo was included in the price we had 4 hours in the zoo then we were picked up and taken to the centre of Barcelona to do some shopping we were given 2 hours for this.

If you are interested in doing this ask at reception and they will tell you how to get the ticket's the company is bus planna their is ticket booth's in the town centre you cant miss them.

Also they run a bus to the bonavista market on a Sunday for 4.10 euros they pick you up at the bus stop right outside the hotel and drop you off here again.

If you want to take in a great show their is a show called the house of magic in your ticket price you get free drink all through the show well worth going to see we had a great night.

If you are thinking about going to the theme park while you are their it is worth buying your tickets before you go we paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Robbo
12 years 1 month ago
Half Board cost me an extra
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Ryan Air/Findrooms.com

Recommended
Jacqui Weeks
12 years 2 months ago
If like ourselves you are travelling with young children independently, avoid flying to Barcelona as we found the train transfer from Barcelona Sants Station to Salou a nightmare!

When we arrived at the hotel they had made a mistake with our reservation (8 people in 1 room)! but this was quickly resolved, though we did find the reception staff quite rude.

We found our stay very pleasant, staff in general were extremely pleasant and helpful and the kids adored Chris and Lara (entertainment team).

Overall we would recommend this to families although I should imagine the SMALL pool and surrounding area would become very congested. Beaches nearby are fantastic though getting too them is a bit tricky due to the large amount of steep steps.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independent

Recommended
Bob And Kay Etheridge
12 years 9 months ago
We have just returned from this hotel, and what a great place.

The hotel was spotlessly clean, a cleaner was outside the front at 5:30 in the morning brushing leaves up off the road.

The food was absolutely fantastic, different every night and plenty of it. Different themed nights, Mexican, Italian, Spanish etc.

The location wasn't too bad, at the top of a not too steep hill. The beach and the shops are a 10 minute stroll away.

The staff were great, always eager to please.

One fault has to be the entertainment, what we seen was o.k but it wasn't on every night, maybe the time of year had something to do with it.

Sinatra's is good just a short 2 min walk from the hotel.

We would definitely return to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airborn direct

Recommended
Chris & Jenny
12 years 9 months ago
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Golden Playa Park, Salou.

You could eat as much or as little as you liked from the excellent and varied buffet on offer. Only minor things were a let down like sausages not cooked to English standard and we couldn't get on with the sweetness of the toasting bread, but, still, not enough to mark the food down. I suggest you eat as early as possible.

The staff were always helpful and friendly even if their command of English was poor. The chambermaids were thorough but unobtrusive.

Our sea view was superb.

While we were there an electrical storm knocked out the power but the hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Golden Playa Park
12 years 10 months ago
Yes, Hotel is very clean.

Food was only average, repetitive foods, especially pork.

Bus stop outside, plenty of shops, pubs doctors, cash machines etc.

Staff good with kids, english language was average.

Entertainment most nights, good selection for everyone. But the noise can get abit loud sometimes and I was on 6th Floor.

Yes I would return to this hotel but go self catering.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
Elaine
12 years 11 months ago
Hotel is very impressive - a grander impression than what we expected from a 3 star! Spotlessly clean, superb service.

Eonderful food in all you can eat buffet breakfast and evening meal.

Entertainment every night and well placed - we visited local beach - a lot of steps but much nicer than main Salou beach, Port Aventura, Salou and Barcelona to name but a few.

All round excellent holiday!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Skytours

Recommended
E. Taff
12 years 11 months ago
This hotel was outstanding right from the moment we arrived. It is impressive far beyond its 3 Star status, large, spotless and beautifully laid out and presented.

The rooms, if a bit on the small side, were well decorated, cleaned every day and both attractive and clean.

The staff were helpful and courteous at all times.

The meals were fabulous with plenty of choice to feed even our 3 young picky eaters.

We felt thoroughly looked after for the whole duration of our stay and would definitely recommend it to anyone else.

Our only complaint was the 163 steps down to the beach (we counted!!!) but well worth it as it is much smaller and less busy than Salou main beach.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum