Image of Elif Hotel

Elif Hotel

70 of 113 hotels in Icmeler

4 out of 5 from 44 reviews
3 stars
Cumhuriyet Mah Istikilal Cad No 6 48720 Icmeler, Marmaris, Turkey

44 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    11
  • Very Good
    19
  • Good
    9
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Kerry Sue Wendy Ian
11 years ago
kerry,sue,wendy,ian have just returned from 14 nights stay at the elif hotel,the hotel is very basic and could do with some serious investment to bring it up to a reasonable standard having said that the views from all the rooms make it an ideal location,the staff inside the hotel do there best especially the cleaner who works extremely hard from very early till very late unfortunately she can only do so much with the dated rooms,having stayed here two years ago we didnt have any drinks or food there then due to the constant hassle from the people who ran the bar area what a total trasformation this year the bar is run by mehmet who totally made our holiday he is undoubtedly one of the funniest men we have ever met,his staff include antonio who is mehmets right hand man,younnis,alex ahmed better known as frank,and a special mention for kori,we spent lots and lots of time there and all the staff were fantastic we have been told that mehmet and antonio wont be at this hotel next year rest assured that we will track them down they are certainly the most honest genuine people we have met in the past few years of going to icmeler so once again thanks to everyone for making our holiday and mehmet we hope your limping wife is ok and antonio watch out for the gypsies.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Zoe
11 years 2 months ago
we stayed here bed and breakfast we love icmeler have been 3 times before this is the worst hotel i have ever stayed in .the rooms where ok but only cleaned round every thing The light where broken and hanging off the wall the bathroom floor had a hole in it the showers where horrid the shower curtian hanging down and dirty. The breakfast was set out at 8am and left in full sun till 10am nothing got cleaned after breakfast.The sunbeds where broken and dirty the childrens pool had weeds growing out of the side sunbeds did not move in 2 weeks to be cleaned under broken glass was just picked up but not swept the cleaning of the pool was done once with an ashtray of salt tiped in to it and then a tiny ice bucket from the bar was dipped in to the pool and then thay only washed down one side then brushed with a dirty brush and that was the cleaning done we had a great holiday but ate out every night and most mornings it was great having sunbeds on the beach and most of the staff where ok and helpfull but we would never stay here again i wish i could post pictures on here a diabolical hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: travel republic

Steve & Lesley
12 years ago
This is an updated review from my previous one in May as I feel the hotel has gone down hill considerabley.
The breakfast was a joke this time with hunt the clean cup and finding a butter portion that was not rancid, The pool area was disgusting with a dangerously rusted and sharp manhole cover right by the pool edge and lots of ctracked and broken tiles. The kiddies pool was mouldy and black around the plastic edging with weeds growing out of them, the adult pool on the last day was so cloudy you couldn't see the bottom, after a few complaints to the rep they cleaned the pool area and added chemicals to the pools. The rooms are still very basic but are kept as fresh and clean as they can be(unless of course the male staff were using them for their night activities which they did!) by the fabuolous cleaner girl who always had a smile and a hello for you. It was like some of the staff knew the season was coming to the end, were not bothered and just wanted to go home.
This hotel needs some serious maintenance before next year (or a bulldozer) so NO we won't be going back there again as for a few pound more you can stay in better places, oh and a tip for the managers BUY SOME LIGHT BULBS!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Pea And Bea
12 years ago
This holiday was an extra week we squeezed in this year having stayed in icmeler in june/july. we love the place and have stayed in many of the hotels. The elif is well placed, very basic but clean. The lovely friendly lady who cleans the rooms was so pleased when we gave her a tip for all her hard work. The view is excellent. The other members of staff were friendly but not overly so - I think being late season they were longing to go home. The weather was brilliant - very hot for october (we left all the vile english weather behind) We found some of the bars prices rather high ie Local beer was cheap but spirits were expensive
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: freedom direct

Recommended
Mr Sam Vickers
12 years 1 month ago
This was a basic but clean hotel. Air con was free, maid service provided every day. All the staff friendly.
The restaurant/pool side staff are absolutely outstanding,fantastic fun every night, they are brilliant at their job and aim to make your holiday memorable. They are wonderful with kids and adults alike and completely made our holiday.
We had 3 birthdays in our party while we stayed here and the staff went out of their way to make each memorable, they provided fireworks, decorations and even a belly dancer!
Their turkish night was fantastic, loads of entertainment and even a camel turned up!
If you don't stay at the Elif you should at least go along for a meal and experience the hospitality of Ferhat, Hussain, Robbie, Tiny, Joseph, Yuksell, Spikey, Sergio and all the other guys who work so hard. We had a very emotional send off from the Elif and felt we had made friends for life with these wonderful guys.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Goldtrail

