Image of Gran Bali Hotel

Gran Bali Hotel

89 of 133 hotels in Benidorm

3 out of 5 from 60 reviews
4 stars
Calle del Actor Luis Prendes, 4, 03502 Benidorm, Spain

60 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    24
  • Good
    16
  • Average
    16
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Jean Phipps
14 years 8 months ago
Arrived at the hotel and was very impressed with the building and the inside, the rooms were ok if not average for a four star hotel, the food was ok with a good choice but the food was rather cold.

The location of the hotel was good with buses nearby. the hotel staff were rather rude and did not want you to ask for anything at the reception. I would not use this hotel again as I have stayed in better three star hotels with polite staff. Any other time we go to Benidorm we will go back to the hotel pelicanos/ocas as it is a much better hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Own booking

A Barnes
14 years 10 months ago
Checked into this hotel independently from within Benidorm. Was ok for money paid. However, it certainly does resemble being in Liverpool Street Station.

Downstairs dining room was closed and the tables pushed together so close you could not get a table for two. Food always cold no matter what time you went in. Fresh fruit was the plus. Everything else mediocre.

You had to get your own drinks. Charm thin on the ground anywhere. One minute your plate was being removed before you had finished at other times, your plates just left to pile up. Push and shove cattle market style - it was awful.

Hoards of spanish families in for the weekends along with vodafone conventions but they only opened the downstairs restaurant twice in the whole 3 weeks. Much more relaxing down there although a more limited menu.

Staff overall surly and not friendly. Entertainment dire especially in the bar frequented by the english. (I used the other one with the spanish, and joined in the dance class most days at 6pm).

My top flew onto next door's balcony and they handed in to the maid who said she would give to reception - she didnt and several attempts to recover it failed. Manager didnt give a damn. I spoke to them in spanish and mixed only with the spanish but it made no iota on service. Well, marginally perhaps.

Rooms were never cleaned properly and were not clean on arrival. I put flowers in my room and found them knocked over several times, one time neatly placed upside down in the bath and the loo brush stuck into the loo. They managed to whip round the rooms in around 2 mins flat. Strangely the extra sofa bed was always pushed up against the bedroom drawers each day so that you had to move it back again so you could use them. Sofa bed wasnt used by us though!!

International chess challenge on whilst there, I felt that english holiday makers were a total nuisance to the hotel really. Impersonal,unfriendly,pretentious. Levante Club Hotel looked nicer so did the Melia.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Med Hotels.Com

Vicky
14 years 11 months ago
I'd like to say, this hotel is very very nice. i'd like to come back here another time. the only problem was, it was full of old spanish couples!
It was clean, some rooms are very big.
the maid would come in everyday. the staff are very friendly.
when i arrived i thought WOW!! the hotel is very big and then before i went home i thought, this is nothing compared to some places i have been!

The food was excellent. they gave you at least 7 choices. you could have salad/ hot meals. for pudding it would be fruit, jelly, cakes or spanish pudding.
there is 2 resturants. one on the main floor. and then you go downstairs to go to the other one. but we reconmend you use the downstairs one.

the entertainment was a bit poor. it was just spanish music, but they all sound the same. you can go right up to the top of the main big building, you just go in the outside lifts to see more. its 43 floors high! and when you get to the top i think its 1 euro. but if you are not part of the hotel you have to pay 5 euros per person

i only came back saturday the 23rd of october and i didnt want to come back home
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Excel Airways

Recommended
K Phelps
14 years 11 months ago
I stayed in this hotel when first opened and 6 months later it was fine then.
The hotel now is bland, no atmosphere, when you first approach the forecourt it is disorganised and scruffy,
Oil on the forecourt from coaches.
The reception area is now like Euston station vast and un inviting.

The dining room is like a school dorm 100 metres long, from salads one end to fruit the other.
The food has gone down the hill it is very poor and very poorly presented for a 4 * hotel.
No waiters for wine service. You have to go and get your own.

The rooms are clean we had a suite big enough but the decor is poor
Very poorly finished concrete blocks painted yellow.
The balcony looked like it was about to disintegrate.
The pool area is just a big pool with beds strewn around in any order you please.

And a major problem for families is the games room you have to leave the hotel and walk pass the pools day or night to get to the games room, which is a major worry for parents to leave kids near a pool without supervision day and at night especially when dark.

The hotel as a flagship for Benidorm is a disgrace, many more beautiful hotels in Benidorm with a far less rating.
Marconi.Los dalmatas, Venus, Presidente, Mayna etc.etc...
And finally the drinks are treble the prices of the los dalmatas 4*. 1 beer.4 cokes and cafe 25 euros.
Do not book this hotel and go to one with more character.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

15 years ago
First impressions - looked magnificent. Could see from afar.

Reception area very grand.

We stayed in the newer, taller building. Rooms were spacious and well equipped with a particularly nice bathroom. Sattellite TV with Sky news and german MTV etc in the rooms.

We did use the smaller, older building as a shower room though and the standard in there was far inferior. No balcony and far smaller room space. Saw a couple of people complaining and asking to be moved to the newer building.

Food was OK, abit repetitive but plenty of fresh salads etc. Wine with meals was ok, if you didnt drink it all in one night you could put it behind the bar with a name tag and save it for the night after which was a nice touch.

Location, in the more spanish resort of La Cala. Lovely beach in walking distance of the hotel (quite a hilly area mind, maybe not be suitable for everyone).

Taxi ride into levante area, or "the square" where all the english clubs etc are was a reasonable 6/7 euros.

Entertainment was terrible, and catering to the spanish taste, but that didnt bother me as wouldnt stick around the hotel for entertainment anyway. Wanted to be in town.

Would go back again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Med Hotels

Recommended
Hollie
15 years 2 months ago
Me and my family visited this hotel in July, we had not been to Benidorm before and had mixed views about what to expect. But thankfully I can say we had a brilliant time.

The hotel was very clean, we saw the maids everyday polishing floors etc. The food was very nice there was a variety, something for every nationality. The hotel was far enough away from all the noise and bustle but only a 10 minute bus journey away if you wanted to go into town.

The staff were very buisness like, they were ok but didn't go out of there way to help you. The entertainment is very spanish orientated, they dont really cater for the English.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Seaside Lane Travel

Recommended
Jackson
15 years 2 months ago
When arriving at this hotel we thought great. Lovely from outside and in reception.

Rooms were okay but for a four star hotel they did not match up. Food was okay but by mid week we ate out as we were eating very much the same as the day before only a different name had been given to it.

No entertainment all in spanish and my son could not understand a word of it. Not much around hotel and we had to get taxi's into Levante for some decent entertainment.

Staff were very rude and did not want to be bothered by you for anything. I would not go to this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Lynne
15 years 2 months ago
Rooms on our floor (15th) were cleaned with a mop which smelt of vomit, food absolute disgrace my partner lived on crackers and caramello puddings, i lived on chips and a smattering of paella when available.

Location cannot be faulted especially the cove at cala finestrat.

Hotel staff rude and insolent even though we spoke in spanish to them.

Entertainment rubbish been to melia in benidorm shows were out of this world.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: teletext holiday

J.Derby
15 years 5 months ago
The hotel is very impressive from the outside and first impressions inside are good. Our room was well furnished and reasonably spacious with a nice en-suite bathroom. But, there is always a but, it had been spoilt by an extra bed, disguised as a very uncomfortable seat, being squeezed into the room adjacent to the window. It made the room cramped and access to the window very difficult.

Our main criticism of the hotel would be the eating arrangements, I expect something a bit better than cafeteria style meals, self service for every meal in a 4 star hotel. The breakfasts were good, but evening meals were very noisy and the choice of food was poor with very little Spanish food on offer.

One thing to watch out for. You can pay a deposit on a credit card at the desk so that you can sign for anything bought from the bars or wine in the restaurant. We did this thinking it was a good idea and we set a limit of 250 Euros expecting to be charged whatever we had spent at the end. What actually happened was they charged the full 250 euros when you arrived and then insisted that any change you had back in Euros - this meant at the end of the holiday we were left with a load of Euros we didn't want. Because we were not happy with this we asked to see the manager at the reception desk but was told he was busy! This rather aloof attitude on the part of the staff was something we had noticed on several occasions, you were very much made to feel that they were doing you a favour by allowing you in their hotel.

It is a real shame, this could be a superb hotel but the attempt to cater for the mass package holiday market and those looking for something a bit better in the same hotel just doesn't work.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Own arrangements

Amanda&tony
16 years 8 months ago
Best hotel I have ever stayed couldn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.