Recommended
Julie @ Steve
12 years 1 month ago
well what can i say we had a fabulous holiday made very special by Ferhat, Robbie,Hussein,joseph, sergio and "The Boss"our ace barman(well spiky). The Hotel was friendly and very clean and well situated by the beach in a fabulous scenic location. The Bar made our holiday and Turkish night was great.will return again.thanks to special people
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
Terry
12 years 2 months ago
Stayed at this Hotel and we were a bit unsure after reading last years comments but had a fabulous holiday staff were very friendly hotel was very clean but basic. Would like to say a big thank you to Uksel,Junior Robbie, Huseyin and Ferhat for making our stay.
Location of hotel excellent would certainly stay here again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
12 years 3 months ago
This is about the 10th visit to the hotel and I must say it has improved since last year the hotel is basic but very clean and staff friendly towels and sheets changed often and maid service every day. The best change is the attitude of the bar staff which you have to pass through to leave the hotel over the past years it has been hell to pass them they would follow you and try to insist you ate there and attended the turkish night i used to slip through a gap in the wall to next hotel to miss them but they bricked it up last year but what a change this year there was just a friendly hello or goodbye from them and I was only asked once for the turkish night when i said I didnt want to go to it this was accepted and I wasnt asked again. We had a few drinks and a snack each day but as we have lots of friends in Icmeler we didnt eat there at night and they were fine about it. The bar seems to be owned by the hotel owners now and is nothing to do with Blue Rainbow next door what an improvement I must say we will be returning in September.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Claire
12 years 3 months ago
Read the reviews from last year about this hotel and was very concerned about the comments regarding the attitude of the restaurant staff and the general state of the hotel, fortunately the hotel and restaurant have changed hands and it could not be more different!

The hotel was fairly basic but clean with a lovely pool and free air conditioning. Breakfast again was pretty straight forward bread, jam, eggs etc again pretty standard. It's right on the beach so is in a great spot.

What really made the holiday for us were the staff. From the first day everyone made an effort to get to know you and they we were amazed how they seemed to know everyone, remembered names and everything about people. They were chatty round the pool and were just genuinely keen to be friendly. We had no intention of spending most of our holiday around and about the hotel but we ended up drinking regularly in the bar at some point of most nights, had lunch there most days and a few evening meals as it was easy and the food was excellent! There is no formal entertainment as such except for the Turkish night however we often ended up with impromptu dancing from the staff and anyone they could drag out of their seats! The Turkish night was a good night and we were also there for the football semi final which they sadly lost but the atmosphere was great, especially as half the guests around the pool had been roped in to blowing balloons up all afternoon!

I would recommend the hotel to anyone really there was quite a mix of guests of varied age ranges and some families everyone mixed in well the staff behave the same way with everyone and all seemed to be really fond of the kids.

The current management and staff are aware of last years poor record and most of them remember the reputation from working in other hotels and bars that year and are making a huge effort to turn it around.

I think they are doing a great job and want to say a massive thanks to them all especially Ferhad, Robbie, Huseiyn and Musti for a fantastic holiday, can't wait to go back!!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Casey
12 years 3 months ago
After reading bad reviews on this website, I was really concerned about our stay at Elif however from the moment we arrived at 5 in the morning we were met with nothing but friendly faces and helpful staff. Al on reception met us at the end of the road and carried our bags into the hotel and then into our rooms which allowed us our first peek at the stunning views from the pool area out onto the ocean.

Three of us shared a decent sized room which was clean and came with free air conditioning. The beds were made daily and floors cleaned with new towels every few days. Although the rooms are basic they were more than comfortable for our week long stay.

As as been detailed below, the restaurant and hotel are under new ownership and new management has been brought in. Over the weeks stay we spoke with most if not all staff working in either the hotel or restaurant/bar and I have to say they are all lovely. Nothing is too much trouble and you feel their main focus is to make sure you have a good time. They are all very chatty and friendly but never pushy or in your face.

The staff really made our holiday and we spent a lot of time around the pool and eating or drinking in the restaurant. Every meal we had was to a very high standard (I would recommend the Fish in Rock salt to all fish lovers). The entertainment was also excellent, we stayed for the Turkish night in the bar which was very good fun and we spent a few other nights either drinking and chatting with the staff or eating meals with other guests. The staff have really worked hard at creating a fun yet relaxed atmosphere which they have got spot on. I would also like to say a big thanks to Huseyin, Junior Robbie, Ferhad and Musti (aka Tina) for a wonderful holiday.

All in all we had a fantastic holiday and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